Cover image of Design Review
(69)
Technology

Design Review

Updated 8 days ago

Technology
Read more

No chit-chat, just focused in-depth discussions about design topics that matter. Jonathan Shariat and Chris Liu are your hosts and bring to the table passion and years of experience.

Read more

No chit-chat, just focused in-depth discussions about design topics that matter. Jonathan Shariat and Chris Liu are your hosts and bring to the table passion and years of experience.

iTunes Ratings

69 Ratings
Average Ratings
63
2
1
3
0

One of my favorite design podcast!

By Jmon24 - Sep 23 2018
Read more
Love this podcast! So much great design knowledge, thoughts and laughs.

Its like listening to your friends talk

By Lucky_Nyan - Jul 04 2017
Read more
Love these guys. I learn a lot from them and at the same time they have a very warm personality :)

iTunes Ratings

69 Ratings
Average Ratings
63
2
1
3
0

One of my favorite design podcast!

By Jmon24 - Sep 23 2018
Read more
Love this podcast! So much great design knowledge, thoughts and laughs.

Its like listening to your friends talk

By Lucky_Nyan - Jul 04 2017
Read more
Love these guys. I learn a lot from them and at the same time they have a very warm personality :)

Listen to:

Cover image of Design Review

Design Review

Updated 8 days ago

Read more

No chit-chat, just focused in-depth discussions about design topics that matter. Jonathan Shariat and Chris Liu are your hosts and bring to the table passion and years of experience.

Rank #1: Episode 47 - How to plan your design career(from start to finish)

Podcast cover
Read more
How do you get started in Design? What's next after your first job? What positions should I build to? What are the possible paths for a designer to take? We discuss these important questions and more in this week's podcast!

Jan 05 2017

53mins

Play

Rank #2: Episode 25 - How to design a great portfolio

Podcast cover
Read more
This week Chris and Jon discuss one of the most difficult design projects of them all, portfolios. We talk about what they are, how they can help move your career forward, and how we're faring on this journey to portfolio greatness!

Aug 02 2015

48mins

Play

Rank #3: Episode 37 - Landing your first design job!

Podcast cover
Read more
This week on the Design Review, Chris and Jon discuss what it takes to land your first job as a professional designer, and answer some of the most common questions on what to do. Later in the show, we have a short discussion on equal pay!

Apr 14 2016

1hr 29mins

Play

Rank #4: Episode 53 - Good designers write!

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon talk about why good writing skills are essential for doing good design. Obviously other things are important too, but writing is just one of those 'core skills' every designer must have. Stay tuned to this episode!

May 30 2017

46mins

Play

Rank #5: Episode 31 - Defining a design strategy that works!

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon are back with another topic from the listeners! This time, we're talking about how to define a design strategy at the beginning of a project. Later in the show, we discuss measuring your designs by using metrics and data. Lastly, we close out the show with our stories of "Good UX of the Week". Stay tuned to another great show!

Nov 22 2015

43mins

Play

Rank #6: Episode 38 - Unloading Cognitive Load

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon talk about the difficulty of dealing with cognitive load. Burdening users with many options or complex navigation systems can increase the amount of cognitive load. Reducing this burden can make your product easier to use! Keep listening for more tips on dealing with this tricky problem!

May 01 2016

44mins

Play

Rank #7: Episode 28 - Designing with Empathy

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Jonathan spends some time alone and talks about empathy in design. It's an important topic that is good for the whole company, not just designers. Stay tuned!

Oct 15 2015

23mins

Play

Rank #8: Episode 36 - Free your mind from design blocks!

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon discuss the ways in which designers can get blocked in their creative process, and what can be done about it. Later in the show, we introduce a brand new segment that we hope you'll enjoy. So stick around for another great episode!

Mar 21 2016

45mins

Play

Rank #9: Episode 50 - Improving Design Culture

Podcast cover
Read more
It's episode 50 everybody! Woo! We made it! Thanks to everyone for supporting us! It's been a pleasure putting these together for you.

This week, Chris and Jon talk about why companies STILL don't get design, and try to figure out some ways that we can all solve this big problem together. Stay tuned for a monumental episode!

Mar 13 2017

44mins

Play

Rank #10: Episode 49 - Our Tools of the Trade

Podcast cover
Read more
This week Chris and Jon talk about the tools they use to get 'er done! From desks, to pens, to apps, we cover it all. Stay tuned for a more lighthearted episode!

Feb 21 2017

1hr 12mins

Play

Rank #11: Episode 45 - The Dangers of Empathy

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon discuss the danger of using empathy in your design process. This show is based on an interview published in the Harvard Business Review where researchers conducted studies on how being empathetic can actually cause problems that you may not be able to see! Stay tuned!

Oct 15 2016

26mins

Play

Rank #12: Episode 40 - The Myth of the Power User

Podcast cover
Read more
This week Chris and Jon talk about the "Power User"! Chris thinks is all BS, and wrote a post about it. But we discuss more about this topic on the show! Stay tuned!

Jun 21 2016

38mins

Play

Rank #13: Episode 48 - How to define an MVP

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon discuss a listener question on how to define an MVP. Then they discuss what to do with it after launch. It's a great show for people working in startups, and how to successfully navigate the pitfalls of early product lifecycles. Stay tuned!

Feb 01 2017

37mins

Play

Rank #14: Episode 34 - Why do designers become jaded?

Podcast cover
Read more
This week on the Design Review, Chris and Jon discuss some of the negative aspects of being a designer and talk about how designers can become jaded in their careers. Later they discuss how to stop it from happening based on their own experiences. Lastly, they bring back their stories of "Good UX of the Week"!

Feb 14 2016

40mins

Play

Rank #15: Episode 51 - How to get things made

Podcast cover
Read more
At long last, here's episode 51! Yay! This week, Chris and Jon discuss production design and how we transition from ideas to implemented products. This is where the rubber meets the road, and you don't want to miss this important episode!

Apr 26 2017

44mins

Play

Rank #16: Episode 35 - Designers, stop being so hypercritical!

Podcast cover
Read more
The guys are back with another episode. This week Chris and Jon discuss the hypercriticism in the design community. It's a difficult topic, since everyone has an opinion, but if we improve how we talk about design, maybe others will too! Stick around for another great episode!

Feb 29 2016

51mins

Play

Rank #17: Episode 30 - Designing with Personas!

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, both Jon and Chris are back in the studio to discuss personas. We go over what they are, how you use them, along with some tips on how to get started. We close it out with a discussion of why people don't use them more often, along with our "Good UX of the Week" stories.

Nov 08 2015

36mins

Play

Rank #18: Episode 23 - Why ask "Why"?

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon ask the most important design question in the entire universe, "Why?". We discuss the "Why" of design and talk about what you can do to make your "Why" more obvious. Stay tuned!

Jun 14 2015

33mins

Play

Rank #19: Episode 26 - Stop having bad critiques!

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon talk about design critiques! We discuss what they are, what they aren't, why you need them, how to run them, and so much more!

Aug 14 2015

51mins

Play

Rank #20: Episode 22 - The glue that keeps your UX together!

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon talk about one of the design industry's least favorite topics, consistency! We discuss what it is, why it's important, who owns it, and highlight some real world examples. Stay tuned! You won't want to miss it!

Jun 01 2015

44mins

Play