OwlTail

Cover image of StorageReview.com

StorageReview.com

StorageReview.com is a leading provider of news and reviews throughout the entire IT stack - from the datacenter to the edge, and all points in between.

Weekly hand curated podcast episodes for learning

Popular episodes

All episodes

Read more

StorageReview.com is a leading provider of news and reviews throughout the entire IT stack - from the datacenter to the edge, and all points in between.

Podcast #92: Intel’s Allyn Malventano Joins Brian For A Lively Discussion On PCIe Gen 5.0

Podcast cover
Read more

Brian invites Allyn Malventano to join him in the lab for an often candid discussion of SSD technology, specifically PCIe Gen 5.0. Allyn is, as he puts it, a jack-of-all-trades-storage, Storage Technical Analyst. Although Allyn works for Intel, he is tasked with understanding all vendor equipment related to storage and servers.

Brian invites Allyn Malventano to join him in the lab for an often candid discussion of SSD technology, specifically PCIe Gen 5.0. Allyn is, as he puts it, a jack-of-all-trades-storage, Storage Technical Analyst. Although Allyn works for Intel, he is tasked with understanding all vendor equipment related to storage and servers.

Allyn brought along a system for a live demo analog with Samsung’s Gen5 PM1743 SSDs. The discussion is mostly around SSDs, performance, and configuration requirements. It is a lively discussion about how to get the most from your existing system and what to look for moving forward.

Allyn and Brian discuss PCIe Gen 5 during Podcast in the StorageReview.com lab

  • Intro
  • Gen 5 discussion
  • Migration from PCIe 4 to PCIe 5
  • Discussion around rapid development and PCIe 6 coming soon
  • Overall performance
  • Allyn and Brian show off products on display

Minute 5:00

  • Phison discussion. Link to review
  • Power and heat dissipation
  • Reasons demanding heat sink
  • Testing and stress tests
  • Why move to Gen 5?

Minute 9:30

  • Gaming
  • How lanes will be used for newer SSDs with Gen 5
  • How do systems manufacturers deal with carving up the lane usage
  • Supermicro design overview
  • How to expand an existing configuration using mux or other third-party devices
  • CPU clock speeds. What’s being shown at CES.

Minute 16:00

  • Where to install into Gen 5 SSDs in an existing system
  • GPU workload performance
  • Power budget and how to control where the power is distributed
  • Dynamically adjusting lane usage
  • What is coming in SSDs for systems

Minute 25:00

  • Enterprise servers
  • How to engineer for performance
  • Reducing lane usage and potentially reducing equipment
  • Managing workloads across SSDs, power, lanes, CPU
  • Using a NUC to split workload usage
  • Drobo storage device

Minute 35:00

  • Allyn reminisces about his time in the Navy and how it affected system design
  • Discussion around parity and redundancy
  • SSD Adapter cards and how they work
  • How the system on display is configured
  • Drives used in the system

Minute 40:00

  • Live demo
  • Using Samsung PM-1743 Drives
  • Iometer display to illustrate the performance

Minute 45:00

  • Wrap up
  • Allyn’s take-aways on Gen 5 SSDs
  • Price impact because it is a niche market

Video pod on YouTube

Subscribe to our podcast:

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTokRSS Feed

The post Podcast #92: Intel’s Allyn Malventano Joins Brian For A Lively Discussion On PCIe Gen 5.0 appeared first on StorageReview.com.

Jan 13 2022

Play

Podcast #91: Bringing Supercomputing to the Enterprise with Supermicro

Podcast cover
Read more

Supermicro had one of the largest and most active booths at the recent Supercomputing show in St. Louis. Their effort was spearheaded by the new Universal GPU server launched at the event. Supermicro was also showing off liquid cooling solutions, Supercloud Composer, BigTwin, Blade Chassis and so much more. My favorite thing at the booth though might have been the most simple, Supermicro’s new toolless HDD caddy.

Supermicro had one of the largest and most active booths at the recent Supercomputing show in St. Louis. Their effort was spearheaded by the new Universal GPU server launched at the event. Supermicro was also showing off liquid cooling solutions, Supercloud Composer, BigTwin, Blade Chassis and so much more. My favorite thing at the booth though might have been the most simple, Supermicro’s new toolless HDD caddy.

Vik chatting with me on the Universal GPU server

On this podcast I talk with Vik Malyala, Managing Director & President, Supermicro EMEA; SVP, WW FAE, Solutions & Business Development. With a title that long, you’d think Vik has a pretty good handle on the extensive catalog Supermicro offers. And you’d be right. Vik and I dive into everything Supermicro was showcasing at SC21 and get into some of our favorite themes from the broader event. Critically, we talk too about how these Supercomuiting innovations can make a meaningful impact in the enterprise.

Video pod on YouTube

Subscribe to our podcast:

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTokRSS Feed

The post Podcast #91: Bringing Supercomputing to the Enterprise with Supermicro appeared first on StorageReview.com.

Dec 01 2021

Play

Podcast #90: Start Your AI Journey for Free with NVIDIA LaunchPad

Podcast cover
Read more

Less than two weeks ago, NVIDIA GA’d LaunchPad, their free-to-use AI playground. With LaunchPad, customers and prospects alike can get hands-on with a complete, and well-appointed, rig thanks to Equinix, VMware, and of course NVIDIA. Because LaunchPad runs on an easy-to-access vSphere client, it’s simple for IT professionals to pick up and go. For AI pros, NVIDIA offers a number of hands-on labs, or practitioners can bring their own AI to the test environment.

Less than two weeks ago, NVIDIA GA’d LaunchPad, their free-to-use AI playground. With LaunchPad, customers and prospects alike can get hands-on with a complete, and well-appointed, rig thanks to Equinix, VMware, and of course NVIDIA. Because LaunchPad runs on an easy-to-access vSphere client, it’s simple for IT professionals to pick up and go. For AI pros, NVIDIA offers a number of hands-on labs, or practitioners can bring their own AI to the test environment.

We’ve started to play around with LaunchPad. Our test environment is impressively robust; a Dell EMC PowerEdge R750 NVIDIA-Certified System with an NVIDIA A30 GPU. NVIDIA offers builds with T4 GPUs as well, depending on the use case.

While we amass our formal thoughts on the LaunchPad program, on this podcast I sit down with Luke Wignall from NVIDIA. While Luke’s LinkedIn title is ambiguous and perhaps optimistic, he is certainly one of the biggest workstation VDI nerds on the planet. In a fun twist of fate, that learning how GPUs can work in the enterprise is foundational to LaunchPad. On this podcast we get into the genesis of LaunchPad, more detail on what it is, and how IT practitioners and AI specialists can benefit.

For more information on NVIDIA LaunchPad click here.

NVIDIA LaunchPad Review

Video pod on YouTube

Subscribe to our podcast:

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTokRSS Feed

The post Podcast #90: Start Your AI Journey for Free with NVIDIA LaunchPad appeared first on StorageReview.com.

Nov 19 2021

Play

Podcast #89: How to Make Modern EUC Work

Podcast cover
Read more

IGEL just hosted a series of events dubbed Disrupt Unite, across the US and Europe. In-person events are exceedingly rare these days, but IGEL wants to be aggressive and part of their strategy is getting back out in front of their partners and customers. From my experience it worked out well for IGEL, I hit their Dallas event this month and spent the day with IGEL and their partners. Part of my journey included this podcast with IGEL’s CEO, Jed Ayres.

IGEL just hosted a series of events dubbed Disrupt Unite, across the US and Europe. In-person events are exceedingly rare these days, but IGEL wants to be aggressive and part of their strategy is getting back out in front of their partners and customers. From my experience it worked out well for IGEL, I hit their Dallas event this month and spent the day with IGEL and their partners. Part of my journey included this podcast with IGEL’s CEO, Jed Ayres.

Jed has been with IGEL for over five years now and often talks about how his confidants thought he was a bit nutty going to a German thin client business. IGEL has pivoted hard though under Jed’s leadership. While they still move some hardware, the emphasis is on the IGEL software that enables endpoint deployment and management for the enterprise. IGEL OS offers immediacy, security, and flexibility, things that are critical in serving a modern workforce.

Part of the great growth of IGEL comes down to partnerships. As we’ve discussed at length before, IGEL also has an integration with LG, who’s making amazing all-in-one thin clients. The world of work changed hard and fast about two years ago. We cover all of what’s new in EUC in this live and in-person conversation!

More on IGEL OS

Video pod on YouTube

Subscribe to our podcast:

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTokRSS Feed

The post Podcast #89: How to Make Modern EUC Work appeared first on StorageReview.com.

Oct 26 2021

Play

Podcast #88: PCIe Gen5 is Coming – What You Need to Know

Podcast cover
Read more

PCIe Gen5 is coming along at a rapid pace, we should see it in enterprise systems next year. From a storage perspective, this means a theoretical doubling of performance again. The data rate specification for PCIe Gen5 at 32Gb/s is twice the lane speed of PCIe Gen4 at 16Gb/s. How that manifests still remains to be seen, the SSDs that leverage PCIe Gen5 will need to be designed well. Perhaps the most important component of these SSDs will be the controller. As with Gen4, Phison is the first to announce their SSD controller for Gen5 SSDs, the Phison E26. 

PCIe Gen5 is coming along at a rapid pace, we should see it in enterprise systems next year. From a storage perspective, this means a theoretical doubling of performance again. The data rate specification for PCIe Gen5 at 32Gb/s is twice the lane speed of PCIe Gen4 at 16Gb/s. How that manifests still remains to be seen, the SSDs that leverage PCIe Gen5 will need to be designed well. Perhaps the most important component of these SSDs will be the controller. As with Gen4, Phison is the first to announce their SSD controller for Gen5 SSDs, the Phison E26. 

On this podcast, I visit with Sebastien Jean, CTO of Phison. After I start off by offending him, we get into a very deep dive on the benefits of PCIe Gen5 and how Phison has transitioned as a company to be a major player in SSD performance. We discuss in good detail the E18 controller, which is arguably the pivot point for Phison, at least in the client space. That controller paired with Micron’s latest NAND has created to the best performing drives in our lab via the Seagate FireCuda 530 and Corsair MP600 Pro XT.  Phison very much has its sights set on the enterprise market as well though, with the E26 potentially being the gateway. 

The company is proud of the E26 controller for a number of reasons. Phison makes more of the critical IP blocks inside the controller than any other company. Additionally, the E26 controller IP is developed concurrently with Phison’s firmware in a FPGA environment, even before tape out ensuring a fast time to market with the highest reliability at introduction. The E26 SSD platform will support PCIe Dual Port, SR-IOV, ZNS, and support for the newest, fastest NAND interfaces ONFI 5.x and Toggle 5.x. The E26 is a customizable SSD platform that will be available in M.2, U.3, E1.S, and E3.S form factors. All of this is very much with the enterprise in mind. 

Video pod on YouTube

Subscribe to our podcast:

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTokRSS Feed

The post Podcast #88: PCIe Gen5 is Coming – What You Need to Know appeared first on StorageReview.com.

Oct 19 2021

Play

Podcast #87: What’s Next for Azure Stack HCI with Cosmos Darwin

Podcast cover
Read more

Microsoft’s Azure Stack HCI offering has grown up a lot in the last year. We’ve looked at the solution a few times both from Dell and DataON. In fact, we just posted a review of DataON’s AZS-6224 Integrated Systems. We gave the solution an Editor’s Choice Award again. The new 3rd Gen Xeon CPUs, Gen4 Intel SSDs, and the updated Azure Stack HCI OS from Microsoft make a very compelling offering that in our case, saw over 4 million IOPS out of a base three-node configuration and only 15 Intel P5510 SSDs.

Microsoft’s Azure Stack HCI offering has grown up a lot in the last year. We’ve looked at the solution a few times both from Dell and DataON. In fact, we just posted a review of DataON’s AZS-6224 Integrated Systems. We gave the solution an Editor’s Choice Award again. The new 3rd Gen Xeon CPUs, Gen4 Intel SSDs, and the updated Azure Stack HCI OS from Microsoft make a very compelling offering that in our case, saw over 4 million IOPS out of a base three-node configuration and only 15 Intel P5510 SSDs.

While Microsoft has loved to show off its performance edge in the past, now it’s about maturing the software offering on a few fronts. First is the aforementioned HCI OS. This is critical because now Microsoft treats HCI as a product, not as a feature within Windows Server. Second, Microsoft is spending a lot of time bringing cloud features like AKS to the on-prem HCI offering. There’s also a major update coming very soon dubbed 21H2 that will bring a ton of new features to the platform, like GPU support.

On this podcast, I talk with Cosmos Darwin, the guru of HCI at Microsoft. He lays out a general update as to where we are with Azure Stack HCI today, but also where we’re going including some of the key highlights from 21H2. We touch on hardware benefits, what’s going on at the edge, containers, a new longer HCI trial, and much more.

Keep up on the latest including the 22H2 preview build on the Azure Stack blog.

Video pod on YouTube

Subscribe to our podcast:

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTokRSS Feed

The post Podcast #87: What’s Next for Azure Stack HCI with Cosmos Darwin appeared first on StorageReview.com.

Oct 12 2021

Play

Podcast #86: DataON Integrated Systems for Azure Stack HCI

Podcast cover
Read more

We’ve worked with DataON a good deal in the past around their Azure Stack HCI offerings. They’ve done some great work with their Intel platforms and they’ve been able to take advantage of the entire ecosystem, including Intel servers, Optane storage, TLC SSDs, and even QLC SSDs for a low-cost data tier. Now, with new platforms in hand, DataON is positioned even better than before to be the leader when it comes to Azure Stack HCI hybrid infrastructure.

We’ve worked with DataON a good deal in the past around their Azure Stack HCI offerings. They’ve done some great work with their Intel platforms and they’ve been able to take advantage of the entire ecosystem, including Intel servers, Optane storage, TLC SSDs, and even QLC SSDs for a low-cost data tier. Now, with new platforms in hand, DataON is positioned even better than before to be the leader when it comes to Azure Stack HCI hybrid infrastructure.

Howard Lo is back with an update on DataON’s new integrated systems for Azure Stack HCI. Howard joined us back on pod 42, if you want more background on DataON. The integrated systems, dubbed AZS, are a huge step forward for DataON. These leverage the latest Intel Ice Lake CPUs and server platforms, in addition to the vast array of Intel storage technology. But it’s not just hardware, DataON now has an application for entire hardware/software lifecycle management called MUST Pro. They also have a new support relationship in place with Microsoft to give customers a more well-rounded experience.  We cover this and much more on the latest podcast.

DataON Azure Stack HCI Solutions

Video pod on YouTube

Subscribe to our podcast:

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTokRSS Feed

The post Podcast #86: DataON Integrated Systems for Azure Stack HCI appeared first on StorageReview.com.

Oct 05 2021

Play

Podcast #85: Designing Servers for Ruler SSDs and Other Next-Gen Technology

Podcast cover
Read more

We’ve been talking a lot about E1.S (ruler) SSDs lately. The last podcast covered ruler, we even transcribed key findings from that conversation in a ruler deep dive. Now, we’ve got a box of E1.S SSDs in from SK hynix, that leverage the popular 15mm z-height standard. Having the flash is fun and all, but the systems out there that can support Gen4 E.1S SSDs are pretty thin. Thankfully, the guys at Viking Enterprise Solutions have just the tool for this work.

We’ve been talking a lot about E1.S (ruler) SSDs lately. The last podcast covered ruler, we even transcribed key findings from that conversation in a ruler deep dive. Now, we’ve got a box of E1.S SSDs in from SK hynix, that leverage the popular 15mm z-height standard. Having the flash is fun and all, but the systems out there that can support Gen4 E.1S SSDs are pretty thin. Thankfully, the guys at Viking Enterprise Solutions have just the tool for this work.

On this podcast, I interview Odie Killen, VP of Server and Storage Engineering at Viking Enterprise Solutions. This is pretty fun for a number of reasons. First, Viking is on the front edge of emerging tech, so their servers are pretty amazing. Take the E1.S server they sent us. It’s a 2-node AMD server with 24 E1.S bays across the front, in 1U, with no cables or drive caddies. There’s a lot of debate about form factors and density, but if you like dense compute and storage, you’ll love this server.

The other great thing about Viking is they’re not afraid to talk about the future. Odie takes us through a wide variety of technical challenges and opportunities when it comes to server design. We discuss PCIe Gen5 and what that means to next-gen servers. We go deep on E1.S and how a server could accommodate E1.S and E1.L potentially. Maybe you’re wondering how the heck Viking can cool all of this, we hit that too and touch on water cooling. There might even be some 24G SAS talk.

While most of you consume our podcast in audio form, there is a little more visual reference this time around, I encourage you to check the YouTube video as well.

Video pod on YouTube

Subscribe to our podcast:

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTokRSS Feed

The post Podcast #85: Designing Servers for Ruler SSDs and Other Next-Gen Technology appeared first on StorageReview.com.

Sep 20 2021

Play

Podcast #84: Ruler SSDs are Finally Coming to the Enterprise

Podcast cover
Read more

This podcast offers an amazing deep dive into Ruler SSDs and what the new form factor means to the enterprise data center. The big cloud providers have been on ruler SSDs for a few years. But mainstream adoption of Ruler has been hampered largely because there are too many shapes and sizes. That’s changing for the better. The industry is standardizing on a 15mm z-height, which believe it or not, is the lynchpin that was required for big server vendors to get to work. Even if you’re not deploying Ruler SSDs today, learning about what’s coming with E1.S and E1.L is what this pod is all about.

This podcast offers an amazing deep dive into Ruler SSDs and what the new form factor means to the enterprise data center. The big cloud providers have been on ruler SSDs for a few years. But mainstream adoption of Ruler has been hampered largely because there are too many shapes and sizes. That’s changing for the better. The industry is standardizing on a 15mm z-height, which believe it or not, is the lynchpin that was required for big server vendors to get to work. Even if you’re not deploying Ruler SSDs today, learning about what’s coming with E1.S and E1.L is what this pod is all about.

Family shot of mostly available Ruler SSDs

Jason Adrian joins me for the conversation. Jason has been in hardware for a very long time. Currently, he works at Microsoft Azure as a Storage Principal Hardware Architect. But like many hyperscalers, he and Azure are giving back. Jason also is the Open Compute Project Storage Chair, which aims to mainstream much of the tech used in the cloud. One of his passions is Ruler SSDs. A few weeks ago he put together a ruler manifesto of sorts, which is what got us together.

Viking Ruler SSD Server

Jason offers up some amazing insights on the latest developments with E1.S and E1.L, essentially what’s commonly referred to as short and long Ruler. Amongst those include a dive into why they’re better than M.2, to the point that M.2 could be in trouble. We also talk a lot about server design, Viking for instance offers a 1U 24-bay E1.S server that’s en route to our labs. And if that’s not enough, did you know hard drives are going NVMe too?

Video pod on YouTube

Subscribe to our podcast:

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTokRSS Feed

The post Podcast #84: Ruler SSDs are Finally Coming to the Enterprise appeared first on StorageReview.com.

Aug 27 2021

Play

Podcast #83: The Future of Power Management in the Data Center

Podcast cover
Read more

If you’ve followed us for long, you know we’re big fans of Eaton. That’s not just because they send us racks, UPSs and PDUs. We like them because they’re always embracing new technology. This is abundantly clear as we point out in our last review of the new Lithium-ion 9PX UPS. Lithium-ion offers faster charging, more density, and lighter weight amongst other benefits. After the review, we saw a lot of social outreach asking for more of this type of content. So here you go, a podcast dedicated just to power talk.

If you’ve followed us for long, you know we’re big fans of Eaton. That’s not just because they send us racks, UPSs and PDUs. We like them because they’re always embracing new technology. This is abundantly clear as we point out in our last review of the new Lithium-ion 9PX UPS. Lithium-ion offers faster charging, more density, and lighter weight amongst other benefits. After the review, we saw a lot of social outreach asking for more of this type of content. So here you go, a podcast dedicated just to power talk.

On the podcast I have on David Windsor from Eaton. David has been with Eaton for close to 20 years and knows everything about powering servers, storage and switches be it at the hyperscale, or a more modest SMB IT closet. We start the podcast talking Lithium-ion but also cover the needs of edge uses cases, where something like the MiniRaQ comes in handy. We get into software, integrations and even some ideas for home and homelab needs. Eaton isn’t just massive scale, we’ve reviewed their smaller units several times like the 9SX3000 which might or might not be in my basement at the moment, or the 5SC500, which is great for home use.

Video pod on YouTube

Eaton Racks

Eaton Power

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTokRSS Feed

The post Podcast #83: The Future of Power Management in the Data Center appeared first on StorageReview.com.

Aug 20 2021

Play

Podcast #82: The latest in VDI with Teradici

Podcast cover
Read more

In this podcast, our resident expert on end-user computing, Tom Fenton, commandeers the microphone for a deep look at the latest developments when it comes to enabling a remote workforce. We are excited to have Mirela Cunjalo from Teradici (the folks behind PCoIP) join us to discuss.

In this podcast, our resident expert on end-user computing, Tom Fenton, commandeers the microphone for a deep look at the latest developments when it comes to enabling a remote workforce. We are excited to have Mirela Cunjalo from Teradici (the folks behind PCoIP) join us to discuss.

Tom and Mirela discuss how the pandemic forced workers to work remotely and how it reshaped how we do business. In this wide-ranging discussion, we cover on-premise vs public cloud virtual desktops, the issues people had using home Wi-Fi networks, and even the Emmy award Teradici received for their PCoIP technology! We were even able to ferret out some of the new features coming in the next release.

Video pod on YouTube

Learn more about Teradici

Learn more about the IGEL/LG solutions

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTokRSS Feed

The post Podcast #82: The latest in VDI with Teradici appeared first on StorageReview.com.

Jul 13 2021

Play

Podcast #81: The Composable Data Center with Fungible

Podcast cover
Read more

The Fungible data center offers the ability to create infrastructure on the fly, pulling from CPU, GPU, and storage resources as needed. This allows for better utilization and a cloud-like model in terms of consumption. Underpinning the Fungible model is their own data processing unit (DPU), which handles most of the work. In fact, their FS1600 NVMe-oF storage platforms have no traditional x86 CPU at all running exclusively on the DPU. Listen or watch our latest podcast to learn more about the notion of composable data centers and how Fungible aims to bring its vision to the enterprise.

The Fungible data center offers the ability to create infrastructure on the fly, pulling from CPU, GPU, and storage resources as needed. This allows for better utilization and a cloud-like model in terms of consumption. Underpinning the Fungible model is their own data processing unit (DPU), which handles most of the work. In fact, their FS1600 NVMe-oF storage platforms have no traditional x86 CPU at all running exclusively on the DPU. Listen or watch our latest podcast to learn more about the notion of composable data centers and how Fungible aims to bring its vision to the enterprise.

Video pod on YouTube

Subscribe to our podcast:

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTokRSS Feed

The post Podcast #81: The Composable Data Center with Fungible appeared first on StorageReview.com.

Jun 11 2021

Play

Podcast #80: Chia Coin Master Class With Jonmichael Hands

Podcast cover
Read more

Jonmichael Hands left what most consider to be a very good job at Intel, taking on the role of head of storage at Chia. Chia is a cryptocurrency that’s billed as one of the most green in the world since it leverages proof of space (PoS) rather than proof of work (PoW). The PoS model in this particular blockchain works in two core functions. That is Chia plotting, then Chia farming. The plotting work is best done on high-speed NVMe SSDs, while the farming, where coins are earned, is done on good old hard drives – no GPUs needed. This is the definitive Chia podcast to get you entirely up to speed on what the latest crypto craze is all about.

Jonmichael Hands left what most consider to be a very good job at Intel, taking on the role of head of storage at Chia. Chia is a cryptocurrency that’s billed as one of the most green in the world since it leverages proof of space (PoS) rather than proof of work (PoW). The PoS model in this particular blockchain works in two core functions. That is Chia plotting, then Chia farming. The plotting work is best done on high-speed NVMe SSDs, while the farming, where coins are earned, is done on good old hard drives – no GPUs needed. This is the definitive Chia podcast to get you entirely up to speed on what the latest crypto craze is all about.

One way to get plots to hard drives

In this podcast, I talk with Jonmichael about everything Chia. We walk through how it works, each phase of the plotting and farming process, and what’s the best gear for each step along the way. We also get into what’s coming in the future, like Chia pools and just how many mojos exist for a given Chia coin.

YouTube Video Podcast

Read More:

Subscribe to our podcast:

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTokRSS Feed

The post Podcast #80: Chia Coin Master Class With Jonmichael Hands appeared first on StorageReview.com.

May 07 2021

Play

Podcast #79: The Future of 3D XPoint And Optane with Chris Mellor

Podcast cover
Read more

Micron announced a shift in portfolio strategy this week and involves ceasing the development of 3D XPoint. The company stated: “Micron has now determined that there is insufficient market validation to justify the ongoing high levels of investments required to successfully commercialize 3D XPoint at scale to address the evolving memory and storage needs of its customers.” This spurred Chris Mellor to do some digging, which he is oft to do. On this podcast, I sit down with the meanest man in enterprise IT to talk Optane, Micron killing XPoint, the future of PMem, Compute Express Link (CXL), and other up-and-coming tech in the data center.

Micron announced a shift in portfolio strategy this week and involves ceasing the development of 3D XPoint. The company stated: “Micron has now determined that there is insufficient market validation to justify the ongoing high levels of investments required to successfully commercialize 3D XPoint at scale to address the evolving memory and storage needs of its customers.” This spurred Chris Mellor to do some digging, which he is oft to do. On this podcast, I sit down with the meanest man in enterprise IT to talk Optane, Micron killing XPoint, the future of PMem, Compute Express Link (CXL), and other up-and-coming tech in the data center.

Related stories:

YouTube Video Podcast

Subscribe to our podcast:

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTokRSS Feed

The post Podcast #79: The Future of 3D XPoint And Optane with Chris Mellor appeared first on StorageReview.com.

Mar 23 2021

Play

Podcast #78: Larry O’Connor, OWC

Podcast cover
Read more

Larry O’Connor has been solving problems for creative professionals and Mac enthusiasts for over 30 years. What started out as a RAM shop for Macs has turned into a haven of storage and accessories for those who want the best. On this podcast, I talk with Larry about how it all got started and spend an inordinate amount of time talking about cables, like OWC’s latest Thunderbolt 4 cable that immediately sold out upon launch.

Larry O’Connor has been solving problems for creative professionals and Mac enthusiasts for over 30 years. What started out as a RAM shop for Macs has turned into a haven of storage and accessories for those who want the best. On this podcast, I talk with Larry about how it all got started and spend an inordinate amount of time talking about cables, like OWC’s latest Thunderbolt 4 cable that immediately sold out upon launch.

We also dive into some of the growth areas for the company, including Larry’s views on the cloud and where that can fit in for professional workflows. Lastly, we cover off on the LumaForge deal that closed just a few weeks ago, and what is in store for the popular Jellyfish workflow servers.

YouTube Video Podcast

Subscribe to our podcast:

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTokRSS Feed

The post Podcast #78: Larry O’Connor, OWC appeared first on StorageReview.com.

Mar 12 2021

Play

Podcast #77: HPE Spaceborne Computer-2

Podcast cover
Read more

HPE launched the first off-the-shelf supercomputer, Spaceborne Computer-1, to the International Space Station (ISS) back in 2017. The Spaceborne Computer-1 ran on the ISS for 651 days, near flawlessly, before returning to Earth. The big takeaway is that supercomputers can survive and function well in the harsh environment of space. On February 20, 2021, HPE plans on launching Spaceborne Computer-2 to the ISS to improve on the predecessor.

HPE launched the first off-the-shelf supercomputer, Spaceborne Computer-1, to the International Space Station (ISS) back in 2017. The Spaceborne Computer-1 ran on the ISS for 651 days, near flawlessly, before returning to Earth. The big takeaway is that supercomputers can survive and function well in the harsh environment of space. On February 20, 2021, HPE plans on launching Spaceborne Computer-2 to the ISS to improve on the predecessor.

Spaceborne Computer-2 brings enhanced edge-computing and AI capabilities to the ISS. The new supercomputer brings twice the computing power of the first making research results much faster, HPE claims minutes compared to months. So, what are they attempting to use this computing power for? Mainly to make space more sustainable. Create things in space versus firing them up there from Earth. We’ll get more into the brass tacks on this podcast as I sit down with HPE’s Principal Investigator for Spaceborne Computer-2, Mark Fernandez.

YouTube Video Podcast

HPE Spaceborne Computer Website

Subscribe to our podcast:

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTokRSS Feed

The post Podcast #77: HPE Spaceborne Computer-2 appeared first on StorageReview.com.

Feb 16 2021

Play

Podcast #76: NVIDIA Data Processing Units (DPUs)

Podcast cover
Read more

NVIDIA is known throughout the world as a GPU company. With their acquisition of Mellanox though, the lens through which NVIDIA is viewed casts a much wider perspective, not to mention the potential acquisition of ARM. NVIDIA is now taking aim at the humble NIC. With an embedded data processing unit (DPU) and even a GPU on the NIC, we now get to SmartNICs that are able to sit alongside CPUs and GPUs in a server to create the next generation datacenter. 

NVIDIA is known throughout the world as a GPU company. With their acquisition of Mellanox though, the lens through which NVIDIA is viewed casts a much wider perspective, not to mention the potential acquisition of ARM. NVIDIA is now taking aim at the humble NIC. With an embedded data processing unit (DPU) and even a GPU on the NIC, we now get to SmartNICs that are able to sit alongside CPUs and GPUs in a server to create the next generation datacenter.

Want to learn more about the DPU and where it sits in a modern infrastructure? Join us on this podcast as I interview Kevin Deierling, SVP NVIDIA Networking. Kevin outlines the genesis of the DPU, how it impacts next-gen NICs, and what the implications are for storage. Return of the JBOF anyone?

Also, this week the DPU podcast was. recorded. with. video! So if you want that experience check out the YouTube version.

NVIDIA DPUs

Subscribe to our podcast:

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTokRSS Feed

The post Podcast #76: NVIDIA Data Processing Units (DPUs) appeared first on StorageReview.com.

Jan 28 2021

Play

Podcast #75: Saving Citrus with NVIDIA AI

Podcast cover
Read more

We’ve been covering a lot of edge use cases on the podcast and this week it’s another one, but with an AI twist. The University of Florida is working with citrus growers to fight a terrible disease called “citrus greening” that kills off their trees. Professor Yiannis Ampatzidis, with the UF Agricultural and Biological Engineering Department, has been working on intelligent sprayers that not only solve the problem but do so in a more ecologically friendly way. Thanks to a new relationship with NVIDIA and its Applied Research Accelerator Program, a fleet of smart sprayers can analyze each possible tree and make the right call when deploying care.

We’ve been covering a lot of edge use cases on the podcast and this week it’s another one, but with an AI twist. The University of Florida is working with citrus growers to fight a terrible disease called “citrus greening” that kills off their trees. Professor Yiannis Ampatzidis, with the UF Agricultural and Biological Engineering Department, has been working on intelligent sprayers that not only solve the problem but do so in a more ecologically friendly way. Thanks to a new relationship with NVIDIA and its Applied Research Accelerator Program, a fleet of smart sprayers can analyze each possible tree and make the right call when deploying care.

We all know NVIDIA from their GPUs, whether you’re a gamer, creative pro, or leveraging servers in the data center to solve complex models. But NVIDIA also has a toolbox of tiny compute models in their Jetson family, like the TX2 module pictured above. Their GPU-enabled units let researchers like Yiannis collect and analyze data in the field so they can make real-time decisions. Strapped to a UAV they’re redefining how agriculture works which is great for citrus growers everywhere. Sadly they’re also saving squash.

NVIDIA Applied Research Accelerator Program

UF $70 Million AI-Centric Data Center

Subscribe to our podcast:

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | RSS Feed

The post Podcast #75: Saving Citrus with NVIDIA AI appeared first on StorageReview.com.

Jan 09 2021

Play

Podcast #74: TrueNAS Means Speed for Creative Agencies

Podcast cover
Read more

Creative Pros are a special bunch with specific technology and storage needs. And when you pile a bunch of them together into an agency, corporate IT systems quickly get stressed. Clockwork 9 suffered this exact issue, as the agency was overworking their NAS, leading to slowdowns in work being completed. After extensive research, Creative Director Andrew Spirk sought out the TrueNAS storage platform.

Creative Pros are a special bunch with specific technology and storage needs. And when you pile a bunch of them together into an agency, corporate IT systems quickly get stressed. Clockwork 9 suffered this exact issue, as the agency was overworking their NAS, leading to slowdowns in work being completed. After extensive research, Creative Director Andrew Spirk sought out the TrueNAS storage platform.

Clockwork 9 Edit Bay

They ended up with a TrueNAS M40 in an all-flash configuration with a TrueNAS Mini kicker as a replication target. Andrew’s team immediately noticed the improvement in workflow and even though they went with flash, the aggressive pricing from iXsystems didn’t kill their budget. The net result is a quicker turnaround on their work, leading to more efficient teams and a more profitable organization. In this podcast, we discuss the challenges creative agencies face, their workload profile, and how their old solution failed them and the TrueNAS systems saved the day.

Clockwork 9

TrueNAS Enterprise Platforms

How To Install TrueNAS CORE

Subscribe to our podcast:

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | RSS Feed

The post Podcast #74: TrueNAS Means Speed for Creative Agencies appeared first on StorageReview.com.

Dec 30 2020

Play

Podcast #73: Mai-Lan Tomsen Bukovec, AWS

Podcast cover
Read more

AWS may not have built the cloud, but they’ve driven more cloud adoption than anyone else since they launched S3 object storage buckets in 2006, nearly 15 years ago. Since then, AWS has listened to their customers when it comes to launching new features. In fact, 90% of anything new in AWS comes directly from customers themselves. This holds true from edge data collection with the new AWS Snowcone, all the way up to the latest EBS io2 Block Express volumes, what Amazon calls the first SAN built for the cloud.

AWS may not have built the cloud, but they’ve driven more cloud adoption than anyone else since they launched S3 object storage buckets in 2006, nearly 15 years ago. Since then, AWS has listened to their customers when it comes to launching new features. In fact, 90% of anything new in AWS comes directly from customers themselves. This holds true from edge data collection with the new AWS Snowcone, all the way up to the latest EBS io2 Block Express volumes, what Amazon calls the first SAN built for the cloud.

In early December AWS announced these and many more enhancements. On this podcast, I interview Mai-Lan Tomsen Bukovec, who knows these AWS services inside and out. We cover some of the history that leads AWS to where it is today and dive relatively deeply into the new SAN offering, gp3 SSD instances, and much more.

AWS Re:Invent 2020 Highlights

  • Amazon EBS io2 Block Express volumes – Delivers the first SAN built for the cloud, with up to 256,000 IOPS, 4,000 MB/second throughput, and 64 TB of capacity (a 4x increase across all metrics compared to standard io2 volumes). Available in preview.
  • Amazon EBS Gp3 volumes: Next-generation general purpose SSD volumes for Amazon EBS. Offers 3,000 IOPS and 125 MB/second of throughput with the ability to provision up to 16,000 IOPS and 1,000 MB/second peak throughput (a 4x increase over Gp2 volumes) at a 20% lower price per GB of storage than existing Gp2 volumes. Available now.
  • Amazon S3 Intelligent-Tiering automatic data archiving: Two new tiers (Archive Access and Deep Archive Access) help customers further reduce their storage costs by up to 95% for objects rarely accessed by automatically moving unused objects into archive access tiers. Available now.
  • Amazon S3 Replication (multi-destination): New capability gives customers the ability to replicate data to multiple S3 buckets in the same or different AWS Regions, in order to better manage content distribution, compliance, and data-sharing needs across Regions. Available now.

Amazon AWS

Subscribe to our podcast:

Engage with StorageReview

Newsletter | YouTube | LinkedIn | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | RSS Feed

The post Podcast #73: Mai-Lan Tomsen Bukovec, AWS appeared first on StorageReview.com.

Dec 23 2020

Play

iTunes Ratings

6 Ratings
Average Ratings
4
0
0
2
0

Solid commentary on enterprise

By Dietcokefiend - Dec 06 2019
Read more
Fun and clean spirited podcast covering the ins and outs of the enterprise IT market.

Like the new format

By JaimoMom - Nov 15 2019
Read more
Fun short pod from guys who really get IT.