OwlTail

Cover image of The Disney Movie Review

The Disney Movie Review

The Disney Movie Review is your source for news and reviews on the latest news of Disney, Pixar, Marvel, and Lucasfilm movies. In addition to reviewing the latest Disney movie trailers and feature-length releases, we look at how the Disney, Pixar and Marvel movies are expressed in Disneyland, Disney World and the other Disney Parks around the globe. Sit back and relax because you've got the best seat in town!

Weekly hand curated podcast episodes for learning

Popular episodes

All episodes

The best episodes ranked using user listens.

Podcast cover

EP244: Disney Announces FL Re-opening Dates

Disney World will be open for Business in July, but how will the experience change?

53mins

1 Jun 2020

Rank #1

Podcast cover

The Evolution of Disney Princesses – DMR 005

This week we interview SUNY Platsburgh history professor Connie Shemo and Discuss how Disney Princesses have changed–from Snow White to Cinderella, to Belle and Merida, and all the way up to Anna and Elsa from Frozen. Shemo has looked into… Read more

47mins

4 Apr 2015

Rank #2

Similar Podcasts

Podcast cover

Moana Isn't Frozen And Girl Meets World - The Disney Movie Review 114

This week Disney released some more footage of Cars 3 and they are indeed hoping to change the tone of the franchise. Moana is taking a second lap in theaters as a sing-along but it is not Frozen. And Kristen defends Girl Meets World against some harsh criticism.  Here's that interview with Jay Ward, Creative Director for Cars https://www.cnet.com/roadshow/videos/talking-cars-with-the-pixar-team-behind-cars-3/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+cnet%2FNnTv+(CNET+River+RSS) Here's the article about comparing Moana to Frozen http://www.forbes.com/sites/scottmendelson/2017/01/09/box-office-disneys-moana-is-no-frozen-but-its-still-a-big-hit/#11b941823542 George Lucas is sending a $1 Billion museum to LA http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/arts/la-et-cm-la-wins-lucas-museum-20170110-htmlstory.html Guardians of the Galaxy and Star Wars Episode 8 Details http://www.usatoday.com/story/life/movies/2017/01/08/2017-must-see-movie-preview-star-wars-beauty-and-the-beast/95949150/ Disney is debuting Galactic Nights at its parks http://www.orlandosentinel.com/travel/attractions/theme-park-rangers-blog/os-disney-star-wars-hollywood-studios-20170111-story.html Here are a few new images of Beauty and the Beast http://www.gamesradar.com/exclusive-new-beauty-and-the-beast-images-hint-at-the-beasts-backstory/ THANK YOU! Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site. If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love! Contact me: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview Buy a shirt: www.distshirts.com

1hr 7mins

16 Jan 2017

Rank #3

Podcast cover

Moana Spoiler Review - The Disney Movie Review 10

This week it's our spoiler review of 'Moana.' Oh yeah, and we explain why we missed last week. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving! THANK YOU! Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site. If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love! Contact me: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview Buy a shirt: www.distshirts.com

1hr 14mins

28 Nov 2016

Rank #4

Most Popular Podcasts

Podcast cover

Avengers: Age of Ultron – A Spoiler Free Review in 10 minutes or less – DMR 009

Avengers: Age of Ultron is finally here and we get you ready for it in this spoiler free review. Below are the trailers and interviews you may have missed. Subscribe to the podcast on iTunes here. Contact us: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview Twitter:… Read more

10mins

1 May 2015

Rank #5

Podcast cover

The Best Disney Movie of 2016 is... - The Disney Movie Review 111

This week it's our Disney Oscars episode, where we point out the best parts of every Disney movie in 2016. Hope everyone had a great Christmas!  Oh yeah, I also introduce this episode wrong. It's for the week of Dec. 26, not the 6th.

1hr 19mins

26 Dec 2016

Rank #6

Podcast cover

'Infinity War' is a Love Letter to Marvel Fans

The non-Marvel fans will call Avengers: Infinity War bloated. They will say there are to0 many characters or that it is an assault of the senses. The true "film critics" will see it as little more than a popcorn flick. That's okay. It's not for them. Avengers: Infinity War, the 18th film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, is for fans. It's made for the fans that will immediately recognize that Red Skull is the villain from Captain America: The First Avenger. It's for the fans who remember that epic fight between the Hulk and the Hulkbuster armor in Avengers: Age of Ultron. It's for every fan who went to the midnight showing and stayed after the credits before it was cool. MINOR SPOILERS BELOW Everything about Avengers: Infinity War is a "Thank You" note to the fans who made the Marvel Cinematic Universe one of the most successful franchises of all time. Infinity War is officially Directed by Anthony and Joe Russo, Marvel fans will clearly see the influence of Black Panther director Ryan Coogler when the team heads to Wakanda for the final battle. Whether it's the Guardians of The Galaxy or Thor, all of the characters are exactly what a Marvel fan would expect. And that is what makes it glorious. Marvel's 10-Year Adventure to Infinity War When Marvel started its Cinematic Universe on May 2, 2008 with Iron Man, who knew we'd eventually have 18 films that span across 10 years. Even Kevin Feige didn't expect it. Though Infinity War is only the first part of the conclusion, it is a fitting start. Marvel is bidding adeiu to all of the heroes that made the MCU what it is. Captain America (Chris Evans), Iron Man (Robert Downey Jr), Thor (Chris Hemsworth) and Hulk (Mark Ruffalo) are all facing annihilation from Thanos (Josh Brolin) in the movies and ending contracts in the real world. Now it's time to say goodbye. And, since it is the end for them, Marvel is going to make it an amazing goodbye. MAJOR SPOILERS BELOW Case in point: the death of Spider-man. As spider-man (Tom Holland) evaporates to dust in the arms Tony Stark, you can't help but think of the symbolism behind it. The Avenger who is destined to start phase 4 of Marvel's master plan dies in the arms of the one who started the first phase. Conventional wisdom would say that the opposite should happen. But Marvel didn't get anywhere by doing what people expect. Instead, the Russo brother's and Marvel choose to tell a good story, and that's exactly what Infinity War is. I don't know a single commentator who expected Thanos to get his wish to gain all Infinity Stones and annihilate half of the universe in the first film. Marvel took what could have been a simple "Thanos only needs one more infinity stone" storyline and they turned it on its head. By giving Thanos everything he wants, the Russo brother's continued the one thing that has made The MCU so dominant. They made a movie that stands completely on its own and yet, fits perfectly into a larger universe. That is what made the MCU so successful and that is what will carry it to a new generation of fans. Where Do We Go From Here? Here's what we know: Thanos has all of the stones and appears to be invincible. Half of the Avengers are dead, despite those real-world contracts. For those who doubt those deaths, remember that several Marvel characters are replaced in the comics. For example, Miles Morales eventually takes up the mantle as Spider-Man. There is nothing stopping Marvel from taking that same path, including a studio-friendly contract. In addition, we know that Marvel will give us one more chapter of Ant-Man in July and introduce us to Captain Marvel in 2019. We also know that Captain Marvel must be incredibly powerful since Nick Fury calls on her in the post-credits scene. My personal theory is that the Soul Stone will be the key to the next film. Red Skull appearing wasn't just an accident and Dr. Strange knew that the only way to defeat Thanos was to give him the time stone. Dr. Strange's meditation into the future may be the only advantage that the Avengers have. Of course, I'm sure our heroes will eventually come out on top, but Marvel could surprise me. Thanos could be the invisible force in the sky moving forward and that's fine by my. After 10 years, I'm just happy to still be on the ride.

1hr 23mins

12 Nov 2018

Rank #7

Podcast cover

EP230: Avengers: Endgame SPOILER Review

Download this episode I'm torn about this one. No, really, I am. I really encourage you to listen to our way-too-long Podcast on this film because we get into some great conversations. On one side you have the Marvel fan in me. It's the one who has been to every opening night for nearly every Marvel film since Iron Man 2. That's the guy who researches movies and characters to learn more about their powers and possible story directions. That Ken easily gives this a 10/10. Then there is that other side of me. The one who goes to the movies to see something he didn't even know he wanted to see. The one who feels movies should run as tight as possible, so every line of dialogue and scene has a purpose. The guy who feels like it shouldn't take a full hour of exposition to get us into the main plot of the movie. That Ken marks this down at about a 7/10. I'm torn because all the things I love about EndGame are exactly what I hate about it. Consider all the things you have to know just to understand the motivations of the characters. You'll need to brush off Thor: The Dark World, Iron Man, the entire Captain America trilogy, Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol 2., Ant-Man and the Wasp, and *maybe* Captain Marvel. Far from being a sequel, this is a behemoth of a feat to wrap up 11 years of movies. As a fan, this is great. As a casual movie goer, it leads to a bloated film that tries to wrap up too much in one sitting. As a fan it was everything I wanted to see (and more) but as casual viewer it had the predictable formula of a super hero movie. The fan in me knows that this movie wasn't made for the casual movie-goer. It was made for you and I, the fans. Endgame really was/is the tightest story the Russo Brothers could weave for the adoring fans who have stuck with the MCU for so long. It's for everyone who could name every single Avenger on the battlefield in the final battle with Thanos and his army. It was not for the people who knew that a major Marvel film would have some sort of major battle and think that to be cliche. So is it an epic conclusion or a cliche outing of superhero antics we've sen over and over? Is it detail-driven film that pays off all the knowledge we've amassed since 2008 or bloated film that could have lost 30% of its girth and still got the point across? The truth is probably somewhere in the middle. Long term fans are going to love it. Short-term fans probably will too. This is what we do. We are fanatics. Want to watch an action flick? The last battle alone makes this worthy. But I keep stopping myself from fully getting on board. As a movie itself, I just think it is good, not great. The MCU is roughly the length of one season of a TV show, but I've always felt like people could join the ride at any time. That's probably not true anymore, but I'm not sure I can hold EndGame responsible for that. Instead, I consistently come down to the fact that EndGame does great fan-service, but it is a good-not-great movie. Final Rating: 8/10

1hr 42mins

28 Apr 2019

Rank #8

Podcast cover

EP221: Disney Pulls YouTube Ads Over Pedophilia

This week we dive into Disney's decision to pull its ads from YouTube over concerns of Pedophilia. But first, we talk about the interview Alan Horn gave to the Hollywood Reporter. And we bring back FastFlicks, with music and everything!

1hr 1min

25 Feb 2019

Rank #9

Podcast cover

EP224: James Gunn Returns

In a surprise move, Disney has agreed to rehire Jame Gunn to direct Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3. They also dropped a new trailer for 'Aladdin' and 'Avengers Endgame', but no ticket announcements yet.   Meanwhile Captain Marvel blew the lid off the competition and Kevin Feige talked about the future of the MCU with Fox in this interview.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljrdxgsfdug    Oh and (in my best Woody voice), Disney's opening of Galaxy's Edge has been moved to today. Not really, but basically. That and the Fox deal that closes this week, all on episode 224.

1hr 4mins

18 Mar 2019

Rank #10

Podcast cover

The Last Jedi is Lazy, But Not All Bad

Spoilers Ahead: I'm not even gonna try to keep this spoiler-free. You've been warned. I've sat through some truly awful movies since I started this blog. I've watched movies so terrible that I've begged God to grant me the strength to make it to the end credits while simultaneously writing an email to Bob Iger demanding a refund. Star Wars: The Last Jedi is not one of those movies. Right now, fans are overreacting. As I write this, Star Wars: The Last Jedi has the lowest fan rating of any Star Wars film on Rotten Tomatoes. With a 56 percent, it beat the record of Atack of the Clones by one point. I've seen several Star Wars fans say that this film makes the prequels look good, which is possibly the worst insult a Star Wars film could receive. I think many of these fans would benefit from watching a truly terrible movie like The Good Dinosaur or The Lone Ranger. The Last Jedi is not the worst Star Wars film ever made, but it is incredibly lazy. The Lazy Jedi  Those that like The Last Jedi praise writer and director Rian Johnson for taking a visionary look at the world of Star Wars. They write articles with headlines like "The Last Jedi Doesn't Care What You Think About Star Wars." Johnson burns down what we know about Star Wars by killing off Snoke, having Rey's parents be no names (which I still don't believe), and refusing to conform to the Star Wars you know and love. There is genius in that strategy, but Johnson executes it in the laziest possible way. He doesn't just gloss over the explanations for characters from Episode 7. He obliterates the backstory for any character he introduces. The man with the Red Plume plays a central role in the story until he is deemed insignificant. How great would it have been in the man in the red plume only turned out to be the bodyguard for the woman beside him who was the real codebreaker? A move like that would take imagination and several revisions of the script. Or, you could be lazy and just write the characters into a prison cell with a person who has the exact skills they are looking for. Or consider one of the crucial scenes when the rebel escape pods are leaving their doomed cruiser. An inventive script would have allowed the resistance to have an elaborate plan in the face of the First Order's ability to track escape pods. A lazy script would have a line of dialogue that shows the resistance "can't track" the escape pods for some nonsense reason. Johnson didn't have the answers fans were looking for from Episode 7, but he also didn't have the answers we were looking for from Episode 8. How was Leia able to somehow revive herself in space and force fly back to the ship? What happened to the man in the Plume? If the Jedi order is over, why does Luke call Rey a Jedi? If you literally have a Jedi mater burn down the ancient texts of the Jedi order to start something new, why would you put those old texts on the Millenium Falcon to restart the Jedi order? How did Rose's ship not explode when she crashed full force into Finn? How are some people (like the kid at the end) able to use the force without any training while Luke, Anakin and everyone before them needed training to use the force? These are the questions a good script can answer, but The Last Jedi is a lazy script. A Flawed Hero Despite its faults -- and there are many -- The Last Jedi does have many good qualities that I feel fans are missing. The idea that Luke Skywalker still struggled as a leader after Return of the Jedi was refreshing and inspiring. An imperfect Luke Skywalker is much easier to relate to than an all-powerful Jedi. Yoda's rebuke of Luke's failure to pass on his failures to those he taught hit exactly the right tone. This was more impactful since Yoda was the one who pressed the button to burn the ancient texts. It was the past telling the present to let go so the future can have its time. There are several messages that the film tries to get across and sometimes it is incredibly successful. For example, Poe's lesson in leadership was heavy handed in the script, but it was still impactful. Sometimes there are situations you can't blast your way out of and if Poe is to become the leader of the new resistance -- hint: he will -- he has a lot to learn. It's as if Johnson was speaking directly to my generation as we begin to assume more leadership roles at work and in the community. Not My Father's Star Wars Perhaps the most important question that The Last Jedi raises is how far a franchise can go before it betrays itself. That is, how far can a movie bend or break the rules of a franchise before it becomes unrecognizable to the fans who loved it in the first place? Johnson attempts to answer this question by revealing the parentage of Rey. For decades, Star Wars fans have known that the force runs in families. If Rey's parents are nobodies, how is she so powerful with the force? Johnson doesn't provide Rey with a simple line of dialogue that might help explain her abilities. Even Luke used to bullseye 2-meter wide womp rats in his T-16 back home before he used the force on the Death Star. Anakin was a pod racer before he became one of the greatest pilots in the rebellion. No matter how much raw ability you have, you will need training--whether professional or amateur--to compete at an all-star level. That's not just the way Star Wars works. That's the way life works. Johnson wants to do away with that notion and that is part of the reasons fans are rejecting it. This isn't my father's star wars, but it's not even my Star Wars. It just doesn't make sense. Johnson is telling fans "Everyone is special," which is another way of saying no one is. In a galaxy like Star Wars, it's easier to write a world where everyone has a mastery of the force. Then you can explain away any unfortunate happening. Consider how Johnson has set up who is the most powerful with the force: Leia - apparently so powerful with the force that she is immortal. Rey - a Hall of Fame caliber Jedi with no training. Kylo Ren - a whiny, unstable dark lord of the sith. Supreme Leader Snoke - an overrated Sith Yoda - An incredibly wise Jedi but not powerful enough to be immortal or stop the rise of the Sith. Luke Skywalker - A flawed has-been from 30 years ago who was defeated by his apprentice Ben Solo (later Kylo Ren). Everyone in the galaxy - Because "everyone" is special. If the list above were College Football rankings, Luke Skywalker wouldn't even make the playoffs. That is a huge rebuke of Star Wars as a franchise. In my Star Wars, the Jedi are the most powerful with the force, but in Johnson's Star Wars the top two spots are not occupied by Jedi. In my Star Wars, Supreme Leader Snoke's mastery of the force would create a problem for even the most experienced Jedi, but in Johnson's Star Wars he can be dispatched before half the movie is over. My Star Wars is set a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away. Johnson's Star Wars has Luke flip that dirt off his shoulders like Jay-Z. I wouldn't be surprised if he had him drop a mic. Where Do We Go From Here? Disney is kind of in a perilous place at the moment. They let Johnson have his take on the franchise without really letting him go so far that it can't be reeled back in. Will JJ Abrams follow his lead with Episode 9, or will we see something more conventional? My hunch is that Disney will play it safe. They want people to like Star Wars. They want people to come to Star Wars land in 2019 and stay in the $1,000 per night hotel. Too many films like The Last Jedi and the most hard-core fans may just stay home from the movies and the parks. Fans have a much easier choice. Abrams will have plenty of room to tell a story as if The Last Jedi never happened. If he chooses to ignore the film, fans will have the right to do the same. If Abrams makes The Last Jedi crucial to Episode 9, fans will have to decide whether they identify enough with this new Star Wars to call themselves fans. For me, that is up in the air right now. I don't need an explanation for everything, but I want the series I follow to make sense. I'm fine with some people being extremely special or even a lot of people being special, but I'll probably lose interest if Star Wars tries to convince me everyone is special. Because then no one is special. That's not Star Wars, it's just lazy. Final Rating: 7.5/10

1hr 31mins

13 Nov 2018

Rank #11

Podcast cover

EP223: 'Captain Marvel' Soars

This week Disney released the last Marvel film before Avengers: EndGame. It just also happened to be Marvel's first movie that was lead by a female super hero and they knocked it out of the park. Take a listen to our thoughts on the origin story for the most powerful character in the MCU.

1hr 27mins

11 Mar 2019

Rank #12

Podcast cover

EP243: Now What?

Coronavirus has shut down Most of Disney - movies, parks, sports. As the world prepares to reopen, we talk about how Disney can move forward with a little game of True or False.

1hr 14mins

4 May 2020

Rank #13

Podcast cover

'Tomorrowland' Audaciously Touts Optimism - DMR 014

Tomorrowland opens to questionable reviews. What Director Brad Bird says is the most important thing about making films. One new animated film will have Disney’s first nude scene! We’ll talk about it in our Fast Flicks segment. For the week of May 25, it’s episode 14 of the Disney Movie Review ‘What is Tomorrowland’ featurette https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WBX5xgrE_vk Disney’s International Trailer shows the differences between Frank and Casey’s pins. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_KqjGOHEtH4 Will Disney hit $3 Billion in revenue? http://www.thedisneymoviereview.com/11 The Largest Disney Store in the World Opened in China http://www.thedisneymoviereview.com/disney-store-in-china-as-big-as-white-house/ Lewis Black gave a Public Service Announcement (PSA) about silencing your cell phone during a movie and it is funny. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6bzO2NcylwI Star Wars Characters will be in Disney infinity 3.0. Check out the trailers https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DWnA-yXUmJI Show your #DisneySide and you could win a trip to Disney World and a night in the Cinderella suite! http://disneyparks.disney.go.com/blog/2015/05/enter-the-coolest-summer-disney-side-contest-for-a-chance-to-win-a-sleepover-in-the-cinderella-castle-suite/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+DisneyParks+%28Disney+Parks+Blog%29 Contact us: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/117568401234149523089/+Thedisneymoviereview/posts Email: TheDisneyMovieReview@gmail.com

1hr 9mins

25 May 2015

Rank #14

Podcast cover

EP236: Toy Story 4 Review

This week Pixar released the fourth Toy Story film. So far they have never made a bad Toy Story, and they continue the trend of excellence with Toy Story 4. This week we break down the entire movie and how we would rank it in the franchise.

1hr 22mins

24 Jun 2019

Rank #15

Podcast cover

Dr. Strange Spoiler Review - The Disney Movie Review 105

This Week things get a little mystic on our spoiler review of Dr. Strange. We talk about the visual effects that took us to another dimension. Did whitewashing really ruin the movie? And Disney released some pictures from the new live-action Beauty and the Beast. We take a look and give our opinions. That and much, much more. For the week of November 7, this is episode 105 of The Disney Movie Review. THANK YOU! Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site. If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love! Contact me: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview Buy a shirt: www.distshirts.com

1hr 5mins

7 Nov 2016

Rank #16

Podcast cover

EP214: The Best Of Disney in 2018

This week we break down the year that was 2018. It was the second time Disney broke the $7 Billion mark at the box office, but do the movies live up to the hype? We give you the good and not-so-good parts of all the Disney movies from 2018.

1hr 32mins

31 Dec 2018

Rank #17

Podcast cover

'Solo' Has the Most Important Cameo in Star Wars History

I was skeptical going into Solo: A Star Wars Story. I wasn't worried about Alden Ehrenreich's portrayal of Han or whether they would "ruin" a character I enjoyed. I was just pretty sure the movie didn't need to exist. But somehow, Lucasfilm managed to turn something that I thought would be pretty stale into a fun summer adventure. Half-directed by Ron Howard (after the firing of Phil Lord and Chris Miller just under a year ago), Solo takes viewers through a fun origin story that could have far-reaching consequences in the Star Wars universe (More on that later.). How did Han Solo meet Chewie and get the Millenium Falcon? When I walked in, I didn't care too much, but I was pleasantly surprised at the answer. The Young Han Solo Alden Ehrenreich plays Han as a naive boy. He is much more Luke Skywalker than Han Solo at first, but that's exactly what we needed to see. He is a Young Han Solo. We meet him before the years of smuggling, Jabba the Hut and the Kessel run. This is what gives Ehrenreich so much freedom. We see hints of Han, but that is all. He is a different character and Ehrenreich does a great job. In fact, most of the time the acting is pretty good. Woody Harrelson (Beckett), Donald Glover (Lando), Joonas Suotamo (Chewie) and Love-interest Emilia Clarke (Qi'ra) turn in some memorable performances. The problem is that the acting is disjointed. You can tell there were points in the movie when they were acting for Howard and some less impactful parts when they were acting for Lord and Miller. The only one who doesn't suffer from this continuity of character issue is the villainous Paul Bettany (Dryden Vos), who is one of the scariest Star Wars villains I've ever encountered. The only "character" that let me down was the music. This score is co-composed by John Powell and John Williams. Williams, of course, is the genius behind most of the Star Wars franchise. By comparison, some of the Powell scores seem elementary. Then again, it's hard to think of a person who would not sound elementary next to John Williams (excluding Michael Giacchino). The Most Crucial Cameo in Star Wars History? * SPOILERS EXIST BELOW THIS POINT. YOU'VE BEEN WARNED. * Solo doesn't have the deepest plot or Oscar-worthy acting, but it more than makes up for it through significance. When Qi'ra fires up the hologram to reveal Darth Maul -- or "Maul" as he is now known -- Lucasfilm was giving a call-back to more than just The Phantom Menace. Solo is set after the Clone Wars, which means we are seeing Maul after Obi-Wan cut him in half in Episode 1. So what gives? Hardcore Star Wars fans will know that Darth Maul has been alive and well in the two television shows Rebels, and The Clone Wars. They will also know a lot more about how Maul survived, which I won't go into here. The important thing is that Maul now exists in the movie canon. Which means if you spent hours watching Rebels, reading comics, and discussing scenarios with your friends, Lucasfilm just threw a pretty big easter egg your way as a "Thank you." If The Last Jedi attempted to burn the Star Wars world down so it could be rebuilt, Solo expanded on an already rich universe with a new story. Each method will have its supporters and detractors. However, the most important thing a studio can do for its fan base is acknowledge and appreciate their dedication. That doesn't mean the studio must or even should bend to the will of the fans. However, it doesn't hurt to thank fans before you blow up their universe. By inserting Darth Maul into the fray, Lucasfilm gave a strong message to Star Wars fans who felt their entire world collapse in The Last Jedi. Lucasfilm is taking the trilogies in a new direction, but they aren't done with the past just yet.

1hr 12mins

12 Nov 2018

Rank #18

Podcast cover

EP213: Mary Poppins Returns Review

This Week Emily Blunt did her best Mary Poppins impression for Disney's long-awaited sequel, Mary Poppins Returns. We review the music, the acting, the story and much, much more. Unfortunately, we had to shift our normal schedule this week, so Kristin couldn't make it. But we were lucky to get Stan Solo of the Grand Circle Tour podcast on the show. It's a fun discussion and I hope you enjoy it.

1hr 16mins

24 Dec 2018

Rank #19

Podcast cover

EP215: Another Record Year for Disney

Disney closed out the year in style, posting a domestic record at the box office. Meanwhile it looks like Emily Blunt is only earning half of what Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson is making for Jungle Cruise. And Netflix is making a lot of Disney fans very angry for leaving the Asian-American stars out of Mulan. That and much more for the week of Jan 7, 2019, this is episode 215.

1hr 2mins

7 Jan 2019

Rank #20