Cover image of Medgeeks Clinical Review Podcast
(632)

Rank #7 in Medicine category

Education
Health & Fitness
Medicine

Medgeeks Clinical Review Podcast

Updated 2 days ago

Rank #7 in Medicine category

Education
Health & Fitness
Medicine
Read more

Our goal is to change the way students and clinicians learn medicine. We are dedicated to providing the best medical content to help clinicians get through school, the boards, and to excel in clinical practice.

Read more

Our goal is to change the way students and clinicians learn medicine. We are dedicated to providing the best medical content to help clinicians get through school, the boards, and to excel in clinical practice.

iTunes Ratings

632 Ratings
Average Ratings
580
34
11
4
3

Super

By Nil.che - Oct 15 2019
Read more
The most usefull podcast ever ūüôŹ‚̧ԳŹ

Thank you!

By Kizziat - Sep 11 2019
Read more
Great format and variety of topics! Thank you!

iTunes Ratings

632 Ratings
Average Ratings
580
34
11
4
3

Super

By Nil.che - Oct 15 2019
Read more
The most usefull podcast ever ūüôŹ‚̧ԳŹ

Thank you!

By Kizziat - Sep 11 2019
Read more
Great format and variety of topics! Thank you!

Listen to:

Cover image of Medgeeks Clinical Review Podcast

Medgeeks Clinical Review Podcast

Updated 2 days ago

Read more

Our goal is to change the way students and clinicians learn medicine. We are dedicated to providing the best medical content to help clinicians get through school, the boards, and to excel in clinical practice.

PA Boards 46: Clinical Antibiotic Pharmacology

Podcast cover
Read more

PhysicianAssistantBoards.com/Antibiotics - Visit the URL to download the lecture notes free!  Today were going to talk about when to use which antibiotics.  When will we choose penicillin, azithromycin, or moxifloxacin?  Lets try and break this down to make it as easy as possible!

Aug 14 2014

22mins

Play

PA Boards 119: Systolic Murmurs with Audio Clips

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we'll be covering the systolic murmurs - high yield facts along with audio clips so you can commit these to memory :) The murmurs discussed include: aortic stenosis, pulmonic stenosis, mitral regurgitation, mitral valve prolapse, and tricuspid regurgitation.

Make sure to subscribe to the youtube channel here as we're answering questions Monday - Friday :)

Website: https://physicianassistantboards.com/ Personal IG: https://www.instagram.com/and_reid PABoards IG: https://www.instagram.com/paboards FB: https://www.facebook.com/paboards1

Feb 18 2017

8mins

Play

PA Boards 94: Everything B12 Deficiency

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we're going to discuss everything you need to know about B12 deficiency for the boards and clinical practice. Website: physicianassistantboards.com Personal IG: @and_reid PABoards IG: @paboards FB: Facebook.com/paboards1

Sep 13 2016

14mins

Play

PA Boards 61: Murmurs - a quick pearl!

Podcast cover
Read more

Physicianassistantboards.com/app - I'll be giving out a couple pearls on differentiating murmurs. Also, check out the website because I'm building a review app for you! It will be available on iOS and google play. Go to the above page and enter your email - I plan on giving away a few apps :)

Jul 02 2015

7mins

Play

Sepsis Explained & Made Easy

Podcast cover
Read more

Today, we'll be simplifying sepsis. Specifically, we'll be covering: 1. Infection vs bactermia vs sepsis vs septic shock vs MODS 2. The patient presentation 3. How to perform the HPI 4. What labs need to be ordered? 5. Treatment options 6. When to start pressors 7. Monitoring treatment response

We're covering exactly what you need to know to understand this complicated topic. Any questions? Leave a comment or email gray@physicianassistantboards.com

Aug 28 2017

24mins

Play

PA Boards 100: Migraine Pharmacology

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we're going to discuss abortive and prophylactic therapies for migraine. We'll go into the pharmacology to help you create a game plan for your patients. Enjoy :)

Website: https://www.physicianasssitantboards.com Personal IG: https://www.instagram.com/and_reid PABoards IG: https://www.instagram.com/paboards FB: https://www.facebook.com/paboards

Oct 28 2016

20mins

Play

PA Boards 106: Clinical Pearls for Chlamydia & Gonorrhea

Podcast cover
Read more

Today, we'll discuss signs, symptoms, complications, diagnosis, and treatment options for both chlamydia and gonorrhea. This is a clinical talk - meaning we'll go over real world scenarios (a little different when compared to board review).

Website: http://physicianassistantboards.com Personal IG: https://www.instagram.com/and_reid PABoards IG: https://www.instagram.com/paboards FB: https://www.facebook.com/paboards1

Dec 21 2016

15mins

Play

UTI: Acute Cystitis vs. Pyelonephritis

Podcast cover
Read more

Pyelonephritis doesn't always present text book and cystitis doesn't always require a dipstick. Uncomplicated pyelonephritis can be treated out patient - today we're going to show you how! We'll also teach you how to identify those high risk patients who should definitely be admitted. Here's what you need to know about the UTI. Enjoy!

Subscribe to our YouTube here: http://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=paboards

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/paboards

and

https://www.instagram.com/pance_panre_usmle_review/

Ace your exams: https://learn.physicianassistantboards.com/collections

Have questions about this podcast? Email gray@physicianassistantboards.com

Oct 16 2017

9mins

Play

Hypoythroid - a clinical review (part 1)

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we're going to go in depth for all you practicing clinicians with hypothyroidism. Were talking prevalence, etiology, pathophysiology, the different subtypes, symptoms, screening, and diagnosis. Part 2 of this lecture will focus on the management. Enjoy!

Don't forget to subscribe to the youtube :)

Website: https://physicianassistantboards.com/ Personal IG: https://www.instagram.com/and_reid PABoards IG: https://www.instagram.com/paboards FB: https://www.facebook.com/paboards1

May 02 2017

27mins

Play

PA Boards 82: Migraine Headache

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we're going to be talking migraine headaches from a clinical standpoint. I'm going to present the many presentations you can expect to encounter when dealing with a migraine. This lecture is pulled straight from PA Boards Elite - which is our new membership site. Here I'll teach you how to approach patients  CLINICALLY - so you feel comfortable seeing patients on your own. You can learn more at physicianassistantboards.com/elite

Feb 23 2016

28mins

Play

PA Boards 71: Vertigo Made Simple

Podcast cover
Read more

Physicianassistantboards.com/audio - Announcement: I uploaded the GI portion of the new audio review course to the website for FREE download. Simply go to physicianasssitantboards.com/audio and hit the free download. You'll have instant access to 53 minutes of focused gastroenterology review for FREE :)

On todays episode we answer a listeners question regarding vertigo. He wants to know when an MRI is indicated in the evaluation of vertigo. So, we decipher peripherl vs central causes and we discuss when an MRI is indicated.

Sep 15 2015

11mins

Play

PA Boards 33: Cardiology Review Questions

Podcast cover
Read more

PhysicianAssitantBoards.com - Today were going to do things a little bit differently.  Were going to go over some caridology Q&A.  Because I am writing a PANCE review book, I thought I'd share a sampling of the review questions that I have included in there for you.  I would love to send a copy of the first chapter to those who are interested.  If you are, shoot me an email @ andrewreid@physicianassistantboards.com or go over on the website and send me a message through the contact form.  The only requirement that I have is that you send me an email back with some feedback; what you liked or didn't liked about the chapter.  Thanks!

May 15 2014

17mins

Play

PA Boards 03: CHF

Podcast cover
Read more

Here we dive into all the details you need to know about CHF

Nov 05 2013

24mins

Play

PA Boards 90: Irritable Bowel Syndrome

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we're going to go into a little detail regarding IBS: etiology, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment. Website: physicianassistantboards.com IG: instagram.com/paboards FB: Facebook.com/paboards1

Aug 26 2016

13mins

Play

PA Boards 98: Candida Vulvovaginitis

Podcast cover
Read more

Well discuss the pathophysiology, signs, symptoms, diagnoses, and treatment.

How to approach your pregnant patient. What do you do with resistant candidiasis?

Clinically focused relevant review for those in family practice and OBGYN.

website: physicianassistantboards.comYoutube: youtube.com/paboards Personal Instagram: @and_reid PABoards Instagram: @paboards FB: facebook.com/paboards1

Oct 09 2016

12mins

Play

PA Boards 81: Updated DM Clinical Guidelines

Podcast cover
Read more

An updated algorithm for type 2 diabetes management from the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists (AACE) has been recently released. It includes new sections on lifestyle therapy, guiding principles, and incorporates all medications approved by the Food and Drug Administration through December 2015 for managing hyperglycemia, weight, blood pressure, and dyslipidemia.

See the show notes and the specific algorithms here.

Jan 22 2016

14mins

Play

Approaching Vertigo!

Podcast cover
Read more

A 43 year old male with a past medical history of hypertension, diabetes, and hyperlipidemia presents to the emergency department with dizziness that started 14 hours ago.

He complains of nausea and vomiting.

He denies recent trauma, fever, headache, visual disturbance, or weakness. He says he requires the assistance of his wife to walk because he feels unsteady. 

His symptoms are relieved when he sits down at rest, but they never fully resolve. When you speak to him, his symptoms looks a lot like vertigo. 

He tells you that his dad had vertigo and he would lay down and turn his head in different directions. But, you know this could be more serious than a simple case of BPPV.

So, how are you going to approach this patient, to differentiate what's causing his symptoms?

Today, on the Medgeeks podcast, we'll be discussing dizziness! 

-

Do you a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Oct 21 2019

22mins

Play

Acute Bronchitis (clinical practice + board review)

Podcast cover
Read more

We are going to cover acute bronchitis in it's entirety: definition, etiology, signs, symptoms, differential diagnosis, imaging, labs, and treatment!

Wonder if we should do a chest xray and/or get a procalcitonin level? We discuss that. We'll also discuss when to give antibiotics (controversial topic).

Subscribe to the youtube: https://youtube.com/paboards

Website: https://physicianassistantboards.com/ Personal IG: https://www.instagram.com/and_reid PABoards IG: https://www.instagram.com/paboards FB: https://www.facebook.com/paboards1

Apr 18 2017

18mins

Play

PA Boards 14: Antibiotics

Podcast cover
Read more

Quick pharmacology review of antibiotics.  Know your contraindications!

Dec 26 2013

22mins

Play

PA Boards 85: CHF Mortality Reduction: Novel Medications

Podcast cover
Read more

Physicianassistantboards.com - today we will be discussing the newer medications that have been proven to reduce mortality in systolic dysfunction.

May 24 2016

13mins

Play

Murmurs

Podcast cover
Read more

Join our free cardiology training: https://www.medgeek.co/cardio

-

After doing private tutoring with students and clinicians, we've realized that cardiology is a major sticking point! After all, it's the biggest section on most board exams!

Understanding murmurs has also given a ton of pain to students. So today, we'll be simplifying things for you!

If you want to keep learning cardiology with us, then make sure to register to our live training December 12, 2019 6 pm PT. Register free here: https://www.medgeek.co/cardio

-

This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Dec 06 2019

17mins

Play

Anemia Part 3- Macrocytic Anemia

Podcast cover
Read more

Welcome to the medgeeks podcast, this is Eric Gordon and we are going to be finishing up our conversation on anemia today. If you haven't done so already be sure and check out our two previous episodes on anemia. Part One was microcytic anemia and Part Two normocytic.

Today we are finishing up with part three and that is macrocytic anemia. We're talking B12, we’re talking folate, we're talking alcohol.

We're going to get into the workup to figure out what's causing a macrocytic anemia and of course we will talk about treatment as well. So let's get into this.

Do you have a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here (it's free) and we'll answer on our next podcast episode: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-Stay up to date with our monthly audio program In the Know:

https://medgeeks.samcart.com/products/in-the-know

-

Follow us on Instagram here:

https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc

-

Check out our free resources here:

https://medgeeks.co/start-here

-

This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Nov 20 2019

15mins

Play

Anemia Part 2 - Normocytic Anemia

Podcast cover
Read more

Today we are continuing our discussion on anemia, and we are focusing Normocytic Anemia.

If you missed it last week, we talked about Microcytic Anemia. If you missed it go check it out.

Lets go ahead and get started:

Today we are going to discuss:

  • How to approach Normocytic Anemia
  • Best way to work-up Normocytic Anemia
  • The Causes and Pathophysiology
    1. Decreased Production
    2. Increased destruction or sequestration
    3. Blood-loss
    4. Fluid over-load
  • The most common cause of Normocytic Anemia - Anemia of Chronic Disease
  • Best place to start if your patient has Normocytic Anemia
    • Peripheral Smear!
  • The caveats of Normocytic Anemia

Next week we will finish up and discuss Macrocytic Anemia.

Do you have a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here (it's free) and we'll answer on our next podcast episode: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Stay up to date with our monthly audio program In the Know: https://medgeeks.samcart.com/products/in-the-know

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our free resources here: https://medgeeks.co/start-here -

This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Nov 09 2019

12mins

Play

Anemia Part 1 - Microcytic Anemia

Podcast cover
Read more

A 21 yo F presents c/o of increasing fatigue and occasional SOB. Her sx have been gradual in onset over the past few weeks. She denies: chest pain, cough, fever & leg edema. Vital signs are normal. No other complaints or Past Medical History.

You obtain some labs that show you what you believe to be the answer.

  • Hgb - 7.8

3 months ago:

  • Hgb - 12.5

Whats the next step? What's the cause? How do you manage this?

This week on the Medgeeks podcasts we discuss.. ANEMIA!

Do you have a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here (it's free) and we'll answer on our next podcast episode: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Stay up to date with our monthly audio program In the Know: https://medgeeks.samcart.com/products/in-the-know

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our free resources here: https://medgeeks.co/start-here -

This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Nov 08 2019

14mins

Play

Orbital Cellulitis

Podcast cover
Read more

Your next patient is an 8yo girl; her mother brought her to your office because she has a red painful left eye. Her mother believes this is ‚ÄúPink Eye‚ÄĚ.¬† There has been no drainage or any known exposure.

On exam, you see a significant amount of edema and erythema of the upper and lower eyelids and the surrounding soft tissue. The patient’s eye is effectively swollen shut and she is complaining of pain when you try to open the eye. However, you can see there is conjunctival injection.

She has a low grade fever of 101.3, but otherwise she is non-toxic appearing and behaving normally.

So what do you think is going on? How are you going to approach this patient’s symptoms? Is the mother right about this being pink eye?

Today, on the Medgeeks podcast, we’ll be discussing acute eye complaints.

We’ll be discussing:

  • How to differentiate between Pre-septal and Periorbital Cellulitis.
  • What you‚Äôll see on your Physical Exam
  • How to treat orbital cellulitis

Do you have a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here (it's free) and we'll answer on our next podcast episode: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Stay up to date with our monthly audio program In the Know: https://medgeeks.samcart.com/products/in-the-know

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our free resources here: https://medgeeks.co/start-here - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Oct 30 2019

11mins

Play

Approaching Vertigo!

Podcast cover
Read more

A 43 year old male with a past medical history of hypertension, diabetes, and hyperlipidemia presents to the emergency department with dizziness that started 14 hours ago.

He complains of nausea and vomiting.

He denies recent trauma, fever, headache, visual disturbance, or weakness. He says he requires the assistance of his wife to walk because he feels unsteady. 

His symptoms are relieved when he sits down at rest, but they never fully resolve. When you speak to him, his symptoms looks a lot like vertigo. 

He tells you that his dad had vertigo and he would lay down and turn his head in different directions. But, you know this could be more serious than a simple case of BPPV.

So, how are you going to approach this patient, to differentiate what's causing his symptoms?

Today, on the Medgeeks podcast, we'll be discussing dizziness! 

-

Do you a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Oct 21 2019

22mins

Play

Mastoiditis

Podcast cover
Read more

Ear pain!

I see it almost every shift in the ED. Most of the time it is pretty routine stuff, otitis media, swimmer's ear, occasionally a foreign body in the case of some adventurous toddlers. 

Bottom line, not really emergencies, MOST OF THE TIME!

But what happens when ear pain presents in a really sick patient, who's at risk for serious life threatening complications if they are not managed appropriately today, right now?

Today on the Medgeeks podcast we're talking Mastoiditis!

Do you a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Oct 16 2019

15mins

Play

Hypercalcemia

Podcast cover
Read more

Your patient is furious!

He showed up to your office this morning demanding to speak with you regarding his most recent lab results.

You had seen him for a routine visit two days ago, and you haven't had a chance to review the results, that came in late last evening...

...but the patient had.

While reviewing the labs through his patient portal, the patient noticed something that concerned him very much: he noted his calcium was elevated.

Not knowing what that means, he did what any sensible person would do, he googled it and of course he found out that his high calcium is probably due to cancer.

Yes, another diagnosis of cancer made by google!

So, he's upset that he wasn't immediately called in for this, and instead had to figure this out on his own; this is no doubt driving much of his anger.

Nonetheless, you better know what you're talking about, in this very important conversation you're about to have.

So, today on the Medgeeks podcast, we'll be discussing hypercalcemia!

-

Do you a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Oct 07 2019

12mins

Play

Ankle Injuries

Podcast cover
Read more

Does every twisted ankle need to be imaged?

Does a negative ankle x-ray mean there isn't any need for ortho followup? 

Does every ankle fracture need to be placed in a splint and made non-weight bearing?

Today, we'll be discussing the high yield topics related to ankle injuries...as well as some clinical pearls, so you don't get burned!

At the end, we'll be staring a question from one of our listeners, regarding thee DVT.

Do you a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

-

Do you a medical or board review question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here to be featured on the next podcast: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Sep 30 2019

16mins

Play

Croup

Podcast cover
Read more

Do you a medical or board review question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here to be featured on the next podcast: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

 -

Your first patient of the morning is an 18 month year old female patient who's brought to the clinic by her mother. 

The chief complaint is cough and difficulty breathing. The patients mother states she was up all night due to the nearly constant coughing.

On exam, the girl appears very fatigued. She has a pervasive non-productive barking cough. You also notice there is tachypnea and stridor. 

Her O2 saturation is 97% and her lungs are clear.

So, what's the plan?

Today on the Medgeeks podcast, we'll be discussing croup!

If you work primary care, urgent care, pediatrics, or in the emergency departmeent, then you're bound to see this! It's common and most of the time it's not that big of a deal. 

But, when it is a big deal, it's a very big deal.

Today we'll share:

  • How to recognize this disease process
  • How to know when it is a big deal

At the end of the podcast we'll be answering a question from our listeners regarding hypertonic saline.

Do you a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

-

Do you a medical or board review question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here to be featured on the next podcast: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

Have a question you want answered on the podcast? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com/question

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Sep 23 2019

14mins

Play

[part 2] Pulmonary Embolism

Podcast cover
Read more

Today is part 2 of our discussion regarding pulmonary embolism!

In part 1, we discussed the pathophysiology and presentation for pulmonary embolism. Today's episode will be focused more so on the workup of pulmonary embolism and how we're going to manage these patients.

As always, have a medical question you'd like for us to answer on the podcast? Click here to submit your question free: https://www.askmedgeeks.com/question

-

-

Do you a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

Have a question you want answered on the podcast? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com/question

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Sep 17 2019

20mins

Play

[part 1] Pulmonary Embolism

Podcast cover
Read more

Have a question you'd like us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

A 29 year old female presents to the emergency room with chest pain and shortness of breath that started last night. 

The pain is located on her right anterior chest and she describes it as sharp and stabbing and is worse when she takes a deep breath.

The EKG in triage shows she's in sinus rhythm at a rate of 114 without signs of ischemia.

She appears anxious and when asked, she states she has a history of panic attacks. She denies cough, URI symptoms, back pain, fever, leg swelling. There has been no recent travel, no prolonged immobilization, but she does take birth control pills.

How comfortable do you feel managing this patient?

Today we'll be discussing pulmonary embolism!

Want to submit your questions? Go here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com/question

-

Do you a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

Have a question you want answered on the podcast? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com/question

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Sep 10 2019

12mins

Play

Kidney stones

Podcast cover
Read more

Have a question you'd like us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

It's 7:30 am and a 55 year old male presents to your emergency department complaining of stabbing pain in his right side, which woke him up from sleep, about 20 minutes ago.

As you walk into the room, you see him pacing around, clutching his side and slightly hunched over.

He won't sit still and can barely complete a sentence before groaning from all the pain. 

He has a past medical history of hypertension and diverticulitis. He denies any associated symptoms and states yesterday he felt normal.

The triage nurse obtained a urine sample showing hematuria. What do you do...?

Today, we'll be discussing kidney stones and we will be answering a couple of your questions regarding acute kidney injury and post exposure prophylaxis after a needle stick. 

Want to submit your questions? Go here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com/question

-

Do you a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

Have a question you want answered on the podcast? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com/question

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Sep 04 2019

14mins

Play

The Neurological Exam Part 2

Podcast cover
Read more

Have a question you'd like us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

.

Today, we'll be finishing up our discussion on the neurological exam. Last week, we talked about the cranial nerves and the motor exam.

This week, for part 2, we'll be discussing reflexes and the sensory exam.

At the end, I'll go over the flow I use in the emergency department. Afterwards, we'll be answering your questions about nystagmus and right ventricular MIs.

Do you a question you'd like for us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

Have a question you want answered on the podcast? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com/question

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Aug 26 2019

16mins

Play

The Neurological Exam Part 1

Podcast cover
Read more

Have a question you'd like us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

You'll need to do a good neurological exam and make sure there aren't any deficits.

Are there any focal neuro findings?

Who's heard these things before? Who's asked themselves these things before? 

There are a ton of indications to do a complete neurological exam on a patient. Perhaps they are altered, have a headache, or have a head/spine injury?

Let's be honest here, sometimes the neuro exam can be a little tedious and daunting for both students and clinicians alike.

But, it doesn't need to be that way. Today on the Medgeeks podcast, we'll be talking about the neuro exam.

Have a question you want answered on the podcast? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com/question

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Aug 16 2019

15mins

Play

A droopy smile!

Podcast cover
Read more

Have a question you'd like us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Your next patient is a 25 year old man who called in to make a same day appointment. 

He has no past medical history, but you know him pretty well. He's always been a bit of a hypochondriac, so you figure it's probably nothing major.

When you walk in the room, the patient smiles, and you shake hands.

That's when you notice...

Today, we'll be talking Bells Palsy. 

What is it, how do we diagnose, and how do we treat?

-

Have a question you want answered on the podcast? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com/question

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Aug 10 2019

14mins

Play

Diabetic Ketoacidosis

Podcast cover
Read more

Have a question you'd like us to answer? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com

-

Your next patient is a 21 year old female who was brought in to urgent care by her husband with the chief complaint of fatigue and vomiting.

Before you go in to see the patient, you notice she has no past medical history and her vital signs are normal, aside from a heart rate of 122 BPM.

The patient thought she was coming down with something, because she was feeling very tired and lost her appetite. She developed vomiting this am. They blame the sushi they ate.

During the physical, you notice she looks very ill. She's laying on her side and holding her belly uncomfortably. Her skin looks pale and appears to be dehydrated.

So, you ask for a glucose, and come to find, it's extremely high and reads ">500".

Today, we'll be talking diabetic ketoacidosis. We will also be answering your questions at the end of our show in the Ask Medgeeks segment, which includes LFTs and clean catch urine samples.

-

Have a question you want answered on the podcast? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com/question

-

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Aug 04 2019

17mins

Play

Animal bites

Podcast cover
Read more

Register to our upcoming clinical case webinar: https://www.medgeek.co/stranger-cases-webinar

-

Your next patient is a 7 year old boy, brought in by his parents with a chief complaint that simply says, "bite".

You're walking down the hall, to the patient, all the while wondering what kind of bite we're talking about.

As you near the room, you hear the boy crying hysterically. You enter the room and see the mother trying to console the patient, holding a folded up t-shirt to the right side of his face, and there's blood all over the patient's clothes.

The boys father is angrily pacing around the room on his cell phone. 

The mother states they were playing at the park, when a very large dog began growling, and ultimately bit the patient in the face. The dog was wearing a collar, but they didn't see the owner. 

When you examine the face, you see a 3 cm hooked shaped laceration over his cheek and gaping wide open, but doesn't extend all the way to the inside of his mouth. 

As the clinician, how will you bring resolution to the family? How would you manage this patient?

Todays podcast will be all about animal bites! 

-

Have a question you want answered on the podcast? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com/question

-

 Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Jul 27 2019

20mins

Play

Ectopic Pregnancy

Podcast cover
Read more

Have a question you want answered on the podcast? Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com/question

.

A 22 year old female comes into your clinic and she's complaining of lower abdominal pain which started yesterday. 

She has no past medical history. 

The patient denies vomiting or fever. She really doesn't have any other complaints aside from the pain, which she states is sharp, but dull at times as well.

She then reveals her last menstrual period was 6 week prior.

What's one of the first things that should pop into your head when evaluating this patient?

Well, that's exactly what we'll discuss on todays episode: Ectopic Pregnancy. 

.

.

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Jul 20 2019

17mins

Play

Atraumatic Joint Pain

Podcast cover
Read more

Today, we'll be discussing the patient presenting with atraumatic joint pain and the many differentials that come along with that. We'll also be answering all the questions everyone submitted at the end of the podcast.

Have a question regarding clinical practice, school, exams, or anything medical? Submit your question (free) and we'll answer on the next episode!

Submit your question here: https://www.askmedgeeks.com/question

.

.

.

Follow us on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/medgeeksinc - Check out our course material here: https://medgeeks.co - This podcast should not be used in any legal capacity whatsoever, including but not limited to establishing standard of care in a legal sense or as a basis for expert witness testimony. No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on the podcast, video, or blog.

Jul 13 2019

25mins

Play