OwlTail

Cover image of Physician Assistant Exam Review

Physician Assistant Exam Review

We review core medical knowledge on a continuous basis for the physician assistant preparing for the PANRE.

Weekly hand curated podcast episodes for learning

Popular episodes

All episodes

The best episodes ranked using user listens.

Podcast cover

S2 E059 Pulm Neoplastic Disease

<< Click here to get 40 Pulmonology questions straight from my book The Final Step >> Lung Cancer #1 cause of cancer related deaths 85% of cases are associated with smoking Multiple exposure and exposure to other toxins increases risk Five year survival rate is 15% Small Cell and Non Small Cell Complications SVC syndrome […] The post S2 E059 Pulm Neoplastic Disease appeared first on Physician Assistant Exam Review.

23mins

3 Dec 2019

Rank #1

Podcast cover

S2 E016 Hypertension Medications

Everything you need to know about treating hypertension to pass the PANCE or the PANRE The post S2 E016 Hypertension Medications appeared first on Physician Assistant Exam Review.

42mins

13 Dec 2016

Rank #2

Similar Podcasts

Podcast cover

S2 E044 Childhood Exanthem

the six childhood exanthema The post S2 E044 Childhood Exanthem appeared first on Physician Assistant Exam Review.

21mins

5 Mar 2019

Rank #3

Podcast cover

S2 E051 COPD & Asthma (and my best advice for struggling)

<< Click here to get 40 Pulmonology questions straight from my book The Final Step >> Obstructive Lung Diseases Spirometry The most used pulmonary function test. It measures volume and speed of exhalation and inspiration. Total lung capacity (TLC) The volume of the lungs at maximal inflation Tidal volume The volume of air moved into […] The post S2 E051 COPD & Asthma (and my best advice for struggling) appeared first on Physician Assistant Exam Review.

32mins

30 Jul 2019

Rank #4

Most Popular Podcasts

Podcast cover

S2 E056 Pneumonia

<< Click here to get 40 Pulmonology questions straight from my book The Final Step >> Pneumonia Community Acquired Pneumonia From oxford dictionary – Lung inflammation caused by bacterial or viral infection, in which the air sacs fill with pus and may become solid. Inflammation may affect both lungs ( double pneumonia ), one lung […] The post S2 E056 Pneumonia appeared first on Physician Assistant Exam Review.

22mins

22 Oct 2019

Rank #5

Podcast cover

S2 E014 Cardiomyopathy and Hypertension

Hypertension and cardiomyopathy The post S2 E014 Cardiomyopathy and Hypertension appeared first on Physician Assistant Exam Review.

32mins

3 Nov 2016

Rank #6

Podcast cover

S2 E034 Addison’s disease

<< Click here to get 25 Endocrinology questions straight from my book, The Final Step >>   Addison’s Disease Addison’s = Primary adrenocortical insufficiency More frequently in women than in men. Causes Autoimmune problem is 80% of the cause. TB Genetic disorders Removal of adrenals Adrenal infarct Etc. Clinical findings Sparse axillary and pubic hair […] The post S2 E034 Addison’s disease appeared first on Physician Assistant Exam Review.

17mins

16 May 2018

Rank #7

Podcast cover

S2 E033 Cushing’s Syndrome

<< Click here to get 25 Endocrinology questions straight from my book, The Final Step >> The Hypothalamic, Pituitary Adrenal Axis In response to low serum cortisol or stress the hypothalamus secretes corticotropin releasing factor (CRF). In response to CRF the pituitary releases adrenocorticotropic hormone (ACTH). In response to ACTH the adrenal glands secrete cortisol […] The post S2 E033 Cushing’s Syndrome appeared first on Physician Assistant Exam Review.

18mins

1 May 2018

Rank #8

Podcast cover

S2 E057 Pulmonary infections Part 1

<< Click here to get 40 Pulmonology questions straight from my book The Final Step >> Acute bronchitis Infection of the large bronchi Most often caused by a virus RSV Rhinovirus Influenza 5-10% are bacterial Usually follows a URI Clinical Presentation Shortness of breath Cough can last for more than three weeks Wheezing Fever Labs, […] The post S2 E057 Pulmonary infections Part 1 appeared first on Physician Assistant Exam Review.

17mins

5 Nov 2019

Rank #9

Podcast cover

S2 E018 Endocarditis, Pericarditis and Tamponade

Learn how to finally figure out the Duke criteria. The post S2 E018 Endocarditis, Pericarditis and Tamponade appeared first on Physician Assistant Exam Review.

38mins

8 Feb 2017

Rank #10

Podcast cover

S2 E017 CHF and Hypotension

CHF and hypotension The post S2 E017 CHF and Hypotension appeared first on Physician Assistant Exam Review.

19mins

25 Jan 2017

Rank #11

Podcast cover

S2 E032 The Parathyroid

<< Click here to get 25 Endocrinology questions straight from my book, The Final Step >> Parathyroid There are four parathyroid glands located adjacent Produces parathyroid hormone (PTH) PTH increases calcium concentration in the bloodstream in response to low serum calcium Hyperparathyroidism Affects women 3:1 over men Primary Typically this is caused by an adenoma […] The post S2 E032 The Parathyroid appeared first on Physician Assistant Exam Review.

25mins

17 Apr 2018

Rank #12

Podcast cover

S2 E024 Heart Block for the PANCE or PANRE

The dreaded topic of heart block and the #1 thing I recommend for the week of your exam. The post S2 E024 Heart Block for the PANCE or PANRE appeared first on Physician Assistant Exam Review.

28mins

18 Apr 2017

Rank #13

Podcast cover

S2 E30 Thyroid hyper-hypo

<< Click here to get 25 Endocrinology questions straight from my book, The Final Step >> Disorders of the Thyroid Hormones TSH = thyroid stimulating hormone Created and secreted by the anterior pituitary T4 = thyroxine T3 = triiodothyronine Primary caused by disease in the thyroid Secondary Caused by diseases in the hypothalamus or pituitary […] The post S2 E30 Thyroid hyper-hypo appeared first on Physician Assistant Exam Review.

27mins

20 Mar 2018

Rank #14