Cover image of About to Review
(57)
Comedy
Games & Hobbies
TV & Film

About to Review

Updated 13 days ago

Comedy
Games & Hobbies
TV & Film
Read more

About to Review podcast host That Guy Named John discusses and reviews old and new movies, TV, games and comics. The show has covered national and international film festivals and conventions, and has hosted numerous interviews with actors, directors and other creators.

Read more

About to Review podcast host That Guy Named John discusses and reviews old and new movies, TV, games and comics. The show has covered national and international film festivals and conventions, and has hosted numerous interviews with actors, directors and other creators.

iTunes Ratings

57 Ratings
Average Ratings
52
2
0
0
3

Not a favorite

By The Sidewinder Three-Thousand - Aug 10 2018
Read more
I didn’t enjoy this podcast. It meanders, the host takes forever to say stuff, and it seems very surface level. No real insight, a lot of just repeating the plot. There are much better review podcasts out there.

Vancouver Web Fest

By Char410berys - Mar 25 2017
Read more
Enjoyed your interviews with the winners of the Web Fest. 🎭😍😃

iTunes Ratings

57 Ratings
Average Ratings
52
2
0
0
3

Not a favorite

By The Sidewinder Three-Thousand - Aug 10 2018
Read more
I didn’t enjoy this podcast. It meanders, the host takes forever to say stuff, and it seems very surface level. No real insight, a lot of just repeating the plot. There are much better review podcasts out there.

Vancouver Web Fest

By Char410berys - Mar 25 2017
Read more
Enjoyed your interviews with the winners of the Web Fest. 🎭😍😃
Cover image of About to Review

About to Review

Updated 13 days ago

Read more

About to Review podcast host That Guy Named John discusses and reviews old and new movies, TV, games and comics. The show has covered national and international film festivals and conventions, and has hosted numerous interviews with actors, directors and other creators.

Rank #1: ATR #156 – Avengers: Endgame & The Curse of La Llorna

Podcast cover
Read more

On this week’s episode I am joined by two of my best friends, Tim Hall and Jess O’Brien as we review “The Curse of La Llorna” and “Avengers: Endgame”!

Podcast support info: Thank you so much for all of your support!

  • Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio.
  • Click here for the – Threadless Store. Pick up a T-Shirt or coffee mug to show your support!
  • Click here for the – PayPal Link. If you are feeling super generous and want to pitch in a dollar, great!

Timecode breakdown:

  • 0m:00s – 2m:30s: Intro
  • 2m:30s – 16m:30s: Discussion, review, and rating of “The Curse of La Llorna” (IMDB.com/LaLlorona)
  • 16m:30s – 1h:06m: Discussion, review, and rating of “Avengers: Endgame” (IMDB.com/AvengersEndgame)
  • 1h:06m – 1h:08m: Social media

Guest info and social media handles:

Credits:

Make sure to follow this podcast social media!

Click on the links to subscribe:

If you have any questions, comments, or ideas for future episodes, you can email those to the show at: abouttoreview@gmail.com

Apr 25 2019
1 hour 8 mins
Play

Rank #2: ATR #155 – Hellboy, Master Z: Ip Man Legacy

Podcast cover
Read more

On this week’s episode I welcome Nick Jarin from the “NW NERD” podcast (nw-nerd.com) as we go over some geek news and then review “Master Z: Ip Man Legacy” and “Hellboy”!

Podcast support info: It is my podcast birthday this week and I would love your support! 3 years ago this week is when I started this crazy journey and I am so grateful for all of your support!

  • Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio.
  • Click here for the – Threadless Store. Pick up a T-Shirt or coffee mug to show your support!
  • Click here for the – PayPal Link. If you are feeling super generous and want to pitch in a dollar, great!

Timecode breakdown:

Guest info and social media handles:

Credits:

Make sure to follow this podcast social media!

Click on the links to subscribe:

If you have any questions, comments, or ideas for future episodes, you can email those to the show at: abouttoreview@gmail.com

Apr 17 2019
1 hour 7 mins
Play

Rank #3: ATI #27 – 2019 Vancouver Badass Film Festival!

Podcast cover
Read more

This episode of the “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” podcast features interviews I conducted while covering the 2019 Vancouver Badass Film Festival (VBAFF.com). There are talks with writers, directors, producers, actors and more! 

I was fortunate to cover the Vancouver Badass Film Festival this past weekend which was a jam packed weekend of 7 feature films and over 40 short films! For more information about the festival and entry costs and deadlines, head on over to VBAFF.com for the most up to date information.

My coverage of the 2019 Vancouver Badass Film Festival was sponsored by

  • David Aboussafy co-creator of the VBAFF.
  • Generativity Productions is a Vancouver based financing and production company that makes it happen for budget genre film.
    Generativity Productions – Make It Happen
  • Darkside Releasing is a Vancouver BC based international distribution company specializing in wild genre films.
  • Darkside Releasing. Wild. Genre. Films.


Podcast support info:
It is my podcast birthday coming up next week and I would love your support!

  • Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio.
  • Click here for the – Threadless Store. Pick up a T-Shirt or coffee mug to show your support!
  • Click here for the – PayPal Link. If you are feeling super generous and want to pitch in a dollar, great!

Timecode breakdown:

  • 0m:00s – 3m:00s: Intro to the show and sponsor shoutout!

Thank you so much to everyone that made time to speak with me at the event, and thank you to David Aboussafy and his two companies for sponsoring my coverage of the festival.

Credits:

Make sure to follow this podcast social media!

Click on the links to subscribe:

If you have any questions, comments, or ideas for future episodes, you can email those to the show at: abouttoreview@gmail.com

Apr 03 2019
1 hour 8 mins
Play

Rank #4: ATR #154 – 2019 Vancouver Badass Film Festival, Pet Sematary

Podcast cover
Read more

On this week’s episode I review “Pet Sematary” and also give a full breakdown of the Vancouver Badass Film Festival (VBAFF) which I attended this past weekend!

I was fortunate to cover the Vancouver Badass Film Festival this past weekend which was a jam packed weekend of 7 feature films and over 40 short films! For more information about the festival and entry costs and deadlines, head on over to VBAFF.com for the most up to date information.

My coverage of the 2019 Vancouver Badass Film Festival was sponsored by

  • David Aboussafy co-creator of the VBAFF.
  • Generativity Productions is a Vancouver based financing and production company that makes it happen for budget genre film.
    Generativity Productions – Make It Happen
  • Darkside Releasing is a Vancouver BC based international distribution company specializing in wild genre films.
  • Darkside Releasing. Wild. Genre. Films.


Podcast support info:
It is my podcast birthday coming up next week and I would love your support!

  • Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio.
  • Click here for the – Threadless Store. Pick up a T-Shirt or coffee mug to show your support!
  • Click here for the – PayPal Link. If you are feeling super generous and want to pitch in a dollar, great!

Timecode breakdown:

Thank you so much to everyone that made time to speak with me at the event, and thank you to David Aboussafy and his two companies for sponsoring my coverage of the festival.

Credits:

Make sure to follow this podcast social media!

Click on the links to subscribe:

If you have any questions, comments, or ideas for future episodes, you can email those to the show at: abouttoreview@gmail.com

Apr 03 2019
1 hour 24 mins
Play

Rank #5: ATR #153 – Dumbo, Shazam, VBAFF preview

Podcast cover
Read more

Once again I am joined Skype machine with Tim Hall, The People’s Critic! We review two new films, “Dumbo” and “Shazam”, and then I give a preview of the upcoming Vancouver Badass Film Festival which I will be attending!


Podcast support info:

  • Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio.
  • Click here for the – Threadless Store. Pick up a T-Shirt or coffee mug to show your support!
  • Click here for the – PayPal Link. If you are feeling super generous and want to pitch in a dollar, great!

Timecode breakdown:

    • 0:00 – 3:30: Intro to the show
    • Sponsor shout out!  The 5th Vancouver Badass Film Festival (VBAFF) will be running from March 29-31st and I will be covering the event thanks to David Aboussafy co-creator of the VBAFF and his two companies who are sponsoring my trip!
      • Generativity Productions a Vancouver based financing and production company that makes it happen for budget genre film. Generativity Productions – Make It Happen
      • Darkside Releasing Vancouver BC based international distribution company specializing in wild genre films. Darkside Releasing. Wild. Genre. Films.
    • 3:30 – 18:40: Geek news:
      1. Jake Busey confirms talks about Starship Troppers tv show idea
      2. Jai Courtney coming back for Suicide Squad 2
      3. A Quiet Place 2 news
      4. Annabelle comes home trailer
    • 18:40 – 34:25: Discussion, review, and rating of “Dumbo” (IMDB.com/Dumbo)
    • 34:25 – 57:00: Discussion, review, and rating of “Shazam” (IMDB.com/Shazam)
    • 57:00 – 1h:00:Social media and upcoming projects:
        1. Vancouver Badass Film Festival
        2. Pet Semetary  

Guest info and social media handles:

Credits:

Make sure to follow this podcast social media!

Click on the links to subscribe:

If you have any questions, comments, or ideas for future episodes, you can email those to the show at: abouttoreview@gmail.com

Mar 27 2019
59 mins
Play

Rank #6: ATR #152 – US, Triple Threat, Gloria Bell, ECCC

Podcast cover
Read more

On this week’s episode I am joined via the Skype machine with Tim Hall, The People’s Critic! We start the show talking about Emerald City Comic Con 2019, and then review the films “Triple Threat”, “Gloria Bell”, and “US”. Check it out!

Podcast support info:

  • Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio.
  • Click here for the – Threadless Store. Pick up a T-Shirt or coffee mug to show your support!
  • Click here for the – PayPal Link. If you are feeling super generous and want to pitch in a dollar, great!

Timecode breakdown:

Guest info and social media handles:

Credits:

Make sure to follow this podcast social media!

Click on the links to subscribe:

If you have any questions, comments, or ideas for future episodes, you can email those to the show at: abouttoreview@gmail.com

Mar 20 2019
1 hour 12 mins
Play

Rank #7: ATR #151 – Triple Frontier, Russian Doll, AMA

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week's episode I was joined by "Just Jed" and we reviewed and discussed the new film "Triple Frontier", the Netflix show "Russian doll". After that Jed asked me the questions that listeners provided for the "Ask Me Anything" segment!
Mar 13 2019
1 hour 29 mins
Play

Rank #8: ATI #26 – “Prospect” team – Zeek Earl, Chris Caldwell, Brice Budke

Podcast cover
Read more
This episode of the “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” podcast features an interview I conducted with directors Zeek Earl and Chris Caldwell, and producer Brice Budke from the locally shot and produced film "Prospect"!
Mar 08 2019
1 hour
Play

Rank #9: ATR #150 – Captain Marvel & The Umbrella Academy

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week's episode two guests make their return to the studio: Tim Hall (The People's Critic) and Dyer Oxley (NW Nerd Podcast). We discuss the new Netflix series "The Umbrella Academy" and the new MCU film "Captain Marvel"!
Mar 06 2019
1 hour 52 mins
Play

Rank #10: ATR #149 – Hidden World, Fighting with my Family, Greta

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week's packed episode I review 3 new films; "How To Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World", "Fighting with my Family", and "Greta"!
Feb 27 2019
51 mins
Play

Rank #11: ATR #148 – Alita: Battle Angel, Sam Cooke, Jam Master Jay

Podcast cover
Read more
Another week, another solo episode, but this time it was due to the Snowmeggedon that hit Seattle this weekend! I reviewed "Alita: Battle Angel", "The Two Killings of Sam Cooke", and "Who Killed Jam Master Jay"!
Feb 13 2019
55 mins
Play

Rank #12: ATR #147 – Miss Bala, The LEGO movie 2

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week's episode I review two new films: "Miss Bala" starring Gina Rodriguez, and "The LEGO movie 2: The Second Part". One of them is a remake of a an award winning Mexican drama, and the other is a sequel that is almost as awesome as the first.
Feb 07 2019
51 mins
Play

Rank #13: ATI #25 – 2019 Vancouver Short Film Festival

Podcast cover
Read more
This episode of the “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” podcast features interviews I conducted while covering the 2019 Vancouver Short Film Festival (VSFF.com). There are talks with writers, directors, producers, actors and more!
Jan 31 2019
2 hours 15 mins
Play

Rank #14: ATR #146 – 2019 Vancouver Short Film Festival Recap

Podcast cover
Read more
I was fortunate to be asked to cover the 9th annual Vancouver Short Film Festival for the 3rd year in a row, and it was incredible as always! On this episode I break down my favorites from each program before crowing my best of the festival!
Jan 30 2019
32 mins
Play

Rank #15: ATR #145 – GLASS & 2 Fyre docs

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week's episode Tim Hall (The People's Critic) and I discuss if "GLASS" is a trilogy that will go down in history, as well as two documentaries about the same festival that have very different view points: "Fyre Fraud" and "Fyre".
Jan 23 2019
59 mins
Play

Rank #16: ATR #144 – Project Blue Book and Isabella Price!

Podcast cover
Read more
I was joined this week by the "Oprah of the Underworld" herself, the one and only Isabella Price! We discuss the new History channel show "Project Blue Book" & then find out about Isabella's favorite horror films in preparation for you her new series!
Jan 16 2019
1 hour 44 mins
Play

Rank #17: ATR #143 – Bird Box, The Upside

Podcast cover
Read more
Solo show this week! The January new release slump has hit, and I was only able to see one new movie this past week, which was "The Upside". I did however make time to finally watch "Bird Box' on Netflix. Thanks for the support and enjoy the show!
Jan 10 2019
37 mins
Play

Rank #18: ATR #141 – Aquaman, Bumblebee, Mortal Engines

Podcast cover
Read more
Two special guests and 3 new movie reviews! Fresh out of a screening of “Aquaman”, Tim Hall (@PeoplesCritic) and Jessica O’Brien (JdObrien_) join the studio as we review “Mortal Engines”, […]
Dec 19 2018
1 hour 37 mins
Play

Rank #19: ATR #135 – 2018 Vancouver Asian Film Festival

Podcast cover
Read more
I took a trip up north to Vancouver, British Columbia, to cover the 2018 Vancouver Asian Film Festival for the first time! On this episode I talk about my favorite films, plus I had the opportunity to interview several people involved in the festival!
Nov 14 2018
1 hour 47 mins
Play

Rank #20: ATR #134 – 48 Hour Horror Film Project, Nutcracker, A Private War

Podcast cover
Read more
This week's jam packed episode has solo reviews for "The Nutcracker & the Four Realms", and "A Private War", as well as my favorite picks from the 2018 "48 Hour Horror Film Project"! This episode also features interviews with several people from the horror film festival!
Nov 08 2018
1 hour 32 mins
Play