Cover image of Medgeeks Clinical Review Podcast
(712)

Rank #20 in Medicine category

Education
Health & Fitness
Medicine

Medgeeks Clinical Review Podcast

Updated about 1 month ago

Rank #20 in Medicine category

Education
Health & Fitness
Medicine
Read more

Our goal is to change the way students and clinicians learn medicine. We are dedicated to providing the best medical content to help clinicians get through school, the boards, and to excel in clinical practice.

Read more

Our goal is to change the way students and clinicians learn medicine. We are dedicated to providing the best medical content to help clinicians get through school, the boards, and to excel in clinical practice.

iTunes Ratings

712 Ratings
Average Ratings
651
39
13
5
4

Suggestion

By Elena14159 - Feb 25 2020
Read more
I like but wish you wouldnt give the diagnosis away in the title.

Super

By Nil.che - Oct 15 2019
Read more
The most usefull podcast ever 🙏❤️

iTunes Ratings

712 Ratings
Average Ratings
651
39
13
5
4

Suggestion

By Elena14159 - Feb 25 2020
Read more
I like but wish you wouldnt give the diagnosis away in the title.

Super

By Nil.che - Oct 15 2019
Read more
The most usefull podcast ever 🙏❤️
Cover image of Medgeeks Clinical Review Podcast

Medgeeks Clinical Review Podcast

Latest release on Jun 27, 2020

Read more

Our goal is to change the way students and clinicians learn medicine. We are dedicated to providing the best medical content to help clinicians get through school, the boards, and to excel in clinical practice.

Rank #1: PA Boards 61: Murmurs - a quick pearl!

Podcast cover
Read more

Physicianassistantboards.com/app - I'll be giving out a couple pearls on differentiating murmurs. Also, check out the website because I'm building a review app for you! It will be available on iOS and google play. Go to the above page and enter your email - I plan on giving away a few apps :)

Jul 02 2015

7mins

Play

Rank #2: PA Boards 33: Cardiology Review Questions

Podcast cover
Read more

PhysicianAssitantBoards.com - Today were going to do things a little bit differently.  Were going to go over some caridology Q&A.  Because I am writing a PANCE review book, I thought I'd share a sampling of the review questions that I have included in there for you.  I would love to send a copy of the first chapter to those who are interested.  If you are, shoot me an email @ andrewreid@physicianassistantboards.com or go over on the website and send me a message through the contact form.  The only requirement that I have is that you send me an email back with some feedback; what you liked or didn't liked about the chapter.  Thanks!

May 15 2014

17mins

Play

Rank #3: PA Boards 94: Everything B12 Deficiency

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we're going to discuss everything you need to know about B12 deficiency for the boards and clinical practice. Website: physicianassistantboards.com Personal IG: @and_reid PABoards IG: @paboards FB: Facebook.com/paboards1

Sep 13 2016

14mins

Play

Rank #4: PA Boards 119: Systolic Murmurs with Audio Clips

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we'll be covering the systolic murmurs - high yield facts along with audio clips so you can commit these to memory :) The murmurs discussed include: aortic stenosis, pulmonic stenosis, mitral regurgitation, mitral valve prolapse, and tricuspid regurgitation.

Make sure to subscribe to the youtube channel here as we're answering questions Monday - Friday :)

Website: https://physicianassistantboards.com/ Personal IG: https://www.instagram.com/and_reid PABoards IG: https://www.instagram.com/paboards FB: https://www.facebook.com/paboards1

Feb 18 2017

8mins

Play

Rank #5: PA Boards 90: Irritable Bowel Syndrome

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we're going to go into a little detail regarding IBS: etiology, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment. Website: physicianassistantboards.com IG: instagram.com/paboards FB: Facebook.com/paboards1

Aug 26 2016

13mins

Play

Rank #6: PA Boards 71: Vertigo Made Simple

Podcast cover
Read more

Physicianassistantboards.com/audio - Announcement: I uploaded the GI portion of the new audio review course to the website for FREE download. Simply go to physicianasssitantboards.com/audio and hit the free download. You'll have instant access to 53 minutes of focused gastroenterology review for FREE :)

On todays episode we answer a listeners question regarding vertigo. He wants to know when an MRI is indicated in the evaluation of vertigo. So, we decipher peripherl vs central causes and we discuss when an MRI is indicated.

Sep 15 2015

11mins

Play

Rank #7: Sepsis Explained & Made Easy

Podcast cover
Read more

Today, we'll be simplifying sepsis. Specifically, we'll be covering: 1. Infection vs bactermia vs sepsis vs septic shock vs MODS 2. The patient presentation 3. How to perform the HPI 4. What labs need to be ordered? 5. Treatment options 6. When to start pressors 7. Monitoring treatment response

We're covering exactly what you need to know to understand this complicated topic. Any questions? Leave a comment or email gray@physicianassistantboards.com

Aug 28 2017

24mins

Play

Rank #8: PA Boards 100: Migraine Pharmacology

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we're going to discuss abortive and prophylactic therapies for migraine. We'll go into the pharmacology to help you create a game plan for your patients. Enjoy :)

Website: https://www.physicianasssitantboards.com Personal IG: https://www.instagram.com/and_reid PABoards IG: https://www.instagram.com/paboards FB: https://www.facebook.com/paboards

Oct 28 2016

20mins

Play

Rank #9: PA Boards 106: Clinical Pearls for Chlamydia & Gonorrhea

Podcast cover
Read more

Today, we'll discuss signs, symptoms, complications, diagnosis, and treatment options for both chlamydia and gonorrhea. This is a clinical talk - meaning we'll go over real world scenarios (a little different when compared to board review).

Website: http://physicianassistantboards.com Personal IG: https://www.instagram.com/and_reid PABoards IG: https://www.instagram.com/paboards FB: https://www.facebook.com/paboards1

Dec 21 2016

15mins

Play

Rank #10: PA Boards 82: Migraine Headache

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we're going to be talking migraine headaches from a clinical standpoint. I'm going to present the many presentations you can expect to encounter when dealing with a migraine. This lecture is pulled straight from PA Boards Elite - which is our new membership site. Here I'll teach you how to approach patients  CLINICALLY - so you feel comfortable seeing patients on your own. You can learn more at physicianassistantboards.com/elite

Feb 23 2016

28mins

Play

Rank #11: UTI: Acute Cystitis vs. Pyelonephritis

Podcast cover
Read more

Pyelonephritis doesn't always present text book and cystitis doesn't always require a dipstick. Uncomplicated pyelonephritis can be treated out patient - today we're going to show you how! We'll also teach you how to identify those high risk patients who should definitely be admitted. Here's what you need to know about the UTI. Enjoy!

Subscribe to our YouTube here: http://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=paboards

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/paboards

and

https://www.instagram.com/pance_panre_usmle_review/

Ace your exams: https://learn.physicianassistantboards.com/collections

Have questions about this podcast? Email gray@physicianassistantboards.com

Oct 16 2017

9mins

Play

Rank #12: PA Boards 03: CHF

Podcast cover
Read more

Here we dive into all the details you need to know about CHF

Nov 05 2013

24mins

Play

Rank #13: PA Boards 65: Demystifying Acid Base Disorders

Podcast cover
Read more

PhysicianAssistantBoards.com/app - Today we're going to answer a question from a listener regarding acid base disorders. It's not as hard as you think!

Aug 01 2015

10mins

Play

Rank #14: PA Boards 81: Updated DM Clinical Guidelines

Podcast cover
Read more

An updated algorithm for type 2 diabetes management from the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists (AACE) has been recently released. It includes new sections on lifestyle therapy, guiding principles, and incorporates all medications approved by the Food and Drug Administration through December 2015 for managing hyperglycemia, weight, blood pressure, and dyslipidemia.

See the show notes and the specific algorithms here.

Jan 22 2016

14mins

Play

Rank #15: Hypoythroid - a clinical review (part 1)

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we're going to go in depth for all you practicing clinicians with hypothyroidism. Were talking prevalence, etiology, pathophysiology, the different subtypes, symptoms, screening, and diagnosis. Part 2 of this lecture will focus on the management. Enjoy!

Don't forget to subscribe to the youtube :)

Website: https://physicianassistantboards.com/ Personal IG: https://www.instagram.com/and_reid PABoards IG: https://www.instagram.com/paboards FB: https://www.facebook.com/paboards1

May 02 2017

27mins

Play

Rank #16: PA Boards 14: Antibiotics

Podcast cover
Read more

Quick pharmacology review of antibiotics.  Know your contraindications!

Dec 26 2013

22mins

Play

Rank #17: PA Boards 85: CHF Mortality Reduction: Novel Medications

Podcast cover
Read more

Physicianassistantboards.com - today we will be discussing the newer medications that have been proven to reduce mortality in systolic dysfunction.

May 24 2016

13mins

Play

Rank #18: Acute Bronchitis (clinical practice + board review)

Podcast cover
Read more

We are going to cover acute bronchitis in it's entirety: definition, etiology, signs, symptoms, differential diagnosis, imaging, labs, and treatment!

Wonder if we should do a chest xray and/or get a procalcitonin level? We discuss that. We'll also discuss when to give antibiotics (controversial topic).

Subscribe to the youtube: https://youtube.com/paboards

Website: https://physicianassistantboards.com/ Personal IG: https://www.instagram.com/and_reid PABoards IG: https://www.instagram.com/paboards FB: https://www.facebook.com/paboards1

Apr 18 2017

18mins

Play

Rank #19: PA Boards 98: Candida Vulvovaginitis

Podcast cover
Read more

Well discuss the pathophysiology, signs, symptoms, diagnoses, and treatment.

How to approach your pregnant patient. What do you do with resistant candidiasis?

Clinically focused relevant review for those in family practice and OBGYN.

website: physicianassistantboards.comYoutube: youtube.com/paboards Personal Instagram: @and_reid PABoards Instagram: @paboards FB: facebook.com/paboards1

Oct 09 2016

12mins

Play

Rank #20: PA Boards 30: Rheumatoid Arthritis

Podcast cover
Read more

PhysicianAssistantBoards.com - Rheumatoid Arthritis is extremely common.  I have encountered this many times, and this can be a very debilitating disease.  As you know, the boards like to test common things, so make sure you know this information!

Apr 24 2014

21mins

Play

SOAP Notes

Podcast cover
Read more

Hi everyone you are listening to the Medgeeks podcast, thank you so much for joining. Today we're going to be talking about clinical documentation specifically, the SOAP note. Clinical documentation is incredibly important an essential skill for every clinician to master. Many people are not familiar with the proper way to write a SOAP note, I get sent a lot of questions on this, so that's why we're going to go over it today. Before you change the channel, I promise, there are going to be a lot of Pearls packed into this episode, so stick with me. I promise you'll like it. Let's get going.

-

Do you have a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here (it's free) and we'll answer on our next podcast episode: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Stay up to date with our monthly audio program; In the Know.

Get a free trial: https://www.medgeek.co/in-the-know-order-form-free

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.Instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our free resources here: https://medgeeks.co/start-here - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Jun 27 2020

10mins

Play

NS vs LR

Podcast cover
Read more

Greetings friends you're listening to the Medgeeks podcast. Today's episode is brought to you by Andy. Andy is a student who wrote into me at askmedgeeks.com with following question:  normal saline versus lactated ringers, which is better for the hypotensive patient? In practice, I’ve seen them used interchangeably, but which is better? This is a fantastic question and is going to be the subject of today’s podcast. So let's jump in.

Do you have a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here (it's free) and we'll answer on our next podcast episode: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Stay up to date with our monthly audio program; In the Know.

Get a free trial: https://www.medgeek.co/in-the-know-order-form-free

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.Instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our free resources here: https://medgeeks.co/start-here - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Jun 12 2020

9mins

Play

Hypersensitivity Reactions

Podcast cover
Read more

A 16 year old male is being seen in the ER for cellulitis and a skin abscess. He has already undergone I & D of the abscess and he's waiting to be discharged. You order a shot of Clindamycin, 600mg to be given IM prior to his discharge. Five minutes later, you're called back into the room and you see the patient is in respiratory distress and having very labored breathing. His face is puffy and his voice sounds muffled.

As you consider what to do next, you are struck with a very important question. What type of hypersensitivity reaction is this again? Is it the one with IgE, type 1, type 2, I can't quite remember. Okay, not really that's really not the most important thing at the moment, you know its anaphylaxis, you know that you need to give him Epi; so you draw up 0.5mg and you give it IM, probably saving this guy's life.

So I'll admit maybe the type of hypersensitivity reaction isn't the most clinically relevant information in a crisis situation, but I will say hypersensitivity reactions are high-yield in terms of board review, and they also shed light on the pathophysiology behind many common diseases. Today on the Medgeeks podcast we discuss hypersensitivity reactions.

-

Do you have a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here (it's free) and we'll answer on our next podcast episode: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Stay up to date with our monthly audio program; In the Know.

Get a free trial: https://www.medgeek.co/in-the-know-order-form-free

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.Instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our free resources here: https://medgeeks.co/start-here - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

May 04 2020

9mins

Play

Mechanical Ventilation 101 For Providers

Podcast cover
Read more

We recently held a live training to discuss mechanical ventilation for providers (especially for those without any experience).

There are many being deployed to help, that aren't versed in vents, and so we held this to give you the basics regarding mechanical ventilation.

This is the replay of that training, along with a Q&A session at the end of the training.

Want to keep learning with Joe Rad PA-C? Get a free 1 month trial for In The Know - our monthly audio program designed to help you stay up to date in internal medicine and primary care.

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our free resources here: https://medgeeks.co/start-here - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog. 

Apr 14 2020

1hr 32mins

Play

COVID-19 Update

Podcast cover
Read more

Hello everybody Welcome to the Medgeeks podcast, this is your host Eric Gordon and today we're talking about COVID-19. This is going to be an update, you know we did the earlier COVID episode about a month ago now, a lot has changed since that time. When I recorded the last show there were about 100,000 cases worldwide and 164 confirmed cases in the US.

Today those numbers are 1.8, million, and 556,000, obviously from a numbers standpoint, things have increased dramatically as somewhat expected. 

Everyone listening to this right now has been affected by COVID-19, whether it's because you are a hospital or a critical care provider, seeing these patients caring for them daily. Maybe you work in Rheumatology and you've had to shut down your office. Maybe you're taking a pay cut because you've worked in surgery and now you have to only do emergent cases. 

Perhaps you've been laid off completely. I know there's a lot of students out there who listen to this podcast and I know they're being affected by this. You can't go to class right now, your clinical rotations are being put on hold, graduations are being delayed as a result. It really is a difficult, and heartbreaking situation that we're all going through and everyone's experiencing it a little bit differently. 

Before we jump into the information that I wanted to cover today, I want to let y'all know that I want to use this podcast to grow our community, bring us together through this, as you probably know, we use the website askmedgeeks.com for you to submit questions that you want answered here on the podcast. I’d like to utilize that website in a little bit of a different way. 

I want to hear from you all about your experiences with COVID. If it's you personally, maybe a co-worker, a friend that you know that works in healthcare, I'd really like to hear a story about how it's affecting you guys. What we as healthcare workers are going through and doing in response to COVID-19, so if you have a story that you would like for me to share here on the podcast just to kind of bring us all together please send that to askmedgeeks.com, it's gonna say “what's your question for the podcast?”, but for this just send me some information. I want to hear from y'all, and of course, let me know if you feel comfortable with me, utilizing your name, when I do read the story or not.

As far as what we're going to talk about today, you know, last time we kind of talked about background information, the biology of SARS coronavirus 2. Today let's start by talking about some Updated STATs, and then we're going to talk about a little bit more of a deeper dive into treatment. 

So this data was pulled from April 13, just like last time these numbers are going to be outdated almost immediately but this from April 13. 

The worldwide number of cases is about 1.8 million, and the worldwide death count is 117,000. In the United States there are 566,000 cases and approximately 23,000 deaths. New York State has 10,000, of those deaths. 

Over the past several days, the number of new hospitalizations and ICU admissions has slowed down a little bit in New York City however the daily death rate in New York City is at kind of a steady, yet alarmingly high plateau for the past few days, seeing over 700 deaths per day, due to COVID-19. 

Do you a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here (it's free) and we'll answer on our next podcast episode: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Stay up to date with our monthly audio program In the Know. Get a free trial: https://www.medgeek.co/in-the-know-order-form-free

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our free resources here: https://medgeeks.co/start-here - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog. 

Apr 14 2020

19mins

Play

Aortic Dissection

Podcast cover
Read more

Your next patient is a 62yo M brought to the emergency department complaining of acute onset chest pain that radiates to his neck.

The EKG is normal sinus rhythm (NSR) with no ischemic changes. The patient’s blood pressure is 164/92 in the right arm; and 132/78 in the left arm.

What's the next step for this patient? What labs do we need? What imaging do we need? This is a patient who very well may die today if you don't do things correctly and quickly.

Today on the Medgeek's podcast we discuss Aortic Dissection.

-

Do you have a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here (it's free) and we'll answer on our next podcast episode: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Stay up to date with our monthly audio program; In the Know.

Get a free trial: https://www.medgeek.co/in-the-know-order-form-free

-

Follow us on Instagram here:

https://www.Instagram.com/medgeeksinc

-

Check out our free resources here:

https://medgeeks.co/start-here

-

This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Mar 24 2020

15mins

Play

COVID-19

Podcast cover
Read more

Get our free pocket book: https://www.medgeek.co/book

-

A 19-year-old male presents the emergency department complaining of cough and fever. He states he wants to get checked out because he's worried he may have coronavirus. He has normal vital signs and he appears clinically well. There is no recent travel history nor recent known known exposure, to anyone with either confirmed or suspected COVID-19.

How do you approach this patient? What are the testing guidelines and the testing capabilities? How can we as clinicians communicate with our patients effectively about COVID-19?

With all the misinformation on social media and various news outlets it comes down to us to be the voice of truth for our patients. Today on the Medgeeks podcast we discuss COVID-19.

-

Do you have a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here (it's free) and we'll answer on our next podcast episode: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Stay up to date with our monthly audio program; In the Know.

Get a free trial:

https://www.medgeek.co/in-the-know-order-form-free

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.Instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our free resources here: https://medgeeks.co/start-here - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Mar 09 2020

16mins

Play

Sarcoidosis

Podcast cover
Read more

A 39yo F presents to you for cough that she has had for 7 months. It is a dry cough that she has assumed is related to her allergies. Nothing makes this cough go away. She takes no medications, other than Zyrtec daily and has no PMHx. Over the past 2-3 weeks she develops, fatigue, night sweats and even reports a fever.

It seems this may be a bit more than simple allergies. You wisely obtain a CXR to evaluate this chronic cough with now constitutional symptoms and you believe you have your answer when you see the finding of bilateral hilar adenopathy.

Now, how to manage it? What tests need to be ordered further? What advice do you give this patient? What are we going to do?

On today's podcast we dive into the curious and fascinating disease known as sarcoidosis.

-

Do you have a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here (it's free) and we'll answer on our next podcast episode: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Stay up to date with our monthly audio program In the Know.

Get a free trial: https://www.medgeek.co/in-the-know-order-form-free

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc

-

Check out our free resources here: https://medgeeks.co/start-here

-

This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Feb 10 2020

14mins

Play

Scaphoid Fracture

Podcast cover
Read more

A 43 year old male presents to the emergency department with right wrist pain after falling on his outstretched right hand. You obtain an  x-ray of the wrist, which demonstrates no acute fracture or dislocation. The patient is neurovascularly intact, you decided to discharge the patient home with instructions to treat with: ice, rest, and some naproxen.

14 months later, you're being sued by this very same patient, apparently, after you saw the patient their wrist pain never got better and in fact it persisted for over 8 months before they were finally seen again at another facility. They were then referred on to hand surgery where the diagnosis of a Scaphoid Fracture with Osteonecrosis due to non-union was made. 

The patient is suing you because they say you missed the fracture and now they have chronic wrist pain and limited functionality of the hand, so they're unable to make a living as a plumber, and their quality of life has dropped significantly. This is a fictional story, but very very common. Today we're going to talk about how to diagnose and how to not get burned by Scaphoid Fractures.

-

Do you a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here (it's free) and we'll answer on our next podcast episode: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Stay up to date with our monthly audio program In the Know. Get a free trial:

https://www.medgeek.co/in-the-know-order-form-free

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our free resources here: https://medgeeks.co/start-here - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog. 

Feb 03 2020

16mins

Play

Shared Decision Making

Podcast cover
Read more

You have two patients. One is a 53 year old male with a past medical history of diabetes, and he's presenting to the emergency room with an abscess on his upper back, it has been growing larger for the past four days. His vitals are significant for a heart rate of 108 and temp of 99.9.

Meanwhile down the hall, you're also seeing a 25 year old female who recently gave birth three weeks ago, she complains of chills, fatigue, and back pain. She has normal vital signs aside from tachycardia of 131.

I saw both of these patients during a recent shift, and today I want to go over each case as a way to discuss a very important topic and how we as providers, communicate with, and ultimately care for our patients.

Today we're talking about shared decision making.

-

Do you have a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here (it's free) and we'll answer on our next podcast episode: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Stay up to date with our monthly audio program In the Know. Get a free trial: https://www.medgeek.co/in-the-know-order-form-free

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our free resources here: https://medgeeks.co/start-here - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Jan 24 2020

11mins

Play

Cornea Pathology

Podcast cover
Read more

A 36 year old man presents to your Urgent Care complaining of progressively worsening left eye pain. It started as a scratchy feeling three days ago but now it's worse. He can barely even open it, due to the pain and the light sensitivity. When you examine the eye it's red, and there is purulent drainage. Is this pinkeye? Could it be something worse? Today let's discuss pathology relating to the cornea.

Do you a have question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here (it's free) and we'll answer on our next podcast episode: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Stay up to date with our monthly audio program In the Know: https://medgeeks.samcart.com/products/in-the-know

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our free resources here: https://medgeeks.co/start-here - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Jan 20 2020

18mins

Play

Atrial Fibrillation

Podcast cover
Read more

Private group tutoring for the boards ends soon. Learn more here: https://www.medgeek.co/webinar-registration28559462

-

We're going to be continuing this month of December with cardiology. The first two weeks we discussed murmurs and this week we'll be discussing atrial fibrillation. 

Believe it or not, but atrial fibrillation is the most common arrhythmia. This is going to be characterized as an irregular rate of the atria.

So, let's dive into presentation, EKG findings, and management. We'll also be hitting a little atrial flutter as we go.

-

Enrollment for group coaching to work with us live to help you pass the boards ends soon; learn more here: https://www.medgeek.co/private-group-training1

-

This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Dec 20 2019

13mins

Play

Stenosis and Regurgitation

Podcast cover
Read more

Free cardiology replay training: https://www.medgeek.co/cardio

-

Today, we'll be breaking down the various valvular lesions and murmurs, including mitral stenosis, mitral regurgitation, aortic stenosis, and aortic regurgitation.

If you want to keep learning cardiology with us, then make sure to catch our free cardiology training here: https://www.medgeek.co/cardio

-

This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Dec 13 2019

20mins

Play

Murmurs

Podcast cover
Read more

Join our free cardiology training: https://www.medgeek.co/cardio

-

After doing private tutoring with students and clinicians, we've realized that cardiology is a major sticking point! After all, it's the biggest section on most board exams!

Understanding murmurs has also given a ton of pain to students. So today, we'll be simplifying things for you!

If you want to keep learning cardiology with us, then make sure to register to our live training December 12, 2019 6 pm PT. Register free here: https://www.medgeek.co/cardio

-

This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Dec 06 2019

17mins

Play

Anemia Part 3- Macrocytic Anemia

Podcast cover
Read more

Welcome to the medgeeks podcast, this is Eric Gordon and we are going to be finishing up our conversation on anemia today. If you haven't done so already be sure and check out our two previous episodes on anemia. Part One was microcytic anemia and Part Two normocytic.

Today we are finishing up with part three and that is macrocytic anemia. We're talking B12, we’re talking folate, we're talking alcohol.

We're going to get into the workup to figure out what's causing a macrocytic anemia and of course we will talk about treatment as well. So let's get into this.

Do you have a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here (it's free) and we'll answer on our next podcast episode: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-Stay up to date with our monthly audio program In the Know:

https://medgeeks.samcart.com/products/in-the-know

-

Follow us on Instagram here:

https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc

-

Check out our free resources here:

https://medgeeks.co/start-here

-

This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Nov 20 2019

15mins

Play

Anemia Part 2 - Normocytic Anemia

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we are continuing our discussion on anemia, and we are focusing Normocytic Anemia.

If you missed it last week, we talked about Microcytic Anemia. If you missed it go check it out.

Lets go ahead and get started:

Today we are going to discuss:

  • How to approach Normocytic Anemia
  • Best way to work-up Normocytic Anemia
  • The Causes and Pathophysiology
    1. Decreased Production
    2. Increased destruction or sequestration
    3. Blood-loss
    4. Fluid over-load
  • The most common cause of Normocytic Anemia - Anemia of Chronic Disease
  • Best place to start if your patient has Normocytic Anemia
    • Peripheral Smear!
  • The caveats of Normocytic Anemia

Next week we will finish up and discuss Macrocytic Anemia.

Do you have a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here (it's free) and we'll answer on our next podcast episode: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Stay up to date with our monthly audio program In the Know: https://medgeeks.samcart.com/products/in-the-know

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our free resources here: https://medgeeks.co/start-here -

This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Nov 09 2019

12mins

Play

Anemia Part 1 - Microcytic Anemia

Podcast cover
Read more

A 21 yo F presents c/o of increasing fatigue and occasional SOB. Her sx have been gradual in onset over the past few weeks. She denies: chest pain, cough, fever & leg edema. Vital signs are normal. No other complaints or Past Medical History.

You obtain some labs that show you what you believe to be the answer.

  • Hgb - 7.8

3 months ago:

  • Hgb - 12.5

Whats the next step? What's the cause? How do you manage this?

This week on the Medgeeks podcasts we discuss.. ANEMIA!

Do you have a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here (it's free) and we'll answer on our next podcast episode: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Stay up to date with our monthly audio program In the Know: https://medgeeks.samcart.com/products/in-the-know

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our free resources here: https://medgeeks.co/start-here -

This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Nov 08 2019

14mins

Play

Orbital Cellulitis

Podcast cover
Read more

Your next patient is an 8yo girl; her mother brought her to your office because she has a red painful left eye. Her mother believes this is “Pink Eye”.  There has been no drainage or any known exposure.

On exam, you see a significant amount of edema and erythema of the upper and lower eyelids and the surrounding soft tissue. The patient’s eye is effectively swollen shut and she is complaining of pain when you try to open the eye. However, you can see there is conjunctival injection.

She has a low grade fever of 101.3, but otherwise she is non-toxic appearing and behaving normally.

So what do you think is going on? How are you going to approach this patient’s symptoms? Is the mother right about this being pink eye?

Today, on the Medgeeks podcast, we’ll be discussing acute eye complaints.

We’ll be discussing:

  • How to differentiate between Pre-septal and Periorbital Cellulitis.
  • What you’ll see on your Physical Exam
  • How to treat orbital cellulitis

Do you have a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here (it's free) and we'll answer on our next podcast episode: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Stay up to date with our monthly audio program In the Know: https://medgeeks.samcart.com/products/in-the-know

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our free resources here: https://medgeeks.co/start-here - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Oct 30 2019

11mins

Play

Approaching Vertigo!

Podcast cover
Read more

A 43 year old male with a past medical history of hypertension, diabetes, and hyperlipidemia presents to the emergency department with dizziness that started 14 hours ago.

He complains of nausea and vomiting.

He denies recent trauma, fever, headache, visual disturbance, or weakness. He says he requires the assistance of his wife to walk because he feels unsteady. 

His symptoms are relieved when he sits down at rest, but they never fully resolve. When you speak to him, his symptoms looks a lot like vertigo. 

He tells you that his dad had vertigo and he would lay down and turn his head in different directions. But, you know this could be more serious than a simple case of BPPV.

So, how are you going to approach this patient, to differentiate what's causing his symptoms?

Today, on the Medgeeks podcast, we'll be discussing dizziness! 

-

Do you a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Oct 21 2019

22mins

Play

Mastoiditis

Podcast cover
Read more

Ear pain!

I see it almost every shift in the ED. Most of the time it is pretty routine stuff, otitis media, swimmer's ear, occasionally a foreign body in the case of some adventurous toddlers. 

Bottom line, not really emergencies, MOST OF THE TIME!

But what happens when ear pain presents in a really sick patient, who's at risk for serious life threatening complications if they are not managed appropriately today, right now?

Today on the Medgeeks podcast we're talking Mastoiditis!

Do you a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Oct 16 2019

15mins

Play

iTunes Ratings

712 Ratings
Average Ratings
651
39
13
5
4

Suggestion

By Elena14159 - Feb 25 2020
Read more
I like but wish you wouldnt give the diagnosis away in the title.

Super

By Nil.che - Oct 15 2019
Read more
The most usefull podcast ever 🙏❤️