OwlTail

Cover image of The Rachman Review

The Rachman Review

Gideon Rachman, the Financial Times chief foreign affairs columnist talks to the decision-makers and thinkers who are shaping world affairs. Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

Popular episodes

All episodes

The best episodes ranked using user listens.

Podcast cover

Tensions at the heart of Europe

Gideon Rachman talks to Franziska Brantner, a rising star of Germany's Green party and its spokesperson on European policy, about the tense relationship between France and Germany as discussions on Russia, China and deregulation take centre stage.   Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

14mins

11 Dec 2019

Rank #1

Podcast cover

How Saudi Arabia and Iran's rivalry is unravelling the Middle East

Why has the Middle East been in turmoil for decades? Author Kim Ghattas argues that the contest for supremacy between the Saudis and the Iranians is key to understanding the region's troubles. In conversation with Gideon Rachman, she explains why the Saudi-Iran dispute is about much more than politics or even religion, and has transformed lives and whole societies across the region.You can listen to The Rachman Review for free on Spotify, soon on Apple Podcasts, Acast, or wherever you get your podcasts. Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

19mins

11 Mar 2020

Rank #2

Similar Podcasts

Podcast cover

Human rights under threat from politics

Gideon Rachman talks to Andrew Gilmour, former UN assistant secretary-general for human rights about the increase in human rights violations over the past ten years and the UN ambassadors and countries politicising their human rights work.You can read Andrew Gilmour’s article here. Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

21mins

4 Mar 2020

Rank #3

Podcast cover

The global politics of climate change

Gideon Rachman talks to historian Adam Tooze about his forthcoming book on the origins of the climate crisis and the prospects for international agreement to curb emissions and avert disaster. Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

19mins

5 Feb 2020

Rank #4

Most Popular Podcasts

Podcast cover

How is Modi's ideology shaping Indian society?

The ideology shaping India today is markedly different from the time of its first post-independence prime minister, Jawaharlal Nehru. Narendra Modi and his Bharitaya Janata Party, the BJP, are leading with a Hindu nationalist philosophy, which is sparking protests across the country. Gideon Rachman discusses the ideology and its history with Shruti Kapila, director of studies in history at Corpus Christi college Cambridge. Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

15mins

26 Feb 2020

Rank #5

Podcast cover

The dictator and the strongman

Gideon Rachman talks to Frank Dikötter, professor of humanities at the University of Hong Kong and author of How to be a dictator, about the cult of personality behind some of the twentieth century’s most renowned dictators and which of today's leaders fall under the same category. Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

15mins

15 Jan 2020

Rank #6

Podcast cover

Taiwan treads fine line between democracy and China

In the wake of Tsai Ing-Wen’s re-election as President of Taiwan, Gideon Rachman discusses the Asian island's future ties with China and the rest of the world with Shelley Rigger, a professor at Davidson College in the US and Taiwan expert, Ketty Chen, head of the Taiwan Foundation for Democracy and Professor Alexander Huang, adviser to the opposition KMT party. Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

19mins

22 Jan 2020

Rank #7

Podcast cover

Bolsonaro’s isolationism and deference to Trump

Celso Amorim, who served as foreign minister under former Brazilian president Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, talks to Gideon Rachman about Jair Bolsonaro’s rise to power, his subordination to the US and whether he’ll have a lasting impact on the country. Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

16mins

12 Feb 2020

Rank #8

Podcast cover

Pandemics in the age of hyperconnectivity

In this week's Rachman Review, Gideon Rachman speaks to Ian Goldin of Oxford University - an economist who has long warned of the dangers of pandemics. Professor Goldin explains his theory of "the butterfly defect" in globalisation - in which a hyper-connected world is vulnerable to global emergencies.You can listen to The Rachman Review for free on Spotify, soon on Apple Podcasts, Acast, or wherever you get your podcasts. Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

18mins

18 Mar 2020

Rank #9

Podcast cover

Is there a Democrat that can beat Trump?

With the Democratic primaries underway and Super Tuesday on the horizon this week's episode takes a look at the US presidential election. Is there a Democratic frontrunner? Can we predict how the public will vote? How likely is it that Donald Trump will be re-elected?Gideon Rachman talks to Miriam Estrin, former US state department official and current policy manager at Google, and Jeremy Shapiro, also a former US state department official and currently the head of research for the European Council on Foreign Relations. Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

20mins

19 Feb 2020

Rank #10

Podcast cover

'Let's just get out of there' is not a strategy

General John Allen, head of the Brookings Institution and former Nato forces commander, talks to Gideon Rachman about the importance of clear objectives and staying power in the Middle East and Afghanistan. Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

18mins

29 Jan 2020

Rank #11

Podcast cover

New York hit by double shock

Gideon Rachman talks to the FT's Gillian Tett about New Yorkers' battle to contain the coronavirus pandemic and the shock to the US financial system that the virus has carried in its wake. Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

15mins

1 Apr 2020

Rank #12

Podcast cover

Life in Europe's coronavirus hotspots

Foreign affairs columnist Gideon Rachman discusses how the coronavirus epidemic has been handled in Italy and Spain with the local FT correspondents, Miles Johnson in Rome and Daniel Dombey in Madrid. How are citizens reacting to the lockdown and what will be the long-term political and economic impact?You can listen to The Rachman Review for free on Spotify, soon on Apple Podcasts, Acast, or wherever you get your podcasts. Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

17mins

25 Mar 2020

Rank #13

Podcast cover

Africa’s transnational challenges

Climate change, increased violence in the Sahel, and foreign intervention: Gideon Rachman talks to Comfort Ero, International Crisis Group’s Africa Program Director, about what the African continent faces in 2020. Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

15mins

8 Jan 2020

Rank #14

Podcast cover

Italy’s make or break moment

Ben Hall, the FT’s Europe editor, discusses Italy as former European Central Bank chief Mario Draghi takes on the premiership. How Draghi decides to spend up to €200bn in grants and loans from the EU recovery fund will be crucial, not just for Italy, but for the future direction of the EU. Ben’s guest is Enrico Letta, a former Italian prime minister, who is now dean of the Paris School of International Affairs at Sciences Po.Clips: UKTI; France 24; Channel 4 Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

25mins

4 Mar 2021

Rank #15

Podcast cover

Susan Glasser on the pandemic election

The columnist has written about life in Trump’s Washington for The New Yorker magazine for almost four years. As voters head to the polls to elect the next US president, Gideon Rachman talks to Glasser about what to expect on November 3 — and after, if there is not a decisive victor and the election ends up in the courts.Review clips: C-SPAN, CNN, Reuters Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

21mins

29 Oct 2020

Rank #16

Podcast cover

Fabulists and the limits of deception

Gideon Rachman talks to FT journalist Michael Peel about the use of false and misleading narratives by world leaders in democracies and dictatorships alike, and how the pandemic may have exposed the limits of doing politics "according to the world as you spin it".  Michael’s book The Fabulists is published by Oneworld. Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

20mins

16 Jul 2020

Rank #17

Podcast cover

China comes out of lockdown

China was once the epicentre of the coronavirus outbreak, but now the country is coming out of lockdown. Gideon Rachman talks to FT correspondents Yuan Yang and James Kynge about how quickly China can find a new normal. Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

18mins

14 May 2020

Rank #18

Podcast cover

Joseph Nye on presidential morality during the pandemic

Gideon Rachman talks to American political scientist Joseph Nye about how the moral stances adopted by past US presidents boosted the country's soft power and why Donald Trump is squandering this legacy. Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

23mins

7 May 2020

Rank #19

Podcast cover

Coronavirus in Africa

Gideon Rachman discusses how African countries are coping with the pandemic with Donald Kaberuka, a Rwandan economist and former president of the African Development Bank, who has been appointed by the African Union to be one of its four special envoys, mobilising international support for the continent Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

17mins

30 Apr 2020

Rank #20