OwlTail

Cover image of About to Review
(59)
TV & Film
Film Interviews
Film Reviews

About to Review

Updated 15 days ago

TV & Film
Film Interviews
Film Reviews
Read more

About to Review podcast host That Guy Named John discusses and reviews old and new movies, TV, games and comics. The show has covered national and international film festivals and conventions, and has hosted numerous interviews with actors, directors and other creators.

Read more

About to Review podcast host That Guy Named John discusses and reviews old and new movies, TV, games and comics. The show has covered national and international film festivals and conventions, and has hosted numerous interviews with actors, directors and other creators.

iTunes Ratings

59 Ratings
Average Ratings
53
2
0
0
4

Not a favorite

By The Sidewinder Three-Thousand - Aug 10 2018
Read more
I didn’t enjoy this podcast. It meanders, the host takes forever to say stuff, and it seems very surface level. No real insight, a lot of just repeating the plot. There are much better review podcasts out there.

Vancouver Web Fest

By Char410berys - Mar 25 2017
Read more
Enjoyed your interviews with the winners of the Web Fest. 🎭😍😃

iTunes Ratings

59 Ratings
Average Ratings
53
2
0
0
4

Not a favorite

By The Sidewinder Three-Thousand - Aug 10 2018
Read more
I didn’t enjoy this podcast. It meanders, the host takes forever to say stuff, and it seems very surface level. No real insight, a lot of just repeating the plot. There are much better review podcasts out there.

Vancouver Web Fest

By Char410berys - Mar 25 2017
Read more
Enjoyed your interviews with the winners of the Web Fest. 🎭😍😃
Cover image of About to Review

About to Review

Latest release on Sep 03, 2020

The Best Episodes Ranked Using User Listens

Updated by OwlTail 15 days ago

Rank #1: ATR #173 – Rise of Skywalker, CATS, Uncut Gems

Podcast cover
Read more
This week I was joined by a special guest Silas Lindenstien, who is a podcaster, comedian, actor, and multiple award winning filmmaker! I review “CATS” and “Uncut Gems” solo, and then we review a small indie movie called “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker”!
Podcast support info: Thank you so much for all of your support!
  • Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio.
  • Click here for the – PayPal Link. If you are feeling super generous and want to pitch in a dollar, great!
Timecode breakdown:
  • 0m:00s – 4m:15s: Intro to the show and guest
  • 4m:15s – 20m:15s: Discussion, review, and rating of “CATS” (IMDB.com/CATS)
  • 20m:15s – 31m:010s: Discussion, review, and rating of “Uncut Gems” (IMDB.com/UncutGems)
  • 31m:10s – 44m:10s: Discussion, review, and rating of “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker” (IMDB.com/StarWarsSkywalker)
  • 1h:27m – 1h:30m: Social media and wrap up
Guest info and social media handles:
  • Silas Lindenstien:
Credits: Make sure to follow this podcast social media! Click on the links to subscribe:
If you have any questions, comments, or ideas for future episodes, you can email those to the show at: abouttoreview@gmail.com

Dec 19 2019

1hr 47mins

Play

Rank #2: ATR #91 – Good, Bad, and Ugly train movies (plus The Commuter)

Podcast cover
Read more
Choo Choo! All aboard for this week's episode which is all about the Good, Bad, and Ugly train related movies! I was joined by friend and fellow critic Brian Taibl, AKA: "Brian The Movie Guy" where we talk trains, and then review "The Commuter".

Jan 17 2018

1hr 9mins

Play

Similar Podcasts

The Down & Dirty Radio Show

Sips, Suds, & Smokes

Are You Hearing This!

Jim Beaver's Project Action

Lounge Podcast

Rotated Views

TACTICAL BUSINESSMAN

DO THE WORK

LIFE WITH THE CHAPMANS

Cult Of Us

Secrets of The Sire

THE CHURCH IS BROKEN PODCAST

Dads With Swag

Inappropriate Earl

Unleash Your Greatness Within

Rank #3: ATR #172 – “Queen & Slim” and “Knives Out”

Podcast cover
Read more
Another week, another solo episode! On this week’s episode I review “Queen & Slim” and “Knives Out”. Enjoy! Podcast support info: Thank you so much for all of your support!
  • Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio.
  • Click here for the – PayPal Link. If you are feeling super generous and want to pitch in a dollar, great!
Time code breakdown:
  • 0m:00s – 2m:30s: Intro to the show 
  • 2m:30s – 15m:00s: “Queen & Slim” review (IMDB.com/Queen&Slim)
  • 15m:00s – 30m:00s: “Knives Out” review (IMDB.com/KnivesOut)
  • 30m:00s – 37m:08s: Social media and wrap up
Credits: Make sure to follow this podcast social media! Click on the links to subscribe:
If you have any questions, comments, or ideas for future episodes, you can email those to the show at: abouttoreview@gmail.com

Nov 27 2019

30mins

Play

Rank #4: ATR #165 – JOKER, Harpoon, First Love

Podcast cover
Read more
I was joined once again by Matt Oakes of "Silver Screen Riot" (SilverScreenRiot.com) for this week's episode and we reviewed "JOKER", "Harpoon", and "First Love". There are some hot takes in this one!

Oct 02 2019

1hr 29mins

Play

Most Popular Podcasts

The Joe Rogan Experience

TED Talks Daily

The Tim Ferriss Show

The Daily

Stuff You Should Know

Oprah's SuperSoul Conversations

Armchair Expert with Dax Shepard

Rank #5: ATI #10 – Adam Schleichkorn

Podcast cover
Read more
You might not know Adam Schleichkorn's name right away, but you will immediately recognize his work if you have spent any time at all on the internet for the past decade! Better known as "Mylo The Cat", his mashup videos have gained 10's of millions of views from across the globe!

Jan 19 2018

39mins

Play

Rank #6: ATR #107 – 50 Hour Slam, Translations, and SIFF

Podcast cover
Read more
Festival extravaganza! On this independant film filled episode, Dr. Andy returns to the studios after a brief hiatus and he and John talk about 3 different film festivals: "Translations", "50 Hour Slam", and "SIFF", as well as a review for the documentary "Man Made".

May 09 2018

1hr 2mins

Play

Rank #7: ATR #166 – Gemini Man, The Addams Family, Zombieland Double Tap, Dolemite is my Name

Podcast cover
Read more
This is a special solo show as I review four new films which are in theaters now, including "Gemini Man", "The Addams Family", "Zombieland Double Tap", and "Dolemite is my name"!

Oct 16 2019

41mins

Play

Rank #8: ATR #164 – Hustlers, In Fabric, Corporate Animals, AD ASTRA

Podcast cover
Read more
For this week's episode I am joined my Matt Oakes of "Silver Screen Riot" (SilverScreenRiot.com) and we review "Hustlers", "In Fabric", and "Corporate Animals"! Matt left the studio to avoid spoilers as I then reviewed "AD ASTRA". Enjoy!

Sep 18 2019

1hr 24mins

Play

Rank #9: ATR #108 – Deadpool 2, Life of the Party, Breaking In, Close-Knit

Podcast cover
Read more
Deadpool 2 is one of the most highly anticipated movies of the year, and Tim Hall, "The People's Critic" is in studio with John to talk all about it! Plus there are reviews for 3 other films: "Life of the Party", "Breaking In", and "Close-Knit".

May 16 2018

1hr 38mins

Play

Rank #10: ATR #94 – Director Spotlight: Spike Lee

Podcast cover
Read more
During Black History Month I want to showcase and highlight my friends, colleagues, and people I look up to who are doing great things. Actor/ comedian/ podcaster Chris Lamberth, from "The Mundane Festival" joined this episode to talk about the one and only Spike Lee!

Feb 07 2018

1hr 47mins

Play

Rank #11: ATR #168 – Harriet, JoJo Rabbit, Terminator Dark Fate, Parasite

Podcast cover
Read more
Another solo show in the books, and on this one I review three new films including “Harriet”, “JoJo Rabbit”, “Terminator Dark Fate”, and “Parasite”! Podcast support info: Thank you so […]

Oct 30 2019

51mins

Play

Rank #12: ATR #167 – The Lighthouse, Black and Blue, The Current War

Podcast cover
Read more
This week I had a very special guest in the studio, Adam Gehrke of the "Cinema Squabble" podcast (CinemaSquabble.com), who has spent over 2 decades in the radio and TV media world! Make sure to follow all of his work at AdamGehrke.com!

Oct 24 2019

1hr 45mins

Play

Rank #13: ATR #169 – Doctor Sleep, Seattle 48 Hour Horror Film Project

Podcast cover
Read more
This episodes special guest include me, myself, and I (AKA: another solo episode)! This is kind of a split episode in which it starts with a review of "Doctor Sleep" and then will go into my favorites from the 2019 48 Hour Horror Film Project!

Nov 06 2019

23mins

Play

Rank #14: ATR #175 – Bad Boys for Life

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week’s episode I do a quick (for me) review the new film “Bad Boys for Life”!

The Renton City Comic Con geek awards are back! I would love your help in nominating me in the first round:
Podcast support info: Thank you so much for all of your support!
  • Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio.
  • Click here for the – PayPal Link. If you are feeling super generous and want to pitch in a dollar, great!
Time code breakdown:
  • 0m:00s – 2m:25s: Intro to the show and Renton City Comic Con contest
  • 2m:25s – 22m:45s: “Bad Boys for Life” review (IMDB.com/BadBoysForLife)
  • 22m:45s – 24m:36s: Social media and wrap up
Credits: Make sure to follow this podcast social media! Click on the links to subscribe:
If you have any questions, comments, or ideas for future episodes, you can email those to the show at: abouttoreview@gmail.com

Jan 22 2020

24mins

Play

Rank #15: ATR #174 – Underwater

Podcast cover
Read more

On this week’s episode, the first one of 2020, I review the new film “Underwater”!

The Renton City Comic Con geek awards are back! I would love your help in nominating me in the first round:

  • Step 1: Go to this link: https://www.rentoncitycomiccon.com/kick-off-the-cons.html
  • Step 2: Scroll down about halfway through the page and click the “Nominate your favorite geeks” image and that will take you to the survey
  • Step 3: Nominate the podcast in the categories below:
    8. Favorite Northwest Podcast?
    -> About To Review <-
    9. Please nominate a GEEK OF THE YEAR from the Northwest.
    -> John Reviewer <-
  • Step 4: After completing the survey, you can click the link to head back to the RenCon page and vote/ nominate again!

Podcast support info: Thank you so much for all of your support!

  • Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio.
  • Click here for the – PayPal Link. If you are feeling super generous and want to pitch in a dollar, great!

Time code breakdown:

  • 0m:00s – 3m:35s: Intro to the show and RenCon contest
  • 3m:35s – 21m:45s: “Underwater” review (IMDB.com/Undwerwater)
  • 21m:45s – 24m:09s: Social media and wrap up

Credits:

Make sure to follow this podcast social media!

Click on the links to subscribe:

If you have any questions, comments, or ideas for future episodes, you can email those to the show at: abouttoreview@gmail.com

Jan 15 2020

24mins

Play

Rank #16: ATR #171 – “Honey Boy” and “WAVES”

Podcast cover
Read more
Another week, another solo episode! On this week’s episode I review “Honey Boy” and “Waves”, which are both family dynamic movies with a lot to say. Thanks for listening!

Podcast support info: Thank you so much for all of your support!
  • Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio.
  • Click here for the – PayPal Link. If you are feeling super generous and want to pitch in a dollar, great!
Time code breakdown:
Credits: Make sure to follow this podcast social media! Click on the links to subscribe:
If you have any questions, comments, or ideas for future episodes, you can email those to the show at: abouttoreview@gmail.com

Nov 20 2019

37mins

Play

Rank #17: ATI #12 – David Crownson

Podcast cover
Read more
David Crownson is an actor, filmmaker, and creator/ writer of the new graphic novel "Harriet Tubman: Demon Slayer"! A blend of supernatural action based on freedom fighter Harriet Tubman with genre liberties that mirror "Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter".

Feb 09 2018

42mins

Play

Rank #18: ATR #163 – IT: Chapter Two, The Goldfinch, 2019 Renton City Comic Con

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week's episode I review two new films "IT: Chapter Two" and "The Goldfinch", plus I give a quick rundown of the 2019 Renton City Comic Con! Make sure to look out for an episode of "About To Interview" this week with guests from RenCon!

Sep 11 2019

44mins

Play

Rank #19: ATR #162 – Brittany Runs a Marathon, Don’t Let Go, Wu Assassins

Podcast cover
Read more
This week's episode is another solo show, and I review ""Brittany Runs a Marathon", "Don't Let Go", and the new Netflix show "Wu Assassins"!

Aug 28 2019

36mins

Play

Rank #20: ATI #29 – Paul Downs Colaizzo (Brittany Runs a Marathon)

Podcast cover
Read more
This episode of the “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” podcast features an interview I conducted with Paul Downs Colaizzo, the writer and director of "Brittany Runs a Marathon"!

Aug 28 2019

17mins

Play