OwlTail

Cover image of Eilidh Beaton

Eilidh Beaton

4 Podcast Episodes

Latest 11 Sep 2021 | Updated Daily

Weekly hand curated podcast episodes for learning

Episode artwork

LOCH DOWN ABBEY by Beth Cowan-Erskine, read by Eilidh Beaton - audiobook extract

HodderPod - Hodder books podcast

Who killed Lord Inverkillen? Lockdown meets Downton Abbey in this playful, humorous mystery set in 1930s Scotland.No one in. No one out.Family can be murder.... It's the 1930s, and a mysterious illness is spreading over Scotland. But the noble and ancient family of Inverkillen, residents of Loch Down Abbey, are much more concerned with dwindling toilet roll supplies and who will look after the children now that Nanny has regretfully (and most inconveniently) departed this life.Then Lord Inverkillen, earl and head of the family, is found dead in mysterious circumstances. The inspector declares it an accident but Mrs MacBain, the head housekeeper, isn't so convinced. As no one is allowed in or out because of the illness, the residents of the house - both upstairs and downstairs - are the only suspects. With the earl's own family too busy doing what can only be described as nothing, she decides to do some digging - in between chores, of course - and in doing so uncovers a whole host of long-hidden secrets, lies and betrayals that will alter the dynamics of the household for ever.Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, Agatha Christie and Richard Osman's The Thursday Murder Club, Loch Down Abbey is a playful, humorous mystery that will keep you guessing!

5mins

30 Apr 2021

Episode artwork

A PLACE LIKE HOME by Rosamunde Pilcher, read by Jilly Bond, Barbara Barnes, Eilidh Beaton et al

HodderPod - Hodder books podcast

A spellbinding collection of fifteen stories from multi-million copy, internationally bestselling author Rosamunde Pilcher, published posthumously two years after her death.In The Holiday, a wife surprises her husband of twenty-five years with a holiday full of Mediterranean sunshine, red rocks and blue seas in an effort to rekindle the romance they had before children.The Eye of Love takes the reader to the bright spring sunshine and sparkling waves of a Northumbrian village where old flames meet again.In A Place Like Home, a lonely young woman goes to recuperate in a Scottish countryside after a brief illness. The fruit orchards and fresh sea air offer much needed respite, but not so much as the handsome, mysterious farmer . . .Each of the fifteen stories is a perfect slice of romance written with warmth and passion, featuring some wonderfully memorable, smart and feisty female characters that will transport the reader to another time and place.

4mins

18 Feb 2021

Similar People

Episode artwork

ECHOES OF THE RUNES by Christina Courtenay, read by Eilidh Beaton - Audiobook extract

Headline Books

The pacy, evocative and romantic new dual-time novel from Christina Courtenay is perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine, Diana Gabaldon and Vikings.Their love was forbidden. But echoed in eternity.When Mia inherits her beloved grandmother's summer cottage, Birch Thorpe, in Sweden, she faces a dilemma. Her fiance Charles urges her to sell and buy a swanky London home, but Mia cannot let it go easily. The request to carry out an archaeological dig for more Viking artefacts like the gold ring Mia's grandmother also left her, offers her a reprieve from a decision - and from Charles.Whilst Mia becomes absorbed in the dig's discoveries, she finds herself drawn to archaeologist Haakon Berger. Like her, he can sense the past inhabitants whose lives are becoming more vivid every day. Trying to resist the growing attraction between them, Mia and Haakon begin to piece together the story of a Welsh noblewoman, Ceri, and the mysterious Viking, known as the 'White Hawk', who stole her away from her people in 869 AD.As the present begins to echo the past, and enemies threaten Birch Thorpe's inhabitants, they will all have to fight to protect what has become most precious to each of them...

5mins

5 Mar 2020

Episode artwork

STORMY PETREL, by Mary Stewart, read by Eilidh Beaton - Audiobook extract

HodderPod - Hodder books podcast

A classic tale of love, intrigue, adventure and the natural world, set on a beautiful isolated Hebridean island, by beloved novelist Mary Stewart.When Rose Fenemore takes a desperately needed holiday to an isolated cottage on the Scottish island of Moila she doesn't expect much in the way of adventure - just a few quiet weeks of writing, walking and bird-watching. And then, late one night during a wild storm, two young men appear in her doorway, seeking shelter from the wind and rain. Neither man is quite who he claims, and the question of who to trust will put Rose in grave peril . . .The stormy petrels. The fragile, tiny black birds, nocturnal and solitary, that come ashore to nest but spend most of the lives flying close above the sea-waves, come storm or shine.

4mins

7 Dec 2019

Most Popular