OwlTail

Cover image of Emma Straub

Emma Straub

31 Podcast Episodes

Latest 4 Feb 2023 | Updated Daily

Episode artwork

Emma Straub on Being Present, No Matter Where You Are

The Literary Life with Mitchell Kaplan

Emma Straub is the New York Times-bestselling author of four other novels--All Adults Here, Modern Lovers, The Vacationers, and Laura Lamont's Life in Pictures--and the short story collection Other People We Married. Her books have been published in twenty countries. She and her husband own Books Are Magic, an independent bookstore in Brooklyn, New York. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices

42mins

27 Jan 2023

Episode artwork

#1774 Emma Straub “This Time Tomorrow” | The Book Show

The Book Show

What if you could take a vacation to your past? With her humor, insight, and heart, beloved New York Times bestselling author Emma Straub offers her own twist on traditional time travel tropes and a different kind of love story in her new novel “This Time Tomorrow.”

26mins

19 Jul 2022

Similar People

Episode artwork

This Time Tomorrow: A Discussion with Emma Straub

Feminist Book Club: The Podcast

Mariquita talks with Emma Straub about her newest book, This Time Tomorrow, an incredible love story about grief, connection, family, and, oh yeah, time travel. Check out the books mentioned all by Emma Straub:  This Time Tomorrow All Adults Here  The Vacationers  Modern Lovers  Laura Lamont’s Life in Pictures Other People We Married  Follow Emma Straub: Instagram // Twitter // Facebook Follow our host-  Follow Mariquita: Instagram Beyond the Box: Our weekly round-up of blog and podcast content delivered directly to your inbox every Friday This episode was edited by Claudia Neu and produced by Renee Powers on the ancestral land of the Dakota people. Original music by @iam.onyxrose Learn more about Feminist Book Club on our website, sign up for our emails, shop our Bookshop.org recommendations, and follow us on Instagram, Twitter, TikTok, Facebook, Pinterest.

25mins

12 Jul 2022

Episode artwork

Emma Straub: Books Are Magic

Confessions of a Book Collector

This week New York Times bestselling author Emma Straub joins David Headley to talk about owning a bookshop, writing and the books that have influenced her.Buy your signed first edition of 'THIS TIME TOMORROW' here.

32mins

1 Jul 2022

Most Popular

Episode artwork

Guest Thingies with Emma Straub and Negotiating Advice That’s Stuck

A Thing or Two with Claire and Erica

Guest Thingies from Emma Straub—what a treat! If you haven’t read her many charming novels, start with her latest, This Time Tomorrow, and if you haven’t patronized her beloved Brooklyn bookstore Books Are Magic, we know you’re aching to remedy that. First up: business/money advice we’ve gotten that’s as quippy as it is useful.  Emma’s Thingies: skincare, tea, allergy meds, and big underpants—starring facials from Rescue Spa, Biologique Recherche Lotion P50 toner, and Peter Thomas Roth 24K Gold Pure Luxury Lift & Firm Hydra-Gel Eye Patches. Her tea-drinking routine includes Helen Levi mugs and Twinings English Breakfast hot or iced (and she might have to give Claire’s tea rec Nunshen a shot, too). Emma also shares her love for Flonase and ARQ’s hugely cute underpants. When you’ve got the author of This Time Tomorrow and the co-owner of Books Are Magic on the Zoom, you have to talk reads. Emma’s recent favorite is Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow by Gabrielle Zevin, especially for fans of The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon and The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer. Do you have negotiation thoughts? Guest Thingies ideas? Share ‘em with us at 833-632-5463, podcast@athingortwohq.com, or @athingortwohq. And for more recommendations, try out a Secret Menu membership. Get thicker and healthier hair with Nutrafol. Take $15 off your first month’s subscription with the code ATHINGORTWO. Find comfort with Cozy Earth’s temperature-regulating sheets and take 35% off when you use the code ATHINGORTWO. Sleep better with Beam Dream and get up to 35% with the code ATHINGORTWO.Grow a business of any size with Shopify. Dig in with a free 14-day trial with our link. YAY. Produced by Dear Media

47mins

6 Jun 2022

Episode artwork

The Poetic Efficiency of Writing Well at the Line Level - Emma Straub

The Shit No One Tells You About Writing

In today's Books with Hooks, Carly and CeCe each discuss the same three queries, unpacking why queries are meant to be short and sweet; the difference between a setup and a reveal; agent burnout and pitching the most exciting info about your novel ASAP; and upping tension by subverting character expectations in the first few pages. Also, Carly surprises us by advocating for a prologue, and Carly and CeCe disagree on one of the queries!After which, Bianca chats with Emma Straub, author of THIS TIME TOMORROW and owner of Books Are Magic in Brooklyn, about a smart strategy for dressing for tour, her inspiration for her most recent novel; planting clues and foreshadowing through your manuscript; the importance of writing well at a line level; and how Emma's unpublished works helped her on her journey to publication.Find us on our socials:Twitter: @TSNOTYAW @BiancaM_author @carlywatters @ceciliaclyraInstagram: @biancamarais_author @carlywatters @cece_lyra_agent @ the_shit_about_writingFacebook: @tsnotyawWebsite: www.biancamarais.com and www.theshitaboutwriting.comEmma can be found on Twitter and Instagram at @emmastraub and her website is www.emmastraub.comAdvertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brandsPrivacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

1hr 17mins

26 May 2022

Episode artwork

Novelist Emma Straub

Fresh Air

Straub's new novel, This Time Tomorrow, is a time-travel fantasy about a 40-year-old woman who's tending to her ailing father — until, that is, the day she's transported to her childhood home on her 16th birthday. Straub owns the independent bookstore Books Are Magic in Brooklyn. She spoke with contributor Tonya Mosley about pre-grieving, rejection, and what she'd tell her 16-year-old self. Also, Justin Chang reviews Top Gun: Maverick.

46mins

23 May 2022

Episode artwork

Author Emma Straub on Time Travel and Owning A Bookstore

Bad On Paper

This week we’re chatting with New York Times bestselling author and owner of Books are Magic, Emma Straub! She’s the author of five novels, including This Time Tomorrow, which came out on May 17. We ask her about her path to becoming an author, and chat about the process of writing This Time Tomorrow. And as the first bookseller on the podcast, we ask Emma about how Books are Magic came into her life and she shares the surprises that come with owning a bookstore!  Find Emma at @emmastraub on IG, @emmastraub on Twitter, and at emmastraub.net Emma’s Book recs By the Book by Jasmine Guillory The Dead Romantics Ashley Poston (Out June 28)  Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow by Gabrielle Zevin (Out July 5)  What we read this week! Olivia - Sea of Tranquility by Emily St. John Mandel  Becca - Flying Solo by Linda Holmes Obsessions Becca - Anthropologie Mini Latte Bowls Olivia - Free People (generally) This Month’s Book Club Pick: Funny You Should Ask by Elissa Sussman Sponsors: Daily harvest - Go to Daily Harvest.com/BOP to get up to $40 off your first box. Truebill - Go to truebill.com/BOP to cancel unwanted subscriptions today. BetterHelp - Go to BetterHelp.com/badonpaper for 10% off their first month Join our Facebook group for amazing book recs & more!  Like and subscribe to RomComPods. Available wherever you listen to podcasts.  Follow us on Instagram @badonpaperpodcast. Follow Olivia on Instagram @oliviamuenter and Becca @beccamfreeman.

59mins

18 May 2022

Episode artwork

Emma Straub, Author, Co-owner Books Are Magic

The Bookshop Podcast

Dear Listeners,You are getting a twofer this week—an indie bookshop co-owner and an author—Emma Straub.Emma is the New York Times-bestselling author of four novels—All Adults Here, The Vacationers, Modern Lovers, Laura Lamont's Life in Pictures—and the short story collection Other People We Married. Her books have been published in more than 20 languages, and All Adults Here is currently in development as a television series. She and her husband, Michael Fusco, own Books Are Magic, an independent bookstore in Brooklyn, New York. Emma’s new novel, This Time Tomorrow is coming May 2022.Emma StraubBooks Are MagicEmma Straub, booksPeter Straub, booksPeter StraubBrooklyn Bridge BodegaWhat Is Love, Mac Barnett, Carson EllisBrown Girls, Daphne Palasi AndreadesLive, Laugh, Kidnap, Gabby NooneSupport the show

29mins

7 Feb 2022

Episode artwork

Writing with Emma Straub & Jami Attenberg (3.1)

Misshelved: a podcast for book lovers

What happens when you really, really love books? You become a bookseller. And you become a writer. Emma Straub and Jami Attenberg both know this trajectory well. In our first episode of season three, join Books Are Magic co-owner and author Emma Straub as she sits down in conversation with author Jami Attenberg about how their mutual histories in bookstores led to careers and relationships with writing. SHOP BOOKS ARE MAGIC: booksaremagic.net FULL TRANSCRIPTIONS + SHOW NOTES: misshelved.nebrinkley.com LEARN MORE ABOUT BOOKS: tinyletter.com/misshelved MORE PLACES TO LISTEN: anchor.fm/misshelvedpod Edited by Rebecca Speas and Nicole Brinkley. Logo by Jean Michel. Music by Mark Shwedow.

36mins

31 Jan 2022

Loading