OwlTail

Cover image of We Heard Wonders - music review podcast from Scotland

We Heard Wonders - music review podcast from Scotland

Two Scottish music fans, Iain McKinstry and Andrew Hall, review albums and artists old, new and some with a personal twist.

Popular episodes

All episodes

Warning: This podcast data isn't working.

This means that the episode rankings aren't working properly. Please revisit us at a later time to get the best episodes of this podcast!

Podcast cover

Episode Forty Four - our interview with THE WIFE GUYS OF REDDIT! Plus Killer Mike! Automatic! BKO!

Join us on @weheardwonders for a chat with exuberant “purveyors of soupy rock” The Wife Guys Of Reddit. We discuss The Wife Guys’ short, sharp and entertainingly absurdist new EP, as well as our favourite Will Ferrell performances, the joy of jamming, and the lack of diversity on festival bills. They also select tracks by turns trippy, mellifluous and grungey. Andrew and Iain then review new music from hip-hop activist Killer Mike, dance-funk humanoids Automatic, and Malian afro-rockers BKO. Listen to We Heard Wonders on your podcast platform of choice; like, subscribe and recommend; catch up with previous editions and support the show by buying us a Coffee (link in the show bio).Support the show

1hr 21mins

13 Jul 2022

Rank #1

Podcast cover

Episode Forty Three - New Music! Sampa The Great! Dungen! Preoccupations! Valerie June! Tumi Mogorosi! & the VINYL WORD!

Bless our cotton socks, we’re in the news! Or in The List, at least. On this week’s @weheardwonders, your loyal hosts provide further evidence of their three-star-worthy “easy rapport”, with Iain reporting back from his pop-tastic weekend in the Big Smoke. Then it’s down to the main business at hand: playing and reviewing five exciting new tracks from Zambian superstar-in-waiting Sampa The Great, neo-psych magicians Dungen, post-punk gloomsters Preoccupations, “organic moonshine roots music”-maker Valerie June, and South African drummer/bandleader Tumi Mogorosi. Andrew describes one of those tracks as being arguably the best thing he’s heard all year - but of which track does he speak? A barnstorming bolt of rock’n’roll has the Vinyl Word. Listen to We Heard Wonders on your podcast platform of choice; like, subscribe and recommend; catch up with previous editions and support the show by buying us a Coffee (link in the show bio). Support the show

1hr 18mins

7 Jul 2022

Rank #2

Similar Podcasts

Podcast cover

Episode Forty Two - New Music! Julia Jacklin! Minami Deutsch! Gorillaz feat. Thundercat! JPW! Alison Cotton! & the VINYL WORD!

On this week’s @weheardwonders, GORILLAZ join forces with THE THUNDERCATS in the greatest cartoon crossover team-up OF ALL TIME!!! Er, sorry, our mistake - it’s actually Gorillaz featuring elastic-bass-supremo Thundercat...still pretty cool though, right! Elsewhere, singer-songwriter Julia Jacklin returns with something strident; Iain Googles Japanese kosmische-rockers Minami Deutsch with baffling results; Aquarium Drunkard contributor Jason P. Woodbury turns creator of wonderful widescreen music on his project JPW; and experimental folk artist Alison Cotton produces something appealingly eerie. Plus, obligatory Glastonbury chat and the Vinyl Word. Support the show

1hr 18mins

29 Jun 2022

Rank #3

Podcast cover

Episode Forty One - New Music! Auntie Flo & Sarathy Korwar! Beyonce! Wax Machine! MUNA! Naima Bock! & the VINYL WORD!

Where else but @weheardwonders will you find Queen Bey mingling with yer Auntie Flo and a former Goat Girl? Yep - praise Bey! - Beyoncé is back with the first taster from her eagerly-anticipated follow-up to Lemonade. But is it any good? We also share our thoughts on Auntie Flo & Sarathy Korwar’s minimal electronica-Indian classical synthesis, Wax Machine’s psychedelic paean to Springtime, Naima Bock’s green-fingered progressive folk, and a “sexy, happy song” from MUNA. A freshly reissued Record Collector record from 1970 has the Vinyl Word. Listen to We Heard Wonders on your podcast platform of choice; like, subscribe and recommend; catch up with previous editions and support the show by buying us a Coffee (link in the show bio).Support the show

1hr 23mins

22 Jun 2022

Rank #4

Most Popular Podcasts

Podcast cover

Episode Forty - New Music! Ruby Goon! Yaya Bey! Adrian Quesada! Nikki Lane! Heal & Harrow!

Ep 40(!) of @weheardwonders and we’re in a reflective mood - we each recommend an episode from the archive to explore/revisit before getting on with the new music business at hand. Tracks played and dissected come from exciting new Phantasy signings Ruby Goon, NY multidisciplinary mischief Yaya Bey, Latin-music-steeped Black Pumas guitarist/producer Adrian Quesada, strutting “Highway Queen” Nikki Lane, and Scottish folk artists (word chosen advisedly) Heal & Harrow. A wonderfully epic track by a returning act has the Vinyl Word. Listen to We Heard Wonders on your podcast platform of choice; like, subscribe and recommend; catch up with previous editions and support the show by buying us a Coffee (link in the show bio).Support the show

1hr 24mins

15 Jun 2022

Rank #5

Podcast cover

Episode Thirty Nine - our interview with SUSAN BEAR! Plus YEAH YEAH YEAHS! ORGONE! JOHNNY RAY DANIELS!

Songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and producer Susan Bear joins us on @weheardwonders on the eve of the release of their splendid, strikingly personal new record Alter. We chat programmed drums, house prices and the ultimate running song, and Susan maps out the many steps that have lead to the album’s completion. Andrew and Iain then review new music from returning NYC art-punk-royalty Yeah Yeah Yeahs, hard-rocking-hard-funking collective Orgone and sacred-soul stirrer Johnny Ray Daniels. Threads are tied together for a contemplative Vinyl Word. Listen to We Heard Wonders on your podcast platform of choice; like, subscribe and recommend; catch up with previous editions and support the show by buying us a Coffee (link in the show bio).Support the show

1hr 22mins

8 Jun 2022

Rank #6

Podcast cover

Episode Thirty Eight - New Music! Gold Panda! Rachel Chinouriri! Helge Iberg! RJ McKendree! Yama Warashi! AND A SPECIAL VINYL WORD BEATLES EDITION!

Andrew and Iain look back at their younger student selves with a mixture of fondness and shame, before bringing things bang up to date with another @weheardwonders new music podcast. Tunes played and dissected come courtesy of returning glitchy-geezer Gold Panda, on-the-rise pop stylist Rachel Chinouriri, fab classical pianist Helge Iberg, mysterious Californian psych-folk shaman RJ McKendree and Japanese art-pop surrealists Yama Warashi. Both of your hosts then have their say in a special Beatles-related Vinyl Word.Support the show

1hr 31mins

1 Jun 2022

Rank #7

Podcast cover

Episode Thirty Seven - New Music! Diana Ross & Tame Impala! Daniel Avery! Alex Izenberg! Rina Sawayama! Daniel Villarreal! AND THE VINYL WORD!

You can always rely on your pals at @weheardwonders to turn up the sunshine! This week, Andrew has been reunited with some prized possessions, while Iain has been observing - and judging - his mates’ listening habits. New Music-wise, we unpack an unlikely (but welcome) coming-together of disco diva Diana Ross, neo-psych mastermind Tame Impala and multiple tiny yellow henchmen; aided by a pair of electric friends, Daniel Avery descends into darkness; Alex Izenberg’s chamber-pop brings the class; Rina Sawayama’s lassoing empowerment-pop takes aim at the upper reaches of the charts; and International Anthem drummer and DJ Daniel Villarreal moves centre stage. Finally, something symphonic and coolly urbane has the Vinyl Word. Listen to We Heard Wonders on your podcast platform of choice; like, subscribe and recommend; catch up with previous editions and support the show by buying us a Coffee (link in the show bio).Support the show

1hr 21mins

25 May 2022

Rank #8

Podcast cover

Episode Thirty Six - New Music! Ecstatic Vision! Kendrick Lamar! Madalitso Band! Maria Chiara Argirò! Astrel K!

Once again, we cast our musical net far and wide on @weheardwonders. Philadelphian “troglodyte rockers” Ecstatic Vision kick things off in bracing fashion, before we attempt to unpick the multiple layers of Kendrick Lamar’s long-awaited new material. Musician, composer and producer Maria Chiara Argirò takes us somewhere nice and dreamy, Astrel K’s space-age art-pop is very much in Andrew’s wheelhouse, and joyous Malawian duo Madalitso Band may well be Iain’s favourite new discovery. Finally, Kendrick also provides the inspiration for an irresistibly funky Vinyl Word. Listen to We Heard Wonders on your podcast platform of choice; like, subscribe and recommend; catch up with previous editions and support the show by buying us a Coffee (link in the show bio).Support the show

1hr 29mins

18 May 2022

Rank #9

Podcast cover

Episode Thirty Five! New music and our interview with Isik Kural!

We’re back and raring to go with a very seasonal edition of @weheardwonders. The man behind Andrew’s soundtrack to Spring ‘22, Isik Kural invites us into a polyrhythmic dreamworld through his lovely selections, while a recently reissued record - as bright and breezy as a May day - has the Vinyl Word. We also play and review new music from Tokyo’s psychedelic tricksters Kikagaku Moyo, expert-emoter Sharon Van Etten and BADBADNOTGOOD-backed gospel-soul sensation Daniel Caesar. Listen to We Heard Wonders on your podcast platform of choice; like, subscribe and recommend; catch up with previous editions and support the show by buying us a Coffee (link in the show bio).Support the show

1hr 39mins

10 May 2022

Rank #10