Cover image of Strong Opinions Loosely Held
(539)
News & Politics
Society & Culture
TV & Film

Strong Opinions Loosely Held

Updated 13 days ago

News & Politics
Society & Culture
TV & Film
Read more

Refinery 29's award-winning podcast is back for season 4! In this five-part capsule collection, host Elisa Kreisinger dives into the world of the professional female athlete to explore how they've survived and thrived in a sports-loving country that doesn't alway love them back. Did you know that the highest grossing sport for women is tennis? Or that the US exports many of our best female athletes to China and Russia because they pay them a livable wage? This season we talk with soccer legend Abby Wambach, WNBA superstar Swin Cash, world renowned ballerina Isabella Boylston and sports journalists from around the country to unpack what it means to be a female athlete representing a country that doesn't support women. 

Read more

Refinery 29's award-winning podcast is back for season 4! In this five-part capsule collection, host Elisa Kreisinger dives into the world of the professional female athlete to explore how they've survived and thrived in a sports-loving country that doesn't alway love them back. Did you know that the highest grossing sport for women is tennis? Or that the US exports many of our best female athletes to China and Russia because they pay them a livable wage? This season we talk with soccer legend Abby Wambach, WNBA superstar Swin Cash, world renowned ballerina Isabella Boylston and sports journalists from around the country to unpack what it means to be a female athlete representing a country that doesn't support women. 

iTunes Ratings

539 Ratings
Average Ratings
455
45
9
12
18

MULTITUDES

By lscherschligt - Sep 21 2018
Read more
Each episode is so smart, thoughtful, funny, and thoroughly entertaining.

So good. So so good

By TeRe1972 - Apr 26 2018
Read more
I love this podcast and I've barely scratched the surface. "Teenage Girls are Magic"

iTunes Ratings

539 Ratings
Average Ratings
455
45
9
12
18

MULTITUDES

By lscherschligt - Sep 21 2018
Read more
Each episode is so smart, thoughtful, funny, and thoroughly entertaining.

So good. So so good

By TeRe1972 - Apr 26 2018
Read more
I love this podcast and I've barely scratched the surface. "Teenage Girls are Magic"
Cover image of Strong Opinions Loosely Held

Strong Opinions Loosely Held

Updated 13 days ago

Read more

Refinery 29's award-winning podcast is back for season 4! In this five-part capsule collection, host Elisa Kreisinger dives into the world of the professional female athlete to explore how they've survived and thrived in a sports-loving country that doesn't alway love them back. Did you know that the highest grossing sport for women is tennis? Or that the US exports many of our best female athletes to China and Russia because they pay them a livable wage? This season we talk with soccer legend Abby Wambach, WNBA superstar Swin Cash, world renowned ballerina Isabella Boylston and sports journalists from around the country to unpack what it means to be a female athlete representing a country that doesn't support women. 

Warning: This podcast is a series podcast

This means episodes are recommended to be heard in order from the very start. Here's the 10 best episodes of the series anyway though!

Rank #1: S1E3: Just Shut Up

Podcast cover
Read more

Vocal fry. Upspeak. Overuse of qualifiers — it seems like we can’t open our mouths without being criticized. Elisa Kreisinger talks to public radio journalist Sally Herships and politics writer Amanda Marcotte and asks: if a woman is saying something intelligent and all you hear is the way it’s being said, is that her problem or yours?

What are your Strong Opinions? Let me know! 

Instagram: @popculturepirate

Twitter: @popcultpirate

Hashtag: #SOLHpod #StrongOpinionsLooselyHeld

May 23 2016
18 mins
Play

Rank #2: S1E4: Worst Place To Be A Woman

Podcast cover
Read more

Michelle Byrom was on death row for 15 years. Hours before her execution, her conviction was overturned. Refinery 29’s Vanessa Golembeski talked with Byrom weeks after her release to question the bias baked into a system that’s supposed to protect women.

What are your Strong Opinions? Let me know! 

Instagram: @popculturepirate

Twitter: @popcultpirate

Hashtag: #SOLHpod #StrongOpinionsLooselyHeld

May 31 2016
19 mins
Play

Rank #3: S2E2: Why the F*$% Are We Still Having Kids?

Podcast cover
Read more

Having kids seems like the worst career move a woman could make: the US lacks paid parental leave, working moms are less likely to be hired. And when they are, they make 4-6% less than women without kids. The motherhood penalty is real. But don't worry, what's lacking in social and political support is made up for in platitudes. After all, it's still the "most important job". Elisa talks to sociologist Dr. Kathleen Gerson, Senators Gillibrand and Heitkamp and "Why Have Kids" author Jessica Valenti to ask: why are we still doing this?

What are your Strong Opinions? Let me know! 

Instagram: @popculturepirate

Twitter: @popcultpirate

Hashtag: #SOLHpod #StrongOpinionsLooselyHeld

Jul 17 2017
35 mins
Play

Rank #4: S2E4: Little White Lie

Podcast cover
Read more

How do we come to terms with the lies our families tell us? Are we really an extension of our parents? How do we define our identities if we aren't? This week’s episode is dedicated to finding personal truth, inspired by the film "Little White Lie" by director Lacey Schwartz. The film is a personal documentary about the legacy of family secrets, denial, and the power of telling the truth. Schwartz was accepted to college as a Black student, a decision based solely on a photo she submitted with her application. Lacey didn’t openly acknowledge her black identity with her white family until her biological father's death forced her to confront her mother about the past. Elisa talks with Lacey about family secrets, dual identities, and the power of being honest with yourself and those around you.

What are your Strong Opinions? Let me know! 

Instagram: @popculturepirate

Twitter: @popcultpirate

Hashtag: #SOLHpod #StrongOpinionsLooselyHeld

Jul 31 2017
22 mins
Play

Rank #5: S2E5: Teenage Girls Are Magic

Podcast cover
Read more

Historically, young women have set all the trends: the Beatles, Instagram, and Snapchat just to name a few. But they are always discounted as silly, cute, or frivolous. Why do we discount young women but embrace "early adopters"? Elisa talks to Muhlenberg College professor Dr. Francesca Coppa and New York Times journalist Amanda Hess to unpack how teenage girls have all the power in the world... but simultaneously, no power at all.

What are your Strong Opinions? Let me know! 

Instagram: @popculturepirate

Twitter: @popcultpirate

Hashtag: #SOLHpod #StrongOpinionsLooselyHeld

Aug 07 2017
22 mins
Play

Rank #6: S1E5: Shiny Happy People

Podcast cover
Read more

Is virality a science or a spiritual connection? And what role do women play in it? Leading virality scholar and Wharton associate professor Katherine Milkman, PhD, and Soul Pancake’s Correy Stoner O'Neal offer two different perspectives. Does positivity go viral because we want to seem like good people or because we actually are?

What are your Strong Opinions? Let me know! 

Instagram: @popculturepirate

Twitter: @popcultpirate

Hashtag: #SOLHpod #StrongOpinionsLooselyHeld

Jun 06 2016
9 mins
Play

Rank #7: S2E3: Please Exit Through the Feminist Gift Shop

Podcast cover
Read more

Hold onto your pussy hats. Tuck in your Future is Female T-shirts. We are doing a deep dive into the buying and selling of feminism! Beyoncé, Emma Watson and Taylor Swift have all come out as feminists in a time when feminist themes sell everything from wireless plans to cigarettes. Are these empty signifiers of "empowerment" or are they helpful reminders that women are actually human? What happens when shopping becomes a political act? Elisa talks to "We Were Feminists Once" author Andi Zeisler about the mainstreaming of feminism and what it means, if anything, for us.

What are your Strong Opinions? Let me know! 

Instagram: @popculturepirate

Twitter: @popcultpirate

Hashtag: #SOLHpod #StrongOpinionsLooselyHeld

Jul 24 2017
28 mins
Play

Rank #8: S1E10: Lipstick Isn't a Sign of a Declining Mind

Podcast cover
Read more

Fashion is often dismissed as frivolous, superficial, shallow, and in the age of global warming, even irresponsible. Yet when we look in the mirror, we still want our outside to reflect what's inside. Refinery29's co-founder Christene Barberich talks about how clothing connects us- when you find your style, you find yourself.

What are your Strong Opinions? Let me know! 

Instagram: @popculturepirate

Twitter: @popcultpirate

Hashtag: #SOLHpod #StrongOpinionsLooselyHeld

Jul 11 2016
10 mins
Play

Rank #9: S2E10: Why Male Bosses Don't Get It

Podcast cover
Read more

You #LeanIn. You #AskForMore. You #SideHustle. Yet you still feel like an imposter, even though you're pretty sure you know more than your male boss. How do you survive being manterrupted, passed over, and side-eyed at work when even Senator Kamala Harris and Arianna Huffington have to put up with it at the office? Elisa talks to “Feminist Fight Club” author and New York Times journalist, Jessica Bennett about how to combat subtle sexism and why being a bitch is A-OK. Director and Head of Product at Wirecutter (and feminist husband) David Bloom provides a male boss' perspective. Bennett's book is now out in paperback.


This is our last episode of the season. *crying emoji* We’d love to come back for a season 3!

What are your Strong Opinions? Let me know! 

Instagram: @popculturepirate

Twitter: @popcultpirate

Hashtag: #SOLHpod #StrongOpinionsLooselyHeld

Sep 11 2017
25 mins
Play

Rank #10: S1E6: Picking Up A Pick-Up Artist

Podcast cover
Read more

Angela Washko is a feminist artist who tried to find common ground with the internet's most infamous misogynist. To say they occupy different corners of the world would be an understatement. How do you find commonality with someone who is the antithesis to your beliefs? And if you needed another reason to love Denmark, we have one.

What are your Strong Opinions? Let me know! 

Instagram: @popculturepirate

Twitter: @popcultpirate

Hashtag: #SOLHpod #StrongOpinionsLooselyHeld

Jun 13 2016
21 mins
Play

Rank #11: S2E6: Selling Squad Goals

Podcast cover
Read more

Can you sell female friendship after you've put women down? Who did Taylor Swift vote for? Did she vote? Why does she represent our general distrust in well-intentioned white women? Elisa talks to "Stuff Mom Never Told You" podcast host Bridget Todd and BuzzFeed's senior culture writer Anne Helen Petersen to track the evolution of Taylor Swift from putting women down to embracing them. Petersen's book,"Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud: The Rise and Reign of the Unruly Woman" can be found wherever you get your books.

What are your Strong Opinions? Let me know! 

Instagram: @popculturepirate

Twitter: @popcultpirate

Hashtag: #SOLHpod #StrongOpinionsLooselyHeld

Aug 14 2017
33 mins
Play

Rank #12: S1E7: No Shame in a Selfie

Podcast cover
Read more

Selfies were responsible for more deaths in 2015 than shark attacks. And 75% of those deaths were men. So why are selfies seen as an inherently narcissistic, overly feminine activity, and generally met with disgust? Can you find yourself in a selfie? Amy Jones, a therapist who knows Elisa very, very well weighs in.

What are your Strong Opinions? Let me know! 

Instagram: @popculturepirate

Twitter: @popcultpirate

Hashtag: #SOLHpod #StrongOpinionsLooselyHeld

Jun 20 2016
11 mins
Play

Rank #13: S1E9: Childish Games

Podcast cover
Read more

How far would you go to be a kid again? And why do we miss the '90s so much? Our special report on nostalgia dives into what Dream Phone taught us about dating and why some memories aren't worth reliving. This is our second to last episode of this season. Next week will be our final episode.

What are your Strong Opinions? Let me know! 

Instagram: @popculturepirate

Twitter: @popcultpirate

Hashtag: #SOLHpod #StrongOpinionsLooselyHeld

Jul 05 2016
12 mins
Play

Rank #14: S2E8: Why Are We Still Not Happy?

Podcast cover
Read more

The main consumer of self-help products in the US are women living in coastal cities. So how have decades of encouragement to "find our best selves" and "live our best lives" affected us? And why are we still looking for happiness in self-help books when the world’s happiest countries don’t sell all that many of them? Elisa talks with lawyer-turned-journalist Jill Filipovic about her new book, "The H-Spot: The Feminist Pursuit of Happiness." In it, Filipovic suggests that our biggest roadblocks could be toppled by a feminism and politics that focus on women’s happiness and pleasure.

What are your Strong Opinions? Let me know! 

Instagram: @popculturepirate

Twitter: @popcultpirate

Hashtag: #SOLHpod #StrongOpinionsLooselyHeld

Aug 28 2017
18 mins
Play

Rank #15: S1E8: Faith Filled Feminist

Podcast cover
Read more

How do you negotiate feminism and faith? Linda Sarsour talks about being a Muslim feminist and how the two aren't mutually exclusive.

What are your Strong Opinions? Let me know! 

Instagram: @popculturepirate

Twitter: @popcultpirate

Hashtag: #SOLHpod #StrongOpinionsLooselyHeld

Jun 27 2016
11 mins
Play

Similar Podcasts