Cover image of Fully Booked by Kirkus Reviews
(50)
Arts
Society & Culture
Books

Fully Booked by Kirkus Reviews

Updated 9 days ago

Arts
Society & Culture
Books
Read more

Get the ultimate insider's scoop on the best new books. The editors at Kirkus Reviews interview your favorite authors, tell you whether or not the books on the bestseller list are worth the read, give you behind-the-scenes insights, and introduce you to great books you may otherwise never find.

Read more

Get the ultimate insider's scoop on the best new books. The editors at Kirkus Reviews interview your favorite authors, tell you whether or not the books on the bestseller list are worth the read, give you behind-the-scenes insights, and introduce you to great books you may otherwise never find.

iTunes Ratings

50 Ratings
Average Ratings
31
3
6
3
7

Great series, but...

By Esterdotter - Feb 05 2020
Read more
A great variety of interesting guests, but Kirkus needs to listen to the episodes. Hysterical laughter, in inappropriate places, is just annoying.

A great podcast!

By Mojo917911 - Jul 25 2018
Read more
This podcast is nice and refreshing! They have great authors and

iTunes Ratings

50 Ratings
Average Ratings
31
3
6
3
7

Great series, but...

By Esterdotter - Feb 05 2020
Read more
A great variety of interesting guests, but Kirkus needs to listen to the episodes. Hysterical laughter, in inappropriate places, is just annoying.

A great podcast!

By Mojo917911 - Jul 25 2018
Read more
This podcast is nice and refreshing! They have great authors and
Cover image of Fully Booked by Kirkus Reviews

Fully Booked by Kirkus Reviews

Latest release on May 19, 2020

The Best Episodes Ranked Using User Listens

Updated by OwlTail 9 days ago

Rank #1: David Sedaris

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, Megan and Clay ask David Sedaris about the snapping turtle he tried to feed his benign tumor to (the turtle's name was Granddaddy; the serious drift in his new collection of essays, CALYPSO; and what his siblings think about being written about so often by him. Have you ever wondered why your grade school English teacher insisted you stop ending a sentence with a preposition? We have the answer. And our editors reveal their favorite new books!

Jun 26 2018

50mins

Play

Rank #2: Jill Lepore

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, we’re asking New Yorker staff writer and Harvard historian Jill Lepore about her great new book of the entire history of the U.S., These Truths, which our reviewer calls “a splendid rendering—filled with triumph, tragedy, and hope—that will please Lepore’s readers immensely and win her many new ones.” Megan and Clay also talk about the new Bob Woodward book, Fear: Trump in the White House, and our editors reveal their picks for the best reads this week!

Sep 18 2018

53mins

Play

Rank #3: Preet Bharara

Podcast cover
Read more
Former U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of New York Preet Bharara joins us on this week’s episode to discuss Doing Justice: A Prosecutor’s Thoughts on Crime, Punishment, and the Rule of Law. Then our editors join with their top picks in books this week.

Mar 19 2019

56mins

Play

Rank #4: Lucy Worsley

Podcast cover
Read more
One need not be a royalist to enjoy Lucy Worsley’s radiant new biography of Queen Victoria, the “hard-working, energetic, [and] resilient” woman who saved the status of the British monarchy. Worsley, an English historian, author, curator, and television presenter, joins us on this week’s Fully Booked for a spirited discussion of Queen Victoria: Twenty-Four Days That Changed Her Life, and our editors name their most anticipated books and trends of 2019.

Jan 01 2019

55mins

Play

Rank #5: Christopher Goffard

Podcast cover
Read more
Investigative journalist Christopher Goffard’s stories grab you, shake you, and don’t let go. On this week’s Fully Booked, Goffard joins Clay and Megan to discuss Dirty John and Other True Stories of Outlaws and Outsiders, “a collection of swift-flowing pieces about outliers, liars, victims, and victimizer” (Kirkus) whose unforgettable titular tale inspired a megapopular podcast and Bravo TV show. Nonfiction editor Eric Liebetrau rounds out the hour with continuing coverage of the Best Books of 2018.

Dec 18 2018

53mins

Play

Rank #6: Kristin Hannah and Joseph Cassara

Podcast cover
Read more
This week, we catch up with Kristin Hannah, author of the international bestseller THE NIGHTINGALE. Her new novel, THE GREAT ALONE, is a nail-biter about a trouble Vietnam vet who takes his family to rural Alaska to live off the land as they encounter harsh winters, hungry animals, and the vet's increasingly paranoid mind. Megan talks to debut novelist Joseph Cassara, whose novel THE HOUSE OF IMPOSSIBLE BEAUTIES, set in queer Harlem in the 1980s, our reviewer calls "fierce, tender, and heartbreaking." And our editors reveal which new bestsellers are up to snuff!

Feb 06 2018

50mins

Play

Rank #7: Dean Koontz

Podcast cover
Read more
Bestselling thriller icon Dean Koontz joins us on this week’s episode to discuss DEVOTED, the heart-pumping novel kicking off a new five-book deal with Thomas & Mercer. The standalone thriller centers on a brilliant mute 11-year-old boy, his attentive artistic mother, and a dangerous old acquaintance with the power to upend their lives and wreak havoc worldwide. Then our editors join with their reading recommendations for the week, including books by N. K. Jemisin, Maira Kalman, Jenny Valentine, and Ernesto Cisneros.

Mar 31 2020

53mins

Play

Rank #8: Leigh Bardugo

Podcast cover
Read more
#1 New York Times-bestselling YA author Leigh Bardugo joins us on this week’s episode to discuss her hotly anticipated adult debut, Ninth House, a literary fantasy set in a spooky world not unlike New Haven, Connecticut... Starring Galaxy “Alex” Stern, a high school dropout from LA who’s recruited to oversee the occult activities of Yale University’s secret societies, Ninth House is a “compulsively readable novel [that] leaves a portal ajar for equally dazzling sequels,” Kirkus writes (*starred review*). Then our editors join with their reading recommendations for the week, including books by Jason Reynolds, Kim Liggett, Malcolm Gladwell, and Margaret Atwood.

Oct 08 2019

55mins

Play

Rank #9: Celeste Ng LIVE from BookPeople

Podcast cover
Read more
This week's episode is a special live taping of Celeste Ng's recent event at BookPeople in Austin, Texas. Ng's new novel, LITTLE FIRES EVERYWHERE, has just hit the New York Times bestseller list and is hard to put down. "As in EVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU, Ng conjures a sense of place and displacement and shows a remarkable ability to see -- and reveal -- a story from different perspectives," our critic writes in a starred review. We also check in with a few of BookPeople's booksellers about which new books they're loving.

Oct 03 2017

1hr 1min

Play

Rank #10: Ross Gay

Podcast cover
Read more
Inspired by an invigorating walk in Italy, award-winning poet Ross Gay set an intention to write on delight each day for one year. He joins us on this week’s “Rebels Issue” episode to discuss The Book of Delights, a collection of essays contending with the sweet and bitter of everyday life, from plants, animals, politics, and racism to pop music, dreams, and expressions of joy. And our editors offer their top picks in revolutionary books with the power to change hearts and minds.

Apr 02 2019

54mins

Play

Rank #11: Linda Holmes

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week’s episode, we’re delighted to welcome Linda Holmes, host of NPR’s Pop Culture Happy Hour podcast, to discuss her sparkling debut novel, Evvie Drake Starts Over (that’s “‘Evvie like Chevy, not Evie like Max Greevey.’”). Evvie is a smart, vibrant thirty-something from small-town Maine who loses her husband and takes a tenant, a handsome Major League Baseball pitcher who’s lost his mojo, maybe for good. We talk the “yips,” platonic soulmates, auditory writing, cultural criticism, and more. Then our editors recommend books by Kwame Alexander, Kat Cho, and Kristen Arnett.

Jun 25 2019

46mins

Play

Rank #12: Karin Slaughter and Ellen Ullman

Podcast cover
Read more
We gave a rare starred review to bestselling thriller writer Karin Slaughter's new novel THE GOOD DAUGHTER. Slaughter talks to us on todays episode about why she sets all of her novels in Georgia, what it's like being a continual bestseller, and where she gets her ideas from. And pioneering tech worker and writer Ellen Ullman also joins us to talk about her new memoir, LIFE IN CODE: A PERSONAL HISTORY OF TECHNOLOGY, which our critic calls, "a sharply written, politically charged memoir of life in the data trenches." Our editors talk about which bestsellers they think are worth your time and which you can safely skip!

Aug 08 2017

1hr 9mins

Play

Rank #13: A.J. Finn and Christopher J. Yates

Podcast cover
Read more
Debut writer A.J. Finn's thriller THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW has been sold in 37 countries and Fox 2000 picked up the film rights. The story of an agoraphobic woman who swears she sees a violent act in the brownstone across from hers in Manhattan, the novel is rife with references to classic films and "crackles with tension," our reviewer says. Violence also is at the heart of Christopher J. Yates' psychological thriller, GRIST MILL ROAD, which our reviewer writes in a starred review is, "mesmerizing and impossible to put down." And our editors weigh in with their thoughts about which bestsellers are worth your time.

Jan 09 2018

56mins

Play

Rank #14: 2019 Fully Booked Year-in-Review

Podcast cover
Read more
12/24 Episode: Happy holidays, listeners! On this week’s episode, editor-in-chief Tom Beer joins host Megan Labrise for the Fully Booked Year-in-Review, reintroducing two of their favorite interviews from 2019. First up is National Book Award winner Susan Choi (Trust Exercise), followed by visionary fashion designer Isaac Mizrahi (I.M.: A Memoir). Then our editors join with a look back at the spiciest book world scandals of the year. Trust us: you won’t want to miss it.

Dec 24 2019

1hr 28mins

Play

Rank #15: Laura Lippman

Podcast cover
Read more
On this week’s episode, Megan interviews modern noir superstar Laura Lippman, whose latest standalone novel, Lady in the Lake, is inspired by two real-life crimes committed in 1960s Baltimore: the unsolved drowning of 35-year-old Shirley Parker and the murder of 11-year-old Esther Lebowitz. They talk opening sentences, the transgressive nature of watching, Lippman’s recent Washington Post piece (“Is it ok for white authors to write black characters? I’m trying.”), and more. Then our editors offer their weekly reading recommendations, with books by Blair Thornburgh, Cassandra Clare et al, Jeff Gordinier, and Linda Holmes.

Jul 23 2019

1hr 6mins

Play

Rank #16: Karina Longworth

Podcast cover
Read more
The first person we meet in Karina Longworth’s Seduction: Sex, Lies, and Stardom in Howard Hughes’s Hollywood *isn’t* Howard Hughes—it’s screenwriter Frederica Sagor— a clue to the true focus of her provocative popular history. On this week’s Fully Booked, Clay and Megan chat with the author and creator of the You Must Remember This podcast about the highly varied experiences of the talented and ambitious women in Hughes’s orbit (1920s-1950s) and nonfiction editor Eric Liebetrau signs on for continuing coverage of the Best Books of 2018.

Dec 11 2018

52mins

Play

Rank #17: Ottessa Moshfegh

Podcast cover
Read more
The protagonist of Ottessa Moshfegh's new novel, MY YEAR OF REST AND RELAXATION, doesn't just take some time off from her job; she spends a year hibernating with strong sedatives, in the hope that she'll emerge transformed. The novel is a nervy modern-day rebellion tale that isn't afraid to get dark or find humor in the darkness and we ask Moshfegh about writing it. Megan and Clay recommend some overlooked summer reading picks and our editors talk about their favorite reads this week.

Jul 10 2018

51mins

Play

Rank #18: Cathy Park Hong

Podcast cover
Read more
Kirkus’ editors lead this episode with an acknowledgement of the COVID-19 pandemic and special segment on quarantine reading. Host Megan Labrise welcomes poet and essayist Cathy Park Hong, author of Minor Feelings: An Asian American Reckoning (One World, March 3), “a fierce and timely meditation” on her lived experience as a Korean American woman and artist. Then our editors rejoin with their weekly reading recommendations, including books by Brandy Colbert, Ashley Woodfolk, Ross Gay, and Lily King.

Mar 24 2020

1hr 5mins

Play

Rank #19: Kiley Reid

Podcast cover
Read more
On this episode, author Kiley Reid explains why she’s calling her hotly anticipated debut novel “a comedy of good intentions.” Such a Fun Age explores the complicated relationship between Emira Tucker, a 25-year-old black babysitter living in Philadelphia, and her employer, Alix Chamberlain, a white thirtysomething blogger/influencer/mother of two. Reid’s fun, funny, and incisive novel is, “Charming, challenging, and so interesting you can hardly put it down,” Kirkus writes (starred review). Then our editors join with their reading recommendations for the week, including books by Rebecca Roanhorse, Anna-Marie McLemore, and Randall Munroe.

Jan 14 2020

42mins

Play

Rank #20: Susan Choi

Podcast cover
Read more
When it comes to Susan Choi’s inventive new novel, Trust Exercise, believe the hype. Set primarily at an exclusive performing arts high school in an unnamed southern city, it’s the story of a steamy, driver-license-less teen love affair … that morphs, via shocking shifts in perspective, into a profound interrogation of how personal mythologies - and perceptions of trauma and abuse - are written and rewritten over time. Choi joins us on this week’s episode for a deep dive into Trust Exercise, followed by our editors’ weekly book recommendations.

Apr 23 2019

40mins

Play