Cover image of Always Listening: Podcast News
(137)
Business
Technology
Management & Marketing
Podcasting

Always Listening: Podcast News

Updated 12 days ago

Business
Technology
Management & Marketing
Podcasting
Read more

Jay ‘PodVader’ Soderberg and Joel Sharpton have been working in radio for a combined 3 decades plus and in podcasting for more than 2 decades combined. They bring their own analysis and POV to the latest Podcasting news, as well as giving tips and suggestions to improve and grow your show.

Read more

Jay ‘PodVader’ Soderberg and Joel Sharpton have been working in radio for a combined 3 decades plus and in podcasting for more than 2 decades combined. They bring their own analysis and POV to the latest Podcasting news, as well as giving tips and suggestions to improve and grow your show.

iTunes Ratings

137 Ratings
Average Ratings
37
13
8
14
65

What a nothing show

By ANskull8 - Feb 21 2019
Read more
The premise would be ok i guess if the two hosts had any personality but my god, i came here to listen to their review of my favorite podcast the weekly planet and it was a near unbearable listen. First off both hosts were only marginally informed, you could tell they listened to a few episodes once and barely knew anything about the podcast they were reviewing but everything else was so by the numbers, they hit their beats with no charisma no passion no jokes. Waste of time

NO

By AbrilMaG - Aug 31 2017
Read more
They are not researching properly, they don't review based on quality but on personal preferences....

iTunes Ratings

137 Ratings
Average Ratings
37
13
8
14
65

What a nothing show

By ANskull8 - Feb 21 2019
Read more
The premise would be ok i guess if the two hosts had any personality but my god, i came here to listen to their review of my favorite podcast the weekly planet and it was a near unbearable listen. First off both hosts were only marginally informed, you could tell they listened to a few episodes once and barely knew anything about the podcast they were reviewing but everything else was so by the numbers, they hit their beats with no charisma no passion no jokes. Waste of time

NO

By AbrilMaG - Aug 31 2017
Read more
They are not researching properly, they don't review based on quality but on personal preferences....
Cover image of Always Listening: Podcast News

Always Listening: Podcast News

Updated 12 days ago

Read more

Jay ‘PodVader’ Soderberg and Joel Sharpton have been working in radio for a combined 3 decades plus and in podcasting for more than 2 decades combined. They bring their own analysis and POV to the latest Podcasting news, as well as giving tips and suggestions to improve and grow your show.

Rank #1: Joe Knows Podcasting, and Everyone Knows Joe - AL427

Podcast cover
Read more
Apple Podcasts Categories are BACK!

Libsyn’s got a new look: https://libsyn.com

Joe Rogan is the “biggest name” in podcasting: https://www.allaccess.com/net-news/archive/story/188428/coleman-insights-study-shows-joe-rogan-topping-pod

Podsights has the right idea...but will the execution stick the landing??? They have presented their code on how they compute downloads and made it open source for everyone. It’s a little different than IAB 2.0 but it costs companies $45k to be certified...and that certification needs to be renewed. https://podsights.com/blog/open-downloads/?utm_source=podnews.net&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=podnews.net%3A2019-08-05

So, Pandora’s CEO who is SiriusXM’s CEO agrees (from Podnews): Pandora reckon that discoverability continues to be an issue for podcasting. Speaking in an investor call, the owner of Pandora, SiriusXM’s CEO Jim Meyer, says that podcasting is “like a flea market,” and that content “is up there, but nobody can find it easily”. “Right now, it seems to be a race as who can put the most stuff up,” he also said, “which personally, I don’t believe is what is going to win.” Pandora currently lists 3,000 podcasts

The Apple vs Spotify war...more paying subs on Spotify and podcast audience is growing on Spotify.https://9to5mac.com/2019/07/31/spotify-subscribers/More about that Spotify info from Revenue call (from Podnews):Spotify have released their first quarter 2019 earnings results, and a fancy infographic. Revenue is up 31% year-on-year. Of note from the report: Our podcast audience grew 50% quarter-on-quarter and has nearly doubled since the start of the year … We are seeing increased demand for podcast advertising … Over time, our ambition is to reinvent the podcasting ad experience by building a new tech stack to enable targeting, measurement, and reporting capabilities like we have for our core Ad-Supported offering.

What are you Currently Listening to?

Joel’s Pick: Teen Creeps - https://www.teencreepspod.com

Jay’s Pick: This Week In Marvel and the whole family: www.marvel.com/podcasts
Aug 07 2019
1 hour 6 mins
Play

Rank #2: Pod on Pod on Welcome to Nightvale

Podcast cover
Read more
In this episode, Josh and Joel get a little spooked by Cecil Baldwin, the host of Welcome to Nightvale, a bi-weekly peak at the weird world of the desert town of Nightvale and its residents. Find more for yourself at Commonplacebooks.com  Our musical guest this week is Weith: https://soundcloud.com/weith
Jun 11 2014
23 mins
Play

Rank #3: Pod on Pod on PoP - Secret Origin Episode

Podcast cover
Read more
In this sneak peak of Pod on Pod: A Guide to the World of Podcasts, Josh and Joel introduce themselves and the show. The guys discuss their introduction to podcasting, why it's worth talking about and why they think this is a show worth listening to!
Pod on Pod is now Always Listening! Find all our episodes at http://AlwaysListeningPod.com
May 04 2014
22 mins
Play

Rank #4: Trouble A-Board? Libsyn shareholders, Omny & Triton Team-Up - AL421

Podcast cover
Read more
Podcast News
Triton Digital (a trusted ad service by big broadcasters) acquires Omny (podcast host with some of the biggest broadcasters). Um, the split between Big Podcasting and I’ll call it Independent Podcasting is widening at an alarming rate:
https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20190612005078/en/Triton-Digital-Announces-Acquisition-Podcast-Powerhouse-Omny
And to that degree, what does this story mean for Independent’s. This is the continuation of a story that was first published weeks ago but I kept putting it off because it probably won’t amount to anything...but what if it does?:
https://rainnews.com/libsyn-shareholder-complains-of-executive-compensation-and-calls-for-new-board/
In Q1 Libsyn says its podcasting revenue grew by 30%, and in total the company earned double the amount of revenue year on year: earning over US $22m. The company has $11m in the bank.
I find this data to be extremely questionable...New York and LA aren’t in the top 10?
https://podcastbusinessjournal.com/where-are-consumers-listening-to-podcasts/
Why would anyone NOT want to be on Google Podcasts? Is there something we don’t know about? From Podnews:
Enterprise podcast host ART19 has made a number of updates to their service, including a setting that allows publishers to block their podcast from appearing in Google Podcasts. (We spoke with a few publishers at Podcast Day - and it sounds like some want to remove podcast play buttons from appearing within Google search, while still allowing them in Google Podcasts itself. This option, however, would entirely remove podcasts from all Google products).
Not sure if it’s related, should probably ask in the Facebook groups...but I learned that while Blubrry is IAB Certified, some of the services from which they report stats from, are not - such as Spotify. Now, Spotify stats are presented as different listens on the Blubrry platform. Not on the Spreaker platform which is also IAB Certified. Are listens from Google IAB Certified?

What are you Currently Listening to?
Joel’s Pick: Swamp Thing Radio - https://overcast.fm/+P4tVB8fOA
Jay’s Pick: Crime Stories with Nancy Grace https://www.crimeonline.com/podcast/
Jun 19 2019
42 mins
Play

Rank #5: Pod on Pod on Doug Loves Movies

Podcast cover
Read more
In the Pilot episode of Pod on Pod, Josh and Joel discuss "Doug Loves Movies" a weekly comedy podcast hosted by comedian Doug Benson since 2006. Find more for yourself at Douglovesmovies.com Our outro music this week is by Proyecto Elipsis.
Pod on Pod is now Always Listening! Find all our reviews at http://AlwaysListeningPod.com
May 04 2014
30 mins
Play

Rank #6: iTunes is Dead (Sorta) Long Live Apple Podcasts, Ad Revenue Reports and Why You Don't Need a Mac Pro to Podcast

Podcast cover
Read more
Apple Podcasts is coming to Mac! Joel breaks down two big pieces of news from Apple's WWDC (Worldwide Developer Conference) and the two big pieces of misinformation that have come out of it.

Also from Apple’s WWDC - in the next version of iOS on the iPhone and iPod Touch, Apple Podcasts will be on the front screen, “right next to one of the most used apps in the world — the App Store”, notes Vox Media’s Zach Kahn in a tweet. He says this will help first-time listeners discover podcasts.

Podcast Revenue is UP! https://podnews.net/update/podcasting-ad-revenue-2018

(From PodNews) The Tim Ferris Show is trying a new experiment: no ads, no sponsors, just a donation model. A blog post explains why. My man-crush, Tom Webster, had a great tweet about that: It’s easy to monetize like Tim Ferris. Step One: Already be Tim Ferris.
For more on that point, a blog post from Jake Rhysider of Darknet Diaries:
https://lime.link/blog/find-great-podcaster-role-models/?utm_source=podnews.net&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=podnews.net:2019-05-31
Speaking of Tom Webster, Edison Research released a study on Social Media Habits. It could also be re-described as “The Death of Facebook”. Check it out here:
www.edisonresearch.com/the-social-habit-2019
Jun 05 2019
1 hour 14 mins
Play

Rank #7: Luminary Apologizes, Paywalls Go Portable, Avengers Endgame Discussion Post-Show - AL415

Podcast cover
Read more
Podcast News

Just to be fair, Luminary listened and made changes. Not so sure about the apology, but better than before. Could still be too little too late because the next story I think has a better future.https://medium.com/hearluminary/updates-to-luminary-99806e782fd6

This could be a game changer. Why aren’t more people talking about this? Is it because they’re leary of it actually working?https://rainnews.com/acast-enables-podcasters-to-go-premium-with-portable-paywalls/And look at this company that got no coverage (until Podnews readers pointed it out):  https://www.supportingcast.co/?utm_source=podnews.net&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=podnews.net:2019-05-03

From James Cridland’s weekly newsletter (not Podnews):I’ve spent the week without my MacBook Pro, which after just 26 months began to suffer from the tell-tale signs of an expanding battery. I’m getting a bit worried, given I’m doing two presentations next week - one to Rogers on Wednesday, and one at Canadian Music Week on Thursday (and no, they won’t be the same). I sure hope it’ll be ready to collect when Apple told me it will.Instead of my AUD$2699 MacBook Pro, I’ve been using my AUD$640 Chromebook for everything over the past week (using the same keyboard and big screen in the office as I always do). It’s been very interesting how capable the machine really is, and in many ways I rather prefer it. If you use Chromebooks, ChromeOSv74, which came out last week, has audio playback from Linux apps, so you can use Audacity or the much more preferable Reaper to edit audio if you want. I’ve been using my USB microphone and Auphonic Edit, instead.Joel, as the resident expert on podcast production on different devices, would love to hear your thoughts.

Something to note here: Spotify has half a million more daily active sessions than Pandora. iHeartRadio is 3rd and Radio.com, Cumulus, NPR appear tied for last on this chart and if you combine the bottom 4 they don’t even account for half of Pandora. Once you pick an app...you stay on that app. https://rainnews.com/webcast-listening-january-2019/

This article both encourages me and infuriates me at the same time:https://rainnews.com/spotify-dramatically-revolutionize-podcast-advertising-earnings-follow-up/

Avengers Endgame Discussion (it’s all post-show, so you don’t have to worry about spoilers if you haven’t seen it)

We forgot to talk about it, but here is TMR (Matthew Berry)’s Avengers Endgame Cameo explained and discussed: https://io9.gizmodo.com/the-fun-story-behind-an-avengers-endgame-cameo-you-pro-1834418343
May 08 2019
1 hour 33 mins
Play

Rank #8: Always Listening to Cameron Reilly, Australian Podcast Pioneer

Podcast cover
Read more
*Explicit Language Warning* Cam has a colorful manner of speaking and I don't edit it down for this episode. Watch the little ears!*

Cameron Reilly, cohost of The Bullshit Filter, Life of Caesar and more, joins Joel to talk about his life in podcasting, and independent media which started in 2004. With claims to "fame" as the first Australian podcaster and the first person to use a recorded Skype call for a podcast in the world.

Cam is a straight shooter who spends most of his days shooting straight at Ray Harris, his cohost for Life of Caesar, BS Filter and other podcasts and projects across the interwebs.

If you like learning about the beginning of things, hearing about the future of podcasting or learning some of the inside workings of a popular podcasting empire from Down Under, this episode is perfect for you.

Keep up with Cam's latest efforts at

http://DeepDiveDocumentaries.com or

http://CameronReilly.com

And subscribe to any of his podcasts by visiting: http://thepodcastnetwork.com

Yep. He's THE podcast network. That's another thing Cam was first at.
Sep 05 2018
40 mins
Play

Rank #9: Pod on Pod on The Joe Rogan Experience

Podcast cover
Read more
In this episode, Josh and Joel have an experience with Joe Rogan. "The Joe Rogan Experience" debuted in December of 2009, and since then the world has experienced an awful lot of Joe. Find more at Podcasts.Joerogan.net  Our outro music this week is from Karu: http://karumusic.bandcamp.com/album/spiderweb

Pod on Pod is now Always Listening! Find all our reviews at http://AlwaysListeningPod.com
May 20 2014
26 mins
Play

Rank #10: Gimlet AND Anchor are Bought by Spotify!!!! More to come? - AL403

Podcast cover
Read more
Jay and Joel hold an emergency podcast to discuss the titanic news that broke this morning. Spotify has aquired BOTH Gimlet Media AND Anchor. What does it mean for podcasting? Well, that’s what this episode is about.

Followup
You know that thing we were talking about yesterday? - https://investors.spotify.com/financials/press-release-details/2019/Spotify-Announces-Strategic-Acquisitions-to-Accelerate-Growth-in-Podcasting/default.aspx
Feb 06 2019
29 mins
Play

Rank #11: All’s Quiet on the Podcasting Front...Too Quiet - AL411

Podcast cover
Read more
Podcast News

iTunes breakup is coming: https://twitter.com/stroughtonsmith/status/1114261872029700098?s=21

Great news. This is from the CEO of Oxford Road, an ad agency, educating businesses on how to be successful advertising in podcasts. https://www.business.com/articles/advertising-on-podcasts/

More education on how ads work:https://podsights.com/blog/frequency/?utm_source=podnews.net&utm_medium=web&utm_campaign=adfrequency:2019-04-08

An attempt to explain IAB 2.0 using pizza as a metaphor:https://blog.pacific-content.com/jimmy-and-the-magic-pizza-shop-3c547eeb17db

Story about the Bright Sessions in today’s Hot Pod. https://hotpodnews.com/making-money-part-one/

Dates for your diary: Edison Research reveal The Podcast Consumer on Thursday April 11th. You can register for the webinar here.

Jacobs Media Techsurvey: A survey of radio listeners with some podcasting info. Monday, April 15th: https://jacobsmedia.com/10-things-learned-techsurvey-2019/

Coffee w/Envision: Tuesday April 23 - A radio webinar, free, focusing on air talent.https://radioink.com/2019/04/08/free-envision-webinar-will-focus-on-air-talent/

What are you Currently Listening to?

Joel’s Pick - Upgrade from Relay.fm - https://www.relay.fm/upgrade/240

Jay’s Pick - Wolverine: The Long Night.  https://www.wolverinepodcast.com/
Apr 09 2019
52 mins
Play

Rank #12: Pod on Pod on Sklarbro Country

Podcast cover
Read more
In this episode, Josh and Joel talk about Randy and Jason Sklar's sorta kinda sports show, "Sklarbro Country". One of the earliest members of the Earwolf network, "Sklarbro Country" is a weekly comedic sports show that the comedic brothers Sklar have been hosting since August of 2010.  Find more for yourself at Earwolf.com  Our outro music this week is by Florals: https://soundcloud.com/floralstunes
Pod on Pod is now Always Listening! Find all our reviews at http://AlwaysListeningPod.com
May 14 2014
26 mins
Play

Rank #13: Google Podcasts, Big Media Earnings Reports, Apple Event -AL409

Podcast cover
Read more
Podcast News

Google Podcasts is coming to the web! https://podnews.net/update/google-podcasts-web

But BBC Podcasts are leaving Google Podcasts: https://podnews.net/update/bbc-pulls-podcasts

Data on those listeners who use the almighty “pause” button:https://www.allaccess.com/net-news/archive/story/185027/data-nugget-on-finishing-a-podcast-listening-sessi?utm_source=podnews.net&utm_medium=web&utm_campaign=podnews.net:2019-03-22

Quarter 1 is ending and earnings reports are in. Cumulus (Westwood One, CBS): Cumulus’ overall digital business – what’s called C-Suite – grew by more than 60% in 2018. Starting off at 46% growth in Q1 of 2018, digital revenue in Q4 grew by 76% according, to CEO Mary Berner, In 2016, according to Berner, Cumulus’ podcasting division generated $100,000 in revenue. In 2018 she says podcasting generated $12.5 million in profitable podcasting revenue.Libsyn: Libsyn says its podcasting revenue grew by 30%, and in total the company earned double the amount of revenue year on year: earning over US $22m. The company has $11m in the bank.Difference - Westwood One is running mostly re-purposed audio and according to my “money tree”, they are right on point with the numbers I could find that are public. Libsyn is mostly a podcast hosting company...their revenue is coming from people paying them to host their podcast. Which has bigger upside???

Also from the Libsyn statement (not sure why the news outlets skipped this part): In 2019, we plan to expand our Podcast hosting product to target Spanish speaking podcast producers as well as launch, what we believe to be, a revolutionary podcast advertising platform built specifically for the podcast industry.”

Apple Event - https://www.polygon.com/tv/2019/3/25/18202503/apple-tv-plus-channels-streaming-service

What are you Currently Listening to?

Joel’s Pick - Backsliding to Glory, http://backslidingtoglory.com

 Follow Jay on Twitter at @therealpodvader or Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/PodVaderPage/ and Joel at @therogueslife on Twitter or for everything else at ProPodcastingServices.com

Find us online anytime at AlwaysListeningPod.com and email us your questions to AlwaysListeningPod@gmail.com

You can subscribe to the show in Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Spotify, Stitcher, or anywhere you listen to podcasts.If you need help with your show, both Jay and Joel are available for consultation, just email us your needs.
Mar 26 2019
58 mins
Play

Rank #14: Where is Podcasting Growing? - AL406

Podcast cover
Read more
Followup

Ad insertion in the middle of a sentence. It'll be fixed from now on. My apologies.

Podcast News

Apple’s Scary Email and what you should or should not do about it!

Chartable on the “Golden Age of Podcasting” - essentially repurposed Edison Research Share of Ear report (which a new one is coming on March 5th). But want to address this specifically:“Many of these listeners are new to podcasts. In other words, Spotify didn't “steal” listeners who were already listening to podcasts on Apple Podcasts, they created new listeners by exposing them to podcasts for the first time.”https://chartable.com/blog/golden-age-of-podcasts?utm_source=podnews.net&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=podnews.net:2019-02-22

Spotify agrees: https://rainnews.com/panoply-spotify-may-be-bringing-new-listeners-to-podcasts/

Voxnest says Spotify is already beating Apple in some countries:https://blog.voxnest.com/what-is-the-current-status-of-apple-vs-spotify/?utm_source=podnews.net&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=podnews.net:2019-03-05

And Podnews adds: Spotify was launched in India on February 26th. Android has a 90% market share in that country.

Dave Jackson’s visit to On Air FestBecause of the focus on stories, almost every podcast I heard about uses seasons. I also heard phrases about “funding.” Such as “I’m working on season three, but we are still waiting on funding.” Speaking of funding….

Jenna Weiss-Berman from Pineapple Street media shared how she can make an entire season of a podcast using 5% of the budget for a TV pilot. According to my first Google search you can make a 30-minute TV pilot for $2 million. If that is accurate you are looking at $100,000 to create a season of episodes.  When I looked at shows by Pineapple Street, I saw seasons with 6-12 episodes, which means they are charging between $8,300 and $16,000 per episode. https://podcastbusinessjournal.com/1648-2/

From HotPod: Lisa Chao is now a senior editor on The Daily, Leaving Gimlet where she was the host of the Startup podcast

Scripps, who own Triton Digital and Stitcher, have seen revenue grow by 41% in Q4 2018, according to new results from the company. Revenue for Stitcher, which includes Midroll, was up 64% to $16.7 million.  And yet Lex Friedman their former Chief Business Development Officer and Korri Kolesa their former CRO left for Art19.

Want to make it to Podfest 2019?: http://bit.ly/2ELBo9K

Want to get some deals, even though you can't go?: https://propodcastingservices.com/podfest/

What are you Currently Listening to?

Joel’s Pick - Ben Franklin’s World - https://www.benfranklinsworld.com

Jay’s Pick - Timesuck with Dan Cummins. - https://timesuckpodcast.com/

Follow Jay on Twitter at @therealpodvader or Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/PodVaderPage/ and Joel at @therogueslife on Twitter or for everything else at ProPodcastingServices.com

Find us online anytime at AlwaysListeningPod.com and email us your questions to AlwaysListeningPod@gmail.com

You can subscribe to the show in Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Spotify, Stitcher, or anywhere you listen to podcasts.If you need help with your show, both Jay and Joel are available for consultation, just email us your needs.
Mar 05 2019
51 mins
Play

Rank #15: Always Listening to Jay “Pod Vader” Soderberg

Podcast cover
Read more
Joel’s podcasting hero, Jay Pod Vader Soderberg, joins the podcast to talk about his career in media, radio, podcating and in and out of companies like ESPN, Blog Talk Radio, Spreaker and more.

"Podcasts don't have a "middle" ... radio is nothing but "middle"."

Pod Vader was the backbone of ESPN’s launch into podcasting producing dozens of shows at once and featuring in many of them on-air as well as behind the scenes. At the top of his field and working for the biggest player in the space, he leapt out to help independent producers with Blog Talk Radio (now Voxnest) helping small shows, big shows and everything in between make money right away using dynamic advertising.

Starting the next phase of his career, we look over all of his jobs and experiences while speculating about what’s next in the podcast space. To hear from Jay regularly, find The Next FanUp podcast or follow him on Twitter at @TheRealPodVader

Join us for a great conversation about radio, podcasting, the audio industry and more.
Aug 29 2018
1 hour 8 mins
Play

Rank #16: Live Shows, Spotify Predictions and iHeart Recommendations - AL404

Podcast cover
Read more
Followup

Joel talks about the New Orleans MBMBaM Live show and supporting podcasters through live shows period.

Podcast News

Predictions for Gimlet/Spotify/Anchor fallout: https://twitter.com/nbashaw/status/1093210854747598848

iHeartRadio recommendation engine review… the writer’s premise is flawed if he ignores the initial recommendations…
https://www.forbes.com/sites/joshuadudley/2019/02/11/iheartradio-looks-to-grow-the-podcast-audience-with-personalized-podcast-recommendations/#1a85ca536f1c

Funny because it’s true.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/podcastmovement/permalink/2021121927975419/

What are you Currently Listening to?

Joel’s Pick -

When in New Orleans, go ‘Beyond Bourbon Street’ with Mark Balogna http://beyondbourbonst.com

Jay’s Pick -

Challenge Mania - MTV Challenge Recap show w/former Challenge contestant
https://www.spreaker.com/show/challenge-mania

Follow Jay on Twitter at @therealpodvader or Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/PodVaderPage/ and Joel at @therogueslife on Twitter or for everything else at ProPodcastingServices.com

Find us online anytime at AlwaysListeningPod.com and email us your questions to AlwaysListeningPod@gmail.com

You can subscribe to the show in Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Spotify, Stitcher, or anywhere you listen to podcasts.
If you need help with your show, both Jay and Joel are available for consultation, just email us your needs.
Feb 17 2019
1 hour 3 mins
Play

Rank #17: Podcast Consumer 2019 Reactions and Apple Podcasts on the Web - AL412

Podcast cover
Read more
Podcast News

Podcast Consumer 2019: https://www.edisonresearch.com/the-podcast-consumer-2019/

Techsurvey 2019: https://jacobsmedia.com/10-things-learned-techsurvey-2019/

Apple Podcasts on the Web: https://9to5mac.com/2019/04/10/apple-podcasts-web-interface-redesign/

Coffee w/Envision: Tuesday April 23 - A radio webinar, free, focusing on air talent.https://radioink.com/2019/04/08/free-envision-webinar-will-focus-on-air-talent/

Podcasts Business Journal on She Podcasts Live: https://podcastbusinessjournal.com/she-did-it/

What are you Currently Listening to?

Joel’s Pick - She Podcasts:  https://www.shepodcasts.com

Jay’s Pick - Game of Thrones Season 8 premiere. Only one GoT podcast had a new episode to react - Post Show Recaps w/Rob Cesternino. https://postshowrecaps.com
Apr 16 2019
33 mins
Play

Rank #18: Absolutely the Best Podcast Info - AL417

Podcast cover
Read more
Podcast News
Why I hate ABSOLUTES… from PodNews:
A company called “Podcastier” is sending mail to podcast owners claiming to be a “big fan” of your podcast and to offer to edit your podcasts for half price. They’re just scraping from your RSS feed, and we’d recommend you avoid any company that lazily spams you in this way.
Hmmmmm...going through Certification process I believe…
https://podcastbusinessjournal.com/podcast-downloads-down-drastically-in-april/
An extremely comprehensive guide on how to grow your podcast audience:
https://lowerstreet.co/podcasting-guide/grow-your-podcast?fbclid=IwAR2xUjdACONXVFSrY_JwJ-pK9S0XXAhbdJZkH-uOTdd-oj7ITXmIsMGoZj4
Speaking of which, how should a podcaster format their podcast episodes now that Google is making audio search results more relevant to more people who may not listen to podcasts? I have some tips especially if you have advertising in your podcast. (Time to re-think and re-define the “Pre-roll” ad)
What day and time should you release your podcast?
https://medium.com/megaphonepods/what-time-should-you-publish-your-podcast-18b9925c2f75
What are you Currently Listening to?
Joel’s Pick: Trivial Warfare - Blitz : https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/trivial-warfare-blitz/id1458066436
Jay’s Pick: An absolute show that doesn’t take itself seriously…
www.AdamSandlerPleaseStop.com
May 22 2019
56 mins
Play

Rank #19: Apple Categories, and Exclusive Shows - AL425

Podcast cover
Read more
The Bloomberg Apple article & original content:From Nick Quah: assuming the Bloomberg report holds true, Apple is now another major buyer, and that’s good news for a certain kind of audio producer, creator, and entrepreneur.https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2019-07-16/apple-plans-to-bankroll-original-podcasts-to-fend-off-rivals

Apple category changes and Blubrry explains what this really means inside Apple:These new categories and subcategories will now have their own top 200 shows featured within them, which will give over 13,000 podcasts top 200 exposure in the Apple podcasts directory. https://powerpresspodcast.com/2019/07/17/how-the-2019-apple-podcast-category-changes-affect-for-your-podcast/?sfns=mo

Tom Webster’s article on “What will kill podcasting”...some interesting insights as always from the Wise Webby and he starts with what WON’T kill podcasting: - No one has a right to an audience. Though your cause be just and your hearts be pure, you don’t get handed an audience. You don’t deserve one. Not one single pair of earballs.

And thus, podcasting simply becomes like every other medium known to humankind. No blogger has the right to an audience, either. Wilkie Collins out-Dickensed Charles Dickens and wrote the first detective story before Poe. But we read Dickens and Poe today, not Collins. Dickens had his own magazine. Go figure.- The atomic unit of the podcast is not RSS. It’s the show. (Alex Carter pointed out on Twitter that it’s actually the episode, which is fair.)

And anyway, it’s never been up to the creators. It’s always up to the audience. If I put my show on Spotify, it may no longer be a podcast by definition. But what do you think the average Spotify listener will call it? We’ve done a pretty good job normalizing what is a pretty wonky technical term: “podcast.” Why screw this up now?- Now, where I sort of disagree with TomPut yourself in the shoes of a media buyer. You’ve got a buy from a leading national advertiser, and on the one hand, you’ve got a podcast network offering something risky — host-read content, or something bespoke to the show, at (say) a $25 CPM, or another network offering reach across all their shows, using your existing audio/radio creative, for a $5 CPM. What is the safe bet for your media buying career?

Great content is expensive to produce, and great advertising native to that content’s form and delivery is well worth a premium. But if several large players in the space start taking poorly executed, irrelevant ads at ultra-low (for podcasting) CPMs, that’s going to have repercussions on the economic feasibility of great audio content.(By the way, revenue reports have been trickling out and Audioboom & Acast report record growth in revenues. What do they use? Those “cheap ads”. https://medium.com/@webby2001/what-will-kill-podcasting-6996cf898977

Blubrry charging for dynamic advertising:https://www.benzinga.com/pressreleases/19/07/n14058249/blubrry-podcasting-releases-dynamic-advertising-insertion-for-professional-podcasters

Last week’s Hot Pod:One more thing on Stitcher. Before I move off this topic, I wanted to flag something I found interesting: Stitcher appears to be in the process of changing platform vendors for hosting services provided by Midroll, the company’s sales division. Midroll’s preferred platform had been Art19, but it’s now switching to Omny, the Australian hosting platform that Triton Digital acquired in June. Here's some matryoshka doll action for ya: EW Scripps, Stitcher's parent company, acquired Triton Digital last December.

“Over the past few months, Stitcher has been testing Triton Digital’s ad serving infrastructure and programmatic exchange in our Stitcher app and through a sample of our owned and operated podcasts," said Diehn in a statement, forwarded yesterday. "Triton’s acquisition of innovative podcast hosting company Omny Studio represents an exciting opportunity to explore the powerful new capabilities this platform integration will unlock for Stitcher and its partners - improved content management, better data and insights, increased monetization opportunities and a growing suite of data-driven advertising solutions. At Stitcher, our goal is always to keep the interests of our partners at the forefront and we look forward to serving them with the introduction of a new set of tools later this year.”

Jay: Don't forget, 2 members of Stitcher/Midroll's team went to Art19. Triton/Omny used by all the big broadcast radio people - Stitcher owned by Scripps. 

Nielsen has been looking to get into the podcasting game from an advertising perspective and it looks like they’ve cracked the door with the usual players they’re used to playing with: https://rainnews.com/nielsen-joins-with-six-podcast-publishers-to-launch-new-audience-intelligence-service/

New people coming into the podcast space are from outside this ecosphere - there are pros & cons to this: Crooked Media taps former Netflix exec Sarah Geismer for creative development post and American Public Media has hired Liliana Kim, formerly the vice president of MTV International Content Strategy & Brand Management, as its new managing director of podcasts.

What are you Currently Listening to?

Joel’s Pick: Inside Legion - http://comicbookclublive.com/category/inside-legion/

Jay’s Pick: Rocked Up part of the Mat Men Podcast Network produced by Jason Bryant - https://podnews.net/podcast/1454428294
Jul 24 2019
58 mins
Play

Rank #20: Is This Big Podcasting? - AL405

Podcast cover
Read more
Podcast News
Year one of Paid Listens from Radio Public:
https://about.radiopublic.com/2019/02/12/year-one-of-paid-listens/?utm_source=podnews.net&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=podnews.net:2019-02-14
Tom Webster is a very very very smart man:
https://medium.com/@webby2001/how-big-should-podcasting-be-fac8c2c7f85f
Trivial Warfare crew up for Trivia Hall of Fame - want to discuss podcasts looking for validation in their niche instead of just among their podcast peers. Vote for the TWA crew: http://www.triviahalloffame.com/vote/vote.php

What are you Currently Listening to?
Joel’s Pick -
The Ron Burgundy Show discussion
Jay’s Pick -
The Ron Burgundy Show discussion https://www.iheart.com/podcast/the-ron-burgundy-podcast-30270227/
Feb 26 2019
43 mins
Play

Similar Podcasts