Cover image of About to Review
(59)
TV & Film
Film Interviews
Film Reviews

About to Review

Updated 5 days ago

TV & Film
Film Interviews
Film Reviews
Read more

About to Review podcast host That Guy Named John discusses and reviews old and new movies, TV, games and comics. The show has covered national and international film festivals and conventions, and has hosted numerous interviews with actors, directors and other creators.

Read more

About to Review podcast host That Guy Named John discusses and reviews old and new movies, TV, games and comics. The show has covered national and international film festivals and conventions, and has hosted numerous interviews with actors, directors and other creators.

iTunes Ratings

59 Ratings
Average Ratings
53
2
0
0
4

Not a favorite

By The Sidewinder Three-Thousand - Aug 10 2018
Read more
I didn’t enjoy this podcast. It meanders, the host takes forever to say stuff, and it seems very surface level. No real insight, a lot of just repeating the plot. There are much better review podcasts out there.

Vancouver Web Fest

By Char410berys - Mar 25 2017
Read more
Enjoyed your interviews with the winners of the Web Fest. 🎭😍😃

iTunes Ratings

59 Ratings
Average Ratings
53
2
0
0
4

Not a favorite

By The Sidewinder Three-Thousand - Aug 10 2018
Read more
I didn’t enjoy this podcast. It meanders, the host takes forever to say stuff, and it seems very surface level. No real insight, a lot of just repeating the plot. There are much better review podcasts out there.

Vancouver Web Fest

By Char410berys - Mar 25 2017
Read more
Enjoyed your interviews with the winners of the Web Fest. 🎭😍😃
Cover image of About to Review

About to Review

Latest release on Jan 15, 2020

The Best Episodes Ranked Using User Listens

Updated by OwlTail 5 days ago

Rank #1: ATR #160 – Mega movie lightning round w/ Mike Ward!

Podcast cover
Read more
For this week's mega movie lightning round I am joined my Mike Ward of "Should I See It" (ShouldISee.it) as we run rough shot through a dozen movie reviews, lightning round style! We (mostly) tried to stick with shorter reviews and I hope you enjoy!

Aug 07 2019

2hr 7mins

Play

Rank #2: ATR #156 – Avengers: Endgame & The Curse of La Llorna

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week’s episode I am joined by two of my best friends, Tim Hall and Jess O’Brien as we review “The Curse of La Llorna” and “Avengers: Endgame”! Podcast […]

Apr 25 2019

1hr 8mins

Play

Rank #3: ATR #163 – IT: Chapter Two, The Goldfinch, 2019 Renton City Comic Con

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week's episode I review two new films "IT: Chapter Two" and "The Goldfinch", plus I give a quick rundown of the 2019 Renton City Comic Con! Make sure to look out for an episode of "About To Interview" this week with guests from RenCon!

Sep 11 2019

44mins

Play

Rank #4: ATR #167 – The Lighthouse, Black and Blue, The Current War

Podcast cover
Read more

This week I had a very special guest in the studio, Adam Gehrke of the “Cinema Squabble” podcast (CinemaSquabble.com), who has spent over 2 decades in the radio and TV media world! Make sure to follow all of his work at AdamGehrke.com!

Podcast support info: Thank you so much for all of your support!

  • Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio.
  • Click here for the – PayPal Link. If you are feeling super generous and want to pitch in a dollar, great!

Timecode breakdown:

  • 0m:00s – 1m:55s: Intro to the show and guest
  • 1m:55s – 40m:35s: Getting to know you: Adam Gehrke edition!
  • 40m:35s – 59m:30s: Review of “The Lighthouse” (IMDB.com/TheLighthouse)
  • 59m:30s – 1h:15m: Review of “Black and Blue” (IMDB.com/BlackandBlue)
  • 1h:15m – 1h:38m: Review of “The Current War” (IMDB.com/TheCurrentWar)
  • 1h:38m – 1h:45m: Social media and wrap up

Guest info and social media handles:

Credits:

Make sure to follow this podcast social media!

Click on the links to subscribe:

If you have any questions, comments, or ideas for future episodes, you can email those to the show at: abouttoreview@gmail.com

Oct 24 2019

1hr 45mins

Play

Rank #5: ATR #165 – JOKER, Harpoon, First Love

Podcast cover
Read more

I was joined once again by Matt Oakes of “Silver Screen Riot” (SilverScreenRiot.com) for this week’s episode and we reviewed “JOKER”, “Harpoon”, and “First Love”. There are some hot takes in this one!  

Podcast support info: Thank you so much for all of your support!

  • Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio.
  • Click here for the – PayPal Link. If you are feeling super generous and want to pitch in a dollar, great!

Timecode breakdown:

Guest info and social media handles:

Credits:

Make sure to follow this podcast social media!

Click on the links to subscribe:

If you have any questions, comments, or ideas for future episodes, you can email those to the show at: abouttoreview@gmail.com

Oct 02 2019

1hr 29mins

Play

Rank #6: ATR #107 – 50 Hour Slam, Translations, and SIFF

Podcast cover
Read more
Festival extravaganza! On this independant film filled episode, Dr. Andy returns to the studios after a brief hiatus and he and John talk about 3 different film festivals: "Translations", "50 Hour Slam", and "SIFF", as well as a review for the documentary "Man Made".

May 09 2018

1hr 2mins

Play

Rank #7: ATR #108 – Deadpool 2, Life of the Party, Breaking In, Close-Knit

Podcast cover
Read more
Deadpool 2 is one of the most highly anticipated movies of the year, and Tim Hall, "The People's Critic" is in studio with John to talk all about it! Plus there are reviews for 3 other films: "Life of the Party", "Breaking In", and "Close-Knit".

May 16 2018

1hr 38mins

Play

Rank #8: ATI #29 – Paul Downs Colaizzo (Brittany Runs a Marathon)

Podcast cover
Read more
This episode of the “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” podcast features an interview I conducted with Paul Downs Colaizzo, the writer and director of "Brittany Runs a Marathon"!

Aug 28 2019

17mins

Play

Rank #9: ATR #166 – Gemini Man, The Addams Family, Zombieland Double Tap, Dolemite is my Name

Podcast cover
Read more

This is a special solo show as I review four new films which are in theaters now, including “Gemini Man”, “The Addams Family”, “Zombieland Double Tap”, and “Dolemite is my name”!

Podcast support info: Thank you so much for all of your support!

  • Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio.
  • Click here for the – PayPal Link. If you are feeling super generous and want to pitch in a dollar, great!

Timecode breakdown:

Credits:

Make sure to follow this podcast social media!

Click on the links to subscribe:

If you have any questions, comments, or ideas for future episodes, you can email those to the show at: abouttoreview@gmail.com

Oct 16 2019

41mins

Play

Rank #10: ATR #162 – Brittany Runs a Marathon, Don’t Let Go, Wu Assassins

Podcast cover
Read more
This week's episode is another solo show, and I review ""Brittany Runs a Marathon", "Don't Let Go", and the new Netflix show "Wu Assassins"!

Aug 28 2019

36mins

Play

Rank #11: ATR #164 – Hustlers, In Fabric, Corporate Animals, AD ASTRA

Podcast cover
Read more

For this week’s episode I am joined my Matt Oakes of “Silver Screen Riot” (SilverScreenRiot.com) and we review “Hustlers”, “In Fabric”, and “Corporate Animals”! Matt left the studio to avoid spoilers as I then reviewed “AD ASTRA”. Enjoy!

Podcast support info: Thank you so much for all of your support!

  • Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio.
  • Click here for the – PayPal Link. If you are feeling super generous and want to pitch in a dollar, great!

Timecode breakdown:

Guest info and social media handles:

Credits:

Make sure to follow this podcast social media!

Click on the links to subscribe:

If you have any questions, comments, or ideas for future episodes, you can email those to the show at: abouttoreview@gmail.com

Sep 18 2019

1hr 24mins

Play

Rank #12: ATR #161 – Angel Has Fallen, Blinded by the Light, Ready or Not, Good Boys, 48 Hour Film Project

Podcast cover
Read more
After a brief hiatus, I am back in the land of the living (and podcasting)! This week's episode is a solo show where I review "Angel has Fallen", "Blinded by the Light", and "Ready or Not", plus I talk about my favorite films from the recent Seattle 48 Hour Film Project!

Aug 21 2019

52mins

Play

Rank #13: ATR #159 – Super-mega-ultra-epic movie rundown w/ Tim Hall

Podcast cover
Read more
This week I am joined once again by Tim Hall "The People's Critic" (ThePeoplesCriticBlog.com) as we catch up on quite a few movies that I had not reviewed yet!

Jun 04 2019

1hr 52mins

Play

Rank #14: ATR #155 – Hellboy, Master Z: Ip Man Legacy

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week’s episode I welcome Nick Jarin from the “NW NERD” podcast (nw-nerd.com) as we go over some geek news and then review “Master Z: Ip Man Legacy” and […]

Apr 17 2019

1hr 7mins

Play

Rank #15: ATI #27 – 2019 Vancouver Badass Film Festival!

Podcast cover
Read more
This episode of the “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” podcast features interviews I conducted while covering the 2019 Vancouver Badass Film Festival (VBAFF.com). There are talks with writers, directors, producers, actors and more!

Apr 03 2019

1hr 8mins

Play

Rank #16: ATR #154 – 2019 Vancouver Badass Film Festival, Pet Sematary

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week's episode I review "Pet Sematary" and also give a full breakdown of the Vancouver Badass Film Festival (VBAFF) which I attended this past weekend!

Apr 03 2019

1hr 24mins

Play

Rank #17: ATR #153 – Dumbo, Shazam, VBAFF preview

Podcast cover
Read more
Once again I am joined Skype machine with Tim Hall, The People's Critic! We review two new films, "Dumbo" and "Shazam", and then I give a preview of the upcoming Vancouver Badass Film Festival which I will be attending!

Mar 27 2019

59mins

Play

Rank #18: ATR #152 – US, Triple Threat, Gloria Bell, ECCC

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week's episode I am joined via the Skype machine with Tim Hall, The People's Critic! We start the show talking about Emerald City Comic Con 2019, and then review the films "Triple Threat", "Gloria Bell", and "US". Check it out!

Mar 20 2019

1hr 12mins

Play

Rank #19: ATR #151 – Triple Frontier, Russian Doll, AMA

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week's episode I was joined by "Just Jed" and we reviewed and discussed the new film "Triple Frontier", the Netflix show "Russian doll". After that Jed asked me the questions that listeners provided for the "Ask Me Anything" segment!

Mar 13 2019

1hr 29mins

Play

Rank #20: ATI #26 – “Prospect” team – Zeek Earl, Chris Caldwell, Brice Budke

Podcast cover
Read more
This episode of the “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” podcast features an interview I conducted with directors Zeek Earl and Chris Caldwell, and producer Brice Budke from the locally shot and produced film "Prospect"!

Mar 08 2019

1hr

Play