Cover image of Lord Jim by CONRAD, Joseph
Arts
Books

Lord Jim by CONRAD, Joseph

Updated 8 days ago

Arts
Books
Read more

A classic of early literary modernism, Lord Jim tells the story of a young "simple and sensitive character" who loses his honor in a display of cowardice at sea -- and of his expiation of that sin against his own "shadowy ideal of conduct" on the remote island of Patusan. The novel, written by Conrad for magazine serialization during an intense and chaotic ten months in 1899 and 1900, has, in the words of Thomas C. Moser, "the rare distinction of being a masterpiece in two separate genres. It is at once an exotic adventure story of the Eastern seas in the popular tradition of Kipling and Stevenson and a complexly wrought 'art novel' in the tradition of Flaubert and James. (summary by Stewart Wills)

Read more

A classic of early literary modernism, Lord Jim tells the story of a young "simple and sensitive character" who loses his honor in a display of cowardice at sea -- and of his expiation of that sin against his own "shadowy ideal of conduct" on the remote island of Patusan. The novel, written by Conrad for magazine serialization during an intense and chaotic ten months in 1899 and 1900, has, in the words of Thomas C. Moser, "the rare distinction of being a masterpiece in two separate genres. It is at once an exotic adventure story of the Eastern seas in the popular tradition of Kipling and Stevenson and a complexly wrought 'art novel' in the tradition of Flaubert and James. (summary by Stewart Wills)

Cover image of Lord Jim by CONRAD, Joseph

Lord Jim by CONRAD, Joseph

Latest release on Nov 02, 2013

The Best Episodes Ranked Using User Listens

Updated by OwlTail 8 days ago

Warning: This podcast is a series podcast

This means episodes are recommended to be heard in order from the very start. Here's the 10 best episodes of the series anyway though!

Rank #1: Chapter 9

Podcast cover
Read more

Nov 02 2013

23mins

Play

Rank #2: Chapter 45

Podcast cover
Read more

Nov 02 2013

22mins

Play

Rank #3: Chapters 15-17

Podcast cover
Read more

Nov 02 2013

34mins

Play

Rank #4: Chapter 2

Podcast cover
Read more

Nov 02 2013

14mins

Play

Rank #5: Chapter 3

Podcast cover
Read more

Nov 02 2013

20mins

Play

Rank #6: Chapter 5

Podcast cover
Read more

Nov 02 2013

46mins

Play

Rank #7: Chapter 4

Podcast cover
Read more

Nov 02 2013

12mins

Play

Rank #8: Chapter 6

Podcast cover
Read more

Nov 02 2013

42mins

Play

Rank #9: Chapter 7

Podcast cover
Read more

Nov 02 2013

25mins

Play

Rank #10: Chapter 8

Podcast cover
Read more

Nov 02 2013

25mins

Play