OwlTail

Cover image of Rob Avis

Rob Avis Podcasts

Read more

13 of The Best Podcast Episodes for Rob Avis. A collection of podcasts episodes with or about Rob Avis, often where they are interviewed.

Read more

13 of The Best Podcast Episodes for Rob Avis. A collection of podcasts episodes with or about Rob Avis, often where they are interviewed.

Updated daily with the latest episodes

Episode artwork

Creatively Responding to a Crisis | Rob Avis

Play
Read more
Rob Avis – (C) 2016 Gavin Young Photography

My guest today is Rob Avis, a permaculture practitioner from Calgary, Canada, and one of the founders of Verge Permaculture. He joined me during the Covid-19 pandemic to discuss what we can do to creatively respond to this and other crises. 

https://www.thepermaculturepodcast.com/wp-content/uploads/Crisis.mp3

Click here to download the episode. | Open Player in New Window

This includes our role as teachers and leaders while others are struggling for security, and how we can build resilience in our homes and our communities. He shares how together we can soften the blow to ourselves and others by preparing for the economic changes possible in the scenarios of hyperinflation, deflationary contraction, and hyper-stagflation, the latter of which he sees as the most likely outcome of those three at this time. 

A past guest of the show we get rolling with his thoughts on how to handle what we’re currently facing, so I’ve linked to Rob’s earlier interviews in the show notes below if you’d like to learn more about his background, his work on harvesting rainwater, and the framework he and his business partner Takota Coen have developed to simplify the application of permaculture to agriculture.

Find out more about Rob and his work at VergePermaculture.ca, and more through the links below.

I agree with Rob that now is a vital time for us to continue our education, take a role in creating resilience in our communities, and shift the narrative of what is possible. For ourselves, we can turn to our books, the University of YouTube, or the online classrooms like Coursera to work on expanding our knowledge. Now would be a great time to take that online Permaculture Design Course if you’re still looking for one.

If you have skills to share, we can contact our friends and family and see what they want to learn more about. Can we help them with their garden design? Help them repair something around the home?

If you’re a permaculture teacher, now is a good time to work on those online classes you wanted to put together. Begin sharing your knowledge through one-on-one consulting or webinars.

For our communities, we can coordinate seed swaps by mail, and eventually in person. We can make those phone calls to the city council or the mayor’s office to begin the conversation about chickens or other micro-livestock, or about expanding community garden efforts so people have access to land, or grow their own food.

To help with these, I’ve included links in the show notes to resources for each including some places offering online classes; software to connect remotely or run webinars of your own; and to organizations working on policy change. If you have any resources that come to mind others should know about, leave a comment in the show notes.

And of course, I’m always here to help you move your projects forward.

Get in touch.
Call: 717-827-6266

Write:
The Permaculture Podcast
P.O. Box 16
Dauphin, PA 17018

Until the next time, creatively respond to these uncertain times, while taking care of Earth, your self, and each other.

Previous Interviews with Rob Avis
Rob Avis on the Essentials of Rainwater Harvesting
The Adaptive Habitat Program

Related Interviews
Emergency Management and Disaster Preparedness
Edenspore

Resources
Verge Permaculture
Spanish Flu Waves (CDC)
The Great Influenza, a great book on the 1918 pandemic by John Barry.
Economist Mark Blyth

Online Classes (General Education)
EdX
Harvard University Free Online Classes
Coursera Free Classes

Online Meeting and Webinar Software
Cisco WebEx
GoToMeeting
Zoom

Micro-Livestock
Backyard Chicken Project
How to get your city to allow backyard chickens (Grist)
Raising Chickens in the City (Mother Earth Living)



The post Creatively Responding to a Crisis | Rob Avis appeared first on The Permaculture Podcast.

May 09 2020 ·
Episode artwork

Designing Simple and Effective Passive Solar Greenhouses with Rob Avis

Play
Read more

Today's episode is a BEST OF episode, which is a replay of a previously aired episode.  Enjoy!

Engineer and permie Rob Avis from Verge Permaculture talks about building and designing passive solar greenhouses.

Key Takeaways:

It is very important to have thermal mass in the greenhouse. Thermal mass absorbs the surplus heat during the date and radiates it back out at night.

Know what your goals are for the greenhouse. Why are you building it?

You can't over-vent a greenhouse.

Thermal curtains can cut heat loss drastically through the glazing.

Listen to past episodes at https://www.paperpot.co/podcast

Increase farm efficiency with the Paperpot Transplanter and Other Small Farm Equipment at https://www.paperpot.co/

Follow PaperpotCo on Instagram https://instagram.com/paperpot

Follow Diego on Instagram https://instagram.com/diegofooter

Oct 12 2019 · 46mins

Similar People

MARK SHEPARD

Ben Falk

Akiva Silver

Joel Salatin

Gregory Landua

Peter McCoy

Jean-Martin Fortier

Permaculture Homesteading

Verge Permaculture

Ray Tyler

Luke Groce

Paul Wheaton

Leah Penniman

Stefan Sobkowiak

Laura Patterson

Episode artwork

65. Rainwater Harvesting for Adaptive Habitats with Rob Avis of Verge Permaculture

Play
Read more

Rob Avis is a petroleum engineer-turned-permaculture designer with many years of boots-on-the-ground experience in developing regenerative living systems. He runs the Canadian design company Verge Permaculture, as well as the consulting firm Adaptive Habitat.

For this installment of the show, Rob joins me to talk about Essential Rainwater Harvesting, the book that he co-authored with his wife Michelle, released earlier this year.

If you're curious about getting started with rainwater harvesting, whether for irrigation, washing, drinking, or all of the above, I think this conversation will serve as a great primer!

Among other things, Rob walks me through all of the basic components of a catchment system and how to approach the design process. We also talk about the importance of seeking out high-quality information in a world thoroughly saturated with poorly researched blog posts and YouTube videos and the like. I hope you find it as helpful as I did!

Aug 01 2019 · 1hr
Episode artwork

The essentials of rainwater harvesting with co-author Rob Avis from Verge Permaculture: 102

Play
Read more
In keeping with the theme of water regeneration this month I spoke to Rob Avis, the co-author along with Michelle Avis of their book in the New Society Essentials series called Rain Water Harvesting.

Rob and Michelle founded Verge Permaculture, an award-winning design, consulting and education company in Calgary, Alberta after years of international training in renewable energy and regenerative design. Since its founding, Verge has helped more than 1000 students and clients to design and create integrated systems for shelter, energy, water, waste, and food, all while supporting their local economy and regenerating the land. Through their design and consulting they create havens that produce their own energy and food, harvest water, cycle nutrients, and restore the surrounding ecosystems, enabling property owners to thrive no matter what. With such a broad range of knowledge, experience, and expertise, we focused mainly on rain water harvesting techniques and systems in this episode as an entry into the larger concept of watershed regeneration and revival.

In this session Rob explains some of the key components of rain water harvesting systems and the ways that you can treat and filter the water for various uses. We talk at length about why expensive filters and disinfectants are often unnecessary, even for most potable water uses, and the different ways you can keep your stored rainwater clean. Rob also speaks about how rainwater harvesting systems fit into a larger system aimed toward water resilience in multiple living contexts from urban to rural applications. I’ve been a big fan of Verge Permaculture and all their great work for some time now and I’m intending to create a larger series of in depth talks with Rob and Michelle in the future so if you enjoy this episode and have further questions that you’d like to hear us cover in future talks, then by all means send your questions and feedback to me at info@abundanedge.com or in the comments in the show notes on the website.

Resources:

Buy the book “Essentials: Rainwater Harvesting”

Verge Permaculture Website

Verge Youtube channel
Are you the owner or promotions manager for a regenerative business or organization looking to get your message out to a larger audience?
Finding your target audience for regenerative products and services can be tough, especially while the movement is still in its infancy and awareness around the importance of ethical business still has a long way to go. If you want to tap into a network of informed and motivated people with strong environmental and community ethics who vote with their purchases then you’ve come to the right place. The Abundant Edge podcast now has more than 30,000 monthly listeners around the world and is growing fast. These are listeners who are actively involved in the regeneration of our planet and are enthusiastically supporting businesses and projects that reflect their priorities. We now offer competitive sponsorship packages for single episodes and discounted rates for multiple episodes, social media campaigns, promotional videos and more. The best part is that all your investment goes straight into making this podcast the best resource for regenerative skills education that it can be.

Because of our commitment to the integrity of our message and our affiliations, this offer is only open to businesses and organizations that are as committed to regenerative work as we are. If this sounds like a good fit for you, go to the show notes for this episode to fill out the collaborator application form.

We look forward to helping you reach your highest potential.
Collaborator’s Application form

Name *

Name
First Name
Last Name
Email *
Tell us about your business and why its "regenerative" *
Where can we look to learn more about your business or organization? *
Which of our services are you interested in? *
Choose as many that apply

Podcast sponsorship space

Social media exposure

Promotional video
Mar 08 2019 ·

Most Popular

Elon Musk

Barack Obama

Bill Gates

LeBron James

Mark Cuban

Michelle Obama

Melinda Gates

Arnold Schwarzenegger

Kevin Hart

Terry Crews

Mike Tyson

Episode artwork

1904 – Rob Avis on the Essentials of Rainwater Harvesting

Play
Read more

Verge Permaculture 2016
Gavin Young Photography

In this episode of The Permaculture Podcast, Rob Avis, of Verge Permaculture, joins me to talk about rainwater harvesting.

https://www.thepermaculturepodcast.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/Episode1904.mp3

Click here to download the episode. | Open Player in New Window

This conversation is based on his new book from New Society Publishers, Essential Rainwater Harvesting. Rob wrote this book along with his wife and Verge Permaculture Partner, Michelle. Though they began their professional careers as engineers designing solutions in the oil fields, they now live on a productive permaculture homestead in Alberta, Canada, and use that experience to create and share all the formulas, calculations, and components needed to create a productive system for capturing clean, healthy water.

You can find more about Rob’s work at VergePermaculture.ca, and his book, Essential Rainwater Harvesting at NewSociety.com. You’ll, of course, find links to those and other resources, including his Rainwater Harvesting Toolkit, in the Resources section below.


To go with this conversation, In cooperation with New Society Publishers, I’m giving away a copy of Essential Rainwater Harvesting. That drawing runs from February 8th through at least the 18th. To enter, all you need to do is follow the link below and leave a comment in the post. I’ll then randomly select the recipient once this giveaway closes.

Book Giveaway: Essential Rainwater Harvesting

In the book, Rob and Michelle break down what we need in order to install a rainwater harvesting system, and they back that up with their professional experience and the sources, that lead them to their conclusions. They also hold the additional need to understand the liability and risks of such a system as engineers who put their stamp on a design. I mention this latter part as one of my earliest lessons in rainwater capture was just how heavy a rain barrel, even a 50 gallon one, can get—over 400lbs/180kils—and what we need to consider when placing them, such as a solid foundation, so they can be productive and not create any hazards for the user or surrounding neighbors.

One of the mystifying parts of rainwater harvesting for me, in the beginning, was calculating just how much water would fall on a given area and the necessary size for a storage container to hold it all. Once you start doing those calculations you quickly find that a lot of water, whether you count the volume in liters or gallons, comes off of a roof or parking lot with just a centimeter or half-inch of rain. Accounting for that, how your surfaces or gutters divide and divert those flows, and where they’ll go can help to understand how to use this resource around your home or in your landscape.

And with Essential Rainwater Harvesting, you’ll find all the details for that and so much more.

Which is a long way to say, I like this book and like the others in the Essential series from New Society Publishers, think you will too.

What did you think of this conversation with Rob? Do you have questions for him? Would you like to hear more about this work or his other projects at Verge Permaculture?

Get in touch:
show@thepermaculturepodcast.com
717-827-6266

And for those of you who still like to put a stamp on an envelope, I love finding your mail in my mailbox.

The Permaculture Podcast
PO Box 16
Dauphin, PA 17018

From here the next conversation is with Kirsten Lei-Nielsen to talk about whether or not you should become a homesteader.

Until then, spend each day making smart use of your resources while taking care of Earth, your self, and each other.

Resources
Verge Permaculture – Rob and Michelle Avis
Essential Rainwater Harvesting
Rainwater Harvesting Toolkit

Peter Coombes – Urban Water Cycle Solutions
Dr. Anthony Spinks PhD Thesis on Biofilms and Sludges

American Rainwater Catchment Systems Association (ARCSA)
North American Rainwater Harvesting Code

The post 1904 – Rob Avis on the Essentials of Rainwater Harvesting appeared first on The Permaculture Podcast.

Feb 10 2019 ·
Episode artwork

V231: 6 Base Principles for Starting, Running, and Improving a Successful Business with Rob Avis and Javan Bernakevitch - Part 4

Play
Read more

When you set out to start a business is there a road map you can follow or a recipe for success? A set of steps you can take to go from where you are to where you want to be. Simply do them, and success follows. It’s a nice though. And that’s about all it, a nice thought. Because when it comes to business there isn’t a roadmap to success, but despite that, we all want the roadmap to success. Maybe it’s just human nature, the just tell me how to do it approach. It’s a dangerous approach because no two approaches are the same. There are too many variables at stake to create a recipe. But again, everyone wants the recipe. As someone once said on a podcast that I did the danger of following a recipe is that you if you buy into the recipe then you become the recipe, a really, really pale copy of what you are trying to emulate. In life and in business, there are recipes, but recipes rarely lead to success, but also in life there are base principles, universals which recipes are built on. Today, we aren’t focusing on the recipes, we’re focusing on the base principles when it comes to starting a business. It’s a topic which I will take on with that aforementioned someone, being Javan Bernakevitch, along with our friend Rob Avis. Javan and Rob have developed a set of 12 base principles of business and join me to talk about the first 6 of those principles. This episode is Part 4 of a multi-part series with Javan and Rob. Learn more at http://www.permaculturevoices.com/231

Aug 11 2017 · 57mins
Episode artwork

V229: 6 Base Principles for Starting, Running, and Improving a Successful Business with Rob Avis and Javan Bernakevitch - Part 2

Play
Read more

When you set out to start a business is there a road map you can follow or a recipe for success? A set of steps you can take to go from where you are to where you want to be.  Simply do them, and success follows. It’s a nice though.  And that’s about all it, a nice thought.  Because when it comes to business there isn’t a roadmap to success, but despite that, we all want the roadmap to success. Maybe it’s just human nature, the just tell me how to do it approach.   It’s a dangerous approach because no two approaches are the same.  There are too many variables at stake to create a recipe.  But again, everyone wants the recipe.   As someone once said on a podcast that I did the danger of following a recipe is that you if you buy into the recipe then you become the recipe, a really, really pale copy of what you are trying to emulate. In life and in business, there are recipes, but recipes rarely lead to success, but also in life there are base principles, universals which recipes are built on. Today, we aren’t focusing on the recipes, we’re focusing on the base principles when it comes to starting a business.  It’s a topic which I will take on with that aforementioned someone, being Javan Bernakevitch, along with our friend Rob Avis. Javan and Rob have developed a set of 12 base principles of business and join me to talk about the first 6 of those principles. This episode is Part 2 of a multi-part series with Javan and Rob. Learn more at www.permaculturevoices.com/229

Jul 28 2017 · 1hr 2mins
Episode artwork

V226: Tips and Thoughts for Buying an Anti-Fragile Property – The Anti-fragile Property Series with Rob Avis – Part 2

Play
Read more

Today is Part 2 of The Anti-fragile Property Series with Rob Avis of Adaptive Habit.

If you missed Part One, go back and check that one out, Episode 222.

In that episode we looked at the idea of owning land as insurance, today takes the discussion of finding an anti-fragile property a step further, and take a look at how you should approach purchasing a property if you are worried about things like climate change, the financial system, debt, terrorism, disease, water insecurity, a fragile food system.

Any, all, or none of those issues could hit you in a significant way during your lifetime.

How do you protect against them?

One way is through property, specifically an anti-fragile property.

What's anti-fragile?

As Nassim Taleb defines it, it's simply something that gains from disorder.

Broken food system, your food forest becomes more valuable.

Energy crisis, an off grid homestead and timberstand keeps your devices running.

But the food forest, the technology and the timerstand are all things that sit on the land.

Today, we'll look at how to pick the right piece of land to make what you put on it more meaningful, or simply not even needed.

The Anti-fragile Property Series with Rob Avis of Adaptive Habitat - Part 2

DOWNLOAD the show notes at www.permaculturevoices.com/podcast and CLICK on Episode 226

Support the show at www.permaculturevoices.com/support

Jun 02 2017 · 1hr 15mins
Episode artwork

V: Balancing Personal Goals, Raising Kids, and Day to Day Work with Rob Avis (V139)

Play
Read more

Learn more at permaculturevoices.com/139

Support the show at permaculturevoices.com/support

If you have kids and you are self-employed and you work from home, getting work done in that environment can be a challenge.

Today Rob Avis is going to talk about some of his methodologies for balancing out working at home and what techniques he uses to plan out his week.

Rob is a busy guy co-running two companies (Adaptive Habitat and Verge Permaculture) with his wife Michelle, and he does it from his house, raising two young kids, so he has had a lot of experience getting serious work done in the heat of it.

Rob's also one of the smartest guys that I know. He's an avid reader and he thinks a lot about this type of stuff, so I was really curious how he is approaching raising kids, how he is choosing to school his kids and why. He's one of those guys that I go to when I am questioning a decision that I am making. He usually has a lot of insight into things that make me really think about what I am doing and why. It's something that I think we all need in our life.

Overall this message is part life hacking, part parent hacking, part hard dose of reality.

Learn more at permaculturevoices.com/139

Support the show at permaculturevoices.com/support

Nov 25 2016 · 1hr 43mins
Episode artwork

3 Keys to Starting A Successful Permaculture Based Business - Presented by Rob Avis [REPLAY]

Play
Read more

Learn more at permaculturevoices.com/b016

Support the show at permaculturevoices.com/support

THIS EPISODE IS A REPLAY OF PREVIOUS PUBLISHED EPISODE.

What do you do if you have a passion and there is no one out there offering you a job to fulfill that passion?

One option is to just work any job, foregtting what you are actually passionate about. And that is what many people do, and I think that those people can attest to the fact that that option sucks.

Another option is to find the intersection between your passions and your strengths and problems that need solving and solve those problems by starting a business.

This podcast is about that. this is the audio from Rob Avis's presentation from PV1.

Learn more at permaculturevoices.com/b016

Support the show at permaculturevoices.com/support

Jul 24 2016 · 50mins
Loading