Cover image of Smart Podcast, Trashy Books: Reviews, Interviews, and Discussion About All the Romance Novels You Love to Read
(247)
Arts
Books

Smart Podcast, Trashy Books: Reviews, Interviews, and Discussion About All the Romance Novels You Love to Read

Updated 1 day ago

Arts
Books
Read more

Each week on Smart Podcast, Trashy Books, Sarah Wendell interviews authors, readers, reviewers, bloggers, publishing professionals, editors, and librarians about romance novels, which are among the most popular genres in fiction worldwide. Popular guests include: Ilona Andrews, Robin Bradford, NPR's Barrie Hardymon, Jaye Wells, and Rachel Aaron. Amanda, Carrie, Elyse, and RedHeadedGirl, the crew of reviewers at SB-TB.com, also make frequent appearances with maximum silliness. Frequent topics include romance novels, the way the genre is changing, and the brilliant and interesting people who read, write, and produce it, and issues common among romance readers. Plus, we always recommend some books we're reading and really enjoying. Learn more at SB-TB.com/Podcast.

Read more

Each week on Smart Podcast, Trashy Books, Sarah Wendell interviews authors, readers, reviewers, bloggers, publishing professionals, editors, and librarians about romance novels, which are among the most popular genres in fiction worldwide. Popular guests include: Ilona Andrews, Robin Bradford, NPR's Barrie Hardymon, Jaye Wells, and Rachel Aaron. Amanda, Carrie, Elyse, and RedHeadedGirl, the crew of reviewers at SB-TB.com, also make frequent appearances with maximum silliness. Frequent topics include romance novels, the way the genre is changing, and the brilliant and interesting people who read, write, and produce it, and issues common among romance readers. Plus, we always recommend some books we're reading and really enjoying. Learn more at SB-TB.com/Podcast.

iTunes Ratings

247 Ratings
Average Ratings
214
21
5
3
4

I ADORE this podcast!

By frilindsay - Sep 04 2019
Read more
Listening to this podcast feels like hanging out with my smarter, sillier, better-humored older sisters and I adore it so much!! I have been a romance novel fan for as long as I can remember so this podcast is like coming home. Thank the pod god for it!

Amazing podcast!!

By twinhck - Apr 02 2018
Read more
Such a thoughtful and amazing podcast!!

iTunes Ratings

247 Ratings
Average Ratings
214
21
5
3
4

I ADORE this podcast!

By frilindsay - Sep 04 2019
Read more
Listening to this podcast feels like hanging out with my smarter, sillier, better-humored older sisters and I adore it so much!! I have been a romance novel fan for as long as I can remember so this podcast is like coming home. Thank the pod god for it!

Amazing podcast!!

By twinhck - Apr 02 2018
Read more
Such a thoughtful and amazing podcast!!
Cover image of Smart Podcast, Trashy Books: Reviews, Interviews, and Discussion About All the Romance Novels You Love to Read

Smart Podcast, Trashy Books: Reviews, Interviews, and Discussion About All the Romance Novels You Love to Read

Updated 1 day ago

Read more

Each week on Smart Podcast, Trashy Books, Sarah Wendell interviews authors, readers, reviewers, bloggers, publishing professionals, editors, and librarians about romance novels, which are among the most popular genres in fiction worldwide. Popular guests include: Ilona Andrews, Robin Bradford, NPR's Barrie Hardymon, Jaye Wells, and Rachel Aaron. Amanda, Carrie, Elyse, and RedHeadedGirl, the crew of reviewers at SB-TB.com, also make frequent appearances with maximum silliness. Frequent topics include romance novels, the way the genre is changing, and the brilliant and interesting people who read, write, and produce it, and issues common among romance readers. Plus, we always recommend some books we're reading and really enjoying. Learn more at SB-TB.com/Podcast.

Rank #1: 364. Love, Romance, and Beautiful Friendships: Melody and Erin from Heaving Bosoms Podcast

Podcast cover
Read more
Today I’m chatting with Erin and Melody from the Heaving Bosoms Podcast and it is so much fun. There is so much laughing.

Does the dog bark? Yes.

Are they each other’s biggest fans? Absolutely.

Is this delightful? Totally.

Don’t miss the part where they reveal the secret ingredient to everything.

TW/CW: at about 35 minutes in, there's a discussion of old skool romances, and in particular a Johanna Lindsey viking romance with some on-page assault.
Aug 16 2019
Play

Rank #2: 273. Sex Toys, Self Love, and Erotic Romance: A Very Bawdy Podcast with Thien-Kim Lam

Podcast cover
Read more
Grab your earbuds for this one. Nancy C suggested this interview in the comments to a recent episodes, and I’d been eager to set one up as well because, well, several reasons. Today I’m talking with Thien-Kim Lam, founder and owner of the Bawdy Bookworms subscription box service, which pairs erotic romance with sex toys and accessories. Thien-Kim recently attended a trade show all about sex toys in Vermont, and brought samples and new products to show me. So while we’re talking about sex positivity, toys, accessories, and general bawdiness, we also do some show and tell. Do not worry, I have pictures! You don’t want to miss the unicorn part. There are a number of unintentional puns, a lot of discussion of misinformation about sexuality and intimacy, and a lot of toys to talk about.
Nov 17 2017
1 hour 29 mins
Play

Rank #3: 354. Six Books Amanda’s Excited About, and Other Stories from BEA 2019

Podcast cover
Read more
Amanda was at Book Expo America 2019, and she has books to recommend, titles to squee about, and a definite predilection for candles and reading cover blurbs, too.

We talk about her impressions of this year’s BEA, who it’s for, and how it’s changed over her time working in various parts of publishing. We also talk about how much Amanda likes reading blurbs on the covers of new books.

We talk about so many upcoming releases that aren’t available yet, so we’re very sorry in advance. Key terms to listen for: “claustrophobic thriller” and “snakes are having a moment.”

Plus we talk about what Amanda’s reading right now.

CW/TW: Amanda tells some stories about wrangling snakes in her childhood - so if you’re not on board with snake discussion, heads up at 39 minutes in, when Amanda mentions snake stores, you might want to skip ahead about a minute total.

So, what about you? Would you want to attend BEA? Do you like meetings? Do you read blurbs from other writers on the covers of books? I'm curious!
Jun 06 2019
Play

Rank #4: 281. Alyssa Cole and Alisha Rai: Romance and the Resistance from Politics and Prose

Podcast cover
Read more
Hooray! Thanks to Politics and Prose on the Wharf, I have the audio of the November 29, 2017, panel with Alisha Rai and Alyssa Cole. We talk about their favorite scenes in one another’s books, and which character is an homage to Alisha’s dating life (heads up for the Alisha Rai Dating Story Fans, we have a great one in here). We also discuss joy, romance, and the ambition of happiness as elements of resistance, how to persevere with happiness when things around you are bleak, and what happens when you Google “sexy grilled cheese sandwiches.”
Jan 12 2018
1 hour 13 mins
Play

Rank #5: 257. Bitches Assemble: Our Favorite Recommendations and the Expectations of Tentacles

Podcast cover
Read more
Sarah, Elyse, Carrie, and RedHeadedGirl gather to talk about successful recommendations we’ve made to new and curious readers interested in trying romance. From curating a broad selection of books as an introduction to specifically pimping books we know have a multi-level appeal, we talk about our favorite recommendations, books that seem to entice many different readers, and which books we love just for sheer crazy sauce. We also discuss how many readers are introduced to romance by a person who gives them a brown paper bag full of books. “Bag full of books” is among our favorite word combinations.

And because we’re, well, us, we talk about weird sex scenes we’ve read, wonderful and funny sex scenes we’ve loved, managing chronic pain and reading BDSM stories, and interesting female inventors in history. Plus, we discuss at length (heh) the expectations of tentacles, and what new books we’re going to end up recommending frequently.

Note: Elyse is a little fuzzy, and I think she might have been in a wind machine.
Jul 28 2017
1 hour 11 mins
Play

Rank #6: 296. Acting, Narrating, and Writing: An Interview with Julia Whelan

Podcast cover
Read more
Today I’m interviewing Julia Whelan, author of the new book, My Oxford Year, which just came out this week, on April 24, 2018.

This is a full score production: dogs barking! Car horns! The street sounds of midtown Manhattan! We cover her start as a child actor, and how she moved through acting to audiobook narration to writing screenplays and then a novel.

Among the topics we discuss:

What makes a good narration?

What are the differences between screenplays and novels?

How does being an audiobook narrator and actor influence her writing, and vice versa?

I also ask some vague non-spoiler questions about the characters in My Oxford Year, and we get a teeny sample of her performance of the audiobook and some of the key characters. We also discuss my very strange idea that Gone Girl and YA have some elements in common, and of course, I ask what she’s reading.

I really enjoyed this interview - I almost titled it English Major Nerds Talking. I hope you enjoy it, too.
Apr 27 2018
1 hour 8 mins
Play

Rank #7: 310. Heroine Sociopaths and Emotional Suspense: An Interview with Victoria Helen Stone

Podcast cover
Read more
First: my apologies. In this recording, Victoria sounds terrific. I’m somewhere underwater, and predominantly on the right side. Egads. I’m not sure what I did wrong, but I apologize in advance. But hey, this conversation is so interesting because of what she has to say!

Victoria Helen Stone, also known as romance author Victoria Dahl, has a new book out, Jane Doe [bookmention slug="jane-doe"]. I read it in one sitting - it was terrifyingly good. Her heroine, Jane, is a self-acknowledged sociopath, and hanging out in her head was quite an experience as she gets revenge on someone who did irreparable harm to her best friend. In this interview, we talk about shifting from romance to revenge thrillers - or as Stone calls them, Emotional Suspense.

We also discuss:

The catharsis of addressing double standards and processing rage through her writing.

The enjoyment of burning shit down.

The use of genre terms such as “women’s fiction,” “chick lit,” “psychological thrillers,” and “book club fiction.”

The empowerment of women taking control, including when they lose control.

The freeing experience of writing Jane Doe, a sociopathic heroine who has zero self-doubt, and being inside the head of a person who is determined to exact complete and total revenge.

Among her recommendations, we talk about safe spaces to explore kink in romance fiction, and her frustrations with the horror genre.

Stay tuned to the end of the interview where she drops this fascinating idea:

“Romance and horror are the flip sides of the same human drive to survive.”

CW: We talk about gas lighting, harassment, school shootings, entitlement, the foundations of emotionally abusive relationships, and then have an in-depth discussion of sociopathy.
Aug 03 2018
53 mins
Play

Rank #8: 285. Labyrinth, Girl Scout Cookies, and Good Book Noise: An Interview with S. Jae-Jones

Podcast cover
Read more
Amanda and I interview S. Jae-Jones, also known as JJ, about pretty much everything. Ready to learn? JJ was kind enough to answer all our nosy questions and our conversation was a LOT of fun. We cover a bunch of topics, including:

How being an editorial assistant prepared her for a career as an author - and what secret knowledge (not really secret) she shares with fellow writers.

How Labyrinth, Phantom of the Opera, the myth of Hades and Persephone, The Magic Flute, fanfic communities, and fandom terms influence her writing.

How she navigates the issue of sexxytimes in YA with her own writing.

And, in a key portion of this interview, we discuss the parameters of identifying Which Girl Scout Cookie Are You? Spoiler alert: Amanda has very strong opinions about peanut butter, Girl Scout cookies, and oatmeal.

JJ also discusses bi-polar characters, writing mental illness, writing with mental illness, making Cho Chang the heroine of a magical world, and how head canons help her with feelings of isolation.

This interview goes everywhere, and sometimes the audio is a little muddy, for which I apologize. But fear not! We have an extra-strength collection of recommendations from JJ, complete with Good Book Noise®, creepy stories, and books that are hard to describe but should be required reading. Heads up: she likes to read books specifically looking for the romances, so this is a tasty recommendation list indeed.
Feb 09 2018
1 hour 25 mins
Play

Rank #9: 232. The First Year of The Ripped Bodice – An Interview with Bea and Leah Koch

Podcast cover
Read more
Nearly a year after their grand opening (March 4th!), Sarah catches up with Leah and Bea Koch of The Ripped Bodice bookstore in Culver City, CA. We start with All The Pet Talk, including the story of their most excellent official store dog, Fitzwilliam Waffles. We cover his store responsibilities and key functions in the bookshop workflow, and have a happy conversation about things that make us laugh, including the We Rate Dogs Instagram feed.

They also shared details about books being written in the store, and how authors and readers have embraced The Ripped Bodice as a place to shop, work, and add to their own novels-in-progress. Plus, we get a peek into upcoming events, including a shoppable exhibition, as well as their predictions in romance fiction and their reading wish lists. It’s a big long list of books, so get ready for books, mutual admiration, dog squeeing, and more book talk!
Feb 03 2017
1 hour 38 mins
Play

Rank #10: 344. Burnout – A Feminist Book about Stress: An Interview with Emily and Amelia Nagoski

Podcast cover
Read more
I am so excited to share this conversation with you. Today I am talking with Emily and Amelia Nagoski, authors of Burnout: The Secret to Unlocking the Stress Cycle. I think this might be one of those episodes you re-listen to, because what Emily and Amelia have to say is incredibly wise and kind and so empowering and soothing - at the same time. No kidding.

Their own description of this book might be the best one. On Amelia’s Medium bio, it says “A feminist book about stress” On Emily’s website, the description reads, It’s for women who feel overwhelmed and exhausted by all they have to do, yet worrying that they’re not doing “enough.”

Emily’s name you might recognize from previous podcast interviews. She writes romance fiction as Emily Foster, and is the author of Come As You Are, about the science of arousal and orgasm.

Amelia is a choral conductor, and during our conversation, we take a side trip into self awareness of one’s own voice, the policing of women’s speaking styles, and then the larger picture of being aware of one’s entire body.

The section on stress and emotional processing in Emily’s book Come As You Are partially inspired this book, along with the personal experience of Amelia and Emily using the information in their own lives.

We talk about how wellness has become an achievement and how we as individuals can allow wellness to happen

There is so much practical advice, too! Such as things we can do to smash the patriarchy a piece at a time - including and especially SLEEP. Oh, sleep is everything.

We talk a LOT about what stress is, what it does to your body, and what you can do to better handle the effects of it through the Stress Response Cycle. Short version: stress isn’t solved or dissolved by dealing with what caused the stress. Stress is a cycle that is completed by action, that we have to complete within and through our physical bodies, and incomplete stress cycles accumulate. But good news: reading romance is one way to help complete stress cycles and emotional cycles. To quote Amelia: “Romance novels are a nutritious part of this Burnout Prevention Strategy.”

Spoiler alert! At about 43:20 - 44:30: I spoil the ending of How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World as we talk about the importance of completing emotional cycles in the entertainment we consume - and yes, this is part of why cliffhangers are so deeply upsetting.

Basically, your body is trying to take care of you, and there’s a lot more we can do to help ourselves out. Learning to take care of one’s own body is difficult, and this interview talks about some of these concepts, but the book explores them in greater detail. If you read our review, and yes, I’ll link to it in the show notes, you know that reading this book changed a number of the ways I treat myself, talk to myself, and care for myself, to be more patient and gentle and understanding of what my body is trying to do. I can’t recommend this book more highly.

And I can’t recommend this interview more emphatically. Amelia and Emily are, in their own words, trying to encourage us to "change the world by caring for each other and not letting the world demand of us what we are unable to give."
Mar 29 2019
Play

Rank #11: 241. Living and Writing in Alaska, and Making Your Own Fun: An Interview with Cathy Pegau

Podcast cover
Read more
Carrie and I chat with author Cathy Pegau, who writes lesbian science fiction romance and historical mysteries, and who also lives in Cordova, Alaska. We talk about living in Alaska (Carrie lived for several years in Bethel, Alaska) and the Alaskan’s love of the Anchorage Costco, asking crucial questions like, “Can you go to Target or Costco for just one thing?” And, “What is the plural of pegasus?” We also cover life in Alaska, weird questions from people who live “outside” (aka the lower 48), life in very rural small towns, strong feelings about what constitutes “good boots,” the romance of running water, and, of course, Cathy’s series - and the truly, truly gorgeous covers.
Apr 07 2017
1 hour 13 mins
Play

Rank #12: 295. Inclusive History, Magical Writing, and Fan Art: An Interview with KJ Charles

Podcast cover
Read more
This week I am chatting with editor and author KJ Charles about lots and lots of different things. She started out as a Mills & Boon editor and then moved to writing, so she has a lot of perspective on the writing and edition process. We discuss plot, character, use of language, editing, and writing romance, especially in various historical periods.

Some of the audio is a bit muddy in the recording, and my apologies for that.

We discuss what plot and structure are doing in a story, and spend even more time on examining what erasure does in historical settings. When people of color, people of different classes, queer people are erased from history, that has consequences, and Charles has a lot to say about those issues, especially why it matters right now that history is actively rewritten as entirely white, rich, cis gendered and heterosexual.

Other topics we discuss include:

Fan art, and works inspired by her books and characters - she has a gallery!

Use of magic in historical settings

World building rules that make for effective stories

Is there such a thing as correct use of a language? (Spoiler: not)

How being an editor influenced her writing, and vice versa

The importance of own voices in LGBT romance and in historical romance, and of representation of accurate history

The distinction between inclusion of diverse characters and writing experiences that are not one’s own

Big thanks to the Patreon community for questions and enthusiasm about this interview!
Apr 20 2018
1 hour 1 min
Play

Rank #13: 353. Setting Boundaries and Getting Help: A Candid Conversation with Dr. Kelly J. Baker

Podcast cover
Read more
Today I’m chatting with Dr. Kelly J. Baker, who was also part of my episode with Dr. Tressie McMillan Cottom last year. In this conversation, Kelly and I talk about her academic work studying white supremacy and the klan, and how history is never only in the past.

But the core of this episode is talking about setting boundaries. Kelly and I have been having an ongoing casual email conversation about setting boundaries, especially within specific organizations and settings.

We talk about the expectations placed upon women in terms of

Email replies
Social media interactions
Demands up on your time
External expectations of time and expertise
Organizations like the PTA

We are going to dish on PTA a LOT. I bet you have PTA stories. Bring it. Tell me about them.

We talk at length about the ways groups of people keep one another in line with damaging expectations, and how much shame and shaming play a role in that exercise. And without being explicit, we are also talking about emotional labor, and how, when people, often women, refuse to tolerate unpaid emotional labor, and say no, usually someone else who is vulnerable pays the price. It’s a whole thing.

As I read in Burnout, it can be a challenge to have empathy and compassion for a person or group who is trying to push you back in line with their expectations of your behavior, knowing that in a lot of ways they may be driven by internalized misogyny and patriarchy. Those expectations come in many different subtle, damaging messages, and we’re going to talk about some of them.

Kelly also touches on setting boundaries for yourself in working from home, or being self employed, and the pressure we put on ourselves to Produce All The Time.

We also talk at length about mental health, and mental health crises, and seeking therapy. Kelly recently wrote about the the cost of coming to terms with your own mental illness and asking for help.

And of course, we have book recommendations.
May 31 2019
Play

Rank #14: 224. Earl Had to Die: Sarah and Elyse Discuss Dr. Strange, Heroine Rage, and True Crime

Podcast cover
Read more
Sarah and Elyse talk at length about why Elyse was mad at Dr. Strange, and what they liked and didn’t like about it. The discussion is pretty spoilery (especially for 30 seconds at about 5 minutes in), but the hope is that it’s been enough time since the film came out. They also discuss, in depth, the concept of female rage, all the “girl” books, heroine revenge, female rage horror stories, and supremely pissed off heroines in romance. They also mention true crime podcasts, and other random topics, and there’s some dog interruption - all the professional touches you know and love about this podcast.

Because this episode talks extensively about the endings of movies, books, and tv shows, it’s pretty spoiler-tactic. Alas, it’s nearly impossible to discuss vindication and catharsis in fiction without discussing the ending that makes it so. ALSO: Trigger Warning for rape and discussion of criminal justice system failings as pertains to rape victims.

Plus, after the outro, a rather inappropriate outtake wherein they rag on a former quarterback and on dick pics in general. Listener discretion advised.
Dec 09 2016
54 mins
Play

Rank #15: 250. Being A Writer, and Being Yourself: An Interview with Sara Flynn and Meg Tilly

Podcast cover
Read more
Sarah chats with romance author Sara Flynn and Golden Globe winning actress Meg Tilly - conveniently the same person! Sara attended RT for the first time, and was the emcee for the awards ceremony. We start by talking about identity, about being yourself, and investing your own energy in things you value. We also talk about her experience at RT, her writing, her process, and how acting may have informed her writing style. We also talk about her new book, Solace Island, and learning to write romance when it’s something you truly, truly love.

Trigger warning: 48:25 - 48:35 min

Earlier books published under the name Meg Tilly deal with child sexual abuse, and she mentions the plot of one that may be upsetting. So skip ahead if that might upset you, k? I want you to feel safe.
Jun 09 2017
1 hour 1 min
Play

Rank #16: 240. Extraordinary Optimism Through History: An Interview with Alyssa Cole

Podcast cover
Read more
Sarah chats with author Alyssa Cole about her much-anticipated new book, An Extraordinary Union, an espionage romance set in the Civil War. They discuss the behind the scenes details of the cover development - and the cover is stunning, so it clearly all worked perfectly. They also talk about persevering through painful history, finding inspiration and comfort in how humans have overcome and pushed forward despite terrible obstacles, researching and writing about historical figures that many people don’t know about, and the real individuals who inspired different aspects of her characters. Plus, they have a lively conversation about Alyssa’s living abroad in Martinique, immigration, culture shock, language barriers, and feeling at ease in a community.

Sometimes the connection was uneven and there are some crackles in the audio - my apologies. Alyssa lives in the caribbean, so it was a long, long, very long distance recording!
Mar 31 2017
56 mins
Play

Rank #17: 341. The Self Care of Unapologetically Massive Happy Endings: An Interview with Adriana Herrera

Podcast cover
Read more
Today I’m chatting with Adriana Herrera, whose debut book American Dreamer is out this week! We talk about so many things, y’all. So many. We discuss the Afro Latinx cultural experience in her life, her work, and in her books, and the unique homesickness that comes when you’re from a Caribbean island and you live in New York City and it’s below freezing. We talk about all the places she’s lived - she and her husband did international relief work around the world.

We also discuss:

- Embracing and representing various lived experiences in a story: “It’s like seeing something in a museum, then taking the glass away and being able to touch it.”
- Moving from being in the community as a reader to being a debut author
- The layers of meaning in the names of characters in her series
- The occupational hazard of writing food p0rn
- How writing romance began as an exercise in self care while she completing her master’s degree in social work, and how she balances writing with her MSW
- How she focuses on making the “yes” of consent in a romance real and structurally sound
- What to means to level up characters so they are ready for real, committed relationships

And of course, we talk about what she’s working on, and what she’s reading.

Thank you to Leigh for her questions! When I asked the Patreon community for their ideas, Leigh wrote, “I am super excited Adriana is coming on the podcast! She is the loveliest and I'm so excited to read American Dreamer.”

TW/CW: Please be aware that because Adriana works with domestic violence, we touch on that topic a few times throughout the interview, particularly when we discuss writing consent and power dynamics and her work as a social worker.
Mar 08 2019
Play

Rank #18: 271. Dating as a Romance Author: A Conversation with Alisha Rai

Podcast cover
Read more
In this episode, I sit down for cake and podcasting with Alisha Rai. In a prior interview in episode 229, we talked a lot about dating and romance - both the concept and the genre. In this episode, we take a deeper look at dating as a romance author. We discuss seducing men with dad jokes, and why so many guys are into telling you they’re kinky in their third or fourth text. We also cover the identification of romance heroes and villains in real life people, the upside and downside of being a romance writer in the dating world, and they were is really, truly, no such thing as “leagues.” Plus, Alisha shares a truly lovely story of a good date.

So many listeners contacted me to let me know how much they enjoyed hearing Alisha talk about the intricacies of modern dating from the point of view of someone who is fluent in the romance genre. I’m so pleased to bring you a follow up interview!

Trigger warning: mention of Trump and his comments on sexual assault at 36:45.
Nov 03 2017
1 hour 18 mins
Play

Rank #19: 229. Romance, Dating, and Very Real Expectations: An Interview with Alisha Rai

Podcast cover
Read more
Longer-than-usual, in person conversation with author Alisha Rai! Yup, a live recording, and of course we start by talking about my “professionalism” as a podcaster. Over brownies and tea, we discuss sexxytimes romance, her new series with Avon, and how reading and writing romance informs and influences her dating life - because sometimes you meet people who you *know* you’ve read before. She talks about the pressure on women to meet expectations in various stages of life, and the old accusation that women harbor “unrealistic expectations” because of romance. As a bonus, my cat interrupts a discussion of inclusivity, sensitivity readers, and portrayal in literature - you know, a typical podcast.
Jan 13 2017
Play

Rank #20: 267. Recommendation Requests with Sarah and Amanda, Part the First!

Podcast cover
Read more
It’s RecReq time! I asked the podcast Patreon supporters what types of books they’re looking for more of, and what they’d like to read next. Now, Amanda and I answer many of your book recommendation requests!

So we start with reader requests for romances with beta heroes, friends to lovers, intelligent heroines, virginal characters, mystery romances and heroines in disguise. Along the way we talk about post-therapy food indulgences and both of our Very Large Cats who assisted during this episode.

This is a three-part conversation, so come back next week for even more fun and amazement at Amanda’s excellent memory.
Oct 06 2017
Play

Similar Podcasts