Cover image of Fully Booked by Kirkus Reviews
(42)

Rank #160 in Books category

Arts
Society & Culture
Books

Fully Booked by Kirkus Reviews

Updated 3 days ago

Rank #160 in Books category

Arts
Society & Culture
Books
Read more

Get the ultimate insider's scoop on the best new books. The editors at Kirkus Reviews interview your favorite authors, tell you whether or not the books on the bestseller list are worth the read, give you behind-the-scenes insights, and introduce you to great books you may otherwise never find.

Read more

Get the ultimate insider's scoop on the best new books. The editors at Kirkus Reviews interview your favorite authors, tell you whether or not the books on the bestseller list are worth the read, give you behind-the-scenes insights, and introduce you to great books you may otherwise never find.

iTunes Ratings

42 Ratings
Average Ratings
27
2
3
3
7

Terrible audio quality

By incognito82 - Oct 05 2019
Read more
I am listening to Patricia Wiltshire episode. My goodness. Is this English woman talking to a phone in an underground tunnel? I can’t stand it.

A great podcast!

By Mojo917911 - Jul 25 2018
Read more
This podcast is nice and refreshing! They have great authors and

iTunes Ratings

42 Ratings
Average Ratings
27
2
3
3
7

Terrible audio quality

By incognito82 - Oct 05 2019
Read more
I am listening to Patricia Wiltshire episode. My goodness. Is this English woman talking to a phone in an underground tunnel? I can’t stand it.

A great podcast!

By Mojo917911 - Jul 25 2018
Read more
This podcast is nice and refreshing! They have great authors and
Cover image of Fully Booked by Kirkus Reviews

Fully Booked by Kirkus Reviews

Updated 3 days ago

Read more

Get the ultimate insider's scoop on the best new books. The editors at Kirkus Reviews interview your favorite authors, tell you whether or not the books on the bestseller list are worth the read, give you behind-the-scenes insights, and introduce you to great books you may otherwise never find.

Rank #1: Preet Bharara

Podcast cover
Read more
Former U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of New York Preet Bharara joins us on this week’s episode to discuss Doing Justice: A Prosecutor’s Thoughts on Crime, Punishment, and the Rule of Law. Then our editors join with their top picks in books this week.

Mar 19 2019

56mins

Play

Rank #2: David Sedaris

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Megan and Clay ask David Sedaris about the snapping turtle he tried to feed his benign tumor to (the turtle's name was Granddaddy; the serious drift in his new collection of essays, CALYPSO; and what his siblings think about being written about so often by him. Have you ever wondered why your grade school English teacher insisted you stop ending a sentence with a preposition? We have the answer. And our editors reveal their favorite new books!

Jun 26 2018

50mins

Play

Rank #3: Christopher Goffard

Podcast cover
Read more
Investigative journalist Christopher Goffard’s stories grab you, shake you, and don’t let go. On this week’s Fully Booked, Goffard joins Clay and Megan to discuss Dirty John and Other True Stories of Outlaws and Outsiders, “a collection of swift-flowing pieces about outliers, liars, victims, and victimizer” (Kirkus) whose unforgettable titular tale inspired a megapopular podcast and Bravo TV show. Nonfiction editor Eric Liebetrau rounds out the hour with continuing coverage of the Best Books of 2018.

Dec 18 2018

53mins

Play

Rank #4: Jill Lepore

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, we’re asking New Yorker staff writer and Harvard historian Jill Lepore about her great new book of the entire history of the U.S., These Truths, which our reviewer calls “a splendid rendering—filled with triumph, tragedy, and hope—that will please Lepore’s readers immensely and win her many new ones.” Megan and Clay also talk about the new Bob Woodward book, Fear: Trump in the White House, and our editors reveal their picks for the best reads this week!

Sep 18 2018

53mins

Play

Rank #5: Leigh Bardugo

Podcast cover
Read more
#1 New York Times-bestselling YA author Leigh Bardugo joins us on this week’s episode to discuss her hotly anticipated adult debut, Ninth House, a literary fantasy set in a spooky world not unlike New Haven, Connecticut... Starring Galaxy “Alex” Stern, a high school dropout from LA who’s recruited to oversee the occult activities of Yale University’s secret societies, Ninth House is a “compulsively readable novel [that] leaves a portal ajar for equally dazzling sequels,” Kirkus writes (*starred review*). Then our editors join with their reading recommendations for the week, including books by Jason Reynolds, Kim Liggett, Malcolm Gladwell, and Margaret Atwood.

Oct 08 2019

55mins

Play

Rank #6: Lucy Worsley

Podcast cover
Read more
One need not be a royalist to enjoy Lucy Worsley’s radiant new biography of Queen Victoria, the “hard-working, energetic, [and] resilient” woman who saved the status of the British monarchy. Worsley, an English historian, author, curator, and television presenter, joins us on this week’s Fully Booked for a spirited discussion of Queen Victoria: Twenty-Four Days That Changed Her Life, and our editors name their most anticipated books and trends of 2019.

Jan 01 2019

55mins

Play

Rank #7: Tayari Jones and Mark Updegrove

Podcast cover
Read more
Tayari Jones's new novel, AN AMERICAN MARRIAGE, was recently chosen by Oprah for her book club and is No. 2 on the New York Times bestseller list. The novel is, at its heart, a love story, but a love story warped by racial injustice. We also catch up with presidential historian Mark Updegrove, whose latest book, THE LAST REPUBLICANS, broke news recently for divulging that both Bush presidents didn't vote for Donald Trump. And our editors reveal which bestsellers are worth your reading time!

Feb 20 2018

1hr

Play

Rank #8: Laura Lippman

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week’s episode, Megan interviews modern noir superstar Laura Lippman, whose latest standalone novel, Lady in the Lake, is inspired by two real-life crimes committed in 1960s Baltimore: the unsolved drowning of 35-year-old Shirley Parker and the murder of 11-year-old Esther Lebowitz. They talk opening sentences, the transgressive nature of watching, Lippman’s recent Washington Post piece (“Is it ok for white authors to write black characters? I’m trying.”), and more. Then our editors offer their weekly reading recommendations, with books by Blair Thornburgh, Cassandra Clare et al, Jeff Gordinier, and Linda Holmes.

Jul 23 2019

1hr 6mins

Play

Rank #9: Ottessa Moshfegh

Podcast cover
Read more
The protagonist of Ottessa Moshfegh's new novel, MY YEAR OF REST AND RELAXATION, doesn't just take some time off from her job; she spends a year hibernating with strong sedatives, in the hope that she'll emerge transformed. The novel is a nervy modern-day rebellion tale that isn't afraid to get dark or find humor in the darkness and we ask Moshfegh about writing it. Megan and Clay recommend some overlooked summer reading picks and our editors talk about their favorite reads this week.

Jul 10 2018

51mins

Play

Rank #10: Karin Slaughter and Ellen Ullman

Podcast cover
Read more
We gave a rare starred review to bestselling thriller writer Karin Slaughter's new novel THE GOOD DAUGHTER. Slaughter talks to us on todays episode about why she sets all of her novels in Georgia, what it's like being a continual bestseller, and where she gets her ideas from. And pioneering tech worker and writer Ellen Ullman also joins us to talk about her new memoir, LIFE IN CODE: A PERSONAL HISTORY OF TECHNOLOGY, which our critic calls, "a sharply written, politically charged memoir of life in the data trenches." Our editors talk about which bestsellers they think are worth your time and which you can safely skip!

Aug 08 2017

1hr 9mins

Play

Rank #11: Isaac Mizrahi

Podcast cover
Read more
The incomparable Isaac Mizrahi - fashion designer, performer, talk show host, crossword puzzle aficionado, visionary - joins us on this week’s episode to discuss his generous and funny new memoir, I.M. Then our editors join with their top picks in books this week.

Feb 26 2019

58mins

Play

Rank #12: Patricia Wiltshire

Podcast cover
Read more
Since 1994, forensic ecologist, botanist, and palynologist Patricia Wiltshire has been using her expertise to aid police forces in England and beyond in proving - through microscopic environmental evidence - that a suspect was present where a crime occurred. That a getaway car did indeed cross a fallow field. That a dead body was buried in early summer, not late fall. On this week’s episode, she discusses her stunning new memoir The Nature of Life and Death: Every Body Leaves a Trace. Then our editors join with their reading recommendations for the week, including books by Sonia Sotomayor (ill. Rafael López) and Marc Favreau.

Oct 01 2019

52mins

Play

Rank #13: Susan Orlean

Podcast cover
Read more
In late April 1986, as the world was learning about the Chernobyl disaster, the beautiful central library of Los Angeles Public Library system was burning. A troubled actor named Harry Peak was arrested for starting the fire. The Library Book is Susan Orlean’s fascinating story of the attack; in typical Orlean fashion, the story gets deeper and weirder than its ostensible subject. And we also bring our editors on the line to talk about which bestsellers they think you ought to be reading this week!

Oct 16 2018

1hr 14mins

Play

Rank #14: Brad Meltzer

Podcast cover
Read more
Ultrabestselling novelist Brad Meltzer is back with a thrilling new nonfiction based on little-known fact, The First Conspiracy: The Secret Plot Against George Washington and the Birth of American Counterintelligence. On this episode, Meltzer speaks candidly with Clay and Megan about the plot against the General, plot (in general), and working with longtime collaborator Josh Mensch. And our editors join with their top picks in books this week.

Jan 08 2019

58mins

Play

Rank #15: Linda Holmes

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week’s episode, we’re delighted to welcome Linda Holmes, host of NPR’s Pop Culture Happy Hour podcast, to discuss her sparkling debut novel, Evvie Drake Starts Over (that’s “‘Evvie like Chevy, not Evie like Max Greevey.’”). Evvie is a smart, vibrant thirty-something from small-town Maine who loses her husband and takes a tenant, a handsome Major League Baseball pitcher who’s lost his mojo, maybe for good. We talk the “yips,” platonic soulmates, auditory writing, cultural criticism, and more. Then our editors recommend books by Kwame Alexander, Kat Cho, and Kristen Arnett.

Jun 25 2019

46mins

Play

Rank #16: Celeste Ng LIVE from BookPeople

Podcast cover
Read more
This week's episode is a special live taping of Celeste Ng's recent event at BookPeople in Austin, Texas. Ng's new novel, LITTLE FIRES EVERYWHERE, has just hit the New York Times bestseller list and is hard to put down. "As in EVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU, Ng conjures a sense of place and displacement and shows a remarkable ability to see -- and reveal -- a story from different perspectives," our critic writes in a starred review. We also check in with a few of BookPeople's booksellers about which new books they're loving.

Oct 03 2017

1hr 1min

Play

Rank #17: Gabrielle Zevin and F.C. Yee

Podcast cover
Read more
Gabrielle Zevin is best-known for her bestseller from a few years ago, THE STORIED LIFE OF A.J. FIKRY; today we ask her about her new novel, YOUNG JANE YOUNG, which is funny, insightful, and a real pleasure to read. We also catch up with debut YA writer F.C. Yee, whose humorous debut novel, THE EPIC CRUSH OF GENIE LO, is just out. And our editors pipe up with their suggestions of which bestsellers to read and which to avoid!

Aug 22 2017

55mins

Play

Rank #18: Linda Castillo and Ayobami Adebayo

Podcast cover
Read more
Who knows more about the Amish than almost anyone? A bestselling thriller writer who lives in Amarillo, Texas named Linda Castillo. This episode, we ask Castillo about the latest in her Kate Burkholder series, DOWN A DARK ROAD. Debut novelist Ayobami Adebayo also joins us to talk about her affecting novel, STAY WITH ME. And children's-teen editor Vicky Smith takes the stage to highlight an excellent new novel and one you can safely avoid.

Aug 15 2017

52mins

Play

Rank #19: Susan Choi

Podcast cover
Read more
When it comes to Susan Choi’s inventive new novel, Trust Exercise, believe the hype. Set primarily at an exclusive performing arts high school in an unnamed southern city, it’s the story of a steamy, driver-license-less teen love affair … that morphs, via shocking shifts in perspective, into a profound interrogation of how personal mythologies - and perceptions of trauma and abuse - are written and rewritten over time. Choi joins us on this week’s episode for a deep dive into Trust Exercise, followed by our editors’ weekly book recommendations.

Apr 23 2019

40mins

Play

Rank #20: John Grisham and Lisa Lucas

Podcast cover
Read more
John Grisham joins the podcast this week to talk about his new thriller, CAMINO ISLAND; we ask Lisa Lucas, the Executive Director of the National Book Foundation, about diversity in publishing, among other topics; and our editors recommend some great summer reads!

Jun 06 2017

46mins

Play