Cover image of Longbox Review Comic Book Podcast
(19)
Arts
Visual Arts
Books

Longbox Review Comic Book Podcast

Updated 4 days ago

Arts
Visual Arts
Books
Read more

Comic Book Reviews and Discussion

Read more

Comic Book Reviews and Discussion

iTunes Ratings

19 Ratings
Average Ratings
17
0
0
0
2

Great Show.

By MoonChild2099 - Apr 10 2018
Read more
Great cast who really understands the comic book industry. Highly recommend.

Well done.

By m00ngrrrl - Apr 30 2016
Read more
Smart. Well thought out... He obviously knows his stuff and loves his books. Nice lack of snark.

iTunes Ratings

19 Ratings
Average Ratings
17
0
0
0
2

Great Show.

By MoonChild2099 - Apr 10 2018
Read more
Great cast who really understands the comic book industry. Highly recommend.

Well done.

By m00ngrrrl - Apr 30 2016
Read more
Smart. Well thought out... He obviously knows his stuff and loves his books. Nice lack of snark.

Listen to:

Cover image of Longbox Review Comic Book Podcast

Longbox Review Comic Book Podcast

Updated 4 days ago

Read more

Comic Book Reviews and Discussion

Rank #1: The Legion Project 17: A New Beginning

Podcast cover
Read more

Presenting a joint podcast production with Peter from The Daily Rios podcast (where you can also listen and subscribe to The Legion Project), where we will discuss, issue by issue, the 1984 Legion of Super-Heroes (volume 3) series affectionately known as the "Baxter run".

In this episode we discuss Legion of Super-Heroes #17, "A New Beginning". The Legion protects their benefactor, R. J. Brande, from assassination by a business rival, who is someone from the Legion's past! Plus, Who's Who entries and we talk more about the Legion revival!

Timestamps:

(00:43) Preamble (03:06) Legion of Super-Heroes #17 synopsis, general thoughts, and cover comparisons (30:32) Main discussion, ongoing subplots, the Legionnaires’ Fact Files, and more (1:26:52) Who’s Who issue #10 Legion entry: Heroes of Lallor (1:41:01) Reactions to the Bendis/Legion news from July including a Ryan Sook group shot of the full roster (1:54:26) Wrap up and outro

Please leave comments below, send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com or peter@thedailyrios.com, or chat with us @longboxreview or @peterjrios on Twitter.

Thanks for listening!

Intro theme: “Lost City” by RhoMusic

Sep 25 2019

1hr 56mins

Play

Rank #2: The Legion Project 5: Eye for an Eye pt. 5

Podcast cover
Read more

Presenting a joint podcast production with Peter from The Daily Rios podcast (where you can also listen and subscribe to The Legion Project), where we will discuss, issue by issue, the 1984 Legion of Super-Heroes (volume 3) series affectionately known as the "Baxter run".

In this episode, we discuss Legion of Super-Heroes #5, the fifth part of the "Eye for an Eye" story that ends with another death, sweeping change, and lingering questions.

Time Stamps: (00:44) Preamble (04:53) Legion of Super-Heroes issue 5 synopsis and initial reactions (27:38) LSH 5 discussion (1:21:06) Unfinished plot points and listener feedback (1:49:58) Wrap up and Outro

Please leave comments below, send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com or peter@thedailyrios.com, or chat with us @longboxreview or @peterjrios on Twitter.

Thanks for listening!

Comic Book DB (http://comicbookdb.com/)

Intro theme: “Lost City” by RhoMusic

Mar 28 2018

1hr 54mins

Play

Rank #3: The Legion Project 1: Eye for an Eye pt. 1

Podcast cover
Read more

Presenting a joint podcast production with Peter from The Daily Rios podcast (where you can also listen and subscribe to The Legion Project), where we will discuss, issue by issue, the 1984 Legion of Super-Heroes (volume 3) series affectionately known as the "Baxter run" (starting with the "Eye for an Eye" story line). In this episode, Peter and I will explain what we're doing and why, and then we'll discuss the first of a five-part battle against the Legion of Super-Villains. Please let us know what you thought of our new project and send us any comments or questions that we can talk about on a future episode.

Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com or peter@thedailyrios.com, or chat with us @longboxreview or @peterjrios on Twitter.

Thanks for listening!

Links:

Sep 04 2017

1hr 59mins

Play

Rank #4: The Legion Project 11: Taking Care of Business

Podcast cover
Read more

Presenting a joint podcast production with Peter from The Daily Rios podcast (where you can also listen and subscribe to The Legion Project), where we will discuss, issue by issue, the 1984 Legion of Super-Heroes (volume 3) series affectionately known as the "Baxter run".

In this episode, we discuss Legion of Super-Heroes #11, "Taking Care of Business".  The Legion Founders come full circle with their past and contemplate their future, and Bouncing Boy has a, like, c-speed adventure with Comet Queen!

Timestamps:

(00:44) Preamble and our first listener art sent in by Charlton Hero (12:27) Legion of Super-Heroes issue #11 synopsis, general thoughts, comparing covers, and the art of Ernie Colón (30:35) LSH #11 main discussion on "Old Business" (1:17:02) "New Business" back up tale discussion featuring Bouncing Boy and Comet Queen (1:29:18) Quick thoughts on the Shvaughn Erin appearance in Action Comics #568 (1:40:26) Who's Who issue 4 Legion entries: Chameleon Boy, Chemical King, and Chlorophyll Kid (1:54:49) Wrap up and Outro

Please leave comments below, send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com or peter@thedailyrios.com, or chat with us @longboxreview or @peterjrios on Twitter.

Thanks for listening!

Intro theme: “Lost City” by RhoMusic

Sep 21 2018

1hr 56mins

Play

Rank #5: The Legion Project 3: Eye for an Eye pt. 3

Podcast cover
Read more

Presenting a joint podcast production with Peter from The Daily Rios podcast (where you can also listen and subscribe to The Legion Project), where we will discuss, issue by issue, the 1984 Legion of Super-Heroes (volume 3) series affectionately known as the "Baxter run".

In this episode, we discuss Legion of Super-Heroes Annual #3, "The Curse", before we dive into the third part of the Eye for an Eye story. Please leave comments below, send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com or peter@thedailyrios.com, or chat with us @longboxreview or @peterjrios on Twitter.

Thanks for listening!

Timestamps:

  • (00:43) Preamble
  • (05:43) Legion of Super-Heroes Annual 3 chapter one
  • (39:56) LSH Annual 3 chapter two
  • (1:00:16) LSH Annual 3 epilogues
  • (1:14:34) Legion of Super-Heroes issue 3 discussion
  • (02:18:45) Wrap-up and Outro

Links: George and Tony Entertainment Show #192, "Podcasting Trinity" http://georgeandtony.libsyn.com/george-and-tony-entertainment-show-192

Intro theme: “Lost City” by RhoMusic

Oct 25 2017

2hr 23mins

Play

Rank #6: The Legion Project 9: Reunion

Podcast cover
Read more

Presenting a joint podcast production with Peter from The Daily Rios podcast (where you can also listen and subscribe to The Legion Project), where we will discuss, issue by issue, the 1984 Legion of Super-Heroes (volume 3) series affectionately known as the "Baxter run".

In this episode, we discuss Legion of Super-Heroes #9, "Reunion". The "lost" Legionnaires return, the Legion throws a party, and Element Lad gets lucky.

Timestamps:

(00:44) Preamble (05:08) Synopsis and cover comparisons (16:09) General thoughts and the main discussion (53:21) Analyzing the page 6 landscape scene, the Robert Altman effect, and other thoughts (1:28:41) Feedback from Charlito of the Indie Spinner Rack podcast (1:40:07) Wrap up and Outro

Please leave comments below, send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com or peter@thedailyrios.com, or chat with us @longboxreview or @peterjrios on Twitter.

Thanks for listening!

Intro theme: “Lost City” by RhoMusic

Aug 24 2018

1hr 42mins

Play

Rank #7: 124: Secret Identities #1-7

Podcast cover
Read more

Peter Rios (of The Daily Rios podcast) joins me to discuss the Image Comics series Secret Identities. We discuss in depth this wonderful superhero series by Brian Joines, Jay Faerber, Ilias Kyriazis, et al.

Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, or visit longboxreview.com. Please subscribe, rate, and review the show via Apple podcasts.

Thanks for listening!

Aug 21 2017

2hr 4mins

Play

Rank #8: 146: Raina Telgemeier's Smile

Podcast cover
Read more

I'm joined by my granddaughter Madison to discuss Raina Telgemeier's wonderful graphic novel Smile. This is a book that Madison introduced me to and we had a lovely conversation about it.

What did you think of this book? Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, and visit longboxreview.com. Please subscribe, rate, and review the show via Apple podcasts.

Thanks for listening!

Aug 15 2018

1hr 8mins

Play

Rank #9: Tales to Astonish!

Podcast cover
Read more

This episode, I talk about some newer Marvel, Boom, Dynamite, and Image titles I've been reading:

  • Fantastic Four
  • Superior Spider-Man
  • Unstoppable Wasp
  • Firefly
  • James Bond 007
  • Criminal

Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, and visit longboxreview.com. Please subscribe, rate, and review the show via Apple podcasts.

Thanks for listening!

Apr 10 2019

30mins

Play

Rank #10: The Legion Project 10: Election Day

Podcast cover
Read more

Presenting a joint podcast production with Peter from The Daily Rios podcast (where you can also listen and subscribe to The Legion Project), where we will discuss, issue by issue, the 1984 Legion of Super-Heroes (volume 3) series affectionately known as the "Baxter run".

In this episode, we discuss Legion of Super-Heroes #10, "Election Day". Earth must decide on a new President, but the Khunds have no time for collusion, they only want to kill! Plus, Legion Who's Who begins here!

Timestamps:

(00:42) Preamble and feedback (14:12) LSH issue #10 synopsis, general thoughts, and the covers (28:09) LSH #10 main discussion (1:12:46) The Founders subplot, Legion outfits, and letter column responses (1:26:53) A new segment featuring Legion entries in Who’s Who issue 3: Blok, Bouncing Boy, Brainiac 5, and Brainiac. (1:44:38) Wrap up and outro

Listener Chris (@Charlton_Hero on Twitter) sent us very cool episode 10 promo art, and we wanted to share it with everyone. Thanks Chris!

Please leave comments below, send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com or peter@thedailyrios.com, or chat with us @longboxreview or @peterjrios on Twitter.

Thanks for listening!

Intro theme: “Lost City” by RhoMusic

Sep 07 2018

1hr 46mins

Play

Rank #11: 125: Favorite Kirby Characters/Concepts

Podcast cover
Read more

I wanted to celebrate Jack Kirby's 100th birthday by talking about my favorite Kirby Characters/Concepts. What are your favorites? Please listen to Comic Geek Speak's Episode 1633 - Spotlight on Jack 'King' Kirby Part One to find out more about Kirby's life and career.

Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, or visit longboxreview.com. Please subscribe, rate, and review the show via Apple podcasts.

Thanks for listening!

Aug 28 2017

21mins

Play

Rank #12: 130: Favorites of 2017

Podcast cover
Read more

It’s time for my annual tradition of looking back at the previous year of comic books and talking about my favorites. I talk about my following favorites:

Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, and visit longboxreview.com. Please subscribe, rate, and review the show via Apple podcasts.

Thanks for listening!

Follow these fine contributors on Twitter!

Feb 17 2018

1hr 23mins

Play

Rank #13: March 2019 Previews

Podcast cover
Read more

We peruse the March 2019 Previews catalog for items shipping starting in May.

Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, and visit longboxreview.com. Please subscribe, rate, and review the show via Apple podcasts.

Thanks for listening!

Links:

Mar 13 2019

2hr 14mins

Play

Rank #14: September 2018 Previews

Podcast cover
Read more

George and I go over the September 2018 Previews catalog for items shipping starting in November.

Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, and visit longboxreview.com. Please subscribe, rate, and review the show via Apple podcasts.

Thanks for listening!

Links:

Sep 19 2018

3hr 15mins

Play

Rank #15: 133: DC's New Age of Heroes: Sideways #1

Podcast cover
Read more

I continue my review of DC's New Age of Heroes initiative by reviewing Sideways #1 by Kenneth Rocafort, Dan DiDio, Justin Jordan, Daniel Brown, and Carlos M. Mangual. After a brief overview of the issue, I talk about my observations and answer some questions from Twitter (thanks to @jpooch21, @GeorgeandTony, and @peterjrios!).

Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, and visit longboxreview.com. Please subscribe, rate, and review the show via Apple podcasts.

Thanks for listening!

Mar 21 2018

27mins

Play

Rank #17: October 2018 Previews

Podcast cover
Read more

George and I go over the October 2018 Previews catalog for items shipping starting in December.

Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, and visit longboxreview.com. Please subscribe, rate, and review the show via Apple podcasts.

Thanks for listening!

Links:

Oct 17 2018

3hr 2mins

Play

Rank #18: 137: Rough Riders Creative Team Chat

Podcast cover
Read more

Listen to this very special episode to find out how cohost George (of the still defunct George and Tony Entertainment Show) was able to initiate a gathering of the creative team of Adam Glass, Patrick Olliffe, Gabe Eltaeb, and Sal Cipriano who are responsible for the Aftershock comic Rough Riders. Thanks to those four talented gentlemen for agreeing to be a part of the show and sharing their thoughts about making Rough Riders, working together, and more. Special thanks to Lisa Wu, Aftershock Comics Fan Relations Manager, for coordinating the whole thing--without her, this would not have been possible.

Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, and visit longboxreview.com. Please subscribe, rate, and review the show via Apple podcasts.

Thanks for listening!

Complete show notes: https://wp.me/pZkAx-1I1

Links:

May 10 2018

1hr 43mins

Play

Rank #19: 134: Retro Review: The Brave and the Bold #182

Podcast cover
Read more

Pulled from the longbox, I talk about one of my favorite issues in my collection: The Brave and the Bold #182 (cover date January 1982).

Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, and visit longboxreview.com. Please subscribe, rate, and review the show via Apple podcasts.

Thanks for listening!

Apr 04 2018

49mins

Play

Rank #20: April 2019 Previews

Podcast cover
Read more

We peruse the April 2019 Previews catalog for items shipping starting in June.

Please send your comments to longboxreview@gmail.com, chat with me @longboxreview on Twitter, and visit longboxreview.com. Please subscribe, rate, and review the show via Apple podcasts.

Thanks for listening!

Links:

Apr 18 2019

2hr 23mins

Play