OwlTail

Cover image of Christina Courtenay

Christina Courtenay

3 Podcast Episodes

Latest 18 Jul 2021 | Updated Daily

Weekly hand curated podcast episodes for learning

Episode artwork

Episode 39: Christina Courtenay

The Worm Hole Podcast

Charlie and Christina Courtenay (Echoes Of The Runes; The Runes Of Destiny) discuss what the Vikings were really like, time travellers' historical partners travelling back with them, and predictability and coincidence as plot devices. Some podcast apps do not show description links properly unless the listener subscribes to the podcast. If you can't click the links below and don't wish to subscribe, copy and paste the following address into your browser to access the episode's page on my blog: http://wormhole.carnelianvalley.com/the-worm-hole-podcast/episode-39-christina-courtenay Jorvick Viking Festival, York Birka You can contact the show at books@carnelianvalley.com Question Index 00:35 You've been published for a long time; tell us about your past work 04:52 You say in Echoes of the Runes that the Vikings aren't quite as we think they are. Can you expand on this for us? 06:33 What research did you do for the books? 08:40 You explore disability, with the main character finding a way to communicate with Jorun. Why was this important to explore? 10:27 Did you ever have any issues with getting Haakon how you wanted him to be? 11:52 The noted predictability and coincidences between time periods - was this something you always planned to use? 13:30 What was behind the decision to have Destiny of the Runes take us to another country? 15:14 Linnea takes a good number of pages to accept she's travelled in time - what lead to this decision? 16:22 Were you always going to have the time travel in the reverse? 22:23 Linnea's possible experience or possible virginity in the context of the history - had you considered a different story here? 24:09 The forthcoming Whispers of the Runes and Tempted by the Runes - tell us about them Purchase Links Echoes Of The Runes: Amazon UK Amazon US Amazon Canada Waterstones Hive Barnes & Noble IndieBound Chapters Indigo The Runes Of Destiny: Amazon UK Amazon US Amazon Canada Waterstones Hive Barnes & Noble IndieBound Chapters Indigo Whispers Of The Runes: Amazon UK Amazon US Amazon Canada Waterstones Hive Barnes & Noble IndieBound Chapters Indigo Tempted By The Runes: Amazon UK Amazon US Amazon Canada Waterstones IndieBound Chapters Indigo I am an IndieBound affiliate and earn a small commission on qualifying purchases. Photograph used with the permission of the author.

27mins

14 Jun 2021

Episode artwork

Sue Moorcroft on Christina Courtenay

Romance Aloud

No.1 bestselling author Sue Moorcroft talks about her writing career, and picks author Christina Courtenay as her RNA60 choice to celebrate 60 years of the Romantic Novelists' Association.

26mins

25 Aug 2020

Similar People

Episode artwork

ECHOES OF THE RUNES by Christina Courtenay, read by Eilidh Beaton - Audiobook extract

Headline Books

The pacy, evocative and romantic new dual-time novel from Christina Courtenay is perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine, Diana Gabaldon and Vikings.Their love was forbidden. But echoed in eternity.When Mia inherits her beloved grandmother's summer cottage, Birch Thorpe, in Sweden, she faces a dilemma. Her fiance Charles urges her to sell and buy a swanky London home, but Mia cannot let it go easily. The request to carry out an archaeological dig for more Viking artefacts like the gold ring Mia's grandmother also left her, offers her a reprieve from a decision - and from Charles.Whilst Mia becomes absorbed in the dig's discoveries, she finds herself drawn to archaeologist Haakon Berger. Like her, he can sense the past inhabitants whose lives are becoming more vivid every day. Trying to resist the growing attraction between them, Mia and Haakon begin to piece together the story of a Welsh noblewoman, Ceri, and the mysterious Viking, known as the 'White Hawk', who stole her away from her people in 869 AD.As the present begins to echo the past, and enemies threaten Birch Thorpe's inhabitants, they will all have to fight to protect what has become most precious to each of them...

5mins

5 Mar 2020