Cover image of KC Greats
(3)
Business

KC Greats

Updated 13 days ago

Business
Read more

Podcast by Scott Parman

Read more

Podcast by Scott Parman

iTunes Ratings

3 Ratings
Average Ratings
2
1
0
0
0

iTunes Ratings

3 Ratings
Average Ratings
2
1
0
0
0
Cover image of KC Greats

KC Greats

Latest release on Sep 08, 2018

Read more

Podcast by Scott Parman

KC Greats | Season 3, Ep. 5 | Jordan Williams of Keefe Cravat

Podcast cover
Read more
Jordan Williams is a local designer that is delivering exciting style to us with his company, Keefe Cravat. Jordan is a homegrown entrepreneur with a few influences from outside KC as well. Check out this week's show to hear how he's built his business so far and where he's going in the future. Enjoy!

Jordan on LI: https://www.linkedin.com/in/jordan-d-williams-75b80b76/ https://keefecravat.com/

Sep 08 2018

51mins

Play

KC Greats | Season 3, Ep. 4 | Matt Baysinger of Swell Spark

Podcast cover
Read more
Swell Spark is the local company behind great experience based businesses like Breakout KC and Blade & Timber. Matt Baysinger, their CEO, grew up in the area and has grown the business nationally from KC.

Matt on LI: https://www.linkedin.com/in/matthewbaysinger/

Aug 28 2018

37mins

Play

KC Greats | Season 3, Ep. 3 | Nicholas Segura of Segura Marketing & Media Solutions

Podcast cover
Read more
Nicholas Segura sat down with me for this week's show. Our discussion is about his journey here in KC and how businesses are missing the opportunity in culture specific marketing. I learned a ton during our conversation, I hope you enjoy it as well!

Nicholas on LI: https://www.linkedin.com/in/nicholassegura/

Segura Marketing: https://segura.marketing/

Aug 23 2018

38mins

Play

KC Greats | Season 3, Ep. 2 | Ryan Maybee of J. Rieger & Co.

Podcast cover
Read more
If you're a foodie or whiskey drinker in KC, you probably already know who Ryan Maybee is. If you don't, you probably should. I had the privilege to sit down with Ryan, the owner of multiple hospitality related businesses here in town to talk about his journey and why he's still here in KC, even after making a name for himself nationwide. Enjoy!

Ryan on LI: https://www.linkedin.com/in/ryan-maybee-a709109/

J Rieger & Co.: https://jriegerco.com/

The Rieger: https://theriegerkc.com/

Manifesto: http://www.manifestokc.com/

Aug 15 2018

36mins

Play

KC Greats | Season 3, Ep. 1 | Trace Thurlby of The Global Orphan Project

Podcast cover
Read more
Welcome back to KC Greats! We kick off the third season learning about The Global Orphan Project. This non-profit is based here in KC and making great impact on the lives of orphans and children at risk of being orphaned in the U.S. and overseas. Enjoy!

https://goproject.org https://www.facebook.com/theglobalorphanproject/?ref=br_rs https://www.linkedin.com/in/trace-thurlby-0102a47/

Aug 03 2018

44mins

Play

KC Greats | Season 2, Ep. 13 | David Battey of Youth Volunteer Corps

Podcast cover
Read more
Notes Coming Soon!

Aug 20 2017

35mins

Play

KC Greats | Season 2, Ep. 12 | Major Baisden of The NWL

Podcast cover
Read more
Major Baisden isn’t a KC native, but he’s settled in quite nicely! Since moving here for work almost 15 years ago, he’s accomplished a lot, and now he’s created a new entertainment option for us a new professional wrestling league. That sounds simple, but he’s taking that business in a unique direction. Check it out to see what he’s doing!

Major on LI: https://www.linkedin.com/in/mbaisden/

NWL site: http://fightkc.com/

Tannin Wine Bar & Kitchen: http://tanninwinebar.com/

38 The Spot / NWL: http://www.kshb.com/nwl-news

Mutual Musicians Foundation: https://www.facebook.com/MMFInternational

Martini Corner: http://www.martinicorner.com/

Tower Tavern: http://towertavernkc.com/

Jun 27 2017

36mins

Play

KC Greats | Season 2, Ep. 11 | Shiv Gupta of Midwest Best

Podcast cover
Read more
A few years ago, Shiv Gupta started a side project making BBQ rubs and spice blends in his basement. Now, it's a full grown business, possibly growing into something bigger. Take a listen to appreciate someone building a side project into a profitable business, just like any one of us could do.

Midwest Best: http://www.midwestbest.net/

Planter’s Seed & Spice: https://www.plantersseed.com/

American Royal: http://www.americanroyal.com/

Blend Tech: http://www.blendtechinc.com/

Southeast Enterprises: http://www.southeastenterprises.org/

Joe’s Kansas City BBQ: https://www.joeskc.com/

May 27 2017

22mins

Play

KC Greats | Season 2, Ep. 10 | Josh Chrans of Kansas City Techno

Podcast cover
Read more
Josh Chrans is part of a unique group here in town called Kansas City Techno. Together, they promote their love for multiple styles of dance music here in KC. They bring national and international stars in their genre to Kansas City for their audience, as well as playing their own mixes locally. Don’t just succumb to believing the stereotypes, I think you’ll be surprised!
Kansas City Techno: http://www.kansascitytechno.com/

FB Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/137403727066/

Niche on Broadway: https://www.facebook.com/nicheonbroadway/

Uptown Arts Bar: http://www.uptownartsbar.com/

Josey Records: http://joseyrecords.com/jrm/kansas-city/

May 19 2017

43mins

Play

KC Greats | Season 2, Ep. 9 | Wesley Hamilton; Disabled But Not Really

Podcast cover
Read more
Wesley Hamilton works harder than you do. Harder than I do. Harder than just about anyone you'll meet. Plus, he does it with an infectious smile and a world-beater attitude. Don't miss this one!

Wesley on Linked In: https://www.linkedin.com/in/iamweshamilton/

Wesley's Foundation: http://www.disabledbutnotreally.org/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/iamweshamilton

Crossfit Lee's Summit: http://www.crossfitls.com/

Apr 18 2017

50mins

Play

KC Greats | Season 2, Ep 8 | Louis Byrd

Podcast cover
Read more
Louis Byrd has a story you need to hear, a project you need to pay attention to, and a perspective you can learn from. Take the time to listen to him on this episode; you’ll be better because of it.

Louis on LI: https://www.linkedin.com/in/louisbyrd/

Mellie Blue Branding: https://www.mellieblue.com/

Mutual Musicians Foundation: http://www.mutualmusicians.org/

Quay Coffee: http://quaycoffee.com/

Ruby Jean’s Juicery: https://www.rubyjeansjuicery.com/

Mar 28 2017

45mins

Play

KC Greats | Season 2, Ep. 7 | Carol Espinosa of Freedom Companies

Podcast cover
Read more
Carol Espinosa visits with us this week to tell us about her journey from growing up in Rio to becoming an entrepreneur in love with Kansas City.

Carol on LI: https://www.linkedin.com/in/freedomcompanies/

Freedom Companies: http://freedomcompaniesinc.com/

Chai Shai: http://www.chaishaikc.com/

Kick Comedy Theater: https://www.facebook.com/kickcomedy/

KC Improv: http://kansascitycomedy.com/

KC Tour de BBQ: http://kc.tourdebbq.com/

KC Tour de Bier: http://bikewalkkc.org/tourdebier/

Lead to Read KC: http://www.leadtoreadkc.org/

Mar 21 2017

32mins

Play

KC Greats | Season 2, Ep. 6 | Cam F. Awesome

Podcast cover
Read more
Cam Awesome is exactly what his name says...Awesome! Cam has a unique boxing style that’s helped him deliver multiple national titles over the past several years. He has a great story as an athlete, but also as a super-confident, energetic, fun loving person. Cam is someone you have to know about!

Cam’s Website: http://www.celebritysportsspeaker.com/

Ronald McDonald House of KC: https://www.rmhckc.org/

Skate City Roller Hockey: http://www.skatecitykansas.com/hockey.html

Gambal’s Social Club: http://www.gambals.com/

Fud Vegan Restaurant: http://www.eatfud.com/

Brewtop OP: http://thebrewtop.com/location-overland-park/

Shawnee Mission Park: http://jcprd.com/parks_facilities/shawnee_mission.cfm

Mar 14 2017

45mins

Play

KC Greats | Season 2, Ep. 5 | Danny O'Neill of The Roasterie

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Danny O’Neill from The Roasterie tells us how he started his business and why he stayed in Kansas City.
Danny on LI: https://www.linkedin.com/in/danny-o-neill-09256a8/

The Roasterie: https://www.theroasterie.com/

Aloha Chopsticks: https://www.alohachopstix.com/#/

Phoenix Family: http://www.phoenixfamily.org/

Church of the Resurrection: http://cor.org/

Jack Stack: http://www.jackstackbbq.com/

Rozzelle Court @ The Nelson Atkins: http://www.nelson-atkins.org/visit/dining-and-shopping/dining/

Mar 07 2017

45mins

Play

KC Greats | Season 2 Ep. 4 | Jake Jacobson of Children's Mercy

Podcast cover
Read more
This week is a great show as Jake Jacobson gives us insight into how he spreads the word about Children’s Mercy around KC and the country.

Children’s Mercy: http://www.childrensmercy.org/

Ronald McDonald House: https://www.rmhckc.org/

Hallmark: http://www.hallmark.com/

KC Marathon: http://www.sportkc.org/marathon/

Noah’s Bandage Project: https://noahsbandageproject.com/

Indian Creek Trail: http://kcparks.org/recreation/indian-creek-greenway/

Tomahawk Creek Trail: https://www.traillink.com/trail/tomahawk-creek-trail/

Jack Stack BBQ: http://www.jackstackbbq.com/

BB’s Lawnside BBQ: http://bbslawnsidebbq.com/

Spokes Cafe & Cyclery: http://www.spokeskc.com/

Mar 01 2017

56mins

Play

KC Greats | Season 2 Ep. 3 | Marie Dispenza of Royals Charities

Podcast cover
Read more
This week's guest is major league! Marie Dispenza is the Director of Royals Charities. She explains how her organization functions independently and in concert with our Royals. Plus, she adds some great Hidden Gems!

Marie on LI: https://www.linkedin.com/in/marietdispenza/

Royals Charities: http://kansascity.royals.mlb.com/kc/royals-charities/

Cafe Gratitude: http://cafegratitudekc.com/

Pirate’s Bone Coffee: http://www.piratesbonecoffee.com/

Brookside KC: http://www.brooksidekc.org/

Feb 22 2017

32mins

Play

KC Greats | Season 2, Ep. 2 | John Pryor of Madison Flitch

Podcast cover
Read more
This week on KC Greats, John Pryor of Madison Flitch shares his unique story with us. From the tech industry to handmade furniture with great KC stories built into them. John is bringing a very interesting blend of traditional B-School background with today’s maker movement to create a great new business here in KC.

John on LI: https://www.linkedin.com/in/pryorjohn/

Madison Flitch: http://www.madisonflitch.com/ https://www.facebook.com/madisonflitch/ https://twitter.com/madisonflitch

Urban Lumber Co: http://urbanlumberco.com/

Marc Adams School of Woodworking: http://www.marcadams.com/

909 Walnut Apartments: http://909walnut.com/

Extra Virgin: http://www.extravirginkc.com/

Nara: http://narakc.com/

Brioche: http://www.briochekc.com/

Kauffman Center: http://www.kauffmancenter.org/

Feb 07 2017

35mins

Play

KC Greats | Season 2 Ep. 1 | Leddy Glenn - Ludwig

Podcast cover
Read more
This week's guest, Leddy Glenn-Ludwig, shares some insights on the world of special education teacher. She's making an impact in our schools every day, even opening her home as part of her work.

Leddy on LI: https://www.linkedin.com/in/leddy-glenn-ludwig-ma-ma-02a64673

Donna's Dress Shop: http://www.donnasdressshop.com/

Betty Rae's Ice Cream: http://bettyraes.com/

Bier Station: http://bierstation.com/

Jan 31 2017

35mins

Play

KC Greats | Episode 21 | Christal Watson of the Heartland Black Chamber of Commerce

Podcast cover
Read more
This week's guest, Christal Watson, tells us about her organization; the Heartland Black Chamber of Commerce. Christal shares great information about the challenges that minority business owners face and what she's doing to lift them up.

Christal on LI: https://www.linkedin.com/in/christal-e-watson-84ba5334

Heartland Black Chamber: http://www.heartlandblackchamber.org/

Federal Reserve Bank of KC: https://www.kansascityfed.org/

UMB: https://www.umb.com/

Enterprise Bank: http://www.enterprisebank.com/?l=kc

Liberty Bank: http://www.libertybank.net/

Greater KC Chamber: https://www.kcchamber.com/

University of Phoenix: http://www.phoenix.edu/

KCK Community College: http://www.kckcc.edu/

Metropolitan Community College: http://www.mcckc.edu/

UMKC: http://www.umkc.edu/

Milano: http://www.milanokc.net/

Crown Center: http://www.crowncenter.com/

Dec 07 2016

48mins

Play

KC Greats | Episode 20 | Jonathan Tasler of Air Charter Team

Podcast cover
Read more
This week on KC Greats, I'm joined by Jonathan Tasler. Jonathan's company, Air Charter Team, plays a critical part of making our Presidential Election work. Join me to find out what that is!

Jonathan on LI: https://www.linkedin.com/in/jonathan-tasler-16456331

Air Charter Team: http://www.aircharterteam.com/

FB Photo Page: https://www.facebook.com/taslerphoto/

Jonathan’s Smug Mug Page: http://tasler.smugmug.com/

Arvonia Historical Preservation Society: https://www.facebook.com/arvoniaks/

Northland Exposure Artists’ Gallery: http://www.northlandartists.com/index.html

Flint Hills: https://www.travelks.com/flint-hills/

English Landing Park: http://parkvillemo.gov/departments/parks-recreation-dept/english-landing-park/

Wyandotte County Lake Park: https://www.wycokck.org/InternetDept.aspx?id=18100&menu_id=1016&banner=15284

Overland Park Arboretum: https://www.opkansas.org/things-to-see-and-do/arboretum-and-botanical-gardens/

Continental Flight 12 Incident at Downtown Airport: https://aviation-safety.net/database/record.php?id=19650701-0

Nov 22 2016

34mins

Play

iTunes Ratings

3 Ratings
Average Ratings
2
1
0
0
0