OwlTail

Cover image of Rachael English

Rachael English

8 Podcast Episodes

Latest 18 Jul 2021 | Updated Daily

Weekly hand curated podcast episodes for learning

Episode artwork

Mary Kennedy meets Rachael English

Senior Times

Mary Kennedy interviews Irish radio presenter and best selling author Rachael English.

36mins

10 Nov 2020

Episode artwork

Shannon Author Rachael English On Her New Book

Clare FM

On Monday's Morning Focus we spoke with Broadcaster and Author Rachael English from Shannon about her new book 'The Paper Bracelet'.Inspired by real events The Paper Bracelet tells the story of Katie, a former nurse in a west of Ireland mother and baby home who makes the decision to help reunite adopted people with their birth mothers.

16mins

17 Aug 2020

Similar People

Episode artwork

Ep 409 Rachael English: The Paper Bracelet

The Women's Podcast

It feels like a lifetime ago, but it was only March when Morning Ireland presenter and best-selling author Rachael English came in to the Irish Times studio talk to us about her fifth novel The Paper Bracelet. The gripping story centres around a fictional Mother and Baby home in the West of Ireland and the paper bracelets that were used to identify the babies born there who were then sent away for adoption. Each bracelet contains details of the lives of the young women incarcerated in these homes and the secrets, shame and lies that still echo in Ireland today. Roisin Ingle talked to English about her writing, about her 30 year career in RTE and about the excitement of covering the last General Election. (Remember that?) In this episode, we also bring you an update into some of the issues raised at the recent Webinar: Unpacking The Impacts: Covid-19 and Women's Mental Health particularly around domestic violence during the pandemic.

48mins

15 Jun 2020

Episode artwork

THE PAPER BRACELET by Rachael English, read by Jacqueline Milne - Audiobook extract

HodderPod - Hodder books podcast

Every baby's bracelet held a mother's secret...Inspired by heartrending real events, the gripping new novel from No. 1 bestselling author Rachael English. Readers of Diane Chamberlain and Kathryn Hughes will love this book.'A true storyteller who keeps you turning the pages' Cathy KellyFor almost fifty years, Katie has kept a box of secrets.It dates from her time working as a nurse in a west of Ireland mother and baby home, and contains a notebook with details of the babies and young women she met there. It also holds many of the babies' identity bracelets.Following the death of her husband, Katie makes a decision she has long kept at bay. She posts a message on an internet forum, knowing that the information she possesses could help reunite adopted people with their birth mothers.Soon, the replies are rolling in, and Katie encounters success, failure, heartache and joy as she finds herself in the role of part-detective, part-counsellor - chasing down leads, piecing together stories, and returning many of the bracelets to their original owners.But there is one bracelet in the box that holds the key to a story that may never be told ...The Paper Bracelet is a gripping and moving story of secrets, lies and a love that never dies.

5mins

27 Feb 2020

Most Popular

Episode artwork

THE PAPER BRACELET by Rachael English, read by Jacqueline Milne - Audiobook extract

Headline Books

Every baby's paper bracelet held a mother's secret...Inspired by heartrending true events in a home for unwed mothers, set in Ireland, Boston and London, this novel is perfect for readers of The Letter by Kathryn Hughes and The Girl in the Letter by Emily Gunnis.For almost fifty years, Katie Carroll has kept a box tucked away inside her wardrobe. It dates from her time working as a nurse in a west of Ireland home for unwed mothers in the 1970s. The box contains a notebook holding the details of the babies and young women she met there. It also holds many of the babies' identity bracelets.Following the death of her husband, Katie makes a decision. The information she possesses could help reunite adopted people with their birth mothers, and she decides to post a message on an internet forum. Soon the replies are rolling in, and Katie finds herself returning many of the bracelets to their original owners. She encounters success and failure, heartbreak and joy. But is she prepared for old secrets to be uncovered in her own life?

5mins

27 Feb 2020

Episode artwork

Rachael English

In Conversation With...

This time we bring a lovely and relaxed conversation with RTÉ broadcaster and successful author Rachael English. We chatted with Rachael about her time spent in DCU doing the same course as the three of us are doing now, her early career in Clare FM and her work to date for RTÉ as well as the relatively new venture of authorship.

54mins

25 Jan 2019

Episode artwork

Inside Books Episode 1 Featuring Rachael English and Fiona Murphy

Inside Books

Inside Books is a fortnightly programme presented by Breda Brown. This episode features an interview with author Rachael English and Fiona Murphy from Penguin Random House looks at the Dead in Dún Laoghaire Crime Writing Festival.

23mins

13 Jul 2017

Episode artwork

Rachael English

Róisín Meets...

RTÉ presenter and author of three books, Rachael English, talks to Róisín Ingle about accidentally writing a novel reflecting the news headlines of the day.English’s voice will be familiar of thousands of people who tune into Morning Ireland every day, but she has many strings to her bow and has just published her third novel, The American Girl.It tells the story of 17-year-old Rose Moroney from Boston, who is smart, spirited and pregnant. She wants to marry her boyfriend but her parents have other ideas and ship her off to their home country of Ireland, to a Mother and Baby home where Rose is expected to give up her baby.This podcast was recorded a couple of weeks ago, as the controversy was starting to erupt over the Sisters of Charity’s ownership of the new National Maternity hospital and just a few months after the horrors of what happened at the Tuam mother and baby home hit headlines.

28mins

5 May 2017