OwlTail

Cover image of Will Dean

Will Dean

31 Podcast Episodes

Latest 6 Aug 2022 | Updated Daily

Episode artwork

Ep. 174 Forest Mushrooms With Will Dean

The Inside Flap

Another fun chat with Will Dean! We talk about his latest thriller First Born, Bernie the wonder dog, forest mushrooms, how to take weapons on planes, twins, getting up on rooftops in New York City, and why he doesn’t sleep on planes. Plus: Dave believes Competitive Parade Following should be a sport, Laura walks into … Continue reading Ep. 174 Forest Mushrooms With Will Dean

1hr 33mins

7 Jul 2022

Episode artwork

Author Stories Podcast Episode 1242 | Will Dean Returns With First Born

Author Stories - Author Interviews, Writing Advice, Book Reviews

Today’s author interview guest is Will Dean who returns with his brand new book First Born. From the acclaimed author of The Last Thing to Burn, a psychological thriller about the dark secrets that emerge when a woman’s twin sister is murdered, with his signature “intense, gripping, taut, terrifying, moving, and brilliant” (Lisa Jewell, #1 New York Times bestselling author) prose. Sisters. Soulmates. Strangers. Molly Raven lives a quiet, structured life in London, finding comfort in security and routine. Her identical twin Katie, living in New York, is the exact opposite: outgoing, spontaneous, and adventurous. But when Molly hears that Katie has died, possibly murdered, she is thrown into unfamiliar territory. As terrifying as it is, she knows she must travel across the ocean and find out what happened. But as she tracks her twin’s final movements, cracks begin to emerge, and she slowly realizes her sister was not who she thought she was and there’s a dangerous web of deceit surrounding the two of them. Will Dean grew up in the East Midlands of the United Kingdom and lived in nine villages before the age of eighteen. After studying law at the London School of Economics and working in London, he settled in rural Sweden where he built a wooden house in a boggy clearing at the center of a vast elk forest, and it’s from this base that he compulsively reads and writes. His debut novel, Dark Pines, was selected for Zoe Ball’s book club on ITV, shortlisted for the National Book Awards (UK), The Guardian’s Not the Booker prize, and was named a Telegraph book of the year.

44mins

5 Jul 2022

Similar People

Episode artwork

Developing Thriller Characters With Will Dean | Story Craft Cafe Episode 27

The Story Craft Cafe Podcast

Will Dean grew up in the East Midlands of the United Kingdom and lived in nine villages before the age of eighteen. After studying law at the London School of Economics and working in London, he settled in rural Sweden where he built a wooden house in a boggy clearing at the center of a vast elk forest, and it’s from this base that he compulsively reads and writes. His debut novel, Dark Pines, was selected for Zoe Ball’s book club on ITV, shortlisted for the National Book Awards (UK), The Guardian’s Not the Booker prize, and was named a Telegraph book of the year. From the acclaimed author of The Last Thing to Burn, a psychological thriller about the dark secrets that emerge when a woman’s twin sister is murdered, with his signature “intense, gripping, taut, terrifying, moving, and brilliant” (Lisa Jewell, #1 New York Times bestselling author) prose.Sisters. Soulmates. Strangers.Molly Raven lives a quiet, structured life in London, finding comfort in security and routine. Her identical twin Katie, living in New York, is the exact opposite: outgoing, spontaneous, and adventurous.But when Molly hears that Katie has died, possibly murdered, she is thrown into unfamiliar territory. As terrifying as it is, she knows she must travel across the ocean and find out what happened. But as she tracks her twin’s final movements, cracks begin to emerge, and she slowly realizes her sister was not who she thought she was and there’s a dangerous web of deceit surrounding the two of them.

49mins

1 Jul 2022

Episode artwork

Will Dean - Full interview. Laurie Petrou joins us for '5in5'.

Quick Book Reviews

I interview Will Dean author of “First Born” and talk to Laurie Petrou author of “Stargazer” in the ‘5in5’ feature. I also review “Note To Self” by Anna Bell, “The Lover” by Helene Flood and “Miss Willmott's Ghosts” by Sandra Lawrence. Finally there is an unboxing of a book box from www.graphicnovelstation.co.uk. Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

44mins

20 Jun 2022

Most Popular

Episode artwork

S2 Ep11: Will Dean

The Writer's Workshop

The inspirational Will Dean on why writing first drafts needs to be an intense experience, visualising ideas as images and why he specifically writes in the first person.

35mins

1 Jun 2022

Episode artwork

S2, E4: The Literary Edit Podcast with Will Dean

The Literary Edit Podcast

For the fourth episode of the second season of The Literary Edit podcast, I was joined by the wonderful Will Dean. You can read his list of Desert Island Books here, and the ones we discuss in the episode are: The Road by Cormac McCarthy A Kestrel for a Knave by Barry Hines Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters Underland by Robert Mcfarlane My Name is Leon by Kit de Waal Under the Skin by Michael Faber Miss Smilla’s Feeling for Snow by Peter Hoeg Other books we spoke about included Will’s newest novel, First Born, Trainspotting, H is for Hawk, Frankenstein, On Writing and Danny the Champion of the World. If you’d like to buy any of the books we discussed in the episode, please consider doing so from the list I created on Bookshop.org, an online bookstore with a mission to financially support local, independent bookstores. If you’re based in Australia, please consider buying them from Gertrude & Alice, who deliver all over the country. Facebook The Literary Edit Instagram @the_litedit @willrdean Twitter @thelitedit @willrdean

58mins

13 May 2022

Episode artwork

Will Dean

Little Miss Morfett Chats to Authors

Author of Gold Dagger longlisted The Last Thing to Burn, new book First Born, and the Tuva series.

31mins

2 May 2022

Episode artwork

Will Dean (23rd May 2021)

Chiltern Voice Book Club

Will Dean welcomes Antonia to the Swedish forest where he’s built his home and talks crazy first drafts, vulnerability, the energising effect of the city and what it really means to go home.Tiny Dancer ~ Elton JohnJolene ~ Dolly PartonEmpire State of Mind ~ Jay Z & Alicia KeysTwin Peaks Theme ~ Angelo BadalamentiCome as you are ~ NirvanaSay a little prayer ~ Aretha FranklinLondon Calling ~ The ClashHeroes ~ David BowieFolsom Prison Blues ~ Johnny CashTake me home, country roads ~ John Denver Nothing Conpares 2 You ~ Sinead O’ConnorAll Along The Watchtower ~ Jimi Hendrix

1hr 4mins

23 May 2021

Episode artwork

Ep. 121 Vision Questing With Will Dean

The Inside Flap

Today we’re joined by author Will Dean for a chat about his latest thriller The Last Thing to Burn, his visions, his overactive imagination, the effects of isolation, why it took him five years to write the book, getting blamed for sleepless nights, loathing his antagonist, growing up without books, and why he writes his first drafts … Continue reading Ep. 121 Vision Questing With Will Dean

1hr 25mins

21 Apr 2021

Episode artwork

The Chris Voss Show Podcast – The Last Thing to Burn: A Novel by Will Dean

The Chris Voss Show

The Last Thing to Burn: A Novel by Will Dean“Immediate, intense, gripping, taut, terrifying, moving, and brilliant.” —Lisa Jewell, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Invisible GirlA woman being held captive is willing to risk everything to save herself, her unborn child, and her captor’s latest victim in this claustrophobic thriller in the tradition of Misery and Room.On an isolated farm in the United Kingdom, a woman is trapped by the monster who kidnapped her seven years ago. When she discovers she is pregnant, she resolves to protect her child no matter the cost, and starts to meticulously plan her escape. But when another woman is brought into the fold on the farm, her plans go awry. Can she save herself, her child, and this innocent woman at the same time? Or is she doomed to spend the remainder of her life captive on this farm?Intense, dark, and utterly gripping The Last Thing to Burn is a breathtaking thriller from an author to watch.

22mins

10 Apr 2021

Loading