Cover image of GameDay
(61)
News
Sports

GameDay

Updated 2 months ago

News
Sports
Read more

talkSPORT has your football fix covered as we bring you GameDay!Join Sam Matterface & Alex Crook, along with big name guests, twice weekly as we preview all the Premier League action and update you on everything football all with a sprinkle of silliness.To round off your weekend Danny Kelly will bring you 'The Record Book.' Danny will be deciding what goes down as the very best and worst, writing the record book with a team of regular guests.

Read more

talkSPORT has your football fix covered as we bring you GameDay!Join Sam Matterface & Alex Crook, along with big name guests, twice weekly as we preview all the Premier League action and update you on everything football all with a sprinkle of silliness.To round off your weekend Danny Kelly will bring you 'The Record Book.' Danny will be deciding what goes down as the very best and worst, writing the record book with a team of regular guests.

iTunes Ratings

61 Ratings
Average Ratings
52
3
3
0
3

Booooring

By Negra Perra - Oct 25 2019
Read more
These guys small talk and no content..Deleted

Love this show

By Owllicious - Oct 25 2017
Read more
Can't get enough love the commentary and guest on the show!

iTunes Ratings

61 Ratings
Average Ratings
52
3
3
0
3

Booooring

By Negra Perra - Oct 25 2019
Read more
These guys small talk and no content..Deleted

Love this show

By Owllicious - Oct 25 2017
Read more
Can't get enough love the commentary and guest on the show!
Cover image of GameDay

GameDay

Latest release on Aug 03, 2020

Read more

talkSPORT has your football fix covered as we bring you GameDay!Join Sam Matterface & Alex Crook, along with big name guests, twice weekly as we preview all the Premier League action and update you on everything football all with a sprinkle of silliness.To round off your weekend Danny Kelly will bring you 'The Record Book.' Danny will be deciding what goes down as the very best and worst, writing the record book with a team of regular guests.

Rank #1: Your Verdict: Mourinho is too big for Arsenal

Podcast cover
Read more

Here is the best of the reaction to the days football from all over the country on both the Full Time Phone In with Adrian Durham & Micky Gray, and Your Verdict with Laura Woods & Darren Bent. It includes exclusive interviews with Unai Emery, Ole Gunna Solskjaer & Jurgen Klopp.

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Nov 02 2019

37mins

Play

Rank #2: Up Front With... Ellen White

Podcast cover
Read more

On this edition of Up front With... We have Manchester City striker and England's top goal scorer during the 2019 World Cup, Ellen White!


Our own Sam Matterface joins Ellen as they chat about her early days at Arsenal, representing Team GB at the Olympics, the experience of the 2019 World Cup, why the Round of 16 tie with Cameroon was the 'craziest' game of her career and how the former Spurs and Netherlands midfielder Edgar Davids is one of her childhood heroes.

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

May 20 2020

48mins

Play

Rank #3: GameDay: Premier League Preview Show

Podcast cover
Read more

Sam Matterface and Tom Rennie are here to kick start your season with the GameDay: Premier League Preview Show! We are joined by the wonderful DreamTeam Editor Andrew Butler, Sky Sports' own Michelle Owen and a man that has played for too many teams to mention 'Doctor' David Connolly.


talkSPORT has your weekend football covered so make sure you subscribe for three exclusive podcasts every week of the season!

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Aug 08 2019

54mins

Play

Rank #4: Sunderland 'Till I Die: Stewart Donald EXCLUSIVE

Podcast cover
Read more

It's that time again folks Sam Matterface and Alex Crook are back with another packed GameDay podcast!


We have a very special interview with Sunderland owner Stewart Donald reflecting on the excellent Netflix series Sunderland 'Till I Die and the ongoing sale of the club. Shane Long invites us inside his home for the final instalment of his isolation diary, Dimitar Berbatov tells us he is to thank for the success of one Manchester United superstar and the lovely Adrian Durham, host of Drive on talkSPORT is this weeks commentary confinement.

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Apr 09 2020

51mins

Play

Rank #5: Man City v Liverpool: Endgame

Podcast cover
Read more

Is there any chance that Brighton can stop Manchester City retaining the Premier League title? Join a former Premier League winner, Paul Parker, and former top flight striker Dave Kitson, as they join talkSPORT's Tom Rennie for the final Preview Show of the season to discuss it.


Also: THAT night at Anfield, Nuno as manager of the year & can someone else get into next seasons top 6?

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

May 08 2019

1hr 8mins

Play

Rank #6: The Rise Of Raheem

Podcast cover
Read more

A talkSPORT original production hosted by Laura Woods, bringing you the inspiring story of how one young boy from Jamaica became one fo footballs biggest stars, a role model for so many both on and off the field. As Raheem approaches his 50th England cap we take a look at the highs and lows of his outstanding career so far!

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jun 05 2019

49mins

Play

Rank #7: Gameday: The Record Book

Podcast cover
Read more

Danny Kelly is compiling the definitive football record of each Premier League weekend, picking out the best performance, worst performance, heroes and villains from each weekend of the Premier League....while giving special records across the campaign.


This week Danny is joined by talkSPORT2's Mark Webster and former England and Manchester United defender Paul Parker to reflect on the winners, losers, heroes and villains from the weekends Premier League.


We give praise to Brighton who showed other Premier League sides the correct way to lose to Man City, reflect on one of the strangest acts of simulation you're likely to see and there's the usual Crystal Palace striker chat.

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Sep 02 2019

50mins

Play

Rank #8: GameDay: Premier League Preview Show

Podcast cover
Read more

Sam Matterface is back once again to bring you another exclusive Premier League Preview. On this episode Sam is joined by talkSPORT's International editor Tom Rennie, former West Ham and Cardiff City centre back Danny Gabbidon, Dream Team's Andy Taylor and talkSPORT's very own Alex Crook!



See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Aug 22 2019

1hr

Play

Rank #9: Rafa or Rodgers to spoil the party?

Podcast cover
Read more

talkSPORT's Tom Rennie and David Walker are joined by the former West Ham & Southampton striker David Connolly to preview the penultimate weekend of the Premier League, with potentially title-deciding games for Liverpool away at Newcastle and Man City at home to Leicester

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

May 02 2019

1hr 2mins

Play

Rank #10: GameDay: Premier League Preview Show

Podcast cover
Read more

Sam Matterface is here to preview all the upcoming Premier League action. Alongside Sam we have the doctor of analysis himself and former player of far too many clubs to mention David Connolly. We also have talkSPORT's very own pro pundit Alex Crook, Dream Team's Andrew Butler and to make sure you don't miss out on any upcoming games, talkSPORT's International Editor Tom Rennie is here!

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Aug 29 2019

48mins

Play

Rank #11: Premier League Preview: 'Munched by Munich, What Next For Tottenham?'

Podcast cover
Read more

Sam Matterface is back to guide you through the best football preview show around as the Game Day podcast team look ahead to all ten Premier League matches this weekend. Joining talkSPORT's top football commentator is the Times columnist and former top striker David Connolly, and talkSPORT's international editor and Premier League commentator Tom Rennie. Andrew Butler gives us the best picks for your weekend Dream Team, and Alex Crook rounds up the best of the rest.

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Oct 03 2019

54mins

Play

Rank #12: Premier League Preview: P45 For Pochettino

Podcast cover
Read more

As another international break comes to an end join Sam Matterface for another Premier League Preview!

This week we are joined by our very own prince of wales and as we discover DJ, Danny Gabiddon! Nicole Holliday gives her take on the situation over at spurs, Andrew Butler is here for your dose of Dream Team and Tom Rennie is your 60 second reporter

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Nov 21 2019

48mins

Play

Rank #13: GameDay: Premier League Preview Show

Podcast cover
Read more

Sam Matterface is back and ready to go after the international break! On this episode we have everyone’s favourite Welshman former West Ham and Cardiff City centre back Danny Gabbidon, talkSPORT’s football editor and hornet with distinctively mixed emotions; David Walker, our pro pundit Alex Crook is here and to get you up to date on all things fantasy, we have Dream Team’s own Andrew Butler! 

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Sep 12 2019

48mins

Play

Rank #14: The Record Book: Other clearances are available

Podcast cover
Read more

Danny Kelly is compiling the definitive football record of each Premier League weekend, picking out the best performance, worst performance, heroes and villains from each weekend of the Premier League....while giving special records across the campaign.


This week Danny is joined by comedian and broadcaster Mark Smith as well as former Republic of Ireland striker David Connolly to dissect the weekend's football action.


David has some choice words for any prospective second choice goalkeepers, Mark is looking for a refund on his JLingz perfume and Danny is distancing himself from his namesake in the Aston Villa midfield.

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jan 13 2020

54mins

Play

Rank #15: Premier League Preview: Pray For Watford

Podcast cover
Read more

It’s that time again folks for Sam Matterface to bring you a Premier League Preview.


On this episode we have talkSPORT’s south coast correspondent Alex Crook and he’s made the squad again this week, it’s our technical wizard David Connolly! For all things Dream Team we have you covered with the lovely Sean Cook, what more could you want?


Suit and tie at the ready its Carabao Cup weekend!

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Feb 27 2020

48mins

Play

Rank #16: Premier League Preview: Man United thrown to the Wolves

Podcast cover
Read more

Sam Matterface brings you your in-depth Premier League Preview!


Our self proclaimed ‘senior’ commentator David Connolly is here alongside our talkSPORT transfer window specialist Alex Crook and for all things fantasy football we have Dream Teams’ Head of Social Sean Cook.

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jan 30 2020

48mins

Play

Rank #17: Your Verdict: My Sister Has More Pace Than Ndombele

Podcast cover
Read more

The show features the very best of the reaction on Your Verdict with Laura Woods & Darren Bent & the Full-Time Phone In with Russ Williams & Ray Houghton. We have angry Spurs fans, Blades giving lots of love to Sheffield United & an Arsenal fan in love with Mikel Arteta. We also have exclusive interviews with Jose Mourinho, Jurgen Klopp & Mikel Arteta.

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Mar 07 2020

48mins

Play

Rank #18: The South London Talent Factory

Podcast cover
Read more

talkSPORT brings you a special documentary on the rise of South London as the new hotbed of English football. You'll hear from the likes of Wilfried Zaha, Ian Wright, Tammy Abraham, Clinton Morrison, Arsene Wenger and many more!

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jul 31 2019

51mins

Play

Rank #19: Premier League Preview: Who Can Stop The Klopp?

Podcast cover
Read more

Sam Matterface is back with your Premier League Preview! 


Along for the ride we have talkSPORT’s International Editor Tom Rennie and here to correct Sam’s player pronunciations it’s David Connolly. For all things fantasy Andrew Butler joins us and the lovely Alex Crook is your 60 second reporter.

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jan 10 2020

48mins

Play

Rank #20: Premier League Preview: Is He All That?!

Podcast cover
Read more

Sam Matterface is here to bring you your weekly premier league preview!


Alongside Sam we have talkSPORT’s South Coast Correspondent Alex Crook, former Man United and England right back Paul Parker and for all things Dream Team it’s the lovely Andrew Butler.


We’ll be looking forward to the Manchester derby, deciding who’s to blame for the trouble at Spurs, discussing if Jordan Pickford is all that and be hearing from Ryan Fraser ahead of Liverpool v Bournemouth! 

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Mar 05 2020

48mins

Play

Danny Kelly's Record Book: The 2019/2020 season awards!

Podcast cover
Read more

Danny Kelly is compiling the definitive football record of each Premier League weekend, picking out the best performance, worst performance, heroes and villains from each weekend of the Premier League....while giving special records across the campaign.


This week, Danny is joined by talkSPORT's Tom Rennie and comedian and broadcaster Mark Smith to reflect on the most bizarre of football seasons after the domestic football calendar finally came to an end four months later than expected.


We discuss the impact of VAR in it's debut season, pay tribute to some of the Premier League's brains trust and there's a word of criticism for almost every footballing authority around the world.

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Aug 03 2020

54mins

Play

Final Previews, Reviews and Sea Views

Podcast cover
Read more

It’s your final instalment of Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Darren Lewis…well for now anyway, as we bring you another cracking GameDay podcast. 


We preview the FA Cup Final between Chelsea and underdogs Arsenal, look ahead to the Championship Play-off Final which sees Brentford take on Fulham.  The guys also reflect on what’s been one hell of a season and it’s also time to see if Dream Team’s Andrew Butler can redeem himself in the end of season quiz. 

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jul 31 2020

49mins

Play

Premier League Preview: It's Squeaky Bum Time!

Podcast cover
Read more

Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Darren Lewis are here to bring you another ultimate Premier League Preview!


This week it really is squeaky bum time as we preview the weekend fixtures and make our final relegation predictions! We discuss average Everton, Kepa ‘butterfingers’ Arrizabalaga, the possible new managers of next season, Andrew Butler brings you top fantasy football tips and there’s a tumbleweed moment when nobody knows who Eirik Bakke is…

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jul 24 2020

59mins

Play

Leeds United: Ups and downs

Podcast cover
Read more

After Leeds United secured promotion back to the Premier League, talkSPORT bring you a special programme looking back on their sixteen year exile from the Premier League.


Hosted by former Whites striker Jermaine Beckford, we hear from a host of former players such as Shaun Derry and Brian Deane about their experience of playing for the club as financial uncertainty loomed over Elland Road.


Hear also from IBF Featherweight World Champion Josh Warrington, a lifelong Leeds fan who explains how it felt to watch his boyhood club drop from the dizzy heights of the Champions League to the lows of midweek League One football in less than a decade.


And we look back on the incredible two years under Marcelo Bielsa which has guided the club back to the Premier League

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jul 22 2020

48mins

Play

Premier League Preview: No Ordinary Season!

Podcast cover
Read more

After all the weekend drama Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Matt Holland are here to bring you all the latest along with your ultimate football preview!


We react to the shock departure of Nigel Pearson, question if Man United are in desperate need of a new Goalkeeper, preview all the upcoming fixtures and of course Dream Team’s Andrew Butler is back with some top tips ahead of the midweek action. 

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jul 20 2020

50mins

Play

Danny Kelly's Record Book: Pep's jeans & "Mossy's" boots

Podcast cover
Read more

Danny Kelly is compiling the definitive football record of each Premier League weekend, picking out the best performance, worst performance, heroes and villains from each weekend of the Premier League....while giving special records across the campaign.


This week Danny is joined by talkSPORT's Mark Webster and former Spurs and Wimbledon defender Chris Perry to review the latest week in football.


The trio discuss Leeds United's sensational season and equally brilliant social media department, Arsenal shocked just about everyone with their win over Man City but was Pep Guardiola's outfit choice partly to blame for City's performance? And there's not one but two bizarre sackings with just two fixtures remaining.

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jul 20 2020

49mins

Play

Jack Charlton: A GameDay Special

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we bring you something different, following the passing of football icon Jack Charlton.


A hero, legend, brother, winner. Just a few words to describe England World Cup winner Jack Charlton. He spent his entire career with Leeds, making a club record 773 appearances and helped the club win the first division title, an FA Cup, a League Cup and their first ever European trophies. 


Charlton also led the Republic of Ireland to their first major finals at Euro '88 and the quarter-finals at the World Cup in 1990. During this programme, several former players, managers and fans pay tribute to an icon of the game and celebrate his extraordinary life.

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jul 18 2020

42mins

Play

Premier League Preview: Life’s A Beach…For Liverpool

Podcast cover
Read more

It’s Friday, which means time for another Premier League Preview with Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Darren Lewis. 


This week, life’s a beach for Liverpool and they are already playing in their flip-flops. We discuss the future of Dean Smith, that troublesome VAR, Danny Ings’ link with Leicester City and of course we don’t forget those all-important FA Cup Semi Finals! 

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jul 17 2020

48mins

Play

Premier League Preview: 'They're An Absolute Nightmare'

Podcast cover
Read more

Sam Matterface and Alex Crook are here once again to bring you your ultimate preview to all the midweek Premier League action. 


This week former England, Spurs forward and all round nice guy Darren Bent joins us. We ask is Mourinho sucking the life out of Spurs? Do Villa have a fighting chance? Also Andrew Butler is here to bring you top Dream Team tips!

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jul 14 2020

49mins

Play

Danny Kelly's Record Book: Good riddance Norwich

Podcast cover
Read more

Danny Kelly is compiling the definitive football record of each Premier League weekend, picking out the best performance, worst performance, heroes and villains from each weekend of the Premier League....while giving special records across the campaign.


This week, with Danny on the sidelines, Tom Rennie is in the hot-seat alongside former Premier League striker David Connolly and comedian and broadcaster Mark Smith to dissect the recent week of top flight football.


We say goodbye to Norwich after they mathematically became the first team to be relegated, slightly above them we pay tribute to all the struggling teams in the league who decided to start winning when it matters, and slightly above them we discuss why Graham Potter's dress sense could be the reason why he is struggling to get a tune out of his Brighton side

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jul 13 2020

48mins

Play

Premier League Preview: Chris Is Getting Wilder

Podcast cover
Read more

Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Darren Lewis are back as we look ahead to all the weekend Premier League fixtures!


This week we wonder if Daniel Farke really has given up, Dream Team’s Andrew Butler shows David Silva some love and we hear from Kieran Tierney ahead of Sunday’s North London derby. 

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jul 10 2020

48mins

Play

GameDay Special: How Mourinho Changed The Premier League

Podcast cover
Read more

Join us for a special podcast as we celebrate a landmark moment in the career of Jose Mourinho - his 200th Premier League win.


Following Tottenham's 1-0 victory over Everton we take a closer look at 'The Special One's' career - with those who know him best.


Premier League winner Glen Johnson reveals what it was like to play under Mourinho, the Times' chief sports writer Henry Winter discusses Jose's turbulent relationship with the media and fans have their say following four spells in English football.

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jul 08 2020

50mins

Play

Premier League Preview: Leicester Are Back…Or Are They?

Podcast cover
Read more

Fresh from the hairdressers Sam Matterface and Alex Crook are here for your ultimate Premier League Preview. 


This week we are joined by former Charlton, Ipswich and Republic of Ireland Midfielder Matt Holland and Sam brings us a Saka Exclusive. We ask if goals really aren’t the problem at West Ham, what’s the future of Eddie Howe at ‘little old Bournemouth’ and Andrew Butler is here with more apologies along with top Dream Team tips.  

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jul 07 2020

52mins

Play

Danny Kelly's Record Book: The second spike of England's golden generation

Podcast cover
Read more

Danny Kelly is compiling the definitive football record of each Premier League weekend, picking out the best performance, worst performance, heroes and villains from each weekend of the Premier League....while giving special records across the campaign.


This week Danny is joined by talkSPORT's Mark Webster and broadcaster Mark Smith to reflect on another fan-less week in the Premier League and beyond


There's a love in for some of the league's young English talent after a number of future England internationals stole the headlines, there's high praise for Southampton who shocked Man City and we wish a happy birthday to the "offensive hand ball rule".

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jul 06 2020

55mins

Play

Premier League Preview: Aubameyang to Chelsea?!

Podcast cover
Read more

Sam Matterface and Alex Crook are joined by The Mirrors’ Darren Lewis and Dream Teams’ Andrew Butler for another ultimate Premier League Preview Podcast! 


We discuss why Aubameyang could be up for a move to Chelsea, question if Bruno Fernandez compares to Cantona and take a look at the bottom of the table to analyse that all-important relegation fight.

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jul 03 2020

48mins

Play

Understanding Racial Bias: A GameDay Special

Podcast cover
Read more

We bring you something different ahead of your normal GameDay podcast line-up.  A recent study published by Danish firm RunRepeat in association with the PFA, demonstrated that racial bias was present in live TV football commentaries from top-flight games in England, France, Spain and Italy.


So we only feel it is right to address these issues, openly talk, learn and educate ourselves. This is an open, honest and raw discussion between four individuals from the world of football, in the form of Sam Matterface, Trevor Sinclair, Darren Lewis and Alex Crook.

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jul 02 2020

1hr 4mins

Play

Premier League Preview: Wally With A Brolly 2.0

Podcast cover
Read more

Join Sam Matterface and Alex Crook for your ultimate preview to all the midweek action! 


This week making his GameDay debut is the former Leeds, Southampton and Sheffield Wednesday midfielder David Prutton. We discuss if Wilder needs to show more aggression, little old Bournemouth, why Mesut Ozil is the ‘Wally with a brolly’ 2.0 and Dream Team’s Andrew Butler tells us to cut all ties with West Ham.

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jun 30 2020

48mins

Play

Danny Kelly's Record Book: "Neil Warnock is Dancing Queen at a wedding reception"

Podcast cover
Read more

Danny Kelly is compiling the definitive football record of each Premier League weekend, picking out the best performance, worst performance, heroes and villains from each weekend of the Premier League....while giving special records across the campaign.


This week Danny is joined by talkSPORT's Tom Rennie and former top flight striker Dave Kitson to dissect a busy weekend from the FA Cup, Premier League and Championship.


There's a begrudging love in for Neil Warnock on his return to football, there's an equal amount of condemnation and admiration for two acts of violence in the Championship and is Martial the main man now for Manchester United?

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jun 29 2020

50mins

Play

Liverpool Take The Premier League Title!

Podcast cover
Read more

Following a long 30 year wait Liverpool have taken the Premier League Title! Join Sam Matterface, Alex Crook and Darren Lewis as we get all the latest and look ahead to the upcoming fixtures, FA Cup and beyond. 


We hear from Steve Bruce and Fabien Schar ahead of their weekend fixture against Man City. Also Andrew Butler comes to pass on his Dream Team Tips. 

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jun 26 2020

51mins

Play

Premier League Preview: ‘More Mark Noble…Less Lanzini’

Podcast cover
Read more

 Sam Matterface and Alex Crook are here to bring you the ultimate GameDay Premier League Preview show.


This week we are joined by former Tottenham and England front man Darren Bent! We reflect on the rage of Roy Keane, and come up with a solution for West Ham’s sloppy squad. While Andrew Butler comes along to bring you top Dream Team tips and has a heartfelt apology for Crystal Palace. 

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Jun 23 2020

48mins

Play

iTunes Ratings

61 Ratings
Average Ratings
52
3
3
0
3

Booooring

By Negra Perra - Oct 25 2019
Read more
These guys small talk and no content..Deleted

Love this show

By Owllicious - Oct 25 2017
Read more
Can't get enough love the commentary and guest on the show!