Cover image of Deja Review
(1)
TV & Film
Film Reviews

Deja Review

Updated 6 days ago

TV & Film
Film Reviews
Read more

A group of film lovers get together to discuss a cult or classic film that one (or more) of them has just watched for the very first time.

Read more

A group of film lovers get together to discuss a cult or classic film that one (or more) of them has just watched for the very first time.

iTunes Ratings

1 Ratings
Average Ratings
1
0
0
0
0

iTunes Ratings

1 Ratings
Average Ratings
1
0
0
0
0
Cover image of Deja Review

Deja Review

Latest release on Aug 01, 2020

Read more

A group of film lovers get together to discuss a cult or classic film that one (or more) of them has just watched for the very first time.

Deja Recommends Volume Three

Aug 01 2020

26mins

Play

Deja Recommends Volume Two

Podcast cover
Read more

Penny Modra (esteemed grammarian and Gen X-pert) joins us over Zoom to explain why Tim Burton's 'Beetlejuice' is the movie to watch at this housebound moment in history. Meanwhile, Mike is running a one-man Bogdanovich festival and Alex is trying to atone for last episode's misguided 'Law & Order' caping with some documentary picks.

Jun 21 2020

30mins

Play

Deja Recommends Volume One

Podcast cover
Read more

This strange and unsettling time might be the perfect moment to burrow under the covers but it’s also a great opportunity to watch more movies. Mike has some sophisticated suggestions for you while Alex can’t stop watching ‘Law & Order: Criminal Intent’. This episode has more culture a sourdough bread starter so get slice off a piece and start chomping.

Recommendations:

May 13 2020

24mins

Play

The Shawshank Redemption with Kane Daniel

Podcast cover
Read more

Kane “Pork Chop” Daniel tunnels back on to the podcast to discuss the most ubiquitous ‘90s movie of all time, Frank Darabont’s ‘The Shawshank Redemption’. Join us as we reminisce about a time when there were still films made for adults, when a Morgan Freeman voiceover was still a novel idea and when Tom Cruise was everyone’s go-to for the lead.

Mar 10 2020

43mins

Play

Close Encounters of the Third Kind

Podcast cover
Read more

We want to believe in the power of Steven Spielberg’s 1977 hit ‘Close Encounters of the Third Kind’... But this episode finds OG Three divided: one stan and two sceptics. Can Seb’s passion for this film get Mike and Alex over the line for Stevo’s vision? Tune in to find out!

Feb 26 2020

1hr 2mins

Play

Predator

Podcast cover
Read more

Seb provides more movie trivia than you can poke Ol’ Painless at, Alex has some Things To Say about toxic masculinity and Mike delivers an impression of the Predator so accurate that it’ll give you goosebumps.

Episode artwork by Tongdee Panumas

Feb 11 2020

1hr 4mins

Play

The NeverEnding Story

Podcast cover
Read more

It’s time for your three favourite ‘80s kids to take off their rose-coloured Wayfarers and ask the hard questions: is it possible to enjoy Wolfgang Petersen’s ‘The NeverEnding Story’ as an adult? Is this movie an uplifting fable about the power of imagination or a tedious yet traumatic tale of dead mothers and dead horses? The only thing we can seem to agree on is that Ronan Farrow should be investigating Falkor.

The cameo from Yoda and Mickey Mouse

Jan 28 2020

44mins

Play

Love Actually with Brodie Lancaster (Part 2)

Podcast cover
Read more

For part two of our special double episode, we have a lot left to say about our love-hate relationship with ‘Love Actually’. Tune in as we definitively determine the worst character in the film via a March Madness-style tournament, explore some baffling trivia about Billy Bob Thornton’s phobias and tackle the most egregious movie plot hole of all time—the idea that there is a shortcut to Heathrow Airport.

Dec 18 2019

39mins

Play

Love Actually with Brodie Lancaster (Part 1)

Podcast cover
Read more

Is this film irredeemably problematic? Or are its detractors just a bunch of Grinches? Our debate became so spirited that it yielded enough banter for two episodes. Treat yourself to this first instalment of yuletide yuks and ho-ho-hot takes.

Lindy West’s timeless takedown of ‘Love Actually’
Monica Lewinsky @ Broadside

Dec 10 2019

46mins

Play

Rosemary's Baby

Podcast cover
Read more

Are the proto-feminist themes of this film important enough today to save it from cancellation? Can you get around the ethical quagmire by illegally torrenting it? Is it easier to stop watching movies by bad dudes when they have started to churn out garbage, anyway? (We’re looking at you, Kevin Spacey.) We may not be clever enough to answer these questions but we certainly try.

Vodka Blush, anyone?

Nov 26 2019

1hr 7mins

Play

Vertigo

Podcast cover
Read more

Seb brings a graphic designer's sensibility to the proceedings, Alex reckons the love story is more like Daddy Daughter Day and Mike is just a man who stans Jimmy Stewart.

A Look at Color in ‘Vertigo’
Alfred Hitchcock doesn’t like eggs
Jimmy Stewart does like his dog

Nov 12 2019

57mins

Play

A Nightmare on Elm Street

Podcast cover
Read more

The OG Three enter your dreams to discuss Wes Anderso… I mean Craven’s 1984 horror classic, ‘A Nightmare on Elm Street’. We question sheep symbolism, interrogate  Johnny Depp’s Balinese dream knowledge, and Mike gets dragged for his coffee pot mirth.

Billie Eilish on SNL
Micallef - Wine Cellar

Oct 29 2019

1hr

Play

Poltergeist

Podcast cover
Read more

The all-new OG Three kick off the Halloween season with 1982’s, ‘Poltergeist’. Seb’s dad is on the line to tell some spooky tales of his son’s early spectral exploits, Alex clearly ain’t afraid of no ghost, and Mike can’t abide weed on a bedspread.

Drunken Admiral: Restless Spirits
The making of Poltergeist

Oct 23 2019

57mins

Play

The Shining with Virginia Murdoch

Podcast cover
Read more

Heeeeeeeere’s Ginny!

Our buddy Virginia Murdoch joins us to discuss the 1980 Kubrick flick, ‘The Shining’. We discuss cinema by osmosis, Scatman Crothers and the trope of magical black man, and whether any of us could survive five months alone in a hotel (Indian burial ground optional)

Maximum Overdrive trailer
Wendy Carlos

Please consider donating to Women and Mentoring

Sponsors
Marcy by Lwnski
Everyday Coffee

Social
Instagram
Twitter

Sep 18 2019

1hr 20mins

Play

Casablanca

Sep 04 2019

55mins

Play

Ladyhawke

Aug 22 2019

33mins

Play

Episode 43: 'Alien' with Penny Modra

Podcast cover
Read more

In space, no one can hear you scream… with laughter! Penny Modra returns to discuss the 1979 Sci-Fi classic, ‘Alien’. We discuss James Cameron’s pitching techniques, Sigourney’s small undies, and Seb explains how the face-huggers work.

Sponsors:
Marcy by Lwnski https://marcyshop.com / https://www.lwnski.com
Everyday Coffee https://everyday-coffee.com

Aug 07 2019

1hr 9mins

Play

Episode 42: 'Notting Hill' with Alex Heath

Podcast cover
Read more

We peek behind the blue door, and get all romantic discussing the 1999 Richard Curtis rom-com, ‘Notting Hill’. We’re here for Spike, sort of here for Hugh and Julia, and most definitely not here for the Elvis Costello song 🤮

Jul 24 2019

1hr 13mins

Play

Episode 41: 'The Godfather: Part 2' with Brodie Lancaster

Podcast cover
Read more

We made Brodie Lancaster an offer she couldn't refuse, as she returns to discuss, 'The Godfather: Part 2'. The neckerchiefs enchant Mike, we're astounded by Seb's daughter's thoughts on the film, Kane ponders Pope socks, and Brodie suggests that Al Pacino is a little bitch.

This episode is brought to you by Everyday Coffee https://everyday-coffee.com

Jul 11 2019

1hr 7mins

Play

Episode 40: 'Showgirls' with Alex Heath

Podcast cover
Read more

Revelations abound as we discuss Paul Verhoeven’s much maligned, ‘Showgirls’, with Alex Heath. We discuss a lot, but the main takeaway is that it’s possible to get tired of boobs.

This episode is brought to you by Everyday Coffee https://everyday-coffee.com

Jun 26 2019

1hr 26mins

Play

iTunes Ratings

1 Ratings
Average Ratings
1
0
0
0
0