Cover image of Frock Flicks - Costume Movie Reviews
(52)
Society & Culture
TV & Film

Frock Flicks - Costume Movie Reviews

Updated 1 day ago

Society & Culture
TV & Film
Read more

Ever watch a historical movie and thought "what the heck are they wearing?" We've studied real historical clothing, and we love to pick apart Hollywood's idea of period costume. But it's not just about history, it's also about symbolism, style, and more. Grab a cocktail and join us to bitch about crazy costume movies and TV series, fabulous historical costumes, and what it all means.

Read more

Ever watch a historical movie and thought "what the heck are they wearing?" We've studied real historical clothing, and we love to pick apart Hollywood's idea of period costume. But it's not just about history, it's also about symbolism, style, and more. Grab a cocktail and join us to bitch about crazy costume movies and TV series, fabulous historical costumes, and what it all means.

iTunes Ratings

52 Ratings
Average Ratings
23
3
0
4
22

Not exactly objective.

By The Marquise - Jan 24 2019
Read more
If they like a movie, they excuse all the historical inaccuracies. If they don’t, they rip it apart. I’d like to see a podcast that breaks things down objectively and historically instead of based on whether or not the reviewers enjoyed the film’s script or acting.

What’s with the political correctness?

By Jellygu4 - Jan 14 2019
Read more
We get it, you’re feminists who like to bash men from time to time. We don’t need to be reminded.

iTunes Ratings

52 Ratings
Average Ratings
23
3
0
4
22

Not exactly objective.

By The Marquise - Jan 24 2019
Read more
If they like a movie, they excuse all the historical inaccuracies. If they don’t, they rip it apart. I’d like to see a podcast that breaks things down objectively and historically instead of based on whether or not the reviewers enjoyed the film’s script or acting.

What’s with the political correctness?

By Jellygu4 - Jan 14 2019
Read more
We get it, you’re feminists who like to bash men from time to time. We don’t need to be reminded.
Cover image of Frock Flicks - Costume Movie Reviews

Frock Flicks - Costume Movie Reviews

Updated 1 day ago

Read more

Ever watch a historical movie and thought "what the heck are they wearing?" We've studied real historical clothing, and we love to pick apart Hollywood's idea of period costume. But it's not just about history, it's also about symbolism, style, and more. Grab a cocktail and join us to bitch about crazy costume movies and TV series, fabulous historical costumes, and what it all means.

Rank #1: BBC's Poldark

Podcast cover
Read more
The BBC (and Masterpiece PBS) brings back Ross Poldark and his lady-loves Elizabeth and Demelza in this reboot of the 1970's historical romance fave set in 18th-century Cornwall. While the costuming and hairstyles are a bit lackluster, Aidan Turner's broody manliness might just make up for the lack of historical accuracy.
Jul 06 2015
44 mins
Play

Rank #2: Peter Kosminsky's Wolf Hall

Podcast cover
Read more
Wolf Hall purports to tell the story of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn through Thomas Cromwell's eyes. Based on the award-winning book by Hilary Mantel, this miniseries portrays a sympathetic look at Cromwell and a new perspective of the history you have probably heard before. It's an incredibly well done production, with amazing costumes (OK, we have a very few quibbles) and sets. We rave about the costumes (and nitpick a few elements), and debate the story and production.
Apr 06 2015
1 hour 20 mins
Play

Rank #3: Patreon Preview

Podcast cover
Read more
Get a taste of our subscription-only Patreon podcasts with this preview where we discuss what we:ve been watching recently, including Victoria and Six Wives with Lucy Worsley. Plus we look at how criticism fits in an academic and journalistic context.
Feb 22 2017
27 mins
Play

Rank #4: Mel Gibson's Braveheart

Podcast cover
Read more
For Snark Week, we take on that clunker of medieval Scotland: Braveheart. Oh yes, shitty kilts, stretch panne velvet, and patriarchy abounds. Listen to us get progressively drunker and shoutier as we decry all the crappy costumes and history in this classic film. We're joined by Scottish dress historian Brenna Barks.
Jan 27 2017
1 hour 15 mins
Play

Rank #5: Guillermo del Toro's Crimson Peak

Podcast cover
Read more
We look at this gothic-horror story chock full of elaborate late Victorian costumes. Director Guillermo del Toro and costume designer Kate Hawley combine powers for a dark and spooky visual treat (with a few tricks).
Oct 26 2016
42 mins
Play

Rank #6: Outlander Season 2, Episodes 12 and 13

Podcast cover
Read more
We're joined by Brenna Barks, historian of 18th century Scotland and its dress. We discuss the finale, but spend even more time on the second season as a whole, getting into the real history behind the Jacobite Rising of 1745, the historical accuracy of the costumes, and reflect on how well the season's costumes worked.
Jul 12 2016
49 mins
Play

Rank #7: Outlander Season 2, Episode 3

Podcast cover
Read more
There's lots to love in this episode. Claire rocks a beautiful gown and riding habit, secondary characters get frilly, and Jamie finally gets something shiny of his own. But, there are problems in Jamie and Claire's marriage.
Apr 26 2016
34 mins
Play

Rank #8: Outlander Season 2, Episode 2

Podcast cover
Read more
We're not in Scotland anymore, Dorothy. Jamie and Claire have finally made it to Paris, and they're living the high Jacobite life in some gorgeous 1740s costumes... with a few quibbles. We discuss character costume decisions, The Red Dress, The Bar Suit, and all that mash-up of 1740s and 1940s. Along the way, we talk about nipple piercing, pubic hair depilation, oh and wigs and hair - as one does.
Apr 19 2016
41 mins
Play

Rank #9: Outlander Season 2, Episode 1

Podcast cover
Read more
Outlander is back for season 2, and we're finally in France to see all the shiny! This episode actually spends half of its time in the 1940s, so we discuss those clothes and how Claire's 18th century wardrobe is used as a plot device. Then, we're finally back in 1740s France, where there's some lovely men's clothes and wigs, and some back-lacing women's dresses to analyze.
Apr 12 2016
17 mins
Play

Rank #10: Stephen Frears's Dangerous Liaisons

Podcast cover
Read more
We take on the modern classic of 18th-century historical costume film, Dangerous Liaisons, starring the wickedly good Glenn Close as a marquise out for retribution and a disturbingly sexy John Malkovich as a vicomte who's happy to help in her amoral escapades. James Acheson won a well-deserved Best Costume Oscar for this film, even though he made these exquisite 18th-century costumes on a tight budget.
Mar 21 2016
59 mins
Play

Rank #11: Downton Abbey Season 6 Episode 9 Costume Recap

Podcast cover
Read more
We discuss the costumes worn in the ninth episode of Downton Abbey's final season. Edith gets a wedding dress, Rose is back with New York style, and everything gets wrapped up with a big shiny bow.
Mar 03 2016
40 mins
Play

Rank #12: Downton Abbey Season 6 Episode 8 Costume Recap

Podcast cover
Read more
We discuss the costumes worn in the eighth episode of Downton Abbey's final season. Mary screws over Edith and we are pissed. Meanwhile, we admire Mary, Rosamund, and Edith's wardrobes - minus Mary's wedding dress.
Feb 22 2016
32 mins
Play

Rank #13: Downton Abbey Season 6 Episode 7 Costume Recap

Podcast cover
Read more
We discuss the costumes worn in the seventh episode of Downton Abbey's final season. Everyone is off to the races in smashing daywear and Edith makes some progress, but Mary and Henry hit a serious roadblock.
Feb 15 2016
25 mins
Play

Rank #14: Downton Abbey Season 6 Episode 6 Costume Recap

Podcast cover
Read more
We discuss the costumes worn in the sixth episode of Downton Abbey's final season. Mary wears yet another stunning evening dress while Edith has her beat at daywear, both sisters make serious relationship progress, and we find out that the Crawleys know nothing about their house!
Feb 08 2016
37 mins
Play

Rank #15: Downton Abbey Season 6 Episode 5 Costume Recap

Podcast cover
Read more
We discuss the costumes worn in the fifth episode of Downton Abbey's final season. Mary goes racing with Henry Talbot, Edith and Bertie finally kiss, and Robert spews blood all over Cora's fancy evening dress. Whoa!
Feb 01 2016
22 mins
Play

Rank #16: Downton Abbey Season 6 Episode 4 Costume Recap

Podcast cover
Read more
We discuss the costumes worn in the fourth episode of Downton Abbey's final season. Gwen is back, the bling is ON, and Mary gets frumpy.
Jan 25 2016
26 mins
Play

Rank #17: Downton Abbey Season 6 Episode 3 Costume Recap

Podcast cover
Read more
We discuss the costumes worn in the third episode of Downton Abbey's final season. Weddings! Fashion magazines! New love interests! Returning characters!
Jan 18 2016
31 mins
Play

Rank #18: Downton Abbey Season 6 Episode 2 Costume Recap

Podcast cover
Read more
We discuss the costumes worn in the second episode of Downton Abbey's final season. EVERYONE has hat game, the Crawley ladies go artsy-craftsy, and Lady Mary wears the best dressing gown evah.
Jan 11 2016
24 mins
Play

Rank #19: Downton Abbey Season 6 Episode 1 Costume Recap

Podcast cover
Read more
We discuss the costumes worn in the first episode of Downton Abbey's final season. Middle Eastern embroidery, subtle details on the servant wear, and some sparkly evening wear make for a strong start to Downton's last season.
Jan 04 2016
32 mins
Play

Rank #20: Wait, Wait, Don't Frock Me 2015

Podcast cover
Read more
We quizzed a live Costume College audience about movie and TV costume trivia for fun and trivial prizes. Games included Who's Trystan This Time, Bluff the Costumer, Not My Costume with special guest Lauren of American Duchess historical footwear, and the Costumer Limerick Challenge.
Aug 21 2015
22 mins
Play

Similar Podcasts