Cover image of About to Review
(59)
TV & Film
Film Interviews
Film Reviews

About to Review

Updated 5 days ago

TV & Film
Film Interviews
Film Reviews
Read more

About to Review podcast host That Guy Named John discusses and reviews old and new movies, TV, games and comics. The show has covered national and international film festivals and conventions, and has hosted numerous interviews with actors, directors and other creators.

Read more

About to Review podcast host That Guy Named John discusses and reviews old and new movies, TV, games and comics. The show has covered national and international film festivals and conventions, and has hosted numerous interviews with actors, directors and other creators.

iTunes Ratings

59 Ratings
Average Ratings
53
2
0
0
4

Not a favorite

By The Sidewinder Three-Thousand - Aug 10 2018
Read more
I didn’t enjoy this podcast. It meanders, the host takes forever to say stuff, and it seems very surface level. No real insight, a lot of just repeating the plot. There are much better review podcasts out there.

Vancouver Web Fest

By Char410berys - Mar 25 2017
Read more
Enjoyed your interviews with the winners of the Web Fest. 🎭😍😃

iTunes Ratings

59 Ratings
Average Ratings
53
2
0
0
4

Not a favorite

By The Sidewinder Three-Thousand - Aug 10 2018
Read more
I didn’t enjoy this podcast. It meanders, the host takes forever to say stuff, and it seems very surface level. No real insight, a lot of just repeating the plot. There are much better review podcasts out there.

Vancouver Web Fest

By Char410berys - Mar 25 2017
Read more
Enjoyed your interviews with the winners of the Web Fest. 🎭😍😃

The Best Episodes of:

Cover image of About to Review

About to Review

Updated 5 days ago

Read more

About to Review podcast host That Guy Named John discusses and reviews old and new movies, TV, games and comics. The show has covered national and international film festivals and conventions, and has hosted numerous interviews with actors, directors and other creators.

Rank #1: ATR #90 – Hostiles, Black Mirror, January releases

Podcast cover
Read more
Does the breathtaking cinematography and gorgeous costume design of "Hostiles" make up for it's bland and unoriginal plot? How terrified of the dystopian future in "Black Mirror" should we be? Find out the answer to those questions and more on this new episode with Tim Hall!

Jan 10 2018

1hr 49mins

Play

Rank #2: ATR #156 – Avengers: Endgame & The Curse of La Llorna

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week’s episode I am joined by two of my best friends, Tim Hall and Jess O’Brien as we review “The Curse of La Llorna” and “Avengers: Endgame”! Podcast […]

Apr 25 2019

1hr 8mins

Play

Rank #3: ATR #94 – Director Spotlight: Spike Lee

Podcast cover
Read more
During Black History Month I want to showcase and highlight my friends, colleagues, and people I look up to who are doing great things. Actor/ comedian/ podcaster Chris Lamberth, from "The Mundane Festival" joined this episode to talk about the one and only Spike Lee!

Feb 07 2018

1hr 47mins

Play

Rank #4: ATR #107 – 50 Hour Slam, Translations, and SIFF

Podcast cover
Read more
Festival extravaganza! On this independant film filled episode, Dr. Andy returns to the studios after a brief hiatus and he and John talk about 3 different film festivals: "Translations", "50 Hour Slam", and "SIFF", as well as a review for the documentary "Man Made".

May 09 2018

1hr 2mins

Play

Rank #5: ATR #161 – Angel Has Fallen, Blinded by the Light, Ready or Not, Good Boys, 48 Hour Film Project

Podcast cover
Read more

After a brief hiatus, I am back in the land of the living (and podcasting)! This week’s episode is a solo show where I review “Angel has Fallen”, “Blinded by the Light”, “Good Boys”, and “Ready or Not”, plus I talk about my favorite films from the recent Seattle 48 Hour Film Project!

Podcast support info: Thank you so much for all of your support!

  • Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio.
  • Click here for the – PayPal Link. If you are feeling super generous and want to pitch in a dollar, great!

Timecode breakdown:

Credits:

Make sure to follow this podcast social media!

Click on the links to subscribe:

If you have any questions, comments, or ideas for future episodes, you can email those to the show at: abouttoreview@gmail.com

Aug 21 2019

52mins

Play

Rank #6: ATR #108 – Deadpool 2, Life of the Party, Breaking In, Close-Knit

Podcast cover
Read more
Deadpool 2 is one of the most highly anticipated movies of the year, and Tim Hall, "The People's Critic" is in studio with John to talk all about it! Plus there are reviews for 3 other films: "Life of the Party", "Breaking In", and "Close-Knit".

May 16 2018

1hr 38mins

Play

Rank #7: ATR #159 – Super-mega-ultra-epic movie rundown w/ Tim Hall

Podcast cover
Read more

This week I am joined once again by Tim Hall “The People’s Critic” (ThePeoplesCriticBlog.com) as we catch up on quite a few movies that I had not reviewed yet!

Podcast support info: Thank you so much for all of your support!

  • Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio.
  • Click here for the – PayPal Link. If you are feeling super generous and want to pitch in a dollar, great!

Timecode breakdown:

Guest info and social media handles:

Credits:

Make sure to follow this podcast social media!

Click on the links to subscribe:

If you have any questions, comments, or ideas for future episodes, you can email those to the show at: abouttoreview@gmail.com

Jun 04 2019

1hr 52mins

Play

Rank #8: ATR #160 – Mega movie lightning round w/ Mike Ward!

Podcast cover
Read more

For this week’s mega movie lightning round I am joined my Mike Ward of “Should I See It” (ShouldISee.it) as we run rough shot through a dozen movie reviews, lightning round style! We (mostly) tried to stick with shorter reviews and I hope you enjoy!

Podcast support info: Thank you so much for all of your support!

  • Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio.
  • Click here for the – PayPal Link. If you are feeling super generous and want to pitch in a dollar, great!

Timecode breakdown:

Guest info and social media handles:

Credits:

Make sure to follow this podcast social media!

Click on the links to subscribe:

If you have any questions, comments, or ideas for future episodes, you can email those to the show at: abouttoreview@gmail.com

Aug 07 2019

2hr 7mins

Play

Rank #9: ATI #12 – David Crownson

Podcast cover
Read more
David Crownson is an actor, filmmaker, and creator/ writer of the new graphic novel "Harriet Tubman: Demon Slayer"! A blend of supernatural action based on freedom fighter Harriet Tubman with genre liberties that mirror "Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter".

Feb 09 2018

42mins

Play

Rank #10: ATR #155 – Hellboy, Master Z: Ip Man Legacy

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week’s episode I welcome Nick Jarin from the “NW NERD” podcast (nw-nerd.com) as we go over some geek news and then review “Master Z: Ip Man Legacy” and […]

Apr 17 2019

1hr 7mins

Play

Rank #11: ATI #27 – 2019 Vancouver Badass Film Festival!

Podcast cover
Read more
This episode of the “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” podcast features interviews I conducted while covering the 2019 Vancouver Badass Film Festival (VBAFF.com). There are talks with writers, directors, producers, actors and more!

Apr 03 2019

1hr 8mins

Play

Rank #12: ATR #154 – 2019 Vancouver Badass Film Festival, Pet Sematary

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week's episode I review "Pet Sematary" and also give a full breakdown of the Vancouver Badass Film Festival (VBAFF) which I attended this past weekend!

Apr 03 2019

1hr 24mins

Play

Rank #13: ATR #153 – Dumbo, Shazam, VBAFF preview

Podcast cover
Read more
Once again I am joined Skype machine with Tim Hall, The People's Critic! We review two new films, "Dumbo" and "Shazam", and then I give a preview of the upcoming Vancouver Badass Film Festival which I will be attending!

Mar 27 2019

59mins

Play

Rank #14: ATR #152 – US, Triple Threat, Gloria Bell, ECCC

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week's episode I am joined via the Skype machine with Tim Hall, The People's Critic! We start the show talking about Emerald City Comic Con 2019, and then review the films "Triple Threat", "Gloria Bell", and "US". Check it out!

Mar 20 2019

1hr 12mins

Play

Rank #15: ATR #151 – Triple Frontier, Russian Doll, AMA

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week's episode I was joined by "Just Jed" and we reviewed and discussed the new film "Triple Frontier", the Netflix show "Russian doll". After that Jed asked me the questions that listeners provided for the "Ask Me Anything" segment!

Mar 13 2019

1hr 29mins

Play

Rank #16: ATI #26 – “Prospect” team – Zeek Earl, Chris Caldwell, Brice Budke

Podcast cover
Read more
This episode of the “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” podcast features an interview I conducted with directors Zeek Earl and Chris Caldwell, and producer Brice Budke from the locally shot and produced film "Prospect"!

Mar 08 2019

1hr

Play

Rank #17: ATR #150 – Captain Marvel & The Umbrella Academy

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week's episode two guests make their return to the studio: Tim Hall (The People's Critic) and Dyer Oxley (NW Nerd Podcast). We discuss the new Netflix series "The Umbrella Academy" and the new MCU film "Captain Marvel"!

Mar 06 2019

1hr 52mins

Play

Rank #18: ATR #149 – Hidden World, Fighting with my Family, Greta

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week's packed episode I review 3 new films; "How To Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World", "Fighting with my Family", and "Greta"!

Feb 27 2019

51mins

Play

Rank #19: ATR #148 – Alita: Battle Angel, Sam Cooke, Jam Master Jay

Podcast cover
Read more
Another week, another solo episode, but this time it was due to the Snowmeggedon that hit Seattle this weekend! I reviewed "Alita: Battle Angel", "The Two Killings of Sam Cooke", and "Who Killed Jam Master Jay"!

Feb 13 2019

55mins

Play

Rank #20: ATR #147 – Miss Bala, The LEGO movie 2

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week's episode I review two new films: "Miss Bala" starring Gina Rodriguez, and "The LEGO movie 2: The Second Part". One of them is a remake of a an award winning Mexican drama, and the other is a sequel that is almost as awesome as the first.

Feb 07 2019

51mins

Play