OwlTail

Cover image of Royals Review: for Kansas City Royals fans

Royals Review: for Kansas City Royals fans

The official home for audio programming from Royals Review, SB Nation's community for fans of the Kansas City Royals.

Weekly hand curated podcast episodes for learning

Popular episodes

All episodes

The best episodes ranked using user listens.

Podcast cover

Royals Review Radio: The Bad Bullpen Episode

Holy cow this bullpen is bad. Max Rieper, Shaun Newkirk, and Jesse Anderson talk about the terrible start by the relief corps and discuss possible long-term deals with younger players. Plus, Joel Penfield of Royals Farm Report comes on to talk prospects and announce an exciting partnership with Royals Review Radio. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

59mins

9 Apr 2019

Rank #1

Podcast cover

Royals Review Radio: The 2019 Predictions Episode

Our Max Rieper, Shaun Newkirk, and Hokius have thoughts on how the Royals’ Opening Day roster will look, plus we give our predictions on the season. We also preview the Detroit Tigers with Rob Rogacki of Bless You Boys. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

1hr 10mins

25 Mar 2019

Rank #2

Similar Podcasts

Podcast cover

Royals Review Radio: The projections episode

Max Rieper, Shaun Newkirk, and David Lesky project fun will be had by all as they look at ZIPS and PECOTA projections for the Royals this year. Plus we talk to Dan Szymborski, the creator of ZIPS on the direction of the Royals. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

1hr 10mins

12 Feb 2020

Rank #3

Podcast cover

Royals Review Radio: No Royals for cord-cutters episode

Max Rieper, Shaun Newkirk, and Matthew LaMar are all scrambling to find a way to watch Royals baseball now that Youtube TV won’t be carrying Royals games this year. We also discuss Brady Singer’s hot start to spring training and give our roster predictions. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

1hr 14mins

28 Feb 2020

Rank #4

Most Popular Podcasts

Podcast cover

Royals Review Radio: The Bye, Wily Peralta episode

Sources say that our Max Rieper, Shaun Newkirk, and Craig Brown are ready to talk Royals trades and preview the July 31 trade deadline. Plus we talk to R.J. Anderson of CBS Sports about what the trade market looks like. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

1hr 7mins

23 Jul 2019

Rank #5

Podcast cover

Royals Review Radio: Day one of the 2019 draft episode

Max Rieper, Shaun Newkirk, Alex Duvall, and Matthew LaMar discuss day one of the draft, including the selection of Bobby Witt, Jr. second overall, as well as second round picks Brady McConnell and Alec Marsh. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

1hr

4 Jun 2019

Rank #6

Podcast cover

Royals Review Radio - The Process 2.0 Episode

Our Max Rieper, Shaun Newkirk, and Hokius discuss The Process 2.0 and the need for speed, the coming MLB rule changes, plus we continue our preview of Central Division opponents by talking about the Cleveland Indians with Matt Lyons of Let's Go Tribe. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

54mins

18 Mar 2019

Rank #7

Podcast cover

Royals Review Radio: The end of the decade as we know it (and I feel fine) episode

Our Max Rieper, Shaun Newkirk, and Matthew LaMar wrap up a weird, wacky, wonderful decade of Royals baseball. Plus we discuss the Maikel Franco and what this means for Hunter Dozier. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

1hr 9mins

31 Dec 2019

Rank #8

Podcast cover

Royals Review Radio: The end of another 100-loss season episode

The season is over, but our podcasts continue on with Max Rieper, Shaun Newkirk, and Matthew LaMar on to give their thoughts on the 103-loss season that was. We also talk to Alec Lewis of The Athletic about the managerial search and the future direction of the franchise.  Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

1hr 10mins

3 Oct 2019

Rank #9

Podcast cover

Royals Review Radio - Episode 20: The Catch-up Edition

Topics includeDanny Duffy - fo' real?An underwhelming 2016 draftSeptember callups and 40-man decisionsEric Hosmer still isn't getting $200MRaul Mondesi swimming in the deep endMid-season top 10 prospectsA miserable history of Royals All-StarsEdinson Volquez crazinessThe not necessarily NOT synonymous 2014 Braves/2016 RoyalsAsleep at the trade deadlineWade Davis: an unfortunate turn of eventsMusicIntroduction: Mumford and Sons - There Will Be TimeOutro: Morning Ritual - Bad Moon Rising Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

1hr 43mins

12 Aug 2016

Rank #10

Podcast cover

Royals Review Radio: The Hit with Whit Episode

In the latest episode of Royals Review Radio, we talk about Whit Merrifield, trade talks, and the starting rotation, plus we have DaveO from Clubhouse Conversation on to talk about his player interviews. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

1hr 32mins

29 Jun 2016

Rank #11

Podcast cover

Royals Review Radio - Episode 6 The Megacast Edition

On this edition of Royals Review Radio, we have what could possibly be the world record for most podcast members at one time. Topics include:The Cardinals seriesYordano VenturaThe impending roster crunch featuring Jason Vargas, Alex Rios, and Erik KratzA poor Omar InfanteDeep dish pizzaBrett Eibner's absThe Detroit PistonsShopping at Gap in Chicago Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

1hr 27mins

25 May 2015

Rank #12

Podcast cover

Royals Review Radio - Episode 5

On episode five Matt LaMar and Shaun Newkirk take over the handle of host/co-host and discuss Jeremy Guthrie, Bubba Starling, Prospects, Chris Young, and what is going on with the Royals rotation. Also discussed are the Royals playoff odds and a little bit of inpertant at the end. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

1hr 15mins

12 May 2015

Rank #13

Podcast cover

Royals Review Radio - Episode 4

In episode four, Josh Duggan and Josh Ward talk with Max Rieper about the first two weeks of the Royals season and the Royals dust-ups with the Angels and Athletics. Later, Max talks to Brandon Warne at Fangraphs about the rival Twins and Hookslide at Bless You Boys about the division champion Tigers. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

1hr 25mins

21 Apr 2015

Rank #14

Podcast cover

Royals Farm Report Podcast: Rule 5, and losing affiliates

After a long hiatus, the guys at Royals Farm Report are back. Joel Penfield, Alex Duvall, and Drake Downing sat down to discuss who the Royals protected by putting them on the 40 man roster, as well as who was unprotected and could get taken in the Rule 5 draft. They also discuss the possibility of losing Idaho Falls, Burlington, and Lexington as affiliates due to Major League Baseball cutting ties with 42 minor league organizations. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

48mins

22 Nov 2019

Rank #15

Podcast cover

Royals Review Radio: The Winter Meetings aftermath episode

We may be buried under snow, but our Max Rieper, Shaun Newkirk, and Matthew LaMar can still podcast under the elements. This week, we look at the Winter Meetings held last week in sunny, warm San Diego, where we had some Whit Merrifield rumors. Plus we wrap up the week in Royals transactions and talk about the rebuild. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

1hr 1min

17 Dec 2019

Rank #16

Podcast cover

Royals Review Radio: The free agent prediction episode

The hot stove is hot! David Lesky joins Max Rieper and Matthew LaMar to predict where the top free agents will end up. Plus we discuss the potential return of the coaching staff and the sign-stealing scandal in Houston. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

1hr 25mins

15 Nov 2019

Rank #17

Podcast cover

Royals Review Radio: The Spin Rate Episode

This week, Max Rieper, Shaun Newkirk, and Alex Duvall take the podcast for a spin to react to a Lee Judge column decrying spin rate. We also discuss Kelvin Gutierrez and when other Royals farmhands might get the call to the big leagues this season, and if Chris Owings is standing in their way. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

57mins

30 Apr 2019

Rank #18

Podcast cover

Royals Review Radio: The “I for one, welcome our new Royals overlord” episode

The Royals have a new owner, and Max Rieper, Shaun Newkirk, and Matthew Lamar get together to bow down to the mustached one, John Shermanm in the hopes that his wise stewardship brings another championship. They also discuss the Whit Merrifield trade rumors with the Cubs and look at the non-tender free agent market. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

1hr 8mins

4 Dec 2019

Rank #19

Podcast cover

Royals Farm Report Podcast: Singer, Kowar, and all things pitching

Alex and Joel talk about the great year for pitching down in the minors. They have specific discussions about Kris Bubic, Jon Bowlan, Brady Singer, and Jackson Kowar. Next week, they'll talk about some notable hitters down on the farm.  Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

41mins

11 Aug 2019

Rank #20