OwlTail

Cover image of Short science fiction review

Short science fiction review

Author and journalist Jon Cronshaw reviews short science fiction stories.

Popular episodes

All episodes

The best episodes ranked using user listens.

Podcast cover

045 - Robert A. Heinlein - All You Zombies (1959)

Robert Heinlein's short story All You Zombies was first published in the March 1959 issue of Fantasy and Science Fiction magazine. All You Zombies is a time travel paradox story about a man writes confessional fiction as an 'unmarried mother'. This is a spoilerific episode. If you want to listen to the story, you can download it from EscapePod episode 200. Have you read it? Let me know what you think on Twitter @shortSFreview. If you enjoy this show, please help to spread the word by leaving a review on iTunes. #scifi #timetravel #paradox

4mins

31 Aug 2016

Rank #1

Podcast cover

041 - M. John Harrison - Tourism (2004)

M. John Harrison's short story Tourism was first published in 2004. I read this in the Mammoth Book of New SF, Eighteenth Annual Edition, edited by Gardner Dozois. Tourism is a bizarre space opera story which gives a brief glimpse into a bar on a far-off planet. Have you read it? What did you think? Join in the discussion on Twitter @shortSFreview. If you enjoy these shows, please leave a review on your favourite podcast portal. #scifi #spaceopera #EdgeLit #SFF

3mins

13 Jul 2016

Rank #2

Similar Podcasts

Podcast cover

050 - Mary Anne Mohanraj - Communion (2014)

Mary Anne Mohanraj's short story Communion was first published by Clarkesworld Magazine in 2014. It is the story of a human and alien mourning the loss of someone important to both of them. Have you read this story? What did you think? You can follow me on Twitter @jlcronshaw or visit my website www.joncronshaw.com to leave a comment. #scifi #SFF #podcast

1min

10 Oct 2016

Rank #3

Podcast cover

037 - Philip K. Dick - The Minority Report (1956)

Philip K. Dick's short story The Minority Report was first published by Fantasic Fiction in 1956. I read it as part of Dick's 2002 collection The Minority Report and Other Stories. The Minority Report tells the story of a dystopian future where serious crime has been all but erradicated. Police use mutants with pre-cognitive abilities to catch criminals before they commit a crime.Have you read this story? What did you think? Join the discussion on Twitter @shortSFreview. I'm not getting as many of these episodes out as I'd like due to the fact that I'm currently deep into editing my novel As the Gravity Flipped - the first book in a trilogy called The Slip. Hopefully, I'll have more news on that soon. In the meantime, you can follow me on Twitter @jlcronshaw or find me on Goodreads and Facebook (Jon Cronshaw). #scifi #crime #sff

3mins

20 Jun 2016

Rank #4

Most Popular Podcasts

Podcast cover

040 - Molly Gloss - Lambing Season (2002)

Molly Gloss's short story Lambing Season was first published by Asimov's Magazine in July 2002. I read it in The Year's Best Science Fiction, Twentieth Annual Collection, from 2003, edited by Gardner Dozois. Lambing Season is a first contact story about a sheepherder who stumbles across the wreckage of an alience spacecraft. Have you read this story? Let me know what you think on my website www.joncronshaw.com or by getting in touch on Twitter @shortSFreview. #scifi #HugoAwards #aliens #podcast

2mins

6 Jul 2016

Rank #5

Podcast cover

043 - Charles Yu - Standard Loneliness Package (2010)

After an issue with a broken laptop, I'm finally back with a new episode! Charles Yu's short story Standard Loneliness Package was originally published by Lightspeed Magazine in 2010. It is a story about a person whose job it is to experience emotions on behalf of others. You can follow me on Twitter @jlcronshaw and visit my website www.joncronshaw.com where I post my own fiction and share these podcasts. If you haven't done so already, please help spread the word about this show by leaving a review on the podcast platform of your choice. #scifi #SFF #podcast

3mins

24 Aug 2016

Rank #6

Podcast cover

047 - J. G. Ballard - Billenium (1962)

J. G. Ballard's short story Billenium was first published in Amazing Stories in 1962. I read it in the Oxford Book of SF Stories (1992). Billenium tells the story of two roommates who discover a secret room in their new home. Have you read it? What did you think? Let me know on my website www.joncronshaw.com - you can leave a comment and check out some of my own short fiction. #scifi #SFF #dystopian #overpopulation

2mins

19 Sep 2016

Rank #7

Podcast cover

036 - Carrie Vaughn - Bannerless (2015)

Carrie Vaughn's short story Bannerless was first published in the 2015 anthology The End has Come, part of the Apocalypse Tryptich, edited by John Joseph Adams. Bannerless is set is a postapocalyptic world where fertility is controlled by the use of licenses given to families as banners to display in their homes. Have you read this story? Join in the discussion @ShortSFReview. If you're enjoying these shows, please tell a friend. #scifi #HugoAwards #postapocalypse #SFF

3mins

14 Jun 2016

Rank #8

Podcast cover

035 - Greg Egan - Steve Fever (2007)

Greg Egan's short story Steve Fever was first published in the November/December 2007 edition of Technology Review. I read it the Year's Best Science Fiction 2008, edited by Gardner Dozois. Steve Fever tells the story of nanobots that have taken over the world with a single task in mind: to raise their creator back from the dead. Have you read this story? Join in the discussion on Twitter @ShortSFReview. I'm posting these episodes along with my own stories at www.joncronshaw.com - you can also friend me on Facebook by searching for Jon Cronshaw. #cyberpunk #scifi #nanotech #robots

2mins

10 Jun 2016

Rank #9

Podcast cover

033 - Arthur C. Clarke - The Star (1955)

Arthur C. Clarke's Hugo Award-winning short story The Star was first published by Infinity magazine in 1955. I read it in the anthology The Hugo Winners 1955-1960, edited by Isaac Asimov. The Star tells the story of Jesuit astronomers examining the Phoenix nebular. Have you read this story? Join in the discussion on Twitter @shortSFreview. If you're enjoying these shows, please consider leaving a review on iTunes or recommending the show to a friend. #SciFi #HugoAwards #1960s #SFF

2mins

2 Jun 2016

Rank #10

Podcast cover

031 - Kurt Vonnegut Jr - 2BR02B (1962)

Kurt Vonnegut's short story 2BR02B was first published in If Science Fiction in January 1952. I listened to this as a free audiobook through Librivox. 2BR02B is set in a future world where population is controlled, death is voluntary and disease has been eradicated. Have you read this story? What did you think? Let me know on Twitter @ShortSFreview. If you enjoy the Short Science Fiction Review please feel free to add Jon Cronshaw as a friend on Facebook and Goodreads. #dystopia #SFF #scifi #1960s

3mins

26 May 2016

Rank #11

Podcast cover

030 - Naomi Kritzer - Cat Pictures Please (2015)

Naomi Kritzer's short story Cat Pictures Please was published by Clarkesworld magazine in January 2015. Cat Pictures Please tells the story of sentient AI that tries to help improve people's lives. Have you read this story? What did you think? Join in the discussion on Twitter @ShortSFreview or visit my website www.joncronshaw.com to leave a comment. If you're enjoying these podcasts, please consider leaving a review on iTunes or sharing a link to one of the episodes with your friends on social media or recommend the show to someone who may enjoy listening. #scifi #HugoAwards #artificialintelligence #AI

2mins

22 May 2016

Rank #12

Podcast cover

029 - Andy Weir - The Egg (2009)

Andy Weir's short story The Egg was first published on his website Galactanet.com in 2009. The Egg is a story about the meaning of life and the universe, with ideas inspired by Hindu philosophy. Have you read this story? What did you think? Join in the discussion on Twitter @ShortSFreview. I'm posting all these episodes onto my website www.joncronshaw.com along with some of my own short fiction. If you're enjoying the show, please consider leaving a review on iTunes. #scifi #mysticism #philosophy #sff

2mins

18 May 2016

Rank #13

Podcast cover

028 - Octavia E. Butler - Speech Sounds (1983)

Octavia Butler's short story Speech Sounds was first published by the December 1983 issue of Asimov's Science Fiction magazine. I read the story in her collection Bloodchild and Other Stories, published in 1995. Speech Sounds tells the story of a woman living in a postapocalyptic world where many people have lost the ability to speak or read. Have you read this story? Let me know what you think on Twitter @ShortSFreview. I'm posting these episodes as well as some of my own short stories onto my website http://www.joncronshaw.co.uk - my latest story Reaching for a Larlun is a surreal piece of fantasy fiction about the meeting of two minds. #scifi #SFF #NebulaAward s #HugoAwards

2mins

15 May 2016

Rank #14

Podcast cover

023 - Alastair Reynolds - Slow Bullets (2015)

Alastair Reynolds's novella Slow Bullets was published in 2015 by Tachyon Press. Slow Bullets is a space opera based around the themes of identity and memory. Have you read it? What did you think? Join in the discussion on Twitter @ShortSFreview. You can check out some of my own short fiction at http://www.joncronshaw.com #scifi #spaceopera #HugoAwards

2mins

2 May 2016

Rank #15

Podcast cover

022 - C. J. Cherryh - Cassandra (1978)

C. J. Cherryh's Hugo Award-winning short story Cassandra was first published in Fantasy and Science Fiction in October 1978. I listened to this on episode 307 of the StarShipSofa podcast. Cassandra tells the story of a woman haunted by visions of the apocalypse. Have you read it? What did you think? Let me know on Twitter @ShortSFreview. #HugoAwards #scifi #sff

2mins

29 Apr 2016

Rank #16

Podcast cover

019 - Rich Larson - Blindr (Beta 3.1) (2015)

Rich Larson's piece of flash fiction Blindr (Beta 3.1) was first published in issue two of Singularity magazine in 2015. Blindr (Beta 3.1) tells the story of an app which allows the user to scrub out the annoyances in their experience of reality. Have you read this story? Let me know what you think on Twitter @ShortSFreview. I am posting all of these podcasts along with my own short fiction on my website http://www.joncronshaw.com - so please feel free leave a comment there. #scifi #augmentedreality #cybernetics

2mins

24 Apr 2016

Rank #17

Podcast cover

018 - Charlie Jane Anders - The Day it all Ended (2014)

Charlie Jane Anders's short story The Day it all Ended Was first published in the 2014 anthology Hieroglyph: Stories & Visions for a Better Future, edited by Ed Finn. It tells the story of a disillusioned executive working for a design company that produces desirable, exoensive, but seemingly pointless gadgets. Have you read this story? What did you think? Let me know on Twitter @shortSFreview. #sciencefiction #scifi #environmentalism

4mins

22 Apr 2016

Rank #18

Podcast cover

012 - Judith Merril - That Only a Mother (1948)

Judith Merril's short story That Only a Mother was first published in the June 1948 issue of Astounding magazine. The version I read was in the anthology Science Fiction Hall of Fame Volume One (1929-1964). That Only a Mother tells the story of mother who gives birth to a child against a background of fear about radiation, nuclear weapons and genetic mutation. Have you read this story? Let me know what you think. You can follow me on Twitter @jlcronshaw and follow the show @shortsfreview. You can subscribe to the Short Science Fiction Review on iTunes. #scifi #mutation #1940s

2mins

10 Apr 2016

Rank #19

Podcast cover

011 - Cory Doctorow - The Man Who Sold the Moon (2014)

Cory Doctorow's novella The Man Who Sold the Moon was first published in the 2014 anthology Hieroglyph, edited by Ed Finn. The Man Who Sold the Moon is a near-future story about the potential of 3D printing and the fun that can be had at Burning Man. Have you read this story? What did you think? Follow the podcast on Twitter @ShortSFReview and if you enjoy the show, please take a moment to leave a review on iTunes. #scifi #nearfuture #3Dprinting

4mins

9 Apr 2016

Rank #20