OwlTail

Cover image of About to Review

About to Review

About to Review podcast host That Guy Named John discusses and reviews old and new movies, TV, games and comics. The show has covered national and international film festivals and conventions, and has hosted numerous interviews with actors, directors and other creators.

Weekly hand curated podcast episodes for learning

Popular episodes

All episodes

The best episodes ranked using user listens.

Podcast cover

ATR #173 – Rise of Skywalker, CATS, Uncut Gems

This week I was joined by a special guest Silas Lindenstien, who is a podcaster, comedian, actor, and multiple award winning filmmaker! I review "CATS" and "Uncut Gems" solo, and then we review a small indie movie called "Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker"!

1hr 47mins

19 Dec 2019

Rank #1

Podcast cover

ATR #91 – Good, Bad, and Ugly train movies (plus The Commuter)

Choo Choo! All aboard for this week's episode which is all about the Good, Bad, and Ugly train related movies! I was joined by friend and fellow critic Brian Taibl, AKA: "Brian The Movie Guy" where we talk trains, and then review "The Commuter".

1hr 9mins

17 Jan 2018

Rank #2

Similar Podcasts

Podcast cover

ATR #172 – “Queen & Slim” and “Knives Out”

Another week, another solo episode! On this week’s episode I review “Queen & Slim” and “Knives Out”. Enjoy! Podcast support info: Thank you so much for all of your support! […]

30mins

27 Nov 2019

Rank #3

Podcast cover

ATR #165 – JOKER, Harpoon, First Love

I was joined once again by Matt Oakes of "Silver Screen Riot" (SilverScreenRiot.com) for this week's episode and we reviewed "JOKER", "Harpoon", and "First Love". There are some hot takes in this one!

1hr 29mins

2 Oct 2019

Rank #4

Most Popular Podcasts

Podcast cover

ATI #10 – Adam Schleichkorn

You might not know Adam Schleichkorn's name right away, but you will immediately recognize his work if you have spent any time at all on the internet for the past decade! Better known as "Mylo The Cat", his mashup videos have gained 10's of millions of views from across the globe!

39mins

19 Jan 2018

Rank #5

Podcast cover

ATR #107 – 50 Hour Slam, Translations, and SIFF

Festival extravaganza! On this independant film filled episode, Dr. Andy returns to the studios after a brief hiatus and he and John talk about 3 different film festivals: "Translations", "50 Hour Slam", and "SIFF", as well as a review for the documentary "Man Made".

1hr 2mins

9 May 2018

Rank #6

Podcast cover

ATR #166 – Gemini Man, The Addams Family, Zombieland Double Tap, Dolemite is my Name

This is a special solo show as I review four new films which are in theaters now, including "Gemini Man", "The Addams Family", "Zombieland Double Tap", and "Dolemite is my name"!

41mins

16 Oct 2019

Rank #7

Podcast cover

ATR #164 – Hustlers, In Fabric, Corporate Animals, AD ASTRA

For this week's episode I am joined my Matt Oakes of "Silver Screen Riot" (SilverScreenRiot.com) and we review "Hustlers", "In Fabric", and "Corporate Animals"! Matt left the studio to avoid spoilers as I then reviewed "AD ASTRA". Enjoy!

1hr 24mins

18 Sep 2019

Rank #8

Podcast cover

ATR #108 – Deadpool 2, Life of the Party, Breaking In, Close-Knit

Deadpool 2 is one of the most highly anticipated movies of the year, and Tim Hall, "The People's Critic" is in studio with John to talk all about it! Plus there are reviews for 3 other films: "Life of the Party", "Breaking In", and "Close-Knit".

1hr 38mins

16 May 2018

Rank #9

Podcast cover

ATR #94 – Director Spotlight: Spike Lee

During Black History Month I want to showcase and highlight my friends, colleagues, and people I look up to who are doing great things. Actor/ comedian/ podcaster Chris Lamberth, from "The Mundane Festival" joined this episode to talk about the one and only Spike Lee!

1hr 47mins

7 Feb 2018

Rank #10

Podcast cover

ATR #168 – Harriet, JoJo Rabbit, Terminator Dark Fate, Parasite

Another solo show in the books, and on this one I review three new films including “Harriet”, “JoJo Rabbit”, “Terminator Dark Fate”, and “Parasite”! Podcast support info: Thank you so […]

51mins

30 Oct 2019

Rank #11

Podcast cover

ATR #167 – The Lighthouse, Black and Blue, The Current War

This week I had a very special guest in the studio, Adam Gehrke of the "Cinema Squabble" podcast (CinemaSquabble.com), who has spent over 2 decades in the radio and TV media world! Make sure to follow all of his work at AdamGehrke.com!

1hr 45mins

24 Oct 2019

Rank #12

Podcast cover

ATR #169 – Doctor Sleep, Seattle 48 Hour Horror Film Project

This episodes special guest include me, myself, and I (AKA: another solo episode)! This is kind of a split episode in which it starts with a review of "Doctor Sleep" and then will go into my favorites from the 2019 48 Hour Horror Film Project!

23mins

6 Nov 2019

Rank #13

Podcast cover

ATR #175 – Bad Boys for Life

On this week's episode I do a quick (for me) review the new film "Bad Boys for Life"!

24mins

22 Jan 2020

Rank #14

Podcast cover

ATR #174 – Underwater

On this week's episode, the first one of 2020, I review the new film "Underwater"!

24mins

15 Jan 2020

Rank #15

Podcast cover

ATR #171 – “Honey Boy” and “WAVES”

Another week, another solo episode! On this week's episode I review "Honey Boy" and "Waves", which are both family dynamic movies with a lot to say. Thanks for listening!

37mins

20 Nov 2019

Rank #16

Podcast cover

ATI #12 – David Crownson

David Crownson is an actor, filmmaker, and creator/ writer of the new graphic novel "Harriet Tubman: Demon Slayer"! A blend of supernatural action based on freedom fighter Harriet Tubman with genre liberties that mirror "Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter".

42mins

9 Feb 2018

Rank #17

Podcast cover

ATR #163 – IT: Chapter Two, The Goldfinch, 2019 Renton City Comic Con

On this week's episode I review two new films "IT: Chapter Two" and "The Goldfinch", plus I give a quick rundown of the 2019 Renton City Comic Con! Make sure to look out for an episode of "About To Interview" this week with guests from RenCon!

44mins

11 Sep 2019

Rank #18

Podcast cover

ATR #162 – Brittany Runs a Marathon, Don’t Let Go, Wu Assassins

This week's episode is another solo show, and I review ""Brittany Runs a Marathon", "Don't Let Go", and the new Netflix show "Wu Assassins"!

36mins

28 Aug 2019

Rank #19

Podcast cover

ATI #29 – Paul Downs Colaizzo (Brittany Runs a Marathon)

This episode of the “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” podcast features an interview I conducted with Paul Downs Colaizzo, the writer and director of "Brittany Runs a Marathon"!

17mins

28 Aug 2019

Rank #20