Cover image of Design Review
(70)
Technology

Design Review

Updated 5 days ago

Technology
Read more

No chit-chat, just focused in-depth discussions about design topics that matter. Jonathan Shariat and Chris Liu are your hosts and bring to the table passion and years of experience.

Read more

No chit-chat, just focused in-depth discussions about design topics that matter. Jonathan Shariat and Chris Liu are your hosts and bring to the table passion and years of experience.

iTunes Ratings

70 Ratings
Average Ratings
63
2
2
3
0

One of my favorite design podcast!

By Jmon24 - Sep 23 2018
Read more
Love this podcast! So much great design knowledge, thoughts and laughs.

Its like listening to your friends talk

By Lucky_Nyan - Jul 04 2017
Read more
Love these guys. I learn a lot from them and at the same time they have a very warm personality :)

iTunes Ratings

70 Ratings
Average Ratings
63
2
2
3
0

One of my favorite design podcast!

By Jmon24 - Sep 23 2018
Read more
Love this podcast! So much great design knowledge, thoughts and laughs.

Its like listening to your friends talk

By Lucky_Nyan - Jul 04 2017
Read more
Love these guys. I learn a lot from them and at the same time they have a very warm personality :)
Cover image of Design Review

Design Review

Latest release on Apr 17, 2018

Read more

No chit-chat, just focused in-depth discussions about design topics that matter. Jonathan Shariat and Chris Liu are your hosts and bring to the table passion and years of experience.

Rank #1: Episode 25 - How to design a great portfolio

Podcast cover
Read more
This week Chris and Jon discuss one of the most difficult design projects of them all, portfolios. We talk about what they are, how they can help move your career forward, and how we're faring on this journey to portfolio greatness!

Aug 02 2015

48mins

Play

Rank #2: Episode 47 - How to plan your design career(from start to finish)

Podcast cover
Read more
How do you get started in Design? What's next after your first job? What positions should I build to? What are the possible paths for a designer to take? We discuss these important questions and more in this week's podcast!

Jan 05 2017

53mins

Play

Rank #3: Episode 37 - Landing your first design job!

Podcast cover
Read more
This week on the Design Review, Chris and Jon discuss what it takes to land your first job as a professional designer, and answer some of the most common questions on what to do. Later in the show, we have a short discussion on equal pay!

Apr 14 2016

1hr 29mins

Play

Rank #4: Episode 16 - Nielsen's Usability Heuristics: Part 1

Podcast cover
Read more
This episode, Chris and Jon start a series of shows devoted to everyone's favorite usability heuristics! These principles in interaction design are critical to helping make your product successful. Later in the show, we talk about some different apps that utilize these principles and whether or not they did them well.

Feb 10 2015

34mins

Play

Rank #5: Episode 53 - Good designers write!

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon talk about why good writing skills are essential for doing good design. Obviously other things are important too, but writing is just one of those 'core skills' every designer must have. Stay tuned to this episode!

May 30 2017

46mins

Play

Rank #6: Episode 11 - Sketch

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon try out Sketch by Bohemian Coding. It's a tool that many designers are already using, but can it really replace Photoshop? Listen and find out!

Dec 08 2014

36mins

Play

Rank #7: Episode 9 - Webflow

Podcast cover
Read more
This week Chris and Jon take a look at Webflow. Have WYSIWYG website builders improved over the years? Listen and find out!

Correction: Chris recorded the promo at the end of the show without realizing the promo code had changed. So make sure you use "fanimals202" when you sign up.

Nov 25 2014

47mins

Play

Rank #8: Episode 31 - Defining a design strategy that works!

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon are back with another topic from the listeners! This time, we're talking about how to define a design strategy at the beginning of a project. Later in the show, we discuss measuring your designs by using metrics and data. Lastly, we close out the show with our stories of "Good UX of the Week". Stay tuned to another great show!

Nov 22 2015

43mins

Play

Rank #9: Episode 7 - Spotify

Podcast cover
Read more
Chris and Jon take a look at the newly redesigned Spotify app for iPhone and iPad!

Nov 12 2014

36mins

Play

Rank #10: Episode 29 - Usability Testing and User Experience

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, while Jon is busy editing his new book, Chris spends some time talking (ranting) about usability testing, and addressing some of the common myths about it.

Oct 26 2015

1hr 2mins

Play

Rank #11: Episode 48 - How to define an MVP

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon discuss a listener question on how to define an MVP. Then they discuss what to do with it after launch. It's a great show for people working in startups, and how to successfully navigate the pitfalls of early product lifecycles. Stay tuned!

Feb 01 2017

37mins

Play

Rank #12: Episode 28 - Designing with Empathy

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Jonathan spends some time alone and talks about empathy in design. It's an important topic that is good for the whole company, not just designers. Stay tuned!

Oct 15 2015

23mins

Play

Rank #13: Episode 38 - Unloading Cognitive Load

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon talk about the difficulty of dealing with cognitive load. Burdening users with many options or complex navigation systems can increase the amount of cognitive load. Reducing this burden can make your product easier to use! Keep listening for more tips on dealing with this tricky problem!

May 01 2016

44mins

Play

Rank #14: Episode 50 - Improving Design Culture

Podcast cover
Read more
It's episode 50 everybody! Woo! We made it! Thanks to everyone for supporting us! It's been a pleasure putting these together for you.

This week, Chris and Jon talk about why companies STILL don't get design, and try to figure out some ways that we can all solve this big problem together. Stay tuned for a monumental episode!

Mar 13 2017

44mins

Play

Rank #15: Episode 5 - Google Inbox

Podcast cover
Read more
Chris and Jonathan take a look and review the design of the web and mobile versions, listen and find out what we like, and what we didn't and most important what we learned about design.

Oct 27 2014

35mins

Play

Rank #16: Episode 43 - UI Vs. No UI

Podcast cover
Read more
This week on the Design Review: we discuss the principle of No UI and whether or not the best interface really is no interface.

Sep 08 2016

38mins

Play

Rank #17: Episode 15 - Designing Playfulness into your UX

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon talk about how playfulness can help improve your UX. As an example of playfulness, we look at an app called Carrot: an app to help you track calories. It's a fun episode, so listen in and stop being so serious!

Jan 26 2015

28mins

Play

Rank #18: Episode 17 - Designing for user control and UI consistency

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon continue their series on Nielsen's usability heuristics; this time, focusing on "User Control and Freedom" and "Consistency and Standards". These are 2 very important principles in UI/UX design, so stick around and listen!

Feb 23 2015

26mins

Play

Rank #19: Episode 41 - Designing A/B Tests

Podcast cover
Read more
We're a little late with this show, but Chris and Jon are back in the studio to discuss A/B testing! We break down what it is, why it's important, and even go over some of the common myths about it. So stay tuned to another great episode!

Jul 12 2016

40mins

Play

Rank #20: Episode 36 - Free your mind from design blocks!

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon discuss the ways in which designers can get blocked in their creative process, and what can be done about it. Later in the show, we introduce a brand new segment that we hope you'll enjoy. So stick around for another great episode!

Mar 21 2016

45mins

Play

Episode 59 - Concluding the Design Process

Podcast cover
Read more
At long last, episode 59 is here! This week, Chris and Jon conclude the discussion series on what makes a great design process. We talk about some of the issues that impact the "How", the part after you figure out what the design should entail. Stick around for part 3 of this series!

Apr 17 2018

51mins

Play

Episode 58 - You've defined the problem. Now what?!

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon continue their series on defining an effective design process. Once you've figured out the problem, what should you do next? There are so many things that can happen (and usually do!) and Chris and Jon give their insights on what to focus on next. Stay tuned to part 2 of this series!

Nov 26 2017

1hr 1min

Play

Episode 57 - Defining our Design Process

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon talk about defining an effective process. Let's face it. Defining a useful process is hard! There's so many questions about what to do first. And worst of all, it's really easy to start jumping in and making mockups. Stay tuned to this episode to hear about why that may not be the best idea!

Oct 29 2017

38mins

Play

Episode 56 - The 10th Anniversary of the iPhone

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Jon and Chris talk about the recent keynote from Apple. The show starts with a quick product review of all the different product announcements made by Tim Cook & co. Then in the second half, they get into a discussion about what's happened with Apple over the past 10 years, and why they may no longer be the center of innovation in the post-Jobs era. Stay tuned for a different kind of Design Review episode!

Oct 02 2017

55mins

Play

Episode 55 - How to Succeed at Interviews

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Jon and Chris answer a listener email about how to handle job interviews. Both Chris and Jon give practical tips and information from their experiences as interviewees AND hiring managers! Stay tuned for an informative episode!

Sep 10 2017

58mins

Play

Episode 54 - Don't look... It's car UX!

Podcast cover
Read more
After 3 attempts, Chris and Jon finally get this one recorded! Phew! Jon interviews Chris about what it's like to work on car stuff, what the future holds, and how YOU could be part of it! Stay tuned for the latest show!

Aug 06 2017

43mins

Play

Episode 53 - Good designers write!

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon talk about why good writing skills are essential for doing good design. Obviously other things are important too, but writing is just one of those 'core skills' every designer must have. Stay tuned to this episode!

May 30 2017

46mins

Play

Episode 52 - Meetings are a necessary evil!

Podcast cover
Read more
This week Chris and Jon talk about awful meetings, why we have to have them, and what we can do about them. There's lots of useful information to help you have better meetings, so definitely stick around for this one!

May 09 2017

44mins

Play

Episode 51 - How to get things made

Podcast cover
Read more
At long last, here's episode 51! Yay! This week, Chris and Jon discuss production design and how we transition from ideas to implemented products. This is where the rubber meets the road, and you don't want to miss this important episode!

Apr 26 2017

44mins

Play

Episode 50 - Improving Design Culture

Podcast cover
Read more
It's episode 50 everybody! Woo! We made it! Thanks to everyone for supporting us! It's been a pleasure putting these together for you.

This week, Chris and Jon talk about why companies STILL don't get design, and try to figure out some ways that we can all solve this big problem together. Stay tuned for a monumental episode!

Mar 13 2017

44mins

Play

Episode 49 - Our Tools of the Trade

Podcast cover
Read more
This week Chris and Jon talk about the tools they use to get 'er done! From desks, to pens, to apps, we cover it all. Stay tuned for a more lighthearted episode!

Feb 21 2017

1hr 12mins

Play

Episode 48 - How to define an MVP

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon discuss a listener question on how to define an MVP. Then they discuss what to do with it after launch. It's a great show for people working in startups, and how to successfully navigate the pitfalls of early product lifecycles. Stay tuned!

Feb 01 2017

37mins

Play

Episode 47 - How to plan your design career(from start to finish)

Podcast cover
Read more
How do you get started in Design? What's next after your first job? What positions should I build to? What are the possible paths for a designer to take? We discuss these important questions and more in this week's podcast!

Jan 05 2017

53mins

Play

Episode 46 - Designing for Formunction

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon have a discussion about form vs. function and created a new word: "Formunction"!!! But is it better to emphasize form or function? Can you achieve both? Listen and find out!

Nov 28 2016

28mins

Play

Episode 45 - The Dangers of Empathy

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris and Jon discuss the danger of using empathy in your design process. This show is based on an interview published in the Harvard Business Review where researchers conducted studies on how being empathetic can actually cause problems that you may not be able to see! Stay tuned!

Oct 15 2016

26mins

Play

Episode 44 - Polite vs. Impolite Software

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Chris & Jon discuss the differences between polite and impolite software, and how it affects the user experience! Believe it or not, politeness matters, so stick around and listen!

Oct 04 2016

46mins

Play

Episode 43 - UI Vs. No UI

Podcast cover
Read more
This week on the Design Review: we discuss the principle of No UI and whether or not the best interface really is no interface.

Sep 08 2016

38mins

Play

Episode 42 - Pokemon Go!

Podcast cover
Read more
The guys have returned to the studio! This week, we discuss everyone's favorite app, Pokemon Go!

Aug 17 2016

53mins

Play

Episode 41 - Designing A/B Tests

Podcast cover
Read more
We're a little late with this show, but Chris and Jon are back in the studio to discuss A/B testing! We break down what it is, why it's important, and even go over some of the common myths about it. So stay tuned to another great episode!

Jul 12 2016

40mins

Play

Episode 40 - The Myth of the Power User

Podcast cover
Read more
This week Chris and Jon talk about the "Power User"! Chris thinks is all BS, and wrote a post about it. But we discuss more about this topic on the show! Stay tuned!

Jun 21 2016

38mins

Play

iTunes Ratings

70 Ratings
Average Ratings
63
2
2
3
0

One of my favorite design podcast!

By Jmon24 - Sep 23 2018
Read more
Love this podcast! So much great design knowledge, thoughts and laughs.

Its like listening to your friends talk

By Lucky_Nyan - Jul 04 2017
Read more
Love these guys. I learn a lot from them and at the same time they have a very warm personality :)