Cover image of Spanish Grammar Review
(108)

Rank #82 in Language Learning category

Education
Language Learning

Spanish Grammar Review

Updated 2 days ago

Rank #82 in Language Learning category

Education
Language Learning
Read more

Interactive audio lessons reviewing advanced Spanish grammar.

Read more

Interactive audio lessons reviewing advanced Spanish grammar.

iTunes Ratings

108 Ratings
Average Ratings
70
16
7
7
8

Thank you❤️

By Aly1256 - Feb 24 2019
Read more
Your lessons are so simple and yet in depth. Just what I need.

The best

By Dwteck1 - Oct 12 2010
Read more
When you learn from the best you can be the best! Easy to understand and it helps you learn fast.

iTunes Ratings

108 Ratings
Average Ratings
70
16
7
7
8

Thank you❤️

By Aly1256 - Feb 24 2019
Read more
Your lessons are so simple and yet in depth. Just what I need.

The best

By Dwteck1 - Oct 12 2010
Read more
When you learn from the best you can be the best! Easy to understand and it helps you learn fast.

Listen to:

Cover image of Spanish Grammar Review

Spanish Grammar Review

Updated 2 days ago

Read more

Interactive audio lessons reviewing advanced Spanish grammar.

Rank #1: Spanish Prepositions – Por vs Para

Podcast cover
Read more

Do you know when to use POR vs PARA?

Spanish Grammar Audio Quiz

Today’s podcast is a quiz on the Spanish prepositions POR y PARA. It kicks off a series of audio lessons that will cover these two prepositions at docmolly.com.

Audio Quiz

>>>
Get access to the full transcripts and the premium interactive audio lessons that accompany each free lesson. Login or click here to become a premium member.
<<<

Want to learn more?

Subscribe to the premium audio lessons at docmolly.com. This quiz introduces a series of audio lessons covering the Spanish prepositions, POR y PARA. The first premium audio lesson will cover PARA. Then we’ll cover POR. Finally we’ll wrap things up with an audio lesson comparing the two prepositions. Therefore, depending on when you listen to this quiz, it will either serve as a preview or a review for the POR vs PARA series at docmolly.com.

Listen to more free audio lessons covering advanced Spanish grammar.

Member? Access the premium series: Prepositions

The post Spanish Prepositions – Por vs Para appeared first on Podcasts by Doc Molly.

Jul 26 2017

7mins

Play

Rank #2: Quiz # 4 – The Subjunctive in Adverbial Clauses

Podcast cover
Read more

This audio lesson is a quiz on the use of the subjunctive in adverbial clauses. It reviews the material covered in the following premium lessons.

  • Subjunctive 10 and 11 – Conjunctions that Require the Subjunctive (e.g. a menos que, con tal que)
  • Subjunctive 12 and 13 – Adverbial Clauses of Time
  • Subjunctive 14 – Adverbial Clauses that Describe How or Where
Continue Reading

The post Quiz # 4 – The Subjunctive in Adverbial Clauses appeared first on Podcasts by Doc Molly.

Dec 06 2015

10mins

Play

Rank #3: Quiz # 3 – The Subjunctive in Adjective Clauses

Podcast cover
Read more

This podcast is a quiz that reviews the subjunctive in adjective clauses, covered in the premium podcasts: Subjunctive 7 and 8.

A subordinate adjective clause describes a noun or pronoun in the main clause of a sentence. When it describes something KNOWN AND SPECIFIC, we use the INDICATIVE. When the subordinate adjective clause describes something NOT YET IDENTIFIED, which may or may not exist, we use the SUBJUNCTIVE.

Continue Reading

The post Quiz # 3 – The Subjunctive in Adjective Clauses appeared first on Podcasts by Doc Molly.

Mar 26 2015

6mins

Play

Rank #4: Body Language in Spanish

Podcast cover
Read more

In this audio lesson we practice phrases describing body language in Spanish. While reading in Spanish recently, I took note of several phrases describing gestures or body language, so I decided to make a podcast out of them. First, we’ll practice naming the gestures in Spanish and then we’ll use them in sentences.

Common Gestures in Spanish

Encogerse de hombros
(to shrug one’s shoulders)

Poner los ojos en blanco
(to roll one’s eyes)

Guiñar el ojo
(to wink)

Parpadear / Pestañear
(to blink, to bat one’s eyes)

Entrecerrar los ojos
(to squint, to narrow one’s eyes)

Ruborizarse
(to blush)

Tomar de la mano
(to hold someone’s hand, to take by the hand)

Estrechar la mano
(to shake someone’s hand)

Tender la mano
(to hold out one’s hand, to assist)

Caminar de la mano
(to walk hand in hand)

Cruzar los dedos
(to cross one’s fingers)

Cruzar las manos
(to sit idly)

Hacer muecas / una mueca
(to make faces, to grimace)

Fruncir el ceño
(to frown)

Mirar con mala cara
(to glare)

Ladear la cabeza
(to tilt one’s head)

Example Sentences

Siempre hago muecas cuando me sacan fotos.
(I always make a face when my picture is taken.)

El nieto de Linda hizo una mueca al probar el limón.
(Linda’s grandson made a face as he tasted the lemon.)

Cruzamos los dedos para que todo vaya bien.
(We are crossing our fingers that everything goes well.)

No cruces las manos. Manos a la obra.
(Don’t stand there. Get to work.)

Sonrío y le estrecho la mano.
(I smile and shake his hand.)

Nos estrechamos la mano.
(We shake hands.)

Christina le tiende la mano a Kelly.
(Christina holds out out her hand to Kelly.)

Te tendí la mano, y me la estrechaste.
(I offered my hand and you shook it.)

El niño entrecierra los ojos para ver la pizarra.
(The boy squints to see the chalkboard.)

Entrecierro los ojos mirándolo con recelo.
(I narrow my eyes looking at him with suspicion.)

Me ruborizo cuando me mira.
(I blush when she looks at me.)

Siempre me guiña el ojo.
(She always winks at me.)

Se ruboriza cuando le guiño el ojo.
(He blushes when I wink at him.)

Caminamos de la mano por la playa.
(We walk hand in hand down the beach.)

Camino de la mano con mi marido.
(I walk hand in hand with my husband.)

Amor y confianza caminan de la mano.
— Laura Esquivel
(Love and trust go hand in hand.)

ir de la mano = caminar de la mano

Las matemáticas y la física van de la mano.
(Math and physics go hand and hand.)

Me pone los ojos en blanco.
(He rolls his eyes at me.)

Pongo los ojos en blanco al oír los piropos.
(I roll my eyes when I hear the catcalls.)

El niño frunce el ceño.
(The boy frowns.)

No me frunzas el ceño.
(Don’t frown at me.)

Sonrío y me encojo de hombros.
(I smile and shrug my shoulders.)

Me encojo de hombros a modo de respuesta.
(I shrug my shoulders in response.)

Me mira con mala cara a modo de respuesta.
(She glares at me in response.)

Creo que no le caigo bien porque siempre me mira con mala cara.
(I don’t think she likes me because she always glaring at me.)

¿Se toman de la mano en público?
(Do they hold hands in public?)

La tomé de la mano para cruzar la calle.
(I took her hand to cross the street.)

¡Los vi tomados de la mano!
(I saw them holding hands.)

Parpadeo muchas veces sin creer lo que veo.
(I blink several times not believing what I see.)

Pestañea tratando de aparecer inocente.
(She bats her eyes trying to appear innocent.)

Want to learn more?

Subscribe to the premium audio lessons at docmolly.com. The premium Spanish Grammar Subscription contains over 50 interactive audio lessons like this one, where we take on advanced Spanish grammar through interactive examples.

Member? Listen to the premium series: Tidbits, where we cover miscellaneous Spanish grammar tips and fun phrases that I come across while reading and listening in Spanish.

The post Body Language in Spanish appeared first on Podcasts by Doc Molly.

Sep 24 2012

15mins

Play

Rank #5: Quiz # 1 – Choose the Correct Tense of the Subjunctive

Podcast cover
Read more

In the premium Spanish Grammar Review podcast, we have started a comprehensive review of the subjunctive. We have reviewed the conjugation of the subjunctive in it’s four tenses, and when to use each tense.
– Present Subjunctive
– Present Perfect Subjunctive
– Imperfect Subjunctive
– Pluperfect Subjunctive

Continue Reading

The post Quiz # 1 – Choose the Correct Tense of the Subjunctive appeared first on Podcasts by Doc Molly.

Sep 05 2014

5mins

Play

Rank #6: The Spanish Verb – ACABAR

Podcast cover
Read more

Learn the different uses of the Spanish verb ACABAR. In this audio lesson we practice using the verb ACABAR in different grammatical constructs to mean different things.

ACABAR + DE + INFINITIVE = to have just done something

Acabo de hablar con mamá.
(I just spoke to mom.)

Acabamos de comer.
(We have just eaten.)

Acaba de sacar a pasear al perro.
(He just took the dog for a walk.)

Acaban de regresar.
(They just got back.)

ACABAR + NOUN = to finish something

Acabé mi tarea.
(I finished my homework.)

Acabamos el proyecto.
(We finished the project.)

¿Acabaste el libro?
(Did you finish the book?)

ACABARSE = Something has run out or has been used up

Se acabaron los fondos.
(The funds have been used up.)

Se acabó la batería de mi móvil.
(The battery has run out on my cellphone.)

ACABARSE + pronombre de objeto indirect (TE, ME, LE , NOS) = Someone has run out of something

Se nos acabó la comida.
(We’ve run out of food.)

Se me acabaron las ideas.
(I have run out of ideas.)

Algún día se le va acabar la suerte.
(Someday he is going to run out of luck.)

ACABAR CON = to do away with or put an end to

Quiere acabar con las regulaciones innecesarias.
(She wants to do away with unnecessary regulations.)

La lesión acabó con su carrera deportiva.
(The injury put an end to his careers in sports.)

Acabamos con el odio.
(We put an end to the hatred.)

ACABAR POR + INFINITIVO = to end up doing something

¿Acabaste por volver a pie?
(Did you end up walking back?)

Acabé por no ir a la reunión.
(I ended up not going to the meeting.)

Acabaron por hablar de sus familias.
(They ended up talking about their families.)

ACABAR + GERUNDIO = to end up dong something

Siempre acabamos hablando de trabajo.
(We always end up talking about work.)

Acabaste cantando en el coro.
(You ended up singing in the chorus.)

Acabó enseñando inglés en Ecuador.
(He ended up teaching English in Ecuador. )

¿Acabaste llorando?
(Did you end up crying?)

No, acabé riéndome.
(No, I ended up laughing.)

Want to learn more?

Subscribe to the premium audio lessons at docmolly.com. The Spanish Grammar Subscription contains more than 50 audio lessons where we take on advanced Spanish grammar through interactive examples.

Gracias por escuchar. Thanks for listening.

The post The Spanish Verb – ACABAR appeared first on Podcasts by Doc Molly.

Nov 07 2012

7mins

Play

Rank #7: Quiz #2 – The Subjunctive in Noun Clauses

Podcast cover
Read more

Do you know when to use the subjunctive in Noun Clauses?

Spanish Grammar Audio Quiz

If not, you’ve come to the right place. Learn to identify the noun clause in a sentence and then when to use the subjunctive vs the indicative within the noun clause. We cover this in depth in the Subjunctive series offered through the Spanish Grammar Subscription at docmolly.com.

Subscribe to the premium Spanish Grammar subscription at docmolly.com.

Continue Reading

The post Quiz #2 – The Subjunctive in Noun Clauses appeared first on Podcasts by Doc Molly.

Dec 05 2014

14mins

Play

Rank #8: Quedar y Quedarse – I’m back with a quiz!

Podcast cover
Read more

This is my first free podcast since September and my first free grammar podcast for over a year! As many of you know I host two podcasts: the Spanish Grammar Review and the Medical Spanish Podcast. In 2016, I finished up the premium series on the Subjunctive for the grammar podcast and then kept busy making premium lessons for the Medical Spanish Podcast. More recently, I took a break from podcasting to build this new website at docmolly.com. Since building this site I have added two premium lessons to the Verbs series of the Spanish Grammar Subscription covering QUEDAR and QUEDARSE and today’s free podcast is a quiz reviewing what we learned in these premium lessons.

QUEDAR Y QUEDARSE

Me quedé en casa de un amigo.
(I stayed at a friends house.)

Quedamos a las siete en la plaza.
(We’re meeting at seven at the plaza.)

(Ellos) quedaron en ir hoy.
They decided / agreed to go today.

>>>
Get access to the full transcripts and the premium interactive audio lessons that accompany each free lesson. Login or click here to become a premium member.
<<<

Gracias por escuchar.
Subscribe to the premium podcast at docmolly.com/subscribe/.

If you’re a premium subscriber, check out the premium lessons covering QUEDAR y QUEDARSE here.

The post Quedar y Quedarse – I’m back with a quiz! appeared first on Podcasts by Doc Molly.

Apr 10 2017

8mins

Play

Rank #9: Subjunctive Quiz #5

Podcast cover
Read more

Are you ready to take on some advanced Spanish grammar? This audio quiz reviews the material covered in the following premium audio lessons.

Subjunctive 15 – Conditional (If… then… ) Statements About the Present
Subjunctive 16 – Conditional Statements About the Past
Subjunctive 17 – The Subjunctive Following “Como Si”
Subjunctive 18 – The Subjunctive Following “Ojalá”
Subjunctive 19 – “No Matter How Much” in Spanish
Subjunctive 20 – La Forma Reduplicativa

Continue Reading

The post Quiz #5 The Subjunctive in Conditional Statements and More appeared first on Podcasts by Doc Molly.

Feb 26 2017

8mins

Play

Rank #10: Grammar from Folk Medicine Interview

Podcast cover
Read more

Learn Grammar with the Medical Spanish Podcast

This podcast reviews some of the grammar points covered during an interview I did for the Medical Spanish Podcast. I interviewed folk healer, Francisco Chavajay, while studying at the San Pedro Spanish School in Guatemala. The clinical dialogues and interviews presented in the Medical Spanish Podcast provide an effective method of learning key grammatical concepts used in everyday Spanish conversation. In this free grammar podcast, we go over a sampling of the grammar points covered in my interview with don Francisco.

Grammar Points from the Interview

“Fíjese que para ser curandero uno no aprende, no le enseñan.”

Fijarse

Fíjate que son muy caros.
Look, they are very expensive.

Fíjese que para ser curandero uno no aprende.
You see, to be a curandero one doesn´t learn.

>>>
Get access to the full transcripts and the premium interactive audio lessons that accompany each free lesson. Login or click here to become a premium member.
<<<

Want to learn more?

Subscribe to the premium Spanish Grammar podcast at docmolly.com.

Listen to the Part 1 of the interview with a folk healer, Francisco Chavajay.

Member? Access the…

I highly recommend San Pedro Spanish School in Guatemala. My niece and I had an amazing experience living with a host family and studying at the school. Listen to this podcast to hear more about our experience.

The post Spanish Grammar from Folk Medicine Interview appeared first on Podcasts by Doc Molly.

Jul 08 2017

6mins

Play