Cover image of Frock Flicks - Costume Movie Reviews
(56)
Arts
Society & Culture
TV & Film

Frock Flicks - Costume Movie Reviews

Updated about 1 month ago

Arts
Society & Culture
TV & Film
Read more

Ever watch a historical movie and thought "what the heck are they wearing?" We've studied real historical clothing, and we love to pick apart Hollywood's idea of period costume. But it's not just about history, it's also about symbolism, style, and more. Grab a cocktail and join us to bitch about crazy costume movies and TV series, fabulous historical costumes, and what it all means.

Read more

Ever watch a historical movie and thought "what the heck are they wearing?" We've studied real historical clothing, and we love to pick apart Hollywood's idea of period costume. But it's not just about history, it's also about symbolism, style, and more. Grab a cocktail and join us to bitch about crazy costume movies and TV series, fabulous historical costumes, and what it all means.

iTunes Ratings

56 Ratings
Average Ratings
25
3
0
5
23

Not exactly objective.

By The Marquise - Jan 24 2019
Read more
If they like a movie, they excuse all the historical inaccuracies. If they don’t, they rip it apart. I’d like to see a podcast that breaks things down objectively and historically instead of based on whether or not the reviewers enjoyed the film’s script or acting.

What’s with the political correctness?

By Jellygu4 - Jan 14 2019
Read more
We get it, you’re feminists who like to bash men from time to time. We don’t need to be reminded.

iTunes Ratings

56 Ratings
Average Ratings
25
3
0
5
23

Not exactly objective.

By The Marquise - Jan 24 2019
Read more
If they like a movie, they excuse all the historical inaccuracies. If they don’t, they rip it apart. I’d like to see a podcast that breaks things down objectively and historically instead of based on whether or not the reviewers enjoyed the film’s script or acting.

What’s with the political correctness?

By Jellygu4 - Jan 14 2019
Read more
We get it, you’re feminists who like to bash men from time to time. We don’t need to be reminded.
Cover image of Frock Flicks - Costume Movie Reviews

Frock Flicks - Costume Movie Reviews

Latest release on Jul 02, 2020

The Best Episodes Ranked Using User Listens

Updated by OwlTail about 1 month ago

Rank #1: Amma Asante's Belle

Podcast cover
Read more
This fascinating story of a mixed-race aristocratic woman living in 18th-century England is highly entertaining, even if it's not totally faithful to the historical record. Our discussion ranges from the movie itself, to the representation of non-white ethnicities in history and in historical costume films. We also analyze the costumes themselves, which are highly accurate but about 20 years too early.

Feb 24 2015

57mins

Play

Rank #2: Peter Kosminsky's Wolf Hall

Podcast cover
Read more
Wolf Hall purports to tell the story of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn through Thomas Cromwell's eyes. Based on the award-winning book by Hilary Mantel, this miniseries portrays a sympathetic look at Cromwell and a new perspective of the history you have probably heard before. It's an incredibly well done production, with amazing costumes (OK, we have a very few quibbles) and sets. We rave about the costumes (and nitpick a few elements), and debate the story and production.

Apr 06 2015

1hr 20mins

Play

Rank #3: Jamestown, Gunpowder, London

Podcast cover
Read more
We discuss the Association of Dress Historians conference in London and give you an inside peek at what's coming up with costume movies and TV as well as what's in the works for the blog. Next, we do in-depth reviews of the TV series Jamestown, which has aired in the UK, as well as Gunpowder, which stars Kit Harrington and is coming soon to HBO. Get your snark on for a monthly or twice monthly romp through historical costume movies and TV.

Nov 09 2017

50mins

Play

Rank #4: Versailles S2, Search Terms, Patreon

Podcast cover
Read more
We kickoff our new podcast format with bits of news from the costume drama world, a behind-the-scenes look at Frock Flicks HQ, and a review of the first episodes of Versailles season two. Get your snark on for a monthly or twice monthly romp through historical costume movies and TV.

Oct 12 2017

41mins

Play

Rank #5: Patreon Preview

Podcast cover
Read more
Get a taste of our subscription-only Patreon podcasts with this preview where we discuss what we've been watching recently, including Victoria and Six Wives with Lucy Worsley. Plus we look at how criticism fits in an academic and journalistic context.

Feb 22 2017

27mins

Play

Rank #6: Mel Gibson's Braveheart

Podcast cover
Read more
For Snark Week, we take on that clunker of medieval Scotland' Braveheart. Oh yes, shitty kilts, stretch panne velvet, and patriarchy abounds. Listen to us get progressively drunker and shoutier as we decry all the crappy costumes and history in this classic film. We're joined by Scottish dress historian Brenna Barks.

Jan 27 2017

1hr 15mins

Play

Rank #7: Guillermo del Toro's Crimson Peak

Podcast cover
Read more
We look at this gothic-horror story chock full of elaborate late Victorian costumes. Director Guillermo del Toro and costume designer Kate Hawley combine powers for a dark and spooky visual treat (with a few tricks).

Oct 26 2016

42mins

Play

Rank #8: Outlander Season 2, Episodes 12 and 13

Podcast cover
Read more
We're joined by Brenna Barks, historian of 18th century Scotland and its dress. We discuss the finale, but spend even more time on the second season as a whole, getting into the real history behind the Jacobite Rising of 1745, the historical accuracy of the costumes, and reflect on how well the season's costumes worked.

Jul 12 2016

49mins

Play

Rank #9: Outlander Season 2, Episode 3

Podcast cover
Read more
There's lots to love in this episode. Claire rocks a beautiful gown and riding habit, secondary characters get frilly, and Jamie finally gets something shiny of his own. But, there are problems in Jamie and Claire's marriage.

Apr 26 2016

34mins

Play

Rank #10: Outlander Season 2, Episode 2

Podcast cover
Read more
We're not in Scotland anymore, Dorothy. Jamie and Claire have finally made it to Paris, and they're living the high Jacobite life in some gorgeous 1740s costumes... with a few quibbles. We discuss character costume decisions, The Red Dress, The Bar Suit, and all that mash-up of 1740s and 1940s. Along the way, we talk about nipple piercing, pubic hair depilation, oh and wigs and hair - as one does.

Apr 19 2016

41mins

Play

Rank #11: Outlander Season 2, Episode 1

Podcast cover
Read more
Outlander is back for season 2, and we're finally in France to see all the shiny! This episode actually spends half of its time in the 1940s, so we discuss those clothes and how Claire's 18th century wardrobe is used as a plot device. Then, we're finally back in 1740s France, where there's some lovely men's clothes and wigs, and some back-lacing women's dresses to analyze.

Apr 12 2016

17mins

Play

Rank #12: Stephen Frears's Dangerous Liaisons

Podcast cover
Read more
We take on the modern classic of 18th-century historical costume film, Dangerous Liaisons, starring the wickedly good Glenn Close as a marquise out for retribution and a disturbingly sexy John Malkovich as a vicomte who's happy to help in her amoral escapades. James Acheson won a well-deserved Best Costume Oscar for this film, even though he made these exquisite 18th-century costumes on a tight budget.

Mar 21 2016

59mins

Play

Rank #13: Downton Abbey Season 6 Episode 9 Costume Recap

Podcast cover
Read more
We discuss the costumes worn in the ninth episode of Downton Abbey's final season. Edith gets a wedding dress, Rose is back with New York style, and everything gets wrapped up with a big shiny bow.

Mar 03 2016

40mins

Play

Rank #14: Downton Abbey Season 6 Episode 8 Costume Recap

Podcast cover
Read more
We discuss the costumes worn in the eighth episode of Downton Abbey's final season. Mary screws over Edith and we are pissed. Meanwhile, we admire Mary, Rosamund, and Edith's wardrobes - minus Mary's wedding dress.

Feb 22 2016

32mins

Play

Rank #15: Downton Abbey Season 6 Episode 7 Costume Recap

Podcast cover
Read more
We discuss the costumes worn in the seventh episode of Downton Abbey's final season. Everyone is off to the races in smashing daywear and Edith makes some progress, but Mary and Henry hit a serious roadblock.

Feb 15 2016

25mins

Play

Rank #16: Downton Abbey Season 6 Episode 6 Costume Recap

Podcast cover
Read more
We discuss the costumes worn in the sixth episode of Downton Abbey's final season. Mary wears yet another stunning evening dress while Edith has her beat at daywear, both sisters make serious relationship progress, and we find out that the Crawleys know nothing about their house!

Feb 08 2016

37mins

Play

Rank #17: Downton Abbey Season 6 Episode 5 Costume Recap

Podcast cover
Read more
We discuss the costumes worn in the fifth episode of Downton Abbey's final season. Mary goes racing with Henry Talbot, Edith and Bertie finally kiss, and Robert spews blood all over Cora's fancy evening dress. Whoa!

Feb 01 2016

22mins

Play

Rank #18: Downton Abbey Season 6 Episode 4 Costume Recap

Podcast cover
Read more
We discuss the costumes worn in the fourth episode of Downton Abbey's final season. Gwen is back, the bling is ON, and Mary gets frumpy.

Jan 25 2016

26mins

Play

Rank #19: Downton Abbey Season 6 Episode 3 Costume Recap

Podcast cover
Read more
We discuss the costumes worn in the third episode of Downton Abbey's final season. Weddings! Fashion magazines! New love interests! Returning characters!

Jan 18 2016

31mins

Play

Rank #20: Downton Abbey Season 6 Episode 2 Costume Recap

Podcast cover
Read more
We discuss the costumes worn in the second episode of Downton Abbey's final season. EVERYONE has hat game, the Crawley ladies go artsy-craftsy, and Lady Mary wears the best dressing gown evah.

Jan 11 2016

24mins

Play