Cover image of Frock Flicks - Costume Movie Reviews
(50)
TV & Film
Fashion & Beauty

Frock Flicks - Costume Movie Reviews

TV & Film
Fashion & Beauty
Read more

Ever watch a historical movie and thought "what the heck are they wearing?" We've studied historical clothing, and we love to pick apart Hollywood's idea of period costume. But it's not just about history, it's also about symbolism, style, and more. Grab a cocktail and join us to bitch about crazy costume movies and TV series, fabulous historical costumes, and what it all means.

Read more

Ever watch a historical movie and thought "what the heck are they wearing?" We've studied historical clothing, and we love to pick apart Hollywood's idea of period costume. But it's not just about history, it's also about symbolism, style, and more. Grab a cocktail and join us to bitch about crazy costume movies and TV series, fabulous historical costumes, and what it all means.

iTunes Ratings

50 Ratings
Average Ratings
21
2
0
4
23

Mean ladies

By Funmuffins - Mar 21 2017
Read more

Why anyone would listen to these dolts is beyond me. They are horrid.

An entertaining breath of fresh air!

By Jules Kanel - Feb 23 2017
Read more

Snarky independent women, knowledgeable commentary that isn't stuffy or pretentious, and it's all about costumes. If I wanted a "serious discussion" on costumes I'd go to a lecture. I want to be entertained and inspired. This is relatable people talking about something they are passionate about with a sense of humor. And I love it!

iTunes Ratings

50 Ratings
Average Ratings
21
2
0
4
23

Mean ladies

By Funmuffins - Mar 21 2017
Read more

Why anyone would listen to these dolts is beyond me. They are horrid.

An entertaining breath of fresh air!

By Jules Kanel - Feb 23 2017
Read more

Snarky independent women, knowledgeable commentary that isn't stuffy or pretentious, and it's all about costumes. If I wanted a "serious discussion" on costumes I'd go to a lecture. I want to be entertained and inspired. This is relatable people talking about something they are passionate about with a sense of humor. And I love it!

Cover image of Frock Flicks - Costume Movie Reviews

Frock Flicks - Costume Movie Reviews

Read more

Ever watch a historical movie and thought "what the heck are they wearing?" We've studied historical clothing, and we love to pick apart Hollywood's idea of period costume. But it's not just about history, it's also about symbolism, style, and more. Grab a cocktail and join us to bitch about crazy costume movies and TV series, fabulous historical costumes, and what it all means.

Warning: This podcast data isn't working.

This means that the episode rankings aren't working properly. Please revisit us at a later time to get the best episodes of this podcast!

Rank #1: Josie Rourke's Mary Queen of Scots

Podcast cover
Read more

We review this attempt at a biopic about the famous Scottish queen.

Jan 08 2019
1 hour
Play

Rank #2: Yorgos Lanthimos's The Favorite

Podcast cover
Read more

We review this tale of court intrigue set in the early 18th century.

Dec 10 2018
54 mins
Play

Rank #3: Jamestown, Gunpowder, London

Podcast cover
Read more

We discuss the Association of Dress Historians conference in London and give you an inside peek at what:s coming up with costume movies and TV as well as what:s in the works for the blog. Next, we do in-depth reviews of the TV series Jamestown, which has aired in the UK, as well as Gunpowder, which stars Kit Harrington and is coming soon to HBO. Get your snark on for a monthly or twice monthly romp through historical costume movies and TV.

Nov 09 2017
50 mins
Play

Rank #4: Versailles S2, Search Terms, Patreon

Podcast cover
Read more

We kickoff our new podcast format with bits of news from the costume drama world, a behind-the-scenes look at Frock Flicks HQ, and a review of the first episodes of Versailles season two. Get your snark on for a monthly or twice monthly romp through historical costume movies and TV.

Oct 12 2017
41 mins
Play

Rank #5: Patreon Preview

Podcast cover
Read more

Get a taste of our subscription-only Patreon podcasts with this preview where we discuss what we:ve been watching recently, including Victoria and Six Wives with Lucy Worsley. Plus we look at how criticism fits in an academic and journalistic context.

Feb 22 2017
27 mins
Play

Rank #6: Mel Gibson's Braveheart

Podcast cover
Read more

For Snark Week, we take on that clunker of medieval Scotland: Braveheart. Oh yes, s****y kilts, stretch panne velvet, and patriarchy abounds. We're joined by Scottish dress historian Brenna Barks.

Jan 27 2017
1 hour 15 mins
Play

Rank #7: Guillermo del Toro's Crimson Peak

Podcast cover
Read more

We look at this gothic-horror story chock full of elaborate late Victorian costumes.

Oct 26 2016
42 mins
Play

Rank #8: Outlander Season 2, Episodes 12 and 13

Podcast cover
Read more

We discuss the costumes worn in Outlander's second season, episodes twelve and thirteen, and the second season in general.

Jul 12 2016
49 mins
Play

Rank #9: Outlander Season 2, Episode 11

Podcast cover
Read more

We discuss the costumes worn in Outlander's second season, episode eleven.

Jun 21 2016
23 mins
Play

Rank #10: Outlander Season 2, Episodes 9 and 10

Podcast cover
Read more

We discuss the costumes worn in Outlander's second season, episodes nine and ten.

Jun 14 2016
30 mins
Play

Similar Podcasts