Cover image of Medgeeks Clinical Review Podcast
(548)
Education
Health
Science & Medicine
Medicine

Medgeeks Clinical Review Podcast

Updated 12 days ago

Education
Health
Science & Medicine
Medicine
Read more

Our goal is to change the way students and clinicians learn medicine. We are dedicated to providing the best medical content to help clinicians get through school, the boards, and to excel in clinical practice.

Read more

Our goal is to change the way students and clinicians learn medicine. We are dedicated to providing the best medical content to help clinicians get through school, the boards, and to excel in clinical practice.

iTunes Ratings

548 Ratings
Average Ratings
503
31
8
3
3

Great!

By wanderlust4833 - Nov 29 2018
Read more
Really like this podcast! Love that the episodes are short and such great mini overviews!

Yes!!

By NPStudent129 - Apr 20 2018
Read more
I love this podcast! Really helps you understand many tricky concepts. Thank you for what you do!!

iTunes Ratings

548 Ratings
Average Ratings
503
31
8
3
3

Great!

By wanderlust4833 - Nov 29 2018
Read more
Really like this podcast! Love that the episodes are short and such great mini overviews!

Yes!!

By NPStudent129 - Apr 20 2018
Read more
I love this podcast! Really helps you understand many tricky concepts. Thank you for what you do!!
Cover image of Medgeeks Clinical Review Podcast

Medgeeks Clinical Review Podcast

Updated 12 days ago

Read more

Our goal is to change the way students and clinicians learn medicine. We are dedicated to providing the best medical content to help clinicians get through school, the boards, and to excel in clinical practice.

Rank #1: Diabetic Ketoacidosis

Podcast cover
Read more

Have a question you'd like us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Your next patient is a 21 year old female who was brought in to urgent care by her husband with the chief complaint of fatigue and vomiting.

Before you go in to see the patient, you notice she has no past medical history and her vital signs are normal, aside from a heart rate of 122 BPM.

The patient thought she was coming down with something, because she was feeling very tired and lost her appetite. She developed vomiting this am. They blame the sushi they ate.

During the physical, you notice she looks very ill. She's laying on her side and holding her belly uncomfortably. Her skin looks pale and appears to be dehydrated.

So, you ask for a glucose, and come to find, it's extremely high and reads ">500".

Today, we'll be talking diabetic ketoacidosis. We will also be answering your questions at the end of our show in the Ask Medgeeks segment, which includes LFTs and clean catch urine samples.

-

Have a question you want answered on the podcast? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com/question

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Aug 04 2019
17 mins
Play

Rank #2: PA Boards 119: Systolic Murmurs with Audio Clips

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we'll be covering the systolic murmurs - high yield facts along with audio clips so you can commit these to memory :) The murmurs discussed include: aortic stenosis, pulmonic stenosis, mitral regurgitation, mitral valve prolapse, and tricuspid regurgitation.

Make sure to subscribe to the youtube channel here as we're answering questions Monday - Friday :)

Website: https://physicianassistantboards.com/ Personal IG: https://www.instagram.com/and_reid PABoards IG: https://www.instagram.com/paboards FB: https://www.facebook.com/paboards1

Feb 18 2017
8 mins
Play

Rank #3: PA Boards 46: Clinical Antibiotic Pharmacology

Podcast cover
Read more

PhysicianAssistantBoards.com/Antibiotics - Visit the URL to download the lecture notes free!  Today were going to talk about when to use which antibiotics.  When will we choose penicillin, azithromycin, or moxifloxacin?  Lets try and break this down to make it as easy as possible!

Aug 14 2014
22 mins
Play

Rank #4: PA Boards 01: Antihypertensive Medications

Podcast cover
Read more

In this session of the PA Boads podcast, I take some time to speak about the following hypertensive medications: Beta Blockers, Calcium Channel Blockers, ACE Inhibitors/ARBs, and Diuretics.

Oct 27 2013
14 mins
Play

Rank #5: PA Boards 61: Murmurs - a quick pearl!

Podcast cover
Read more

Physicianassistantboards.com/app - I'll be giving out a couple pearls on differentiating murmurs. Also, check out the website because I'm building a review app for you! It will be available on iOS and google play. Go to the above page and enter your email - I plan on giving away a few apps :)

Jul 02 2015
7 mins
Play

Rank #6: PA Boards 94: Everything B12 Deficiency

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we're going to discuss everything you need to know about B12 deficiency for the boards and clinical practice. Website: physicianassistantboards.com Personal IG: @and_reid PABoards IG: @paboards FB: Facebook.com/paboards1

Sep 13 2016
14 mins
Play

Rank #7: PA Boards 82: Migraine Headache

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we're going to be talking migraine headaches from a clinical standpoint. I'm going to present the many presentations you can expect to encounter when dealing with a migraine. This lecture is pulled straight from PA Boards Elite - which is our new membership site. Here I'll teach you how to approach patients  CLINICALLY - so you feel comfortable seeing patients on your own. You can learn more at physicianassistantboards.com/elite

Feb 23 2016
28 mins
Play

Rank #8: PA Boards 100: Migraine Pharmacology

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we're going to discuss abortive and prophylactic therapies for migraine. We'll go into the pharmacology to help you create a game plan for your patients. Enjoy :)

Website: https://www.physicianasssitantboards.com Personal IG: https://www.instagram.com/and_reid PABoards IG: https://www.instagram.com/paboards FB: https://www.facebook.com/paboards

Oct 28 2016
20 mins
Play

Rank #9: PA Boards 106: Clinical Pearls for Chlamydia & Gonorrhea

Podcast cover
Read more

Today, we'll discuss signs, symptoms, complications, diagnosis, and treatment options for both chlamydia and gonorrhea. This is a clinical talk - meaning we'll go over real world scenarios (a little different when compared to board review).

Website: http://physicianassistantboards.com Personal IG: https://www.instagram.com/and_reid PABoards IG: https://www.instagram.com/paboards FB: https://www.facebook.com/paboards1

Dec 21 2016
15 mins
Play

Rank #10: PA Boards 90: Irritable Bowel Syndrome

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we're going to go into a little detail regarding IBS: etiology, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment. Website: physicianassistantboards.com IG: instagram.com/paboards FB: Facebook.com/paboards1

Aug 26 2016
13 mins
Play

Rank #11: PA Boards 71: Vertigo Made Simple

Podcast cover
Read more

Physicianassistantboards.com/audio - Announcement: I uploaded the GI portion of the new audio review course to the website for FREE download. Simply go to physicianasssitantboards.com/audio and hit the free download. You'll have instant access to 53 minutes of focused gastroenterology review for FREE :)

On todays episode we answer a listeners question regarding vertigo. He wants to know when an MRI is indicated in the evaluation of vertigo. So, we decipher peripherl vs central causes and we discuss when an MRI is indicated.

Sep 15 2015
11 mins
Play

Rank #12: PA Boards 81: Updated DM Clinical Guidelines

Podcast cover
Read more

An updated algorithm for type 2 diabetes management from the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists (AACE) has been recently released. It includes new sections on lifestyle therapy, guiding principles, and incorporates all medications approved by the Food and Drug Administration through December 2015 for managing hyperglycemia, weight, blood pressure, and dyslipidemia.

See the show notes and the specific algorithms here.

Jan 22 2016
14 mins
Play

Rank #13: Sepsis Explained & Made Easy

Podcast cover
Read more

Today, we'll be simplifying sepsis. Specifically, we'll be covering: 1. Infection vs bactermia vs sepsis vs septic shock vs MODS 2. The patient presentation 3. How to perform the HPI 4. What labs need to be ordered? 5. Treatment options 6. When to start pressors 7. Monitoring treatment response

We're covering exactly what you need to know to understand this complicated topic. Any questions? Leave a comment or email gray@physicianassistantboards.com

Aug 28 2017
24 mins
Play

Rank #14: UTI: Acute Cystitis vs. Pyelonephritis

Podcast cover
Read more

Pyelonephritis doesn't always present text book and cystitis doesn't always require a dipstick. Uncomplicated pyelonephritis can be treated out patient - today we're going to show you how! We'll also teach you how to identify those high risk patients who should definitely be admitted. Here's what you need to know about the UTI. Enjoy!

Subscribe to our YouTube here: http://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=paboards

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/paboards

and

https://www.instagram.com/pance_panre_usmle_review/

Ace your exams: https://learn.physicianassistantboards.com/collections

Have questions about this podcast? Email gray@physicianassistantboards.com

Oct 16 2017
9 mins
Play

Rank #15: PA Boards 41: Community Acquired Pneumonia

Podcast cover
Read more

PhysicianAssistantBoards.com - Todays topic will be community acquired pneumonia.  Lets go over the definitions, sign/symptoms, testing, and treatment plans.  When do we hospitalize?  Be aware streptococcus pneumoniae is the most common pathogen, regardless of the patient population.  Also, chest x-ray lag! Do not use this test to base treatment failure or success!

Jul 10 2014
18 mins
Play

Rank #16: PA Boards 14: Antibiotics

Podcast cover
Read more

Quick pharmacology review of antibiotics.  Know your contraindications!

Dec 26 2013
22 mins
Play

Rank #17: PA Boards 85: CHF Mortality Reduction: Novel Medications

Podcast cover
Read more

Physicianassistantboards.com - today we will be discussing the newer medications that have been proven to reduce mortality in systolic dysfunction.

May 24 2016
13 mins
Play

Rank #18: A droopy smile!

Podcast cover
Read more

Have a question you'd like us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Your next patient is a 25 year old man who called in to make a same day appointment. 

He has no past medical history, but you know him pretty well. He's always been a bit of a hypochondriac, so you figure it's probably nothing major.

When you walk in the room, the patient smiles, and you shake hands.

That's when you notice...

Today, we'll be talking Bells Palsy. 

What is it, how do we diagnose, and how do we treat?

-

Have a question you want answered on the podcast? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com/question

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Aug 10 2019
14 mins
Play

Rank #19: PA Boards 65: Demystifying Acid Base Disorders

Podcast cover
Read more

PhysicianAssistantBoards.com/app - Today we're going to answer a question from a listener regarding acid base disorders. It's not as hard as you think!

Aug 01 2015
10 mins
Play

Rank #20: Hypoythroid - a clinical review (part 1)

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we're going to go in depth for all you practicing clinicians with hypothyroidism. Were talking prevalence, etiology, pathophysiology, the different subtypes, symptoms, screening, and diagnosis. Part 2 of this lecture will focus on the management. Enjoy!

Don't forget to subscribe to the youtube :)

Website: https://physicianassistantboards.com/ Personal IG: https://www.instagram.com/and_reid PABoards IG: https://www.instagram.com/paboards FB: https://www.facebook.com/paboards1

May 02 2017
27 mins
Play

Similar Podcasts