OwlTail

Cover image of Kristen Matthews

Kristen Matthews

2 Podcast Episodes

Latest 25 Sep 2021 | Updated Daily

Weekly hand curated podcast episodes for learning

Episode artwork

Marketing and Communications Specialist With The BBB Kristen Matthews On Parcel Scams

VOCM Shows

Marketing and Communications Specialist With The BBB Kristen Matthews On Parcel Scams by VOCM

5mins

24 Jul 2020

Episode artwork

Ep. 8 - Kristen Matthews - Gut and Mental Health

Real Girl Series

Movement specialist and nutritional therapist, Kristen Matthews, joins us today to share how she took control of her health after discovering she had Hashimoto’s disease. She bravely shares her experience with depression and how she nurtures her mental health. Kristen also helps clients work through gut and hormone issues with stool, food sensitivity, and hormone tests. This enables her to help put together very individualized nutrition protocols. This episode is full of resources for you to take control of your physical and mental health. Full show notes: www.realgirlseries.com/episode8 Topics We Discuss: Gut Health & Digestion Autoimmune Diseases Mental Health - Anxiety and Depression Fitness & Physical Health  In the Episode We Learn: About Kristen’s journey with her mental health and Hashimoto’s disease, an autoimmune disorder. The importance of gut health and how changing her diet was the key to healing. The difference between hyperthyroidism and hypothyroidism. How she took control of her health through education and completed an online nutrition program at Nutritional Therapy Association. The impact antibiotics and other intense medications have on your liver and gut. The importance of looking at what you are putting into your body and what is coming out. About her experience with antidepressants. Modalities that helped her depression outside of medication: therapy, meditation, mindfulness.  How she navigates conversations with her family and friends about mental health. The difference between letting your fear manipulate you versus letting your intuition guide you. What her self care practice looks like. Her recommendations on how to start working on your health. The importance of aligning with who you really are. How astrology helped her understand her purpose. Resources: Connect with Kristen @kristen4pilates : https://www.instagram.com/kristen4pilates Kristen’s Website: https://www.kristenomatthews.com/ Speir Pilates: http://www.speirpilates.com/ Karen Hurd: http://www.karenhurd.com/ Nutritional Therapy Association: https://nutritionaltherapy.com Rachel Brathen - Yoga Girl: https://www.instagram.com/yoga_girl To Love and Let Go Book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/150116399X Insight LA: https://insightla.org/ Human Design Digestion Course: https://www.jennazoe.com/product-category/digesting-life/ Cocoon Healing Arts Studio Santa Monica: https://cocoonsantamonica.com/ Tara Brach (author): https://www.instagram.com/tarabrach/ Alan Watts (author and artist): https://www.alanwatts.org/ Joseph Campbell (author and mythologist): https://www.jcf.org/ Armchair Expert with Dax Shepard: https://open.spotify.com/show/6kAsbP8pxwaU2kPibKTuHE?si=j8QVUCNMR9a4rhuY2Su9lA Malcolm Gladwell (author): https://www.instagram.com/malcolmgladwell/ On Being Podcast with Krista Tippett: https://open.spotify.com/show/08F60fHBihlcqWZTr7Thzc?si=638DadpiS0-HbjecgdSPOw Debra Silverman (author): https://www.instagram.com/debrasilverman_astrology/

1hr 39mins

26 Mar 2020

Similar People